- Alienware Mothership v6 -, The poisons are getting stronger!

awyongcarl
post Sep 15 2010, 07:24 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Swordsmen @ Sep 15 2010, 06:56 PM)
Hey guys, i just bought M11X R2 yesterday and bla3 i installed StarcraftII and the game is super lag

i can't figure out anymore ithink maybe related to Nvidia Optimus problem ( I think StarcraftII still in Intel HD mode eventhough i selected to play on Nvidia mode already ) sigh.. this tech really annoying me.- i don't know either some game on Nvidia mode or Intel shit mode..  mad.gif even my
9600Mgt can play scII smoothly..

Anyway this is R2 version. u guys got some suggestion? any idea how to overcome this thang
Do a benchmark and see if your m11x is working like it should.

What setting you were using in SC2 though?

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 15 2010, 07:33 PM
awyongcarl
post Sep 15 2010, 07:51 PM

1,870 posts

Actually something caught my mind, Aluminium vs Magnesium. lol
Magnesium is defo better than Aluminium in terms of toughness..I'm not so sure about heat dissipation though.

(At the very least, I don't see any pro grade DSLR's frame being made of aluminum)

Where did you guys got the information about the material anyway? Some reference would be nice.
awyongcarl
post Sep 17 2010, 03:58 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Sep 17 2010, 03:05 PM)
Alienware need to update its M15x and M17x..
since.. Dell SXPS 15 / SXPS 17 will come out end of this year...

it can be direct competitor with Alienware [despite AW design is difference and unique]
lol I'd say Dell isn't that stupid to make a "Direct Competitor" under their own roof.
It will always be a notch or two lower than the highest end Alienware.

Ie, highest end GPU available for the new SXPS15/17 is 445m, where as the new AW will have 460-480m.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 17 2010, 03:59 PM
awyongcarl
post Sep 17 2010, 07:28 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Sep 17 2010, 07:21 PM)
My m11xR2 really quite heavy. Put it in my backpack, few weeks later my bag holder loosen.
It's only 2kg and its heavy? lol
awyongcarl
post Sep 17 2010, 11:48 PM

1,870 posts

It's true anyway. The bling bling makes the laptop looks like a stupid hot toys or the sort. It isn't cool at all IMO.
I just turn every light off except the red keyboard illuminating light cauce it's retardedly difficult to see the keyboard without the light :/
awyongcarl
post Sep 18 2010, 04:41 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(HanJin95 @ Sep 18 2010, 04:26 PM)
Hey may i know the pros and cons of m11x ? Planning to buy it soon (:
Major con is the price lol
awyongcarl
post Sep 19 2010, 01:37 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(taufiqtahir @ Sep 19 2010, 10:20 AM)
haaaaaa..
those are the issues i'm worried about..

Added on September 19, 2010, 10:21 am
really ar puto?
damn i'm torn apart between these two..
the Roccat Kave or the Razer Megalodon..
hmmmmm.. hmm.gif
Reason?
You do know the price between these two are almost doubled aye?

PS: I'd avoid razshit at any time. I'd agree their mouse pads are good though.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 19 2010, 01:38 PM
awyongcarl
post Sep 19 2010, 06:29 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 19 2010, 06:28 PM)
why my M11x dont have this problem?
Matter of time I suppose?
Try and look around and it's a very common issue among M11x. - -

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 19 2010, 06:29 PM
awyongcarl
post Sep 19 2010, 06:34 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 19 2010, 06:32 PM)
well, my M11x is older than any M11xin the market(Prototype)
When I say matter of time..I don't mean that lol.
I'm just saying time for your m11x have not come yet laugh.gif

Anyway, perhaps they used different type of material for the pre-release or what you call..Prototype.

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Sep 19 2010, 06:33 PM)
will this happen to m17x ?
I don't know.
Well it could? Who knows.

Though I looked at m15x's hinge, if that thing could possibly broke, it won't be a natural cause lol. (Cast iron for the hinge..>_>)
PS:If you guys have not noticed yet, let me share a piece of fun fact, the heaviest weight contributed in a M15x, is not the body/chassis itself, it's the LCD panel and hinge.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 19 2010, 06:38 PM
awyongcarl
post Sep 19 2010, 06:42 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Sep 19 2010, 06:41 PM)
my m17x 5870 CF paly SC2 have screen rate problem and some of the character dissapear and minerals also.. anyone encounter this kind of problem ?
sounds like a driver issue to me. Tried updating to the latest one? (10.8)
awyongcarl
post Sep 19 2010, 10:28 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Sep 19 2010, 10:09 PM)
well... if there's a possibility of this happening to the M15x... is there any sign of it that I should take notice? better be safe than sorry to detect the fault before it happened~  icon_question.gif
Sorry my friend, I don't know lol.
For me, the impression it gave was, "This hinge are built to lasts" lol.
Just imagine, a laptop hinge, made of the very same material as an engine block is made. (Well, older engine block, newer and modern are using aluminum)

I'd say just use the laptop normally, don't abuse it and..I think you should be fine. (Sure it's sturdy, but it never mentioned it's meant to be abused so...)
awyongcarl
post Sep 20 2010, 03:18 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Sep 20 2010, 02:29 AM)
help i cant install my driver, after i use driver sweeper in safe mode then i reinstall the lastest ati driver the installation show driver install fail and under my device manager the display adapter shown " standard VGA Graphic Adapter" i try to uninstall them or update then still couldnt help ....
i try to install the driver in safemode also cant...
anyone have anyidea?
which driver you are trying to install?
awyongcarl
post Sep 20 2010, 12:45 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Sep 20 2010, 11:11 AM)
yah the hinge it self made out of metal which is the same material as the car engine block (or maybe ironman armor laugh.gif )
but the hinge it self are screw in a cheap made in china plastic base.
so when the plastic base crack due to high tension force the hinge will came out.. smile.gif

at least that wat i see when they change mine hinge and the base cover.. sweat.gif

Talking about m11x?

Well yeah, except that M15x's hinge base (the base that the LCD hinge is screwed on) is made of cast iron as well.
And you don't need me to remind you M15x chassis is made of Magnesium Alloy.

awyongcarl
post Sep 21 2010, 01:56 AM

1,870 posts

Yeah the LCD of Dell's laptops are pretty crappy :/
When I processing photos both mata and kepala sakit - -
awyongcarl
post Sep 21 2010, 03:08 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Sep 21 2010, 02:43 AM)
the installtion driver failed ... why ? something wrong with my registry ?
Are you installing the Mobility driver or what?

Added on September 21, 2010, 3:10 am
QUOTE(kazasho @ Sep 21 2010, 02:23 AM)
oh my, need to sacrifice my gaming habit la like this.. its really frustrated when u see ur end product print mahal-mahal got ugly mark
thanks guy.noted
Well, for me, it's still alright because I still can calibrate the LCD.
Something that can be amended.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 21 2010, 03:10 AM
awyongcarl
post Sep 21 2010, 07:49 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 21 2010, 06:48 PM)
Why cant premium stuff like Alienware get premium stuff as well? the speakers for starters..
lol admit it, Alienware is just a piece of overpriced hardware tongue.gif
awyongcarl
post Sep 23 2010, 06:07 AM

1,870 posts

The new official 5850m driver from Dell seems...unstable compared to the ATi's.

I couldn't complete the 3DMark06 at 890/1100 1.1v with it..
While I have no problem with 3Dmark06 at all at 900/1100 1.1v using the ATi's.

That said, on stock clock, they both gives similar result. (124xx~12500)
awyongcarl
post Oct 29 2010, 06:13 AM

1,870 posts

Anyone here with m11x has never had problem with the hinge? lol.
I'm sorta tempted to get a m11x over here in UK. Not that it's cheaper than in Malaysia but for mobility sake :/ (m15x isn't fun to be carried around)

But when I read about it, it's such a turn off and piece of crap considering how Dell is handling that issue - -
awyongcarl
post Oct 29 2010, 04:42 PM

1,870 posts

It's not really convincing that minority of the owner tell me their's are working fine lol.
Just using google, NBR or even Dell site's forum itself, you can find that problem is almost 98% gonna be happen to any m11x. - -

Guess I'm sticking to Vostro V13 if I really wanted to buy.
awyongcarl
post Oct 29 2010, 07:14 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Oct 29 2010, 05:57 PM)
at least dell is willing to replace the hinge if it got problem shud be ok alreadi...
What is that kind of opinion lol.
With all due respect sir, that is exactly the thing I am angry/rage about.
Dell are shipping faulty goods to their customer, and whenever problem arises they just give them refurbished/used/etc and even if they replace them with a new one, problem are still there because the cause is not fixed. What? I paid a great fortune for it and I expect NOT to worry about breaking the hinge every 3-6 months.

This is not right. Dell is being an arse and expect customer to go away with the warranty bullshit?
You guys ever thought what happens when your warranty period is over?
AND okay let's neglect that warranty crap, say Dell promised to replace the hinge even if the warranty is over, I still need to worry about when it's going to broken etc, and you know, your time are valuable, when it's broken, it needs time to be fixed and even though its NBD, it's still time.

0.0479sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:14 AM