Q and A Antivirus... Which one o?, Kaspersky & Avira

Quantum_thinking
post Oct 9 2010, 08:24 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sweet2020 @ Sep 15 2010, 04:55 PM)
i think u must be using outdated or illegal kaspersky license or joke without sos chili

I can tell you that the previous fellow's comment might be legitimate. I do have this encounter before.

When my friend return my thumb drive, i found out that there is an autorun .inf file.( i showed all my hidden files in my laptop)

Fortunately, i am using windows 7 hp. And i guess i am not infected coz after numerous restarts and using pen drive, none of them is infected with autorun.

I straight off delete the autorun file. It seems to be end of story.

However, after using kaspersky virus removal tool to scan my friend's infected computer and capture some virus. The PC is not free from virus.

I still have the autorun infecting my pen drive and KIS just won't quarantine it. ( i use my pen drive to insert the tool into the infected system)

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Oct 9 2010, 08:26 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 1 2010, 01:09 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(chenhui87 @ Oct 31 2010, 11:43 PM)
using kaspersky, kickass~~
Indeed. But it is not everything.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 2 2010, 06:02 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Nov 1 2010, 02:02 AM)
can i know KIS 2010 and KIS 2011 , which one better ??
which one more stable ??
which one will slow the com more ?
2011 version slows down my PC without good reason and causes my CPU usage to surge sometimes.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 3 2010, 04:01 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(servlet @ Nov 2 2010, 10:22 PM)
Use Avira since 2007... but there a some viruses that avira can't combat.. e.g C:\khq viruses.. Avira scanned it but fail to capture the malware..

now I turn to Panda Cloud Antivirus.. it's lite.. super lite.. because the main core engine is on Panda server.. but it require internet connection to operate accurately..
Operating it would become a problem for the users with limited broadband quota.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 3 2010, 10:58 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Nov 3 2010, 06:24 PM)
Well according to Panda.. There's a local cache which is built right after an Optimized Scan or Full System is completed.. So you'll have offline protection as well.. smile.gif
Protection against the autoruns and network attacks as well?

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Nov 3 2010, 10:58 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 5 2010, 12:17 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:21 PM)
Yes for autorun.. As for network attacks.. you should have your Firewall protecting you.
Oh yeah. I forgot anti virus does not have firewall.

QUOTE(bloodlines @ Nov 4 2010, 01:41 AM)
for me ofcoz kis la...avira??LOL...even not virus it still detects them...i create folder with name autorun.inf also avira block it...WTH???my crack all gone after scan with avira...zzZZzz...kis never did that to me...even first time updates takes too long but worth it...

kis - for professional

avira - for newbies

just my opinion...peace~~~~
+1

Agreed with the highlighted part.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 7 2010, 01:17 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

I do not have good experience with the AVG.

I prefer bit defender free edition when it comes to free AV.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 22 2010, 06:13 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Friendly Person @ Nov 22 2010, 01:00 PM)
TRY ARCAVIR, NOT BAD, NEW IN TOWN LA!! BUT GOT THE NECESSARY CREDENTIALS. CHECK OUT THEIR SITE :

http://www.arcavir.asia/

rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif

IMAGINE A POLISH TANK IN YOU PC...HAHAHAHA...  thumbup.gif
Polish Tank? Poland just starting to replace their indigenous tanks with other Western Tank such as the Leopard Tanks.

Back to the topic.

I still prefer using the proven technology for now like Kaspersky. I might try out that later. Thanks for sharing.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 24 2010, 06:13 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sodifhas @ Nov 24 2010, 05:43 PM)
using norton antivirus, and my PC is sending spam mail to all my contacts!!!    rclxub.gif

numerous updates and rescan still couldn't find the virus\malware...  vmad.gif
That is why i always use the internet security.

Have you tried any stand alone anti virus?
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 26 2010, 12:22 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sweet2020 @ Nov 25 2010, 10:42 AM)
Bro, Norton Av and IS aso scan email.  laugh.gif
Hmm, it is not better than Kaspersky in terms of the virus database.

You use Norton?
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 29 2010, 09:02 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Friendly Person @ Nov 29 2010, 01:33 AM)
you should go for avira lor  biggrin.gif
Since there is a promotion for the Avira, i might buy it in the near future,
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 29 2010, 07:54 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 29 2010, 02:44 PM)
hmm.gif i wonder avira + tune up still available anot...i very interested biggrin.gif
If no more, then use the Ccleaner lo. tongue.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 30 2010, 11:32 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(fiqir @ Nov 29 2010, 09:22 PM)
yeah, its too 'advance' until make my pc hang permanently.  biggrin.gif
What have you done??? You messed up with the registry stuff?

QUOTE(Fallensya14 @ Nov 30 2010, 09:07 PM)
Kapersky.. Lol cant stop thinking jackie chan smack all the viruses that he found.. And also chong wei's smashes (( _ _ ));
It is just an advertisement. Advertisement only shows pro only to impress the potential users. rclxub.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 1 2010, 10:49 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Dec 1 2010, 02:16 AM)
i think kaspersky nowadays is more ram hogging.. did'nt really like the latest version and kaspersky real, lags my pc like hell.. now i'm happy with nod32. small footprint with detection rate that can even challenge kaspersky  thumbup.gif
The KIS is quite annoying sometime. It causes the CPU usage to surge without a reason.

After installing the latest version, it seems to be ok already. thumbup.gif

Quantum_thinking
post Dec 2 2010, 09:47 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sanderz @ Dec 2 2010, 07:05 PM)
Sometimes when Kaspersky detects any viruses in your PC, it will automatically delete & restart PC without any warning. Thats why I have changed to Avira.
Is it the "friendly" virus being deleted?

So far, it never restart my laptop without warning. Did you left your PC scan when you are not around your PC?
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 3 2010, 03:07 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sanderz @ Dec 3 2010, 01:02 PM)
While I am playing games... It detects game trainer as viruses (Trojan) & straight restarted my PC.
LOL.

The game is not the original version right?
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 3 2010, 08:25 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(eanson @ Dec 3 2010, 08:16 PM)
im going to find avira+tune up during pc expo melaka next 2 weeks...hopefully it is available  sweat.gif
Please share about the price information over here ya. icon_rolleyes.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 3 2010, 08:46 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(stevenangelus @ Dec 3 2010, 08:29 PM)
Get BitDefender... The best so far! At least works for me up till now. smile.gif
In terms of the database, it is the best. How was the latest version? Does it still hog around the PC resources?
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 4 2010, 12:48 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:51 PM)
Yes it still does.. I have Bit Defender 2011 AV License.. and No matter how.. I find it slowing down my lappy alot.. sad.gif
QUOTE(GameSky @ Dec 4 2010, 12:36 AM)
bitdefender is not recommended in term of performance...it even slowed my quad-core pc doh.gif

avast/mse, if paid maybe go for nod32 or avira premium would do the choice nod.gif
I see. Thanks for the reply. Kaspersky's performance is still ok. So far, the random surge in the CPU usage reduce significantly. Yet, i am looking for another alternative when it expires. Other than the NOD32, any other AV or IS does not hog the CPU usage much?

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Dec 3 2010, 10:58 PM)
Avira have many false detection oh..... if you like cracking program or something, better use avast....lol...biggrin.gif
A good way to mess up with the computer guy's cracks. I thought Avast almost same as Avira when it comes to catching the cracks? rclxub.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 23 2010, 11:57 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(asyraf170489 @ Dec 23 2010, 06:11 PM)
definitely KASPERSKY!!! biggrin.gif
After some bad experience with it, i was looking forward to try out some other brand.

0.0219sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:26 PM