Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

auronthas
post Sep 10 2010, 11:59 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

Wow, V7 !

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to all muslim LYN forumers, happy holidays to all .

Here's my UNIFI result today. (Huawei HG850a <> TM DIR-615 <> TP Link TL941N (VLAN bridge).

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 10 2010, 12:45 PM
auronthas
post Sep 10 2010, 12:44 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 10 2010, 12:18 PM)
Yours is VIP5? If yes, speed not bad er!  laugh.gif
Btw, your 941ND is it ver3.2? you run dd-wrt on it?
Yes, it's VIP5 smile.gif But I only can test packetloss via my PC notebook and not iMac (wonder why?)

Yes, it's ver 3.2 with firmware 3.9.7 Build 090821 Rel.38819n. I did not run dd-wrt, just follow Riz's guide on VLAN bridge between 615 and 941N.

Added on September 10, 2010, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 10 2010, 12:27 PM)
I tested mine @ 5mbps/4mbps up. But when I torrent i am reaching 580kb/s sometimes.

Still think the RB750G RouterOS too good to ignore.  tongue.gif
Could it be due to heavy traffic on the torrent server slow down your torrent speed?

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 10 2010, 12:47 PM
auronthas
post Sep 10 2010, 03:10 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 10 2010, 02:03 PM)
Not sure whether you are aware that TL941ND latest firmware TL-WR941ND_V3_100609:
http://www.tp-link.com/support/download.as...TL-WR941ND&h=V3
icon_rolleyes.gif
I do not know, thanks, just updated the latest firmware rclxms.gif
auronthas
post Sep 14 2010, 02:26 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Sep 14 2010, 09:16 AM)
Thanks, billy.

Any other specific recommendations anyone?
I would recommend TP Link TL-WR941N, it's one of the cheapest (RM130 - RM 140) internet router, 300M wireless N router which also suport dd-wrt. Please google around for the review.

I have followed the step-by-step procedure (customized router) as well written by Riz, it's pretty easy and straight forward setup.

Hope it helps.

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 14 2010, 02:26 PM
auronthas
post Sep 14 2010, 03:44 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Sep 14 2010, 03:06 PM)

If i flash the WR941N router with dd-wrt, i can still use the vlan bridge (the original unifi-supplied DIR-615) to power my iptv, right?

Wrong ! If you read Riz's guide carefully, if you flash dd-wrt, you may lost the iptv setting (attach riz's guide of dd-wrt 615 if you have not read it).

I just have vlan bridge between DIR-615 and WR941N. The combo works flawlessly. I did not do dd-wrt flashing.

edit: attached Riz's guide on DD-WRT

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 14 2010, 04:03 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  DD_WRT_Guide__DIR_615_.pdf ( 681.31k ) Number of downloads: 46
auronthas
post Sep 14 2010, 04:01 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Sep 14 2010, 03:46 PM)
Dude he was saying that he was gonna use his router and then using the TM router as a vlan bridge. Did you read the sentence carefully?
If i flash the WR941N router with dd-wrt, i can still use the vlan bridge (the original unifi-supplied DIR-615) to power my iptv, right?

Did i misread his post?
auronthas
post Sep 14 2010, 04:08 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Sep 14 2010, 04:05 PM)
Sorry if i was unclear. I will use the DIR-615 as the vlan bridge, according to the guide by Riz, that's the one that will connect to iptv. The router, if i understand things correctly, will act as the actual device from which i'll interact with UNIFI e.g. connect to wifi, internet, dial up PPoE, etc.

http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61
No worry Tentris smile.gif. You are on the right track. That's how I set the DIR-615 and WR941N follow Riz's guide, but prior to that, please also read the DIR-615's security as the guide mentioned. Good luck smile.gif
auronthas
post Sep 14 2010, 09:23 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(calvin92 @ Sep 14 2010, 09:16 PM)
I hope i dont get cursed anything this but after 2 replacement routers first one lasted about less then 24 after the day of installation and 2nd one was replaced about 6 days later. since then for 1 and a half months this particular TM 615 has been excellent. can put heavy load constant torrent and gaming at same time no lag plus some browsing and IPTV tested to perform well. so for me now i come to the conclusion that it a fault with the batch of routers given out not the actual router itself. It is not like TM trying to give poor quality ones out in my opinion. I even setup wireless printer/scanner and scan at high resolution therefore sending data at max 54 Mb G standard still ok.

I just hope this will last years. This is my 3rd router is exceed my expectations.

the 2nd times it broke, i had to call everyday for many days until scolding so many of the call center until some1 come here to replace. Such a pain.

I think TM need to find out why certain number of their dlink is like this.

If all TM routers performs like mine i can tell u don t really need to get alternative routers or firmwares as this is just fine.
Glad to hear that from you calvin92, I hope I have the same batch of router as your 3rd one which was early September 2010. And it will save our money for something else. rclxms.gif
auronthas
post Sep 14 2010, 10:59 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

That's right, the IPTV is connected via TM DIR-615 (red LAN port) which has been allocated with the firmware 7.05.

I have the similar setup except for the IPTV I am using homeplug as my TV is at ground floor, and my DIR-615 is at first floor.

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 14 2010, 11:00 PM
auronthas
post Sep 15 2010, 11:30 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

I am VIP5 UNIFI user, just downloaded an installation file of 444MB, took me 17 minutes, which is approx. 26Mbps, and there is not much fluctuation on estimated time, the time remaining was reduced along with the downloaded file smile.gif

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 15 2010, 11:42 AM
auronthas
post Sep 15 2010, 11:53 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(alextong8386 @ Sep 15 2010, 11:49 AM)
How to check our balance of our Free 100 credits for the IPTV?
If you go to pay TV channel or VOD, you will see a small window (i think on the bottom right), there you can see your remaining credit.
auronthas
post Sep 15 2010, 11:30 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 15 2010, 11:04 PM)
Thanks for the link, klseet, i tested it too with 720 HD, the video was played flawlessly without halting. Image attached, the dropped shown (69) was actually on the second round play of this MV.

auronthas
post Sep 15 2010, 11:55 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 15 2010, 11:44 PM)
Yes, generally I noticed 720P still boleh lah on my VIP5 ...
but this one 1080p really lag every few seconds on my VIP5...  sweat.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=ZVuGI2V5BgQ&vq=hd1080

and please don't watch until like that
[attachmentid=1782904]
cry.gif It stopped every 10-15 sec, I am short of breath ! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 15 2010, 11:57 PM

auronthas
post Sep 17 2010, 01:43 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(tommyfai @ Sep 17 2010, 01:25 PM)
same thing.. i asked them. they like acting dunno what is that.
I called the installer, they acted like dunno; called UNIFI CS, they gave me two passwords and asked me to try. Before reading Riz's guide smile.gif
auronthas
post Sep 18 2010, 03:23 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

Downloaded 4.9GB movie via torrent (transmission Mac version) within 8 hours, is the download speed considered normal (VIP5)?

auronthas
post Sep 20 2010, 08:49 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

Today my torrent is 300-500 kbps faster than yesterday which is only 10-20 kbps, probably due to seeds (yesterday only 6 seeds but there are 15 today).

auronthas
post Sep 20 2010, 09:22 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(covetous @ Sep 20 2010, 06:20 PM)
Some pics of the problem im facing  sad.gif Hope i uploaded it right  tongue.gif

Location of the telephone pit:

Location of the underground cables:

Thx for sharing, your house must've been pretty messy after they were done!
They said they couldn't.. must hack the road,zzz.. Sigh, now i have to wait for the installers to submit their report to TM, then wait for TM's CS to call me back. Wonder how long that'll be. I really hope they can solve my problem. The damn cables are right in front of my house, not like its few houses away! Their excuse:Need permit. As i said, my neighbours contractor hack his road,no problem.  icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif

Hi covetous, your house must be semi-D or bungalow where there is no backlane access, hence the telecommunication infrastructure are from the front.

Usually, there should be an underground uPVC or PVC duct connecting telekom manhole/handhole outside your house until telephone pit, so usually there's a draw wire inside the duct to allow TM contractor to tie to the draw wire and draw in the fibre optic cable into the telephone pit and telephone distribution box.

Like most of the forumers, fibre optic to home was laid from backlane telephone post (1 block from my house <5 m); two types of fibre optic cables were used, external was black (armour) fibre optic cable mounted on backwall with cable support (hook) and internal was white fibre optic cable laid through first floor ceiling (roof space) and dropped to my 1st floor family room along the edge of wall with u-clip, since the fibre optic is white and tiny, it's hardly noticable. All IT equipment, i.e. Huawei BTU, TM DIR-615, TL-WR941N were installed at corner of family room with a notebook fan connected to USB port of DIR-615.

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 20 2010, 09:29 PM
auronthas
post Sep 20 2010, 10:07 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(covetous @ Sep 20 2010, 09:49 PM)
hey bro, yeah my house has no backlane access. You're right about that PVC duct thingy, unfortunately its blocked by my shoerack (cement n brick put over the thing already). Only way is to hope another TM contractor can drill or create a new passageway for the cables to reach my telephone pit. They could actually make a new lubang to connect the manhole to my drain..but the contractors i had weren't very willing to do the extra work i think sad.gif

Try to negotiate with them, you may get some 'surprise'. I had mine 'surprise' with good negotiation with them as my fibre optic cable was supposed to come from the ground floor and hacking involved which is not possible at all.

QUOTE(covetous @ Sep 20 2010, 09:49 PM)
When my parents made the shoe-rack, the contractor said no problem! its not blocking anything!.. lol gg. Now i cant remove it unless I destroy it  rclxub.gif Even if i break it up, the contractor said the cement might sumbat that PVC duct thing. Aih! I hope TM can get back to me soon. I hope they dont charge the RM200 installation fee if i get mine installed after 30th September. To those out there thinking of installing Unifi, be sure to check where your telephone pit is and if there's anything blocking it!
Is your shoe-rack removable? Usually those cabinet type shoe rack or book rack are easily removable and get it fixed back, even they can move and reinstalled at new house/room.
auronthas
post Sep 21 2010, 01:43 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(akerue @ Sep 21 2010, 11:25 AM)
I noticed the CallerID of the VOIP is working now.
Do you need to subscribe CallerID service ? I only see Private call when receiving call.
auronthas
post Sep 21 2010, 09:03 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 21 2010, 08:53 PM)
How you guys break the 615? lol.  doh.gif

Since Sept 1 I am running in bridge mode with over 8 hours online almost everyday torrented 50GBs, watched IPTV, trading online, youtubing , even with all that my 615 still running perfectly.
I quite agree with billytong too. Since 3 Sept till now, my 615 with VLAN bridge WR941ND working flawlessly though I don't torrent as much as him lol. More importantly, to provide all your BTU/routers in a well ventilated space.

0.0811sec    0.43    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:24 PM