Samsung Galaxy S without Packages. Need advise.

TSAh_Huat
post Sep 8 2010, 11:12 AM, updated 16y ago

249 posts

hi...
i'm planing to get the Samsung Galaxy S, but i don't want to sign up any packages with maxis or Digi... just use pre-paid ... because i don't want to pay alot on the internet access fee because i didn't need it.. it that ok?? beside .. i still can use the wifi in my house to access internet...

thanks...
Narako
post Sep 8 2010, 11:20 AM

what?
705 posts

err why not? you can just go to any mobile phone shop and get a galaxy s and use your wifi at home or anywhere that has wifi
areankim
post Sep 8 2010, 11:40 AM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

erm.. it's ok but u will miss out those functionality when ur on the go.
most of the thing bout android is going online, and stay connected.

Check this out
android accounts for one quarter of mobile web traffic

and surpasses iphone.

This post has been edited by areankim: Sep 8 2010, 11:40 AM
Fantasia
post Sep 8 2010, 11:42 AM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Sep 8 2010, 11:20 AM)
err why not? you can just go to any mobile phone shop and get a galaxy s and use your wifi at home or anywhere that has wifi
iirc, samsung galaxy s is exclusively for maxis
shahz
post Sep 8 2010, 12:14 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 8 2010, 11:42 AM)
iirc, samsung galaxy s is exclusively for maxis
Says who? lol..

Ah_Huat, Sure man, you can walk to any Samsung authorized retailer and get your Galaxy S from there..You can use prepaid as you wish..Use the other features with wifi..Over the long run, you will understand your phone better, and have the desire to get a data plan, only then go for it smile.gif
faridaizuddin
post Sep 8 2010, 02:03 PM

Androidian
1,017 posts

QUOTE(Ah_Huat @ Sep 8 2010, 11:12 AM)
hi...
i'm planing to get the Samsung Galaxy S, but i don't want to sign up any packages with maxis or Digi... just use pre-paid ... because i don't want to pay alot on the internet access fee because i didn't need it.. it that ok?? beside .. i still can use the wifi in my house to access internet...

thanks...
Even me myself using Celcom broadband sim card through my HTC Tattoo.. tongue.gif
But the screen is too small, 2.8" only and everyday I pray that my Tattoo's screen will get bigger as Droid X's screen.. tongue.gif
plateau
post Sep 8 2010, 02:49 PM

Don't Touch My Stars™
984 posts

QUOTE(Ah_Huat @ Sep 8 2010, 11:12 AM)
hi...

thanks...
Sure why not. I've got my nexus one without data plan, but i use mifi on the go. So i'm considered always connected smile.gif

I'd suggest that you also look in the tradezone to see what is the price range of the SGS to compare. Don't want to get it too expensive...
mengsuan
post Sep 8 2010, 04:46 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Sep 8 2010, 12:14 PM)
Says who? lol..
Ah_Huat, Sure man, you can walk to any Samsung authorized retailer and get your Galaxy S from there..You can use prepaid as you wish..Use the other features with wifi..Over the long run, you will understand your phone better, and have the desire to get a data plan, only then go for it smile.gif
Things could have changed by now but Samsung in Gardens does not have SGS for sale when I went. Reason: Maxis is exclusive dealer.
KTCY
post Sep 8 2010, 04:47 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Ask at existing thread for SGS.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1553305

You can get SGS outside without the need for contract and etc wink.gif
decypher
post Sep 8 2010, 04:59 PM

低头族
864 posts

I got my SGS from a Samsung outlet. Currently on pre-paid, no intention to go for any data plan. My home, workplace and usual hangout places have wifi. I don't go online with the phone too often anyway...
alvinscboyz
post Sep 8 2010, 05:44 PM

376 posts

actually is depend your usage, smart phone mean internet anytime,any where, so if you have data plan in ur smart phone sure will be better, if you think u not using internet for android anymore then just go Samsung authorize reseller buy.

Maybe you can consider celcom data plan RM38 only per month.

that my opinion, good luck at all!
mengsuan
post Sep 8 2010, 11:37 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 8 2010, 04:47 PM)
Ask at existing thread for SGS.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1553305

You can get SGS outside without the need for contract and etc wink.gif