HTC HD2 : Users on Android

prolexus
post Oct 29 2011, 12:18 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(syahbi @ Oct 28 2011, 10:41 PM)
Got my htc hd 2 today...plan to flash to android...got recommendation any rom that fast and stable...thanks
miui bro...specifically langthang's ndt miui. Highly customizable and very fast. I used sense and plain stock gingerbread before but in the end i always come back to langthang's miui. Give it a try..you won't be disappointed.

prolexus
post Oct 31 2011, 12:20 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(yolk @ Oct 30 2011, 03:08 PM)
yes this is the one ... of the better roms for the HD2  rclxms.gif
+1 .

If you're flashing android for the 1st time, my advise is to read all the instructions slowly and carefully. Do it at your own pace until you have built up your confidence to flash to android.

If done properly, the hd2 will mesmerize you with android.

Happy flashing bro.

prolexus
post Nov 23 2011, 12:24 AM

280 posts

I'm still staying with 36.1 . The ICS theme got me hooked smile.gif
prolexus
post Nov 23 2011, 03:22 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 23 2011, 12:40 AM)
Same thought, but too bad, I've flashed to version 37. Kind of regret for doing so.
My ICS keyboard is missing. New font is missing too. Have to reflash, but I'm lazy to download. sad.gif

Anyway, once ICS4 is stable for HD2, I'll be tempted to jump ship.
At the moment, wait till everything is fixed and alright.
I always do a CWM backup before any new rom flashing. This is a foolproof way of restoring should the new rom flashing goes wrong. And i also have this habit of making an extra backup of the CWM to my hard disk as well..for safety sake ... smile.gif
prolexus
post Nov 25 2011, 12:28 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(ae8za @ Nov 25 2011, 11:18 AM)
Hi HD2 peeps,
Finally after almost two years on WM6.5 with my HD2, I've decided to port it to Android. Bye2 Dutty's... smile.gif
I want to do the NexusHD2 NAND flashing by tytung. Do I need to perform task 29 like I always did every upgrade of Dutty's? Any help and tips would be appreciated... Cheers! wink.gif
Check out the HD2 thread on flashing. Detailed instructions are there for you to safely flash nandroid. Linky here http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=928

Added on November 25, 2011, 12:31 pmGuys, anyone here knows how to write codes for android applications ?

This post has been edited by prolexus: Nov 25 2011, 12:31 PM
prolexus
post Dec 29 2011, 07:17 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Dec 26 2011, 09:26 PM)
Well, my journey with the HTC HD2 has come to an end..
Goodbye HD2, you have been a GREAT device and served me well as a hardcore flasher.. because of you I had the opportunity to use Wm6.5, Android, and even the sucky WP7 (lol).

I hope the next owner will take care of you as well as I did.

For those who still use the HTC HD2, keep it up! It's still a great device thumbup.gif
Well i bet that it was a fun filled journey for you mate smile.gif . No wonder your blog seems devoid of any rom related updates these couple of months .

Best of luck mate !

prolexus
post Jan 27 2012, 12:15 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 26 2012, 06:26 PM)
hmm, so that Tosti isnt tasty at all  doh.gif

Id prefer HD2 Garmin XT due able to send & receive location via sms, easy for favourites backup and maps. If u look on my siggy Im looking a winmo devices with Garmin & Wifi tehering (as mobile router with 3G sim) smile.gif
I used back my old nokia 5800 and installed garmin xt and joikuspot pro. The old battery still last for days and garmin works flawlessly. It's my dedicated gps cum mobile router now. Papago X5 on my hd2 really looks so ugly ...not to mention the lack of features compared to the garmin.
prolexus
post Jan 28 2012, 09:07 AM

280 posts

encore,
joikuspot = wifi tethering on symbian....quite similar to the old wifi share of winmobile

Most value for money mobile broadband would be Umobile's U28.
- 1Gb data
- DL speed average 4mb (similar to unifi speeds)
- free 300 sms
- can use sim to call

Monthly rm28 only and it's postpaid.

the free sms itself already worth RM30 (300x0.10)

Perfect for my 5800 as a backup phone cum mobile router cum garmin gps cum main sms equipment.

This post has been edited by prolexus: Jan 28 2012, 09:34 AM
prolexus
post Jan 29 2012, 02:59 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jan 28 2012, 06:48 PM)
Oh thanks, I thought you're using Celcom prepaid. I checked out their website but couldn't find any specific info about their mobile prepaid package (and too lazy to call them and ask)
prolexus, thanks for the info. Unfortunately Umobile coverage in the northern part of Malaysia is not that good (or is there any coverage at all?).
Neato4u,

Their website shows that they have pretty much blanketed ipoh area. Only way to find out for sure is to shell out rm8 and test out their prepaid....and i did just that before migrating all my 4 digi postpaid lines to u mobile.

Never exceeded the quota though as i'm using streamyx both at home and office. Nothing beats streamyx unlimited bandwith when i have teenagers furiously gobbling up data ...youtubing, online gaming and whatnots practically all the time smile.gif
prolexus
post Jan 30 2012, 12:15 PM

280 posts

encore,

30gigs ? you champion downloader smile.gif Make sure the cooler pad runs well else the laptop might overheat downloading non stop smile.gif

For old timers like me, 1gig of mobile data is more than enough as only use this to check out my fb status at office (fb blocked by office firewall sad.gif ) I let my home 4mb streamyx the rest of the my teenagers unlimited appetite to consume enormous bandwidth smile.gif

Neato,

HD2 rocks bro..that's why it's still in the top 3 in terms of rom development. Naah ! i'm just creating a good reason not to buy the sg note....yet smile.gif

You guys use screen protectors on your current / previous hd2 ? I knew a few who prefer not using sp's as the hd2 screen is already made of gorilla glass.

This post has been edited by prolexus: Jan 30 2012, 12:31 PM
prolexus
post Jan 30 2012, 08:21 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 30 2012, 12:38 PM)
prolexus
Its not a latop, he's running aTorrent on his Galaxy Tab 7+ , rageeeee  .. Im envy... =(

Talk about screen protector our HD2 is NOT using Gorrilla Glass, Iv see the razor test on HD2 from youtube but some user report has scratches. BTW, Im using the clear type one
Torrenting on a tab ? Torrenting on the go ...wow..i'm getting too old to keep up with this.

Yeah...i got some small nicks on my screen before i decided to put on a sp. Guess there's no gorilla glass at all.

Added on January 30, 2012, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 30 2012, 04:55 PM)
Hmm, nope, it doesn't have any WiFi tethering.
Symbian is a bit outdated on this.
Bro, our HD2 is not made of gorilla glass. I broke mine after dropping on the floor.
Gorilla glass is break-proof, not scratch-proof, if I'm not mistaken.
Do you use any cover for HD2? I can't find any screen protector and cover casing for HD2. sad.gif
Where-to-buy to recommend?
Andy,

Got la..i'm using it now. Can get the free version from ovistore . Refer here http://www.joiku.com/products/joikuspot_light

Fyi, symbian already have this wifi sharing back in 2008, that time android only just started..ver 1.6 a.k.a donut..and there was no such thing as wifi tethering on an android at that time.

Cover ? got plenty at mudah.com ..here some cheap-cheap examples http://www.mudah.my/Black+Rubberized+Hard+...HD2-7721883.htm or this one http://www.mudah.my/Htc+hd2+silicon+case-12386073.htm

Sp look here..http://www.mudah.my/Htc+hd2+privacy+screen+protector+and+matt-6010132.htm

This post has been edited by prolexus: Jan 30 2012, 08:52 PM
prolexus
post Feb 3 2012, 02:35 AM

280 posts

Yeah ..that's true..i back tracked to ver 42 just to get rid of the slow mic and sounds ...the layout also crapped out in ver 45 & 46. Maybe Langthang discreetly asking for more donations to get proper working roms ? I dunno la ..but his ndt series kinda screwed these days..just like you've said it.

Let me know about the ics findings bro..as i've been holding on for a stable release. I'm not flashing anything this week because driving up to krabi tomorrow. Need a stable working rom and a backup gps just in case the garmin konked out halfway in the middle of nowhere smile.gif

prolexus
post Feb 16 2012, 12:41 AM

280 posts

Well ..the dreadful day finally came ...my hd2 display finally became unresponsive yesterday..and after 5 months of its warranty expired.

Andy, how much la you spend for the new digitiser ? Heard from some forumners that it cost an arm and leg to get it replaced at SIS....You got any lubang to get it done cheap cheap ?

Currently using button savior app to bypass the hard buttons and rerouting the volume button to fuction as the wake up button..a bit leceh to use but at least the hd2 still works fine at least for now.

Anyway i did a full format when the hd2 became unresponsive earlier and flashed ndt stable ver 6 with tytung's r14 clk kernel. The graphics are amazingly beautiful..

I'm thinking of getting a dell streak if the hd2 cost a lot to repair...prices are quite reasonable for a good used unit with some warranty left.Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by prolexus: Feb 16 2012, 12:55 AM
prolexus
post Feb 16 2012, 04:58 PM

280 posts

Hmm..300 is boleh tahan..But i'm more inclined to retire the hd2 and get a replacement if the soft buttons also fail later on.

N9 is indeed a beauty to look at..i'm just slightly disappointed that the screen size at 4' ..kind off smallish when these days when 5' seems to be the new norm.
prolexus
post Feb 20 2012, 10:37 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Feb 20 2012, 06:52 PM)
from my observation, most HD2 users will experience LCD spoil (not responding) when the phone is +/- 2 years old.
i sent mine to SIS too.
Spot on ! Mine started behaving funny after 1 year and 4 months.

Added on February 20, 2012, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Feb 20 2012, 07:06 PM)
SGS2 is a damn good phone, I must admit. Well, you can always flash custom ROM.
Nokia N9 is not stable on Android yet, so I can't buy. I need a good phone to replace my aging HD2.
Or maybe I'll settle down on some cheap CSL Android phones for temporary.
How much did you repair yours?

I've inquired a repairer in LYN. He said most probably it's due to my LCD.
Bloody hell! That'll cost at around RM350 for solder type and RM200 for clipped type.

If that's the case, might as well I buy another 2nd hand HD2 or maybe other phones.

EDIT:
I've dismantled my digitiser and found out that my motherboard's back button has gone missing.
That's why I'm having trouble to press the back button.

Oh well, I'll have to tahan a bit.
Hmm..very strange indeed... maybe the back sensor vaporised in a fit of gaming session ?

This post has been edited by prolexus: Feb 20 2012, 10:39 PM
prolexus
post Feb 21 2012, 11:06 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Feb 21 2012, 08:58 PM)
I don't know. When I dismantled my phone, I saw my keypad motherboard. The back button on the motherboard become very numb and no longer like original. I've to use screwdriver to poke it hardly for it to respond.

Looks like everyone is facing problem with this phone ya.

All I need now is ICS. With ICS and softkeys enabled, I don't need the hard back button anymore.
And I'm waiting for N9. Hopefully NITDROID can do something about it.
While waiting for ics to have a stable release, you minght want to tryout button savior. Highly recommended for hd2's with hard button problems.

I configured my soft buttons to be auto off after 4 seconds of activation.

prolexus
post Mar 14 2012, 11:15 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Mar 10 2012, 06:44 PM)
Im quite long away due office workload, happy to come this thread, quite 'alive'  wink.gif

andy
do u still one MIUI rom ?  check out astikv, Ice Cream MIUI theme,  kinda neat
Chun graphics ! I'm downloading straight away smile.gif

Added on March 14, 2012, 11:16 pm
QUOTE(enCORe @ Mar 10 2012, 06:44 PM)
Im quite long away due office workload, happy to come this thread, quite 'alive'  wink.gif

andy
do u still one MIUI rom ?  check out astikv, Ice Cream MIUI theme,  kinda neat
Chun graphics ! I'm downloading straight away smile.gif

This post has been edited by prolexus: Mar 14 2012, 11:16 PM
prolexus
post Mar 16 2012, 03:34 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Mar 15 2012, 12:39 PM)
prolexus
Make sure u enabled true color rendering for best result

andyjyneo
Talk about Miui, Langthang NDT release unable to proceed updates due hardware faults, Im afraid he might stop supporting, might be lose another devs for HD2 :-(
Encore,

Bro..i was like ..wowzers ! the difference is very startling ! Many thanks for sharing a good find smile.gif
prolexus
post Mar 19 2012, 10:28 PM

280 posts

Discovered that my HD2 actually have 2 years warranty (Check through online with sis), and thank god for that smile.gif . Packed in a stock 6.5 and quickly sent it to sis today to claim warranty for the defective end button sensor. Luckily i tak repair lagi on my own.

You might want to check out your warranty as well at their online registration...Who knows...the warranty still hidup smile.gif
prolexus
post Mar 20 2012, 11:15 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Mar 17 2012, 10:06 PM)
no problem heh, the color gradient very smooth so no more color banding !
btw another good annoucement from Qualcomm via XDA

Qualcomm Releases Adreno 2xx GPU Binaries for ICS!

this would give another lives for HD2,  rclxms.gif  true Hardware Acceleration is coming !, shouold be camera fix too !!!  rclxms.gif
Finally ! Phew ...that's some great news for hd2 users still patiently waiting for the proper ics. Thanks for the heads up bro .

0.0480sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:38 PM