QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Sep 22 2010, 04:49 PM)
Is the 5870 card very new or something? It sounds kinda silly buying a dual graphics card gaming laptop, only to use half its potential =o
most of the issue is due to weak driver support from Ati- Alienware Mothership v6 -, The poisons are getting stronger!
Sep 22 2010, 06:47 PM
1,496 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Sep 22 2010, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(cy-yang @ Sep 22 2010, 07:36 PM) When will AW come out with GTX480? well, the PCIe which is suite the GTX480M, but the power supply is not ebough to supply the M17x to runs 2 GTX480Mseem like sager NP7280 beat us ... @puto, can m17x upgrade to GTX480? ADD: GTX480M only available for PM55(Core i7 version) chipset only, PM 45 is not compatible |
Sep 22 2010, 10:43 PM
Sep 23 2010, 05:42 PM
Sep 23 2010, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Sep 23 2010, 10:32 PM) if you can wait till Q1 2011 will be better. maybe Dell will put GTX400M Series into their beast. most likely they will, if you ask me maybe that time 5970 for mobility is available, so GTX400M series might not put inside the M17x, is depends the hardware, like M17x have GTX260M, GTX280M, 4870, 5870 available.(Ati is much more cheaper for malaysian to afford) |
Sep 27 2010, 07:00 PM
Sep 30 2010, 07:50 AM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 28 2010, 08:29 AM) Can eh? I know someone who uses Acer 4736G with Nvidia 310M with CUDA (Well nowadays all Nvidia Cards have CUDA) for engineering design.. I forgot what program he was using.. Looks smooth.. i think that just ur 2 cents, if u try side by side render, it have same benchmark(slightly different in some condition)QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:00 PM) Im not sure oh.. Normally they say for simulation programs go for Nvidia since it has CUDA support.. well, mostly the application we used, wont utilize Graphic card even with CUDA(nvidia).Even my friend had a desktop card ATi HD5770 changed to Nvidia GTS250 because he say not fit for his simulation softwares.. mostly will utilize CPU and RAM. For simulation software, my GTX480 is still worse than a mobile FX3700(lower end GC). from here i knew that, only graphic GC will helps, for those gaming series GC wont help. But ATi have direct compute 5.0, that's will helps a lot in 3D simulation compare to CUDA |
Oct 1 2010, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(rhoyo @ Sep 30 2010, 09:11 AM) oh i see check out my thread, special price for u guysthat day i saw at lowyat got one of this shop offer me the alienware orion bag free . hmmz . what targus bag usually u guys got ? can show me picture btw i got one question about the graphic cards . usually if let say i buy the M15x . will it be NVIDIA or ATI ? . man i can't wait to jump ship . 10 years i haven't have a good computer . currently im using netbook lulz . now wanna buy something expensive like alienware |
Oct 3 2010, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Oct 2 2010, 11:39 PM) CrossFireX™ Dual 1GB GDDR5 ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5870 both of this performance is LPPL, Kelvin, im going back penang this monday, "yam cha" lor, on boh?SLI™ Dual 1GB GDDR3 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 285M which 1 better???? But Nvidia have better driver, not sure yet, cause nobody using it yet, since dell wanna clear stock, and ready for the GTX460M/GTX480M This post has been edited by putochip123: Oct 3 2010, 01:10 AM |
Oct 7 2010, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 6 2010, 09:34 AM) Technically its HDD + SSD (4GB SLC), but you won't really get the real feel of SSD with Momentus XT, since the SSD will act as cache for the frequently used file.. Still, its better than other HDD when it comes in read speed if cached but write speed is just same with other HDD... QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Oct 6 2010, 10:04 AM) QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 6 2010, 11:26 AM) mY FRIEND DO BUY THE MOMENTUS HDD, what i had tested is, "DISSAPOINTED"From the review is good, but in real time use, sad!!, i rather buy a normal 7200RPM 1. RM500 i save the money go for SSD much more better. Im waiting for intel put in SandForce, then i will upgrade My SSD to Another lvl of SSD |
Oct 7 2010, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 7 2010, 01:42 AM) Kave is the best 5.1 gaming headphone i ever use. tried Razer, the one with 7.1 Simulated, but still prefer Kave eventho Razer is bit lighter. ooo, i think not long enough for the duration, only 2 days niause Kave with Creative X-Fi and there goes your ears, sneeking and hearing footstep during spawnkilling lol. how long is your duration of review? reach one day? if you understand how Momentus XT works, you know that you have to use it for quite some times before its cached everything. review that for at least one week and share with us back the result. ask Astria, he'd use it long enough to provide a review for us |
Oct 7 2010, 06:18 PM
Oct 7 2010, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Oct 7 2010, 11:12 AM) I have some questions regarding M15x. Pardon my lack of experience here. I hope to gain some advice from experts like you all. 1. For me, i wont apply the screen protector on it, because it spoil the power of Alienware AlienFX1. Do most of M15x owners purchase keyboard protector, cooling pad and screen protector to be used with their laptop? I want to know the brand and price of these products with reasonable quality and price. 2. If laptop is plugged to a power source, is it advisable to remove the battery pack from the laptop? I know most people will do this, but the User Manual advises against this practice. 3. There is a transparent plastic sheet taped onto the laptop screen (I do not mean the plastic bag that originally wraps all around the screen). Can I just leave it as it is and treat it as screen protector? Or, should I remove it to prevent the screen from overheating? 4. Inside the smaller box containing the DVDs, mousepad, power adapter and so on, there is an Alienware cap. Under that cap is an Alienware avatar that sticks to a sticker. What is the use of this item? 5. What is WinRE software? Thank you very much for your advice. 2. Battery is advice to plug in since the power to charge the battery will stop after the battery is full, or else, charge ur battery to 50% and left it beside, dont charge full if u think u not gonna use the batter, cause full charging will cause the eletric inside the battery to discharge faster. 3. Well, i will remove it, is irritating u know? which a such nice Screen, and u put a layer on it? 4. Do as u like, burn it, throw it, use it, kill it, sucks it, kiss it, lift it, etc, is up to u 5.WinRE is to unzip certain file that is zipped, just left it aside |
Oct 8 2010, 12:27 AM
Oct 8 2010, 11:07 PM
Oct 9 2010, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(cy-yang @ Oct 9 2010, 01:34 AM) ATI is much more cheaper than Nvidia mah.. 5870 does quite a strong performance in term of gaming(dont compare benchmark).thats why.. haha luckily my 280SLI costs me less coz of the promotion.. lol but did 5870 CF perform better than us (280 SLI) but poor driver support, lead to many game u have to soft mod Added on October 9, 2010, 1:38 am QUOTE(smartleader @ Oct 8 2010, 11:48 PM) trade in accept This post has been edited by putochip123: Oct 9 2010, 01:38 AM |
Oct 9 2010, 01:40 AM
QUOTE(cy-yang @ Oct 9 2010, 01:38 AM) haha, u are welcome to find me anytime ^^... free all the time except final exam weekAdded on October 9, 2010, 1:40 am QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 9 2010, 01:38 AM) oh yea... i forgot about that yo, brother from PKNK huh... right?HD5870 CF only slightly 1/4 better performance than us. but GTX280M is like 3/4 have better driver support and compatibility than that beast. not really care about Dx11. i only care about Dx11 when stepping into GTX400 Series This post has been edited by putochip123: Oct 9 2010, 01:40 AM |
Oct 9 2010, 01:45 AM
Oct 9 2010, 01:49 AM