5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

DIY homebrew sound sicks 2 scrap set!, this will troll you away =)

SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 13 2010, 04:37 PM, updated 16y ago

1,254 posts

i know some of you hate/enjoy my absurd postings here....
have you been keepin an eye out for what hilarious stupids will i post next and try to shoot me down? =)
yeah, i'm here just to 'liven' things up with funny nonsense so here goes....
yes, recycle for the future!
the idea came from building my very own sound sticks 2 (yes i enjoy making things, even stupid things)but i failed to find any suitable 'container' and the closest i can find in the junk yard on sunday is....
what does it looks like?
like this?
so i'm gonna make it look like a tube thingy instead of sound sticks, spray the top with metallic spray on the inside, make down firing sub....
ok first i check the size of my spare woofer salvaged from the ton of altecs i keep for hobby/obsession?
ok this ones fits best.... =)
but this one fits into my other spare smaller woofy!!??
make big or small?
then should i put in 4.1 or 2.1? you want to help me pick later when i start making sats?
i'm gonna have to measure and cut the bottom of the bottle with a saw blade to fit woofy later
this should be cool, if i arrange the parts inside to looks like the innards of a tubey
ok stay tuned and give me some suggestions, ideas, moral or de-moral support =) because i'm gonna do it anyway since i bought the parts!

chingwooi
post Sep 13 2010, 04:55 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

Haha, looking for to the results xD
Proclaimer
post Sep 13 2010, 05:00 PM

1,150 posts

Will the bottle be hard enough to hold itself from the pressure of the subwoofer? Unless its like hard, though plastic i dont think its going to work? hmm.gif

Unless you reinforce the bottle and make it heavy.
power911
post Sep 13 2010, 05:25 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

lol wow
never thought of using these plastic bottle coolers tongue.gif
I normally use these bottles for rocket building XD

i think the subwoofer/bottle you gotta stuff some foamy fillings to prevent unwanted sound biggrin.gif

btw where'd u get that altec woofer from?
dun say it's from the 2100 cuz... u noe sad.gif

ohya,I tot u wanna build them out of aquarium tank?
i remember u said so laugh.gif

This post has been edited by power911: Sep 13 2010, 05:28 PM
Bonchi
post Sep 13 2010, 05:28 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

^ agreed.. the plastic might be a little too soft, might produce a "vroom vroom" sound
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 13 2010, 05:38 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 13 2010, 05:25 PM)
never thought of using these plastic bottle coolers tongue.gif
I normally use these bottles for rocket building XD
pet bottles usually can withstand high pressure thats why used for 'rocket' if use for sound solid lar!
its heavy enough and strong by itself and has nice smooth shape inside to nicely reverb your bass, so don't put any spoonge inside!!
comes with a free built in bass tube too =) wah hehe tommorow i cut it up and let you know how it sounds like la

i think i should do the big one?
power911
post Sep 13 2010, 05:50 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Sep 13 2010, 05:38 PM)
pet bottles usually can withstand high pressure thats why used for 'rocket' if use for sound solid lar!
its heavy enough and strong by itself and has nice smooth shape inside to nicely reverb your bass, so don't put any spoonge inside!!
comes with a free built in bass tube too =) wah hehe tommorow i cut it up and let you know how it sounds like la

i think i should do the big one?
big is better rclxms.gif cuz heavier
but not sure lar,building a rocket is simple only,can withstand that pressure
ofcoz can withstand the bass power from the subwoofer but then will it sound nice? later vibrate vibrate the whole subwoofer move around your house lol
that you gotta experiment a bit oso nod.gif

wanna learn how to build a rocket out of it? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by power911: Sep 13 2010, 05:52 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 13 2010, 06:17 PM

1,254 posts

*spoiler*
you can have it when i'm done with it =) just belanja me eet sushi at asia cafe =) drinks i buy myself
power911
post Sep 13 2010, 06:35 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Sep 13 2010, 06:17 PM)
*spoiler*
you can have it when i'm done with it =) just belanja me eet sushi at asia cafe =) drinks i buy myself
lol?
Kain_Sicilian
post Sep 13 2010, 07:06 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Sep 13 2010, 04:37 PM)

Respect mate! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Sep 13 2010, 04:55 PM)
Haha, looking for to the results xD
Yeah, anxious to know how well it works...
xenohawk
post Sep 13 2010, 08:34 PM

991 posts

The round rubber feet on sound sticks 2 I think you can use the circular float haha
power911
post Sep 13 2010, 08:53 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

ohya,u should add some LEDs and wire it parallel with the subwoofer driver
(get the ohms and power rating correct)

and throw them into the bottle
when bass come U got urself a DISCO WOOFER!!!

what do you think? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by power911: Sep 13 2010, 08:54 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 14 2010, 06:01 PM

1,254 posts

when i reach home from the office today.....
i straight away went to work cutting the bottle and i found out i couldn't cut it open with my small knife.. it was simply too thick
it was a pro because it would mean the bottle is 'strong' enough for bass
but pain in the ass to cut it open
so i went to heat up a nail over the stove and melted a portion of the bottle
the poke hot nail trick works... but it looks like an ugly mess, so i decided to saw it instead
i wrapped the bit with a cloth to keep my hands from self destruction =)
arrgh it was hard work with my puny bit and i wasn't getting round.... i'm going to my cousin's place later to borrow his jigsaw tool

LittleGhost
post Sep 14 2010, 06:17 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

as ghetto as that sounds, you probably would need to dampen the insides to prevent the ugly resonance at higher than usual bass frequencies. Stability is the least concern because objects have very different resonant frequencies and act very differently when subjected to high energy waves (ie: bass frequencies)

You can use metal and it'll still vibrate like crazzzzy.

wink.gif let this be a motivation so you will work on MDFs on your next project. They arent exactly expensive either so it fits the "on budget" diy theme.
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 14 2010, 06:21 PM

1,254 posts

it's not cool anymore if i do it like everyone else =)
and its way 'cooler' when you can see the insides of it
i am also anxious to find out what will it sound like when i fit it in later tonight =)
power911
post Sep 14 2010, 06:43 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Sep 14 2010, 06:01 PM)
when i reach home from the office today.....
i straight away went to work cutting the bottle and i found out i couldn't cut it open with my small knife.. it was simply too thick
it was a pro because it would mean the bottle is 'strong' enough for bass
but pain in the ass to cut it open
so i went to heat up a nail over the stove and melted a portion of the bottle
the poke hot nail trick works... but it looks like an ugly mess, so i decided to saw it instead
i wrapped the bit with a cloth to keep my hands from self destruction =)

arrgh it was hard work with my puny bit and i wasn't getting round.... i'm going to my cousin's place later to borrow his jigsaw tool
you can always go get a dremel (aka mini wheel sander) to round off the uneven parts
make sure you use low speed,you don't want the plastic to melt and cover your sanding bit

This post has been edited by power911: Sep 14 2010, 06:44 PM
dlyz
post Sep 14 2010, 07:23 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

interesting project, good luck
SUSbabyrabies
post Sep 14 2010, 07:27 PM

281 posts

great stuff bro, i love ghetto DIY, all da best
power911
post Sep 14 2010, 07:31 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

woots! lotsa moral supports biggrin.gif

I'm gonna give mine too!

GOOD LUCK BRO!!!
jazzy939
post Sep 14 2010, 07:43 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Jigsaw might work, just use fine teeth blade. By all means BECAREFUL. You're working with mains operated power tools. Watch the fingers!
Keep us posted! thumbup.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:47 AM