Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

rexio
post Oct 8 2010, 08:05 PM

20 posts

Can I use TV Card(computer) with unifi IPTV?
I'm planning to use S-Video to RCA cable.

S-Video connect to the set top box and RCA connect to the TV card.

Will it work?

rexio
post Oct 9 2010, 05:39 PM

20 posts

Hi guys!

I've got my Unifi installed today.
Using DIR-615 G2 and able to get the operator password. tongue.gif
rexio
post Oct 9 2010, 07:30 PM

20 posts

@rizvanrp

Hi bro.
From what I can see, in G2 got something called "VLAN Priority".

I've tried to do hard reset by pressing the small button behind the router but the operator password remain unchanged after hard reset.
Currently the router is running in bridge mode.

@edwinlcw

Check your PM.

This post has been edited by rexio: Oct 9 2010, 07:31 PM
rexio
post Oct 10 2010, 02:20 PM

20 posts

May I know why some of you need to buy the additional VLAN switch?
rexio
post Oct 10 2010, 02:59 PM

20 posts

But I can get rid of TM DIR-615 and just use my WRT54GL with TM's ZTE ZXDSL 931. Only 2 hardwares and no need to buy additional VLAN switch.

rexio
post Oct 10 2010, 03:04 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 10 2010, 03:00 PM)
would what happen if someone, scan the while IP block of unifi..

and bricked, reconfigure all the routers to some other settings that make it doesn't function..

guess alot of ppl will be pissed and lots of tmnuts guys will be busy running around, maybe somebody should do that just to make it hell for their ppl  smile.gif

Added on October 10, 2010, 3:01 pm

it think its due to the fact that, the linksys wrt routers with ddwrt the vlan is a little cacated..

apart from that.. those that are using the fiber box they can't use the XDSL modems so its not applicable for them
No. I'm not running OpenWRT/DDWRT. I'm using Tomato without VLAN functionality on my WRT54GL.
If its not VDSL(ZTE ZXDSL 931), then you modem/router might looks like this right?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=1518231
rexio
post Oct 10 2010, 03:31 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(nooboy @ Oct 10 2010, 03:23 PM)
this question not yet answer

me oso wanted to know, can or not ?? tongue.gif
Hi bro,

I'll answer my own question. Hahaha
The answer is yes you can, I'm using K-World TV Card and the cable(Yellow/Red/White) that comes in the Set Top Box.
But for audio(Red/White), you'll have to buy 1 more cable to convert it. It looks like this http://www.okokchina.com/p/Fuses-Relays-Sw...ble-423148.html

This post has been edited by rexio: Oct 10 2010, 03:33 PM
rexio
post Oct 10 2010, 08:27 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Oct 10 2010, 06:18 PM)
Can you share more on how do you setup your Tomato & connect to the BTU directly?
Are both internet [vlan.500] & IPTV [vlan.600] runs concurrently on your WRT54GL?
Hi klseet,

FYI, all the VLANs trunking are done in the VDSL modem. BTW, I'm using VDSL.
You can use any router to connect to the internet, for my case, I'm using WRT54GL. Thje IPTV is working without any problem.
There is no need for VLAN support on the router. That's why I'm asking why some of you need to buy the VLAN capable switch.

This is my current setup.

Copper phone cable --> ZTE ZXDSL 931 --> WRT54GL & Set Top Box <---it's pretty simple right?

ZTE ZXDSL 931
LAN Port 1 -- > WRT54GL WAN Port
LAN Port 2 --> IPTV Set Top Box
LAN Port 3 --> Empty
LAN Port 4 --> Empty

The modem(ZTE ZXDSL 931) is capable of doing VLAN trunking. You can even dial PPPoE from the modem itself(same as Streamyx) but I havent try this as I'm pretty sure most of you will be using WiFi and don't want the modem alone to handle all the internet traffic.
I'm pretty sure that your fiber modem can do the same. Just think this way, if from the fiber cable need VLAN trunking, don't you think that the modem itself(ONU) need to be VLAN capable?

May I know what is the ONU brand and model for fiber users?

Seems like got a guy in this thread like to get the "name" without crediting other people.
I know many of DIR-615 G2 users are stuck before this because they cannot get the password, yesterday I got my unifi installed and able to decrypt the password, I post it in this thread that I'm able to get the password. Although you know how to do it, but you wont be helping any DIR-615 G2 users if I didn't post the "reply" and give you some idea yesterday right?

Sorry for my bad English.

In Malay : "Siapa yang makan cili, dia yang terasa pedasnya"

rexio
post Oct 10 2010, 09:06 PM

20 posts

Ya you're correct. If you're using only the BTU/ONU/modem(all mixed up already) and a router, you'll need two cables, 1 for set top box and 1 more for the router itself. But from what I can see(from some screenshot in this thread), most of them will just put the BTU/ONU/modem beside the set top box and DIR-615 router.

For you case, better stick with the original configuration.

This post has been edited by rexio: Oct 10 2010, 09:06 PM
rexio
post Oct 10 2010, 09:44 PM

20 posts

@silencer

No, you don't need custom firmware for the router as you dont need VLAN support on the router.
VLAN trunking is done in my ZTE ZXDSL 931.

The router is just doing normal PPPoE dialing same as streamyx PPPoE.

Please refer to this picture.

http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/1600/unifi.png

This post has been edited by rexio: Oct 10 2010, 09:48 PM
rexio
post Oct 11 2010, 12:24 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(sohlican @ Oct 11 2010, 12:10 AM)
Silencer, this is what you need to do.

Connect your laptop/pc to Port 4 of your ZTE BTU 931

Manually set your laptop/pc I to 192.168.1.2 subnect mask 255.255.255.0, you may leave the gateway blank.

After that login to your BTU, via 192.168.1.1 and type in username and password = admin

After that, follow this screenshot below.

Disclaimer, I am not liable for any damages/down time caused to anyone.  Do it at your own risk.

Port 1 (Connects to your router's WAN port)

Click on Advanced Setup > Vlan Trunk Setting

Then follow this screenshot.

Click Save/Apply

After this, click on the LAN Interface Select pull down menu on top and select LAN2

Tick vlan Trunk Enable and configure as per screenshot below

Port 2 (Connects to  your IPTV)

Click Save/Apply.

Reboot your ZTE BTU and IPTV and Router.
Nice guide there. If you're using your own router e.g WRT54GL, you can follow this guide.

If you're using back DIR-615 for the PPPoE, you need to set LAN Port 1, VLAN ID=500 and PVID=N/A. Then you can connect back your DIR-615 to the LAN Port 1 of the BTU without changing any configuration on the DIR-615.

This post has been edited by rexio: Oct 11 2010, 12:25 AM
rexio
post Oct 11 2010, 12:17 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Oct 11 2010, 11:11 AM)
Its good to know that us ZTE BTU users have now got an alternative of directly connecting to it but alas, do be mindful that TM may just void the lifetime warranty of the BTU for doing so if anything goes wrong.
For me, I'll always do a backup for the original configuration, if anything goes wrong I'll just upload back the original one(if still able to access administration page), then only I'll call for support/report. biggrin.gif

rexio
post Oct 21 2010, 06:04 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ayil @ Oct 21 2010, 04:24 PM)
i request the unifi 1 week ago, just now they did the 20mbps package for me smile.gif
1 question, is there any software we can fasten our connection tongue.gif im using cfoss.
fyi, after i tweak something from the cfoss, from 20mbps only can reach 23mbps sad.gif
i really hope / keen to push the speed to 30mbps if can hehe
Hi ayil,

How do you measure the speed? Using speedtest.net?
I recommend you to download a well seeded torrent file(eg. Ubuntu) to test your "real" unifi speed.
I'm using on VIP20 but when I do speedtest sometime the download speed drop to 5Mbps/10Mbps/15Mbps/20Mbps or even 40Mbps.
But when I test using download torrent file method, the max speed I can get is 2.3MBps which is for me fast enough.
For VDSL user, I believe that they cap at 20Mbps for the port(DSLAM side? Maybe they cap at 20Mbps for PPPoE VLAN only). But if you're using 5Mbps package on the same line, you'll get max speed at 5Mbps only as the cap on your account username is at 5Mbps.

rexio
post Oct 22 2010, 07:59 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Oct 22 2010, 12:30 AM)
http://www.utorrent.com/testport?port=22

If it says the port is open then your SSHd is still exposed to the WAN side biggrin.gif
1) wget http://175.136.2xx.x:8080/config.bin
2) Unpack collected config.bin's using gzip decompression + extract PPPoE user/pass combo
3) Identify username -> company relationships and access LAN as necessary
4) Thanks Unifi remote management! biggrin.gif
Hi rizvanrp,

I don't know why are you keep on exposing this hack or whatever "hole" to the public.
If you know there's a "hole", can't you just post to the public saying that please close this and that so that no one won't be able to hack/get into the router? From what I can see is you're teaching people in the public step by step on how to hack other people's unifi router. Do you think every Unifi subscriber will read your post/guide on how to secure their router? Even since Streamyx era many people dont know that other people can get into thier modem/router given by TM.

If you're trying to help others, please post on what to do, not what they shouldn't do.
Even if one of the reader don't bother about this before reading your post, I'm pretty sure most of them will start doing what you've posted here on other people's router.
rexio
post Oct 22 2010, 09:45 PM

20 posts

Dear rizvanrp,

I'm doing this because it's not a new security problem. It's been around since April and TM has not done anything about it except blindly trust their own firmware. It's like having a huge, well known Windows RPC exploit and Microsoft not doing anything for half a year. When it came out in the newspapers, what did TM do? They said they would 'fix' it. All they ended up doing was changing the password to something more complex, ignoring the possibility that their firmware itself could be vulnerable to attacks. If they had only listened and practiced some basic security measures, we would not have any of these problems. If they had been open about how their system works from the beginning and not try to lock us down into their shitty hardware, this Unifi thread would be about 2 maybe 3 topics long with only people talking about service coverage. I would not even have to run a website on how to basically break into the hardware you own because your ISP has decided to lock you out.

I'm fully agree with the bolded sentence.

We're talking about Malaysia's next generation, billion ringgit broadband network here and it's plagued by the most basic security problems. There's a huge difference between TMs stock Streamyx routers with their 512kbps uplinks and a Linux router which manages 10-40x that amount of bandwidth. I'm not even getting started on the security of their BTUs.. but imagine a single user being able to take out our IPTV, VOIP and Internet infrastructure with a single click in the future because your ISP decided not to change the default password.

Do you think that other ISP in other countries didn't do the same thing for the modem/router password?
What are you expecting? Expecting each of thier internet service installer/technician to have the same attitude(think about customer's security?) and change the password for each of the customer? From what I can see in this forum, most of the subscriber prefer the technician/installer to install the unifi as soon as possible, do you think the technician/installer even bother to help you change the username/password for each of the unifi's subscriver's house, it'll take longer time isn't it? Please do a simple google about other country's ISP(for consumer) default username/password for thier modem/router before you start bashing TM about this.

I'm fully agree with you regarding the ssh, but without the ssh, I still be able to turn on/off/reset your modem/router with just the username/password right?

I didn't give ANYONE a step by step guide on how to break into the router remotely. Infact, a LYN user was the one who cracked the newer 7.05b firmware operator password before me because he had the software to decompress the config.bin files and full access to a physical 7.05b unit. A person with basic computing skills would be able to piece things together and realize that if :

1) You have a method to grab a config.bin without authentication
2) You have a method to decode said config.bin

.. there's obviously a major security exploit here. And can you imagine, they want companies to associate this piece of junk with their identity? That's batshit insane.

Please check you previous PM message box, is the "LYN user" refers to me? If its not me, I'm wondering how come on the same day I PMed you about 7.05B firmware's operator password, then suddenly you post it to the public about 7.05B's password?
Did you give any credit to anyone that've helped you on this?

I'm saying this because I felt a bit pissed off when I saw your post without crediting anybody like you're the one who "SUCCESSFULLY" cracked the password without crediting anybody. I've found Router Pass View software with a simple google before I PM you that I've successfully cracked 7.05B password.

Do you think that a good company won't have thier own hardware firewall? Please ask around which big company don't have thier own firewall. Only "junk" company don't have thier own firewall and fully rely on TM's hardware for thier P&C company's documents and informations.

What you quoted was written as a joke by me and isn't in any way a technical guide on how to pull off the attack. The people who have the knowledge and intention to do these things would have done it back in April when this exploit was out. I was actually contacted by some of them and told not to release the information because they wanted to use it to harvest information once the network was more mature. I made a difficult decision to notify everyone that TMs hardware implementation was flawed.

Joke? How about Streamyx? Don't you think you're actually encouraging people to become "people who have the knowledge and intention to do these" when you post about the exploit(download config file, crack using Router Pass view?) to the public? How about improving your guide, no need to download the config file and just go to the router's WAN setup page and click "View Source" on your IE/Firefox menu? Isn't that easier? Ah! Seems like you've found a better solution to crack other people's password and successfully posted it here!

I could release a guide on how to uncap your line, watch IPTV channels you're not subscribed to, break into BTUs, etc. but I haven't. I've only hinted that this is possible and I'm expecting TM to fix this shit on their own. I cannot however, ignore such a stupid decision on TMs part to open up your router to the entire web while forcing you to use it.

If I'm not wrong its a common practice by most of ISP out there, don't talk about enterprise package(for sure the service is excellent, but how much did they need to pay?) by other ISP.

So do you think its better I keep quiet about all the exploits I find, wait till the Unifi user base grows to 6 digits+ and let every individual and corporation be raped in single click.. or force TM to stop pulling these kind of stunts while we're at the 15,000 user mark? Your decision.

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Oct 22 2010, 12:30 AM)
http://www.utorrent.com/testport?port=22

If it says the port is open then your SSHd is still exposed to the WAN side biggrin.gif
1) wget http://175.136.2xx.x:8080/config.bin
2) Unpack collected config.bin's using gzip decompression + extract PPPoE user/pass combo
3) Identify username -> company relationships and access LAN as necessary
4) Thanks Unifi remote management! biggrin.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1439287&hl=

Even linux noob know's about "wget" command right?

No, I'm not asking you to keep quiet about this, please read my previous post about "If you're trying to help others, please post on what to do, not what they shouldn't do.".

Don't you think that you're actually promoting more problem and complains to this thread and forum by posting the guide/tutorial/how-to/how hacker hack your unifi router to the public? Let's say I'm a layman/non-technical person, after reading your post, I'll be like "Wah! Can hack other people's router lah! There, just follow what he said/google a bit what's the step to do port scan or just tembak any unifi IP range on port 80.!" Then after he get the username/password, if he's on VIP5, don't you think he'll try to find a VIP20's username/password, disconnect other people's connection and try thier luck on the username/password that they get? After that, the poor subscriber(the one who've been hacked) will call and complain to TM, complain here, TM sux suddenly disconnect but cannot connect back(because only 1 session is allowed at a time for 1 username, unless TM reset the session).

This exploit, I mean default modem's or router's login/password has been like this since long time ago, since Streamyx era.

Think wisely bro.

Cheers

Added on October 22, 2010, 9:54 pm
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Oct 22 2010, 08:38 PM)
EDIT:

Dear rexio,

You know what.. I posted a long ass reply but I decided to remove it. This is probably going to be the last post from me for a while. I've been here from v1 and like others who already have their network setup nicely (radius, moogle, etc.), there's no real need to post here anymore. There's nothing for me to gain or lose and that was always the case. I've spent countless hours working on this in my free time, never got anything except personal satisfaction out of it and I honestly do not care what people think about me. If you can read and utilize my unifi.athena.my guides to secure your network then turn on me when I talk about the reason those guides exist, there's nothing I can say that will convince you that I mean no harm.

So cya.
Why did you delete/fully edit the original post?

Cya.

This post has been edited by rexio: Oct 22 2010, 09:54 PM
rexio
post Oct 23 2010, 12:33 AM

20 posts

Please read what I've posted before you start bashing me dude.
I'm just saying the fact. Don't you even use your brain and bother reading what I'm trying to say before you start saying bad words towards me?
I'm not bashing him, I'm just saying from the fact/truth. Read and understand it.

Dear rizvanrp,

If I'm wrong about the bloody password, then fine. I think its better if I just become a reader and don't bother sharing/posting anything with the community/try to voice out what's my own opinion on what other people thought/said.

Then fine, sorry guys, enjoy your unifi.

Cheers

This post has been edited by rexio: Oct 23 2010, 12:42 AM
rexio
post Oct 23 2010, 12:46 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Oct 23 2010, 12:39 AM)
Rexio, you obviously cannot use your own brain. You want me to write guides to help people secure their router. I tell them the operator password is 'telekom' or whatever, to log in and untick this and that. You honestly think that the 'bad guys' wont use the same login on other peoples routers? You tell me about Linux noobs.. this is like logic failure if they can't make that connection.

I was angry at you because you want me to practice security through obscurity. Keeping quiet == keeping it safe. That's bloody stupid and is basically what TM is doing. And now I'm just plain pissed because you're demanding credit for something you didn't do. Something you could not have done without my help in the first place. Seriously la, use your head.
Ya bro, you're the only one that knows about networking.
Other people don't and they really need you and only you can help them.
Thanks for every effort that you've put for all unifi users.

I'm sorry to cause so much trouble in this thread and I wont be posting anymore. Thanks and sorry.

0.0750sec    0.65    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:07 AM