Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

covetous
post Sep 20 2010, 02:42 PM

Hi guys, just wanted to relate my story regarding HSBB installation today at my house in Kota Damansara.

The HSBB guys came early around 9.45am, but the contractors somehow got lost and only arrived around 10.30am.

My issue was they could not install HSBB for me, because my telephone pit thingy (at my door entrance) was blocked by my built-in shoe rack. My telephone wires and fiber optic cables are underground (the access point is right in front of my house). They said the only solution was to hack the tar road (a bit only) in front of my house to create a new passageway for the cables.
However, i think the contractor didn't have the necessary equipment to do the hacking (judging from his proton saga,i doubt there'd be a big drill in there), so he said it couldn't be done, need approval from Bandaraya etc.

The thing is, my opposite neighbour installed HSBB and they hacked his tar road at the back of his house, he said they didn't even need to connect to the telephone pit thingy. The contractors brought all the equipment to hack the road etc.

Sorry, a little frustrated now, they left not long ago, wasted my day staying at home today mad.gif

Just wondering, anyone else had this problem? Is there a solution to this issue..

p/s: I asked the guy about the DIR-615 issues...he's aware of the router problems, according to him its a voltage problem or something,dunno la. Apparently TM is tendering for a new contract with another supplier. Then I said "Kalau router ini banyak masalah macam mana?" Reply:"Ikut nasib la,kalau nasib baik,takda masalah" doh.gif

covetous
post Sep 20 2010, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(akerue @ Sep 20 2010, 03:05 PM)
My phone line duct was blocked also during rennovation. What they did was they used a metal pipe to divert the line to my garden and then dug a path in the garden to my house. It is quite neat actually after it was done.
Thx for the reply, you probably had a better contractor than i did thumbup.gif Did they have to hack the road in front of your house? They wanted to do something like that for me, instead of using the existing pipe in the hole in front of my house, they needed to hack the road, make a new entrance for the cable to connect to my garden..something like that, i dunno, a bit difficult to describe it in words lol. rclxub.gif

lol u guys infrastructure is so mafan and complicated.. the HSBB box is just directly behind my room, not even 5 m away. job done in a instant.. haha..

Hehe you're lucky biggrin.gif the installers told me underground cabling got lots of complications, easiest installations are those done from the telephone poles. He said my house developer wanted to make the area more 'cantik' by not putting those telephone poles sweat.gif

covetous
post Sep 20 2010, 06:20 PM

Some pics of the problem im facing sad.gif Hope i uploaded it right tongue.gif

Location of the telephone pit:

Location of the underground cables:

Well it is the same for me underground cable here too, they took 9hours to complete my installations. 

External fiber come out from the TNB sewer cover inside my house storeroom(below stairs), then my telephone hub is @ there.  Because of that my BTU have to be inside my storeroom, so they can wire the VOIP output from BTU to the telephone hub to make all the phone wall socket in 3 storey my house work.  then my TV is @ second floor, they have to wire the full 30meter CAT5e cable to second floor TV, my computer is @ another room, I had to use home plug to connect my own router to 615 that is location next to my TV in living room.

Most sad thing is my BTU @ Storeroom is  everytime need to config BTU need to bring notebook hide inside storeroom.

Thx for sharing, your house must've been pretty messy after they were done!

No hacking of road for me, can't they run a pipe across your drain to garden?

They said they couldn't.. must hack the road,zzz.. Sigh, now i have to wait for the installers to submit their report to TM, then wait for TM's CS to call me back. Wonder how long that'll be. I really hope they can solve my problem. The damn cables are right in front of my house, not like its few houses away! Their excuse:Need permit. As i said, my neighbours contractor hack his road,no problem. icon_question.gif rclxub.gif

@akerue If my HSBB was installed today i probably would've bought your extra Mikrotik RB250GS off ya straight away, COD @ curve,1 utama, even better, so near my house. Now i dont even know whether i can get HSBB installed. doh.gif

covetous
post Sep 20 2010, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 20 2010, 09:22 PM)
Hi covetous, your house must be semi-D or bungalow where there is no backlane access, hence the telecommunication infrastructure are from the front.

Usually, there should be an underground uPVC or PVC duct connecting telekom manhole/handhole outside your house until telephone pit, so usually there's a draw wire inside the duct to allow TM contractor to tie to the draw wire and draw in the fibre optic cable into the telephone pit and telephone distribution box.

Like most of the forumers, fibre optic to home was laid from backlane telephone post (1 block from my house <5 m); two types of fibre optic cables were used, external was black (armour) fibre optic cable mounted on backwall with cable support (hook) and internal was white fibre optic cable laid through first floor ceiling (roof space) and dropped to my 1st floor family room along the edge of wall with u-clip, since the fibre optic is white and tiny, it's hardly noticable. All IT equipment, i.e. Huawei BTU, TM DIR-615, TL-WR941N were installed at corner of family room with a notebook fan connected to USB port of DIR-615.
hey bro, yeah my house has no backlane access. You're right about that PVC duct thingy, unfortunately its blocked by my shoerack (cement n brick put over the thing already). Only way is to hope another TM contractor can drill or create a new passageway for the cables to reach my telephone pit. They could actually make a new lubang to connect the manhole to my drain..but the contractors i had weren't very willing to do the extra work i think sad.gif

Is telephone lines are underground also? how about power line? As far as I know for houses that have telephone lines and power lines underground, pass underground directly to inside ur house powerbox.

If you are this kind of house just follow the path of telephone line. Thats what the contractors do in my house. I got a dry sewer, they pull the cable following telephone cables to the telephone hub in my storeroom.According to the pic, there is no other way, u need to figure out how to remove ur shoe-rack, you need a place for the cables to come out from underground. From the pic, looks like u need to figure out how.  because that hole is the only hole coming out. I never reno my house blocking those sewer holes.

Prepare 8hours for this kind of installation it is quite headache. 

mine is 9hours I hope it is not highest record in Malaysia lol

When my parents made the shoe-rack, the contractor said no problem! its not blocking anything!.. lol gg. Now i cant remove it unless I destroy it rclxub.gif Even if i break it up, the contractor said the cement might sumbat that PVC duct thing. Aih! I hope TM can get back to me soon. I hope they dont charge the RM200 installation fee if i get mine installed after 30th September. To those out there thinking of installing Unifi, be sure to check where your telephone pit is and if there's anything blocking it!

0.0702sec    0.61    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:28 AM