Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

cloudtee
post Nov 4 2010, 10:52 AM

114 posts

"switch" from vip5 to biz5 IS without penalty. but it is a one way trip with 2 years tie up.

the problem is, is it worth the $$ vs risk of getting a "unlimited cap"?

to fully utilize 5mbps the dlink router is sure not enough. if you wanna BT.
U need a router capable of handling 100,000 connections without dropping any of it. (and custom traffic shape yourself. if you do well in theory you can play MMORPG while heavy P2P with no lag.)
I opted for a ATOM based pfsense and waiting unifi at my place.

but i was thinking should i go 4mbps instead...

This post has been edited by cloudtee: Nov 4 2010, 10:58 AM
cloudtee
post Nov 5 2010, 07:22 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(brian12988 @ Nov 4 2010, 01:05 PM)
1) no IPTV data is not counted....and once u reach the limit, the speed drops, but by how much we dont know..

2) does not matter...all packages now must buy channels instead..

4) depends on ur package, but i am not sure what other fees they have inside.

5) tak tau..some say got, some say dun have..

6) lower latency, possible upgrades to better speeds, higher upload rate on fiber..but compare packages, then yes..those are some of the differences..
mind revealing ur QoS settings?? i opted for an ATOM based clearOS...laugh.gif
i am using pfsense btw...

still waiting for my unifi but the box is ready and testing with my screamyx. so far even with 20000 (site+p2p) connection non of it drop during heavy p2p (testing website with like 100 thumbs each and 20+++ tabs).

as for QOS... not ready to deploy yet. but i plan to control it according to ip and port based. and every "registered" machine should have fair share when every one is rampaging the bandwidth. one of the idea to minimize ping with mmorpg is to reserve 5~10% of your bandwidth for spike handling and set the mmorpg server to high priority.

0.0695sec    0.52    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:58 PM