DIY homebrew sound sicks 2 scrap set!, this will troll you away =)

SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 13 2010, 04:37 PM, updated 16y ago

1,254 posts

i know some of you hate/enjoy my absurd postings here....
have you been keepin an eye out for what hilarious stupids will i post next and try to shoot me down? =)
yeah, i'm here just to 'liven' things up with funny nonsense so here goes....
yes, recycle for the future!
the idea came from building my very own sound sticks 2 (yes i enjoy making things, even stupid things)but i failed to find any suitable 'container' and the closest i can find in the junk yard on sunday is....
what does it looks like?
like this?
so i'm gonna make it look like a tube thingy instead of sound sticks, spray the top with metallic spray on the inside, make down firing sub....
ok first i check the size of my spare woofer salvaged from the ton of altecs i keep for hobby/obsession?
ok this ones fits best.... =)
but this one fits into my other spare smaller woofy!!??
make big or small?
then should i put in 4.1 or 2.1? you want to help me pick later when i start making sats?
i'm gonna have to measure and cut the bottom of the bottle with a saw blade to fit woofy later
this should be cool, if i arrange the parts inside to looks like the innards of a tubey
ok stay tuned and give me some suggestions, ideas, moral or de-moral support =) because i'm gonna do it anyway since i bought the parts!

SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 13 2010, 05:38 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 13 2010, 05:25 PM)
never thought of using these plastic bottle coolers tongue.gif
I normally use these bottles for rocket building XD
pet bottles usually can withstand high pressure thats why used for 'rocket' if use for sound solid lar!
its heavy enough and strong by itself and has nice smooth shape inside to nicely reverb your bass, so don't put any spoonge inside!!
comes with a free built in bass tube too =) wah hehe tommorow i cut it up and let you know how it sounds like la

i think i should do the big one?
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 13 2010, 06:17 PM

1,254 posts

*spoiler*
you can have it when i'm done with it =) just belanja me eet sushi at asia cafe =) drinks i buy myself
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 14 2010, 06:01 PM

1,254 posts

when i reach home from the office today.....
i straight away went to work cutting the bottle and i found out i couldn't cut it open with my small knife.. it was simply too thick
it was a pro because it would mean the bottle is 'strong' enough for bass
but pain in the ass to cut it open
so i went to heat up a nail over the stove and melted a portion of the bottle
the poke hot nail trick works... but it looks like an ugly mess, so i decided to saw it instead
i wrapped the bit with a cloth to keep my hands from self destruction =)
arrgh it was hard work with my puny bit and i wasn't getting round.... i'm going to my cousin's place later to borrow his jigsaw tool

SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 14 2010, 06:21 PM

1,254 posts

it's not cool anymore if i do it like everyone else =)
and its way 'cooler' when you can see the insides of it
i am also anxious to find out what will it sound like when i fit it in later tonight =)
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 14 2010, 10:14 PM

1,254 posts

thank you guys for your morale support! =)
i just got back from dinner with my cousin... too late to test the sound...need to sleep
i kinda suck at this kind of thing... my advice is to go slow with the jigsaw, otherwise it will jam and the plastic will melt messy
which...i found out the hard way!
so here is my lousy handy work =)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 15 2010, 10:43 AM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Sep 15 2010, 12:21 AM)
using soldering iron to cut also helps, then finishing with sand paper on broom stick.
soldering iron? no way man! =) my iron is awesome weapon..but not for melting plastic. the smell,smoke and damage!!?? on top of that the thing will look like marshmallow man
sand paper and broom stick? haha ugly lor... all blur blur scratchy and dusty... also take hours to file such thick plastic....

hmmnn later i go sneak out to hardware shop for lunch and buy some parts to affix the speaker to the round thiny so that can test the sound later!
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 15 2010, 11:13 AM

1,254 posts

i'm not making a tandoori stove dey! =)
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 15 2010, 12:54 PM

1,254 posts

ok ok you guys are getting impatient =)
rush home!!!
lunch time....eating from a box in front of the crap i bought
the hot nail trick again for holes....
ugh imperfections....need to jig saw it down again...
soldered the cable directly into the mothership
on the power and blast.... hmmnn nice! not as bad as you guys described. just a little dance vibrate on MAX volume because the thingy not airtight and not heavy enough
vrooom vroom? no... n...sounds smooth rumble.... should be okay when i reinforce the base and dunk the components and transformer later.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
i lazy to comment la i need to eat and go back to work so just look at pictures la!
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 15 2010, 01:20 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 15 2010, 01:10 PM)
won't it sound like got echoes? shocking.gif
wow
nope, solid as i expected... the bass port buffets smoothly(i tested using tiesto)

soundprank_-_Transitions_I.mp3 the file that you senedd me is awful quality like toilet paper... no wonder yours got strange sounds

QUOTE(endau02 @ Sep 15 2010, 01:11 PM)
can buy another iron mah... try 2 source it in cash converter
i've got a better weapon called hot nail! =)

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Sep 15 2010, 02:19 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 15 2010, 08:21 PM

1,254 posts

pics! or you didn't do it!
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 15 2010, 08:55 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 15 2010, 08:47 PM)
I'd just use a sandpaper to remove any sticky plastic off my soldering iron biggrin.gif
works perfectly every time without side effects icon_rolleyes.gif
haha! i found murder suspect no2 !!
your father is very angry if it belongs to him and you do that

ugh... what amp to put niside now
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 16 2010, 12:48 AM

1,254 posts

his is crude la.... he practically shat a brix inside

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Sep 16 2010, 12:50 AM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 16 2010, 01:26 AM

1,254 posts

i am flattered to be an inspiration for your ghetto mods =) and i am also looking forward to see yours as well =)

this was unit was from my secondary school experiment....
it had a fake woof lol
i was lousy modder back then, it didn't turn up as good
but i had my favourite tda7375 inside!!
you guys thinking what i'm thinking?
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 16 2010, 10:12 PM

1,254 posts

sorry guys... i just got back from party... damn tired(alcohol breath)
need kasi muka my friends today...can you spot my ciggy box?
hmmn will work on it asap
need to pickup aluminium sheets to mount the amp and tranny inside tommorow

also i saw the real ss2 today... it is only less than half the size of mine!
damn, i built mine on overkill mode i guess?
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 17 2010, 11:16 AM

1,254 posts

they umm some friends punya friends i don't know what name also at the place drinking free shooting us with bb guns

grrr i hate it when the manufacturer decidie to split the amp into a few pieces...now i need to 'simply-fly' the amp
but before all that i need to make sure if its still working.... i am also re-capping all the 'chang' beer caps
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 18 2010, 12:02 AM

1,254 posts

i did not manage to buy aluminium shits to hold the crap together inside today =(
here comes the 'boring' part of banging up the amp
almost done hooking all the connections together,recapping and making it smaller...
need to clean the heat sink with solvents to get rid of the (original)thermal paste all over it and make it shiny again
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 19 2010, 10:29 AM

1,254 posts

i spent a few hours yesterday trying to rewire something i dismantled years ago....
most of the caps, trace and components has gone bad....even the volume pot is dead
after 3 assemble, check, test later i got it back to good working condition...but it was already late at night. so i couldn't blast test it and my friends over the other end of the world is beckoning me to attend our raya mabook special
this morninh i woke up with a terrible hangover but i couldn't wait to test blast my labtec amp
i will not wire the thing up properly until i mount the components into the 'tube' later
WOW, the results was surprisingly clear, crispy and soomth. it was so unlike the old labtec set that it came from...
yes, the sub i made still vibrates a little and stuff. barely noticable dancing, just sounds a little off surprisingly for i haven't seal the leaking parts and reinforce the base.
overall performance at current state is like what you guys said... better than low and mid range stuff

hmmnn...next will be the satellites... i need some inspiration for design and material again...
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 19 2010, 09:34 PM

1,254 posts

hehe i was thinking of shopping for sats on monday
QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 19 2010, 04:26 PM)
mixture of edifier and h/k ss..
it is actually a mixture of altec, labtec and i don't know what yet for sats
the one i use in picture is just for 'testing' purposes
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 19 2010, 09:53 PM

1,254 posts

the amp construction insdie for LCS2424 is a fail but the TDA7375 inside is quite nice sounding. they have many flaws back then...but after mod... sounds nice.
years ago, for stock speakers they sound alright. i think they made it as a low budget altec acs45.1 competitor
originally it had not so good speakers, horrid caps, 4560 opamp, bad cabling, bad design for splitting the pcb into 2 pieces...etc... but after 'fixing' it up with panasonic caps and shortcutting the cables. wow its nice really! i'm glad i picked this for my project.

i was thinking of something like this for sats.... aquariom shop can make i think

heh i was busy with my life lately, i would like to thank you all guys again for looking at my pics and really nice comments/suggestions
it really made my brain juices flow =)

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Sep 19 2010, 10:02 PM

0.1593sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:51 PM