Legalize abortion in Malaysia

TSalanjaii
post Sep 6 2010, 09:56 PM, updated 16y ago

20 posts

What are the advantages to legalizing abortion? Babies would not be thrown into dust bin by irresponsible parents. Crime rate can also be reduced significantly.

Consider the following scenarios. 1) The couple has sex, pregnancy, abortion is not legalized, the man runs away or the baby gets thrown into the garbage can or flushed down the toilet. 2) A happily married couple who's not ready for kids, wife suddenly became pregnant, abortion is not legalized, baby born, ruins marriage, divorced. 3) A low-income couple with wife pregnant, abortion is not legalized, forces to give birth, the child is raised, no money for school, perhaps work at food stalls.

Think about if these children were given birth to, how would they be raised? If they're unwanted in the first place, then, certainly, their childhood lives will be miserable. They will suffer from lack of care, lack of discipline and which results in bad behavior and generally leads to the commitment of crime.
The United States is a perfect example. According to Donohue and Levitt's study, male aged between 18 to 24 are most likely to commit crime. With the abortion legalized in the United States in 1973, it has led to a significant drop in crime 18 years later. It started in 1992 and dropped tremendously in 1995 which should have been the peak commiting-crime years. Since 1973, over 45 million legal abortions have been performed in the United States alone.

Think about it.
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 6 2010, 10:01 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

1) The couple has sex, pregnancy, abortion is not legalized, the man runs away or the baby gets thrown into the garbage can or flushed down the toilet.
2) A happily married couple who's not ready for kids, wife suddenly became pregnant, abortion is not legalized, baby born, ruins marriage, divorced.
3) A low-income couple with wife pregnant, abortion is not legalized, forces to give birth, the child is raised, no money for school, perhaps work at food stalls.

1) The man does not need to run away if both of them are above legal age, or married.

2) You are a frog under a coconut shell... Abortion are legalized, especially for married couple.

3) Dont poke poke if not able to afford to have kids, also refer (2)

Nao go troll somewhere else
SilentSerpent
post Sep 6 2010, 10:03 PM

It sucks to be you
699 posts

as far as im concerned, abortion is LEGAL in malaysia.
it's just that it is for legally married couples.
TSalanjaii
post Sep 6 2010, 10:15 PM

20 posts

So you expect them to get married first, then abort the baby, and get a divorce?
Sethmaster
post Sep 6 2010, 10:15 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(SilentSerpent @ Sep 6 2010, 10:03 PM)
it's just that it is for legally married couples.
+1

SO true

So want to cucuk
Go marry la

So easy
no need for complicated bullshit
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 6 2010, 10:18 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 10:15 PM)
So you expect them to get married first, then abort the baby, and get a divorce?
The more important point is the child is a life and because of that, ip possible one should never take another life.

Dont get pregnant if dont want to have baby..Dom dom are not expensive.
Sethmaster
post Sep 6 2010, 10:18 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 10:15 PM)
no

in my context, i mean you wanna f*** recklessly and without thinking, better marry first.

so got lot of legal solution if you dun want the baby from after morning pills to abortion

also the medical staffs will not look at you one kind one.

perfect solution.

silverhawk
post Sep 6 2010, 10:20 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Sethmaster @ Sep 6 2010, 10:18 PM)
no

in my context, i mean you wanna f*** recklessly and without thinking, better marry first.

so got lot of legal solution if you dun want the baby from after morning pills to abortion

also the medical staffs will not look at you one kind one.

perfect solution.
If only we live in a perfect world.

Telling people to get married to have sex, is like telling robbers to get money by getting a job.
TSalanjaii
post Sep 6 2010, 10:23 PM

20 posts

exactly my point
nexous
post Sep 6 2010, 10:24 PM

101 posts

Are you guys really ignorant or plain dumb?

Abortion is illegal in Malaysia, married or not. It is legal only when the baby harms the mother.
TSalanjaii
post Sep 6 2010, 10:26 PM

20 posts

Exactly, it is only legalize if it harms the mothers mental/physical body.
absorb-d
post Sep 6 2010, 10:27 PM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 6 2010, 10:18 PM)
The more important point is the child is a life and because of that, ip possible one should never take another life.

Dont get pregnant if dont want to have baby..Dom dom are not expensive.
however that is not the case thats happening right now.
i agree that abortion should be legal regardless of marital status. The cause for all these unwanted babies probably stem from a lack of support from a partner or thereof to begin with. Hence the life of the newborn, unfortunately ends up as collateral damage from the mother's predicament.
Better to abort an unborn then to bring them to a life of misery where they are not wanted.

I must say though however, this is a very touchy subject and has been debated since men can remember. At which stage of the baby's development cycle can you classify them as a life? or whether or not an unwanted baby can have hope of leading a proper life, etc.
TSalanjaii
post Sep 6 2010, 10:29 PM

20 posts

Up to the stage that the mother's life is not endangered
nexous
post Sep 6 2010, 10:33 PM

101 posts

The debate has always been about how much we value human life. YES. We don't want to end a baby's life.

But do YOU want to care for it? Will YOU pay extra taxes so we can feed it? It is a tragedy that the Mum and Dad doesn't want their own baby but you know what?

Would you damn someone to having parents that essentially resents them? No love and care from his/her family?

Hell, I'm not even pro-choice per-se. I don't think a woman should have the choice to end a person's life. However, if the baby isn't going to be cared for anyway, might as well.
anti-informatic
post Sep 6 2010, 10:37 PM

902 posts

All the case u mention does not solve the main problem.
If im not mistaken, i reply to thread like this not long ago.

The main thing is to avoid doing something instead of looking for solution only when things adi happen.
If ur objective is to reduce those risks and considering not to harm the innocent little life, the thing to put effort is to make them aware of the consequence and do not poke it if they cant bear the responsibility.

Think on another side, legalize abortion to all age,
is encourging more ppl to involve in sexual relationship at young age, one of the reason why ppl against legalizing abortion.
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 6 2010, 10:39 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Sep 6 2010, 10:24 PM)
Are you guys really ignorant or plain dumb?

Abortion is illegal in Malaysia, married or not. It is legal only when the baby harms the mother.
Seriously, go hospital to ask.

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 10:26 PM)
Exactly, it is only legalize if it harms the mothers mental/physical body.
QUOTE(absorb-d @ Sep 6 2010, 10:27 PM)
however that is not the case thats happening right now.
i agree that abortion should be legal regardless of marital status. The cause for all these unwanted babies probably stem from a lack of support from a partner or thereof to begin with. Hence the life of the newborn, unfortunately ends up as collateral damage from the mother's predicament.
Better to abort an unborn then to bring them to a life of misery where they are not wanted.

I must say though however, this is a very touchy subject and has been debated since men can remember. At which stage of the baby's development cycle can you classify them as a life? or whether or not an unwanted baby can have hope of leading a proper life, etc.
Like i've said, dont poke poke or get dom dom if u dowan a baby..

The term of life are another debate-able point depending on which point of view u are standing on.
To me, once the fishy gets into the egg tongue.gif

Added on September 6, 2010, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(anti-informatic @ Sep 6 2010, 10:37 PM)
All the case u mention does not solve the main problem.
If im not mistaken, i reply to thread like this not long ago.

The main thing is to avoid doing something instead of looking for solution only when things adi happen.
If ur objective is to reduce those risks and considering not to harm the innocent little life, the thing to put effort is to make them aware of the consequence and do not poke it if they cant bear the responsibility.

Think on another side, legalize abortion to all age,
is encourging more ppl to involve in sexual relationship at young age, one of the reason why ppl against legalizing abortion.
True.

Ppl are trying to find a solution to a problem rather than solving the problem itself.

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Sep 6 2010, 10:40 PM
TSalanjaii
post Sep 6 2010, 10:43 PM

20 posts

I know about the consequence thing. But even with harsh penalty people still do it. Singapore has death sentence for those found with drugs... people still go there
nexous
post Sep 6 2010, 10:47 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 6 2010, 10:39 PM)
Seriously, go hospital to ask.
YOU should go to a hospital and ask.
Or I tell you what, Google it.
Ignorant brat.
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 6 2010, 10:48 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 10:43 PM)
I know about the consequence thing. But even with harsh penalty people still do it. Singapore has death sentence for those found with drugs... people still go there
So they should abolish death sentence to drug traffickers?

Nais....I rike

Added on September 6, 2010, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(nexous @ Sep 6 2010, 10:47 PM)
YOU should go to a hospital and ask.
Or I tell you what, Google it.
Ignorant brat.
No need kthxbye.

I know ppl tat has done abortion legally smile.gif

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Sep 6 2010, 10:49 PM
nexous
post Sep 6 2010, 10:51 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 6 2010, 10:48 PM)
So they should abolish death sentence to drug traffickers?

Nais....I rike

Added on September 6, 2010, 10:49 pm
No need kthxbye.

I know ppl tat has done abortion legally smile.gif
Yea
I know of people who has smuggled cocaine legally too
Mr_47
post Sep 6 2010, 10:51 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

TS wanna be smart AZZ
happy4ever
post Sep 6 2010, 10:55 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 09:56 PM)
What are the advantages to legalizing abortion? Babies would not be thrown into dust bin by irresponsible parents. Crime rate can also be reduced significantly.

Consider the following scenarios. 1) The couple has sex, pregnancy, abortion is not legalized, the man runs away or the baby gets thrown into the garbage can or flushed down the toilet. 2) A happily married couple who's not ready for kids, wife suddenly became pregnant, abortion is not legalized, baby born, ruins marriage, divorced. 3) A low-income couple with wife pregnant, abortion is not legalized, forces to give birth, the child is raised, no money for school, perhaps work at food stalls.

Think about if these children were given birth to, how would they be raised? If they're unwanted in the first place, then, certainly, their childhood lives will be miserable. They will suffer from lack of care, lack of discipline and which results in bad behavior and generally leads to the commitment of crime.
The United States is a perfect example. According to Donohue and Levitt's study, male aged between 18 to 24 are most likely to commit crime. With the abortion legalized in the United States in 1973, it has led to a significant drop in crime 18 years later. It started in 1992 and dropped tremendously in 1995 which should have been the peak commiting-crime years. Since 1973, over 45 million legal abortions have been performed in the United States alone.

Think about it.
You should have been aborted long ago, the more i think about it.
TSalanjaii
post Sep 6 2010, 11:30 PM

20 posts

is that suppose to be good news?

Added on September 6, 2010, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(happy4ever @ Sep 6 2010, 10:55 PM)
You should have been aborted long ago, the more i think about it.
your whole family shouldn't exist

This post has been edited by alanjaii: Sep 6 2010, 11:31 PM
spunkberry
post Sep 6 2010, 11:36 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

you don't want a baby, don't be stupid about sex. if you get pregnant, padan muka. Your consequence, you're stuck with it. Have the baby and give it up for adoption or something.

I don't believe that abortion should be used as birth control. It should be an option for rape victims and endangered mothers, but otherwise, PADAN MUKA DEAL WITH IT

Added on September 6, 2010, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 11:30 AM)

I actually agree with happy4ever.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 6 2010, 11:36 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 7 2010, 12:22 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Sep 6 2010, 10:51 PM)
Yea
I know of people who has smuggled cocaine legally too
Which part of smuggled means legal to u?

Go read up a dictionary plx.
silverhawk
post Sep 7 2010, 01:17 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Sep 6 2010, 11:36 PM)
you don't want a baby, don't be stupid about sex. if you get pregnant, padan muka. Your consequence, you're stuck with it. Have the baby and give it up for adoption or something.

Can you put money where your mouth is? Would you sponsor/adopt a child that would have been otherwise aborted? Its so much easier to condemn others for their mistakes than to actually solve problems isn't it? So much easier to talk from the moral high ground when you don't have to take any action isn't it?

If all the pro-lifers out there actually went out and said "You don't want your kid, I'll take care of him/her! ", people would find it really hard to argue for abortion.

I don't believe that abortion should be used as birth control. It should be an option for rape victims and endangered mothers, but otherwise, PADAN MUKA DEAL WITH IT

Unfortunately, its often not the "parents" who have to deal with the bulk of the problem, its really the innocent child and society that deals with the problem from not aborting the child.
SUSspanker
post Sep 7 2010, 01:18 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

Making abortions illegal is like making plastic surgery illegal.
spunkberry
post Sep 7 2010, 02:26 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Sep 6 2010, 01:17 PM)
Can you put money where your mouth is? Would you sponsor/adopt a child that would have been otherwise aborted? Its so much easier to condemn others for their mistakes than to actually solve problems isn't it? So much easier to talk from the moral high ground when you don't have to take any action isn't it?

If all the pro-lifers out there actually went out and said "You don't want your kid, I'll take care of him/her! ", people would find it really hard to argue for abortion.
Unfortunately, its often not the "parents" who have to deal with the bulk of the problem, its really the innocent child and society that deals with the problem from not aborting the child.
Nope. I stand by what I said. Put it up for adoption. If you didn't want a kid, be smart about sex in the first place. Dumb people shouldn't be allowed to reproduce.
Yes, I would adopt a child that would've been aborted ... but I don't want children in the first place so adoption isn't even a consideration because of the fact that I would gain a child. Why would I adopt a child if I don't even want children of my own? I know plenty of people who'd love to adopt babies. What's the difference between an abandoned baby and one that was supposed to be aborted? Just because YOU wouldn't adopt a child that would've been aborted doesn't mean everybody doesn't. I'm sorry that Malaysians are so close-minded to even the IDEA of dating someone who has a child, let alone adopt a child that could've been aborted.

No wonder the country's backwards.

Be smart about sex, or deal with the fact that you now have a child. Give it up for adoption and save it your stupidity.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 7 2010, 02:32 AM
Priapuseros
post Sep 7 2010, 03:09 AM

Both of you pro-lifers and pro-choice have your own valid points. I think both sides can agree to disagree, and ultimately we can all agree that this kind of never ending sensitive debate doesn't belong in Cupid Corner.
spunkberry
post Sep 7 2010, 04:10 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

thing is, I don't think abortion should be legalized, nor do I think that it should be abolished. it should be there as an option for those who need it - mothers whose health is endangered by their babies and rape victims - but I don't think it should be allowed for people who are only going to use as birth control. The TS says that it should be legalized to lessen the baby-throwing problem that Malaysia is having ... when really, it's gonna make it worse because then we'll have more people having sex just because abortion will be so readily available.

I am pro-life AND pro-choice, if you think about it, but I do agree that there will never be a firm answer for this argument for the rest of time.
C-Fu
post Sep 7 2010, 07:35 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 09:56 PM)
It started in 1992 and dropped tremendously in 1995 which should have been the peak commiting-crime years. Since 1973, over 45 million legal abortions have been performed in the United States alone.

Think about it.
You want to know what should've been a crime? reading some random stats and accepting something that it is not. it basically means that statistically most of the 45 million babies are the result of unprotected, safe sex. and you want us to be like Americans why again?

don't twist and turn facts as you like just to make a point.

1) The couple has sex, pregnancy, abortion is not legalized, the man runs away or the baby gets thrown into the garbage can or flushed down the toilet. 2) A happily married couple who's not ready for kids, wife suddenly became pregnant, abortion is not legalized, baby born, ruins marriage, divorced. 3) A low-income couple with wife pregnant, abortion is not legalized, forces to give birth, the child is raised, no money for school, perhaps work at food stalls.

You must have quite the imagination thinking of scenarios just to make a statement. You want a statement? So you are saying that 1) advocating/enforcing/educating couples is not worth considering and 2) marriage breaks down over unplanned babies and 3) working at food stalls helping your family is a shitty thing to do.

What is wrong with you? If you are pro-life, or pro-choice, at least have a damn solid reason for your life principles instead of believing in your alarmist fantasy that skewers your thoughts on whatever that you WANT see is the cold hard truth.

This post has been edited by C-Fu: Sep 7 2010, 08:19 AM
B@rt
post Sep 7 2010, 08:18 AM

368 posts

Should abortion be legalised?

My opinion is that abortion should be legalised but with stiff regulations. Just like prostitution in european countries. Regulations like at what period in the pregnancy that abortion is no longer allowed because the baby is now deemed to be a human. Have councillors at the abortion centres to advise the mother and help her come to the best decision for her and the fetus. Have representatives from adoption agencies present as well if the mother decides to give the baby up for adoption. By making it less of a crime and more of a mistake and with abortion centres providing advice and support that all pregnancy out of wedlock desperately needs, I think it will significantly reduce the cases of baby dumping in M'sia.

Sex education
I think M'sia has come to an age where sex before marriage is now quite common. I think instead of saying "No don't do it" we should be saying "Pls use protection if you're going to do it". The government should subsidise the cost of condoms to make it more affordable to the lower income less educated class who are more prone to having unprotected sex. Give sex education to those hot blooded youngsters (especially in rural areas where there is nothing better to do other than sniff glue, rempit-ing and chasing tail). Giving them internet isn't helping when they are using it for porn which is making them even more horny doh.gif
happy4ever
post Sep 7 2010, 08:40 AM

7,194 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 11:30 PM)
is that suppose to be good news?

Added on September 6, 2010, 11:31 pm

why so butthurt? your parents practiced abortion, you wont need to suffer here like this. see u also know got brain damage liao. kesian

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Sep 7 2010, 01:17 AM)

Give birth baby and sell it = shitload of money. lots of rich parents kenot have kids wan adopt.

and mother theresa did say that! but she KO liao..so now ppl give to Pakcik Tongsampah instead.

Tak3shi
post Sep 7 2010, 09:04 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Sep 7 2010, 01:17 AM)

Isn't that the same for the majority of m'sians? Most people complain and act all mighty but when it comes to the crunch they runaway, pfft keyboard warriors. I remember this quote, "poverty is not caused by a lack of funds but by a lack of sharing/caring."

Isn't that the same for a majority of the world's problems?
stevenlee
post Sep 7 2010, 09:07 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

btw,
just to inform...abortiion is not legal in malaysia even for married couple.
abortion is legal when get doctor approve due to mother or baby health concern...
this is because, when baby is there...it has his/her right to stay in this world and not mother or father decide his right to stay in this world..
this is so call human right in malaysia....

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_abortion_legal_in_Malaysia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abortion_law

spunkberry
post Sep 7 2010, 09:14 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Sep 6 2010, 09:04 PM)
Isn't that the same for the majority of m'sians? Most people complain and act all mighty but when it comes to the crunch they runaway, pfft keyboard warriors. I remember this quote, "poverty is not caused by a lack of funds but by a lack of sharing/caring."

I'm no keyboard warrior. Before I decided I didn't want children, I seriously considered adoption. Sorry you guys think I'm like everybody else. I'm not.
happy4ever
post Sep 7 2010, 09:15 AM

7,194 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Sep 7 2010, 09:07 AM)
btw,
just to inform...abortiion is not legal in malaysia even for married couple.
abortion is legal when get doctor approve due to mother or baby health concern...
this is because, when baby is there...it has his/her right to stay in this world and not mother or father decide his right to stay in this world..
this is so call human right in malaysia....

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_abortion_legal_in_Malaysia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abortion_law
babies are humans???

MANABOLEH!!!! shocking.gif

Added on September 7, 2010, 9:15 am
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Sep 7 2010, 09:14 AM)
I'm no keyboard warrior. Before I decided I didn't want children, I seriously considered adoption. Sorry you guys think I'm like everybody else. I'm not.
You think adoption is easy? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by happy4ever: Sep 7 2010, 09:15 AM
Tak3shi
post Sep 7 2010, 09:21 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Sep 7 2010, 09:14 AM)
I'm generalizing, not being specific. You can always start by visiting kids in an orphanage, some of them may have been abandoned when they were young.
TSalanjaii
post Sep 7 2010, 09:23 AM

20 posts

Guys, are you saying that American made a mistake by legalizing abortion? Search on Wiki and get your facts straight. The crime rate is reduced. REDUCED.

So let's just answer this plain simple question. You think the baby is not aborted, he/she will have a good life? a good childhood? They might,but not as likely.

Listen. They are not wanted in the very beginning.

Added on September 7, 2010, 9:26 am
QUOTE(happy4ever @ Sep 7 2010, 09:15 AM)
babies are humans???

MANABOLEH!!!!  shocking.gif

Added on September 7, 2010, 9:15 am
You think adoption is easy?  rolleyes.gif
I know that raising one that you don't care about is alot harder.

This post has been edited by alanjaii: Sep 7 2010, 09:26 AM
Tak3shi
post Sep 7 2010, 09:28 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 7 2010, 09:23 AM)
Guys, are you saying that American made a mistake by legalizing abortion? Search on Wiki and get your facts straight. The crime rate is reduced. REDUCED.

So let's just answer this plain simple question. You think the baby is not aborted, he/she will have a good life? a good childhood? They might,but not as likely.

What is your point on creating this thread anyway? To convince us? Sorry i don't think you'll find any policy makers in CC.

If it's just to rant and prove your own personal preference/agenda please create a blog and rant there.

Added on September 7, 2010, 9:31 am

If you don't care about your own flesh and blood, you shouldn't be f***** around int he first place, pardon the language.

Heck, you know what should be legalized? Mating license, because anyone who has reproductive abilities should at least have half a brain before they go repopulating the world with their seeds.

This post has been edited by Tak3shi: Sep 7 2010, 10:25 AM
spunkberry
post Sep 7 2010, 10:17 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 09:23 PM)

do you have ANY idea how difficult it is to adopt a child? you have to really WANT to adopt one to be willing to sit through all the red tape and stuff they put you through to make sure they're placing the child in a proper, stable home.

Wow you really are what you appear to be.
MsBelinda
post Sep 7 2010, 10:45 AM

91 posts

If not mistaken, abortion in taiwan is legal? Seems lots of chics went for abortion, correct me if I'm wrong.
silverhawk
post Sep 7 2010, 12:59 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Sep 7 2010, 02:26 AM)
Nope. I stand by what I said. Put it up for adoption. If you didn't want a kid, be smart about sex in the first place. Dumb people shouldn't be allowed to reproduce.
Yes, I would adopt a child that would've been aborted ... but I don't want children in the first place so adoption isn't even a consideration because of the fact that I would gain a child. Why would I adopt a child if I don't even want children of my own? I know plenty of people who'd love to adopt babies. What's the difference between an abandoned baby and one that was supposed to be aborted?

There is no difference, and that's one of the reasons why we need less kids "abandoned" kids. If you think adoption is a perfect system, it is not. Even if its just kids without parents (from natural causes), the adoption system is already overloadeed and filled with its own problems. You've been in america for some time, you should know about the problems in their system. This, is when they at least HAVE A SYSTEM.

Just because YOU wouldn't adopt a child that would've been aborted doesn't mean everybody doesn't. I'm sorry that Malaysians are so close-minded to even the IDEA of dating someone who has a child, let alone adopt a child that could've been aborted.

No wonder the country's backwards.

I'm in no position to even support a child on my own, what makes you think I can adopt a child? I'm not going to be irresponsible to society to ruin a child's life and the life of the community which he is connected to. Don't forget that majority of kids who are not brought up well, end up being a menace to society in one form or another.

if you think this country is backwards, recently a school just opened for pregnant teenagers to give them a place to study and be safe from society's prejudice against pregnant teens. This is a great step forward, as it removes one reason for abortion. Slowly work away at rationales for abortion, and people won't abort. Simply saying "its a life, don't abort!" is stupid.

Be smart about sex, or deal with the fact that you now have a child. Give it up for adoption and save it your stupidity.

If only things were so simple eh. As I said, its so freaking easy to tell people what they should do, and not even get your hands dirty to try to help fix problems. People make choices in their lives, and yes they should be responsible for it. Whether that choice is living with a child, or the guilt of killing it, its something they live with.

If you want to tell people what to do, you need to put money where you mouth is and get involved. Otherwise all you're doing is blowing hot air.

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Sep 7 2010, 07:35 AM)
You want to know what should've been a crime? reading some random stats and accepting something that it is not. it basically means that statistically most of the 45 million babies are the result of unprotected, safe sex. and you want us to be like Americans why again?

don't twist and turn facts as you like just to make a point.

Facts weren't twisted. The statistical correlation is very high and there are several academic papers based on that study. So before you go debasing a statistic, perhaps you should read up on it first?

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Sep 7 2010, 09:04 AM)

Indeed, its always the people who "seem" to be good that make the most noise. Telling people what they should do, but they themselves don't want to help do anything about it.

akidos
post Sep 7 2010, 01:19 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 6 2010, 11:01 PM)
1) The man does not need to run away if both of them are above legal age, or married.

2) You are a frog under a coconut shell... Abortion are legalized, especially for married couple.

Before starting my arguements ... are u a radical usrah member ?

Firstly man shouldnt run away but the fact is that so many irresponsible man out there who runs away whenever the girl is pregnants .

Secondly, Abortions are legalized only if its due to health or sickness . U still can do abortion for fun even if u r married.

third , ALMOST EVERYONE ON EARTH POKE FOR FUN , EVEN INCLUDING UR PARENTS . No one poke to have kids .

I dont think virgins has any rights to have a say here cos u really dont have the experience or the knowledge . Go get laid dude

Added on September 7, 2010, 1:31 pmhaihz, the rational solution is to legal abortions.

But the justifications is not based on rational but its more towards the religious stand and as a muslim country who is against premarital sex - they made abortion is illegal . This is mainly to prevent premarital sex but for some reason ppl are still having sex and sometimes some girl get pregnant.

Early age pregnancy also ruin the girls life .

The part that i dont understand is that - abortions are still being done regardless whether it is legal or not . The private company are doing it at a higher rate ... so most wealthy ppl have nothing to worry.

Problem arises when with typical malay families who disowned the girl for being pregnant ( the judge her based on religious moral ) - no solution thus dumped the baby once giving birth.

In the end - For a small mistake that the government policy couldnt help causes the girl to result to something more severe.

Remember all these baby dumping are done by teenagers / early adulthood where they arent mature yet .

Have u seen any chinese / indian baby dumping ?

This post has been edited by akidos: Sep 7 2010, 01:31 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Sep 7 2010, 02:54 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

I'm pro choice
daccorn
post Sep 7 2010, 03:02 PM

411 posts

haha this discussion almost sounded like a political policy strife
C-Fu
post Sep 7 2010, 04:03 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Sep 7 2010, 12:59 PM)
Facts weren't twisted. The statistical correlation is very high and there are several academic papers based on that study. So before you go debasing a statistic, perhaps you should read up on it first?
correlation != causation. there are several academic papers based on pro-life as well. so what's your point? rolleyes.gif

Dude, are you saying that educating/enforcing/advocating sex contraceptive AT THE SAME TIME is not the cause of the crime rate getting reduced? REDUCED?

Sheeeeesh.

LISTEN. if they are truly not wanted, then sex contraceptive is the key. not killing.

CORRELATION IS NOT CAUSATION. MATLAMAT TIDAK MENGHALALKAN CARA.

first alanjaii says working in food stalls for the family is disgusting. then both of you are ignoring and twisting statistics just to prove your point, without considering the impact of sex contraceptive to american teens from the 1970s to now. Congratulations.
xavi5567
post Sep 7 2010, 05:45 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

u wanna do it.. study up 1st.. sex require knowledge.. sex without knowledge is caveman world.. u wanna do it.. do it with security.. there are many ways of security ( condom, morning after pill, retraction, conception pill, natural period planner) ..
silverhawk
post Sep 7 2010, 07:07 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Sep 7 2010, 04:03 PM)
correlation != causation. there are several academic papers based on pro-life as well. so what's your point?  rolleyes.gif

I love it when people use that clause without fully understanding its meaning. We're not saying that abortions will definitely reduce crime (causation), but what we're saying is that the statistics do strongly correlate the 2 data points.

The academic papers based on the statistics just go on to prove the validity of the statistics and its implications. I would like to see pro-life academic papers on the issue of abortion, because I think you won't find any. Since the pro-life stance is basically "its a life, don't kill it!". Even science has more or less defined when a fetus is considered "human".

Majority of pro-lifers take a very simple, naive and black/white view of the issue. They cannot comprehend the complexities of abortion, unwilling to go into depth of its ramifications. I would seriously like to see a proper debate from pro-lifers, instead of an emotional reaction.
nexous
post Sep 7 2010, 08:19 PM

101 posts

Why do people again and again fail to understand that by being against abortion, they are not making more responsible adults?

How can you punish the father that can very easily just walk away? How can you punish the mother when she will resent and hate her child for ruining her life?

You can harp all you want about wanting people to be responsible for their acts. People won't.

In the end, these kids will grow up being uncared, and like what the authors of Freakonomics wrote, they are most susceptible to becoming criminals and societal nuisances.

The parents? Are you damned sure they'll learn to be responsible? Wake up from your disney land.

Don't have too much sex when you're married as well. Have it too frequent and the statistical chance your contraceptive will fail will become real. Have a good time caring for your football team.
SUSfifi85
post Sep 7 2010, 08:39 PM

751 posts

No way man. Abortion is wrong in the first place why should it be legalize? Malaysia is a muslim nation and abortion is a crime. Its like saying legalize drug
SUSslimey
post Sep 7 2010, 08:59 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(fifi85 @ Sep 7 2010, 08:39 PM)
No way man. Abortion is wrong in the first place why should it be legalize? Malaysia is a muslim nation and abortion is a crime. Its like saying legalize drug
well........caffeine is legal no? and yes it is a CNS-stimulating drug
and what about institutionalised racism?malaysia practices it not a crime?
ending of life is wrong? how about the food you eat everyday?

how do you define what's right and what's wrong? what makes you tick?

as i remember, no one is saying that abortion is right.
lin00b
post Sep 7 2010, 10:05 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

how exactly does "no abortion" relates to "no pre marital sex" when "contraceptive" and the concept of "shotgun marriage" exist?
kobe8byrant
post Sep 7 2010, 10:06 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Abortion is legal if you are married?
SUSslimey
post Sep 7 2010, 10:10 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Sep 7 2010, 10:06 PM)
Abortion is legal if you are married?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abortion_law#East
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 7 2010, 10:32 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(SilentSerpent @ Sep 6 2010, 11:03 PM)

Oh yes.... it is LEGAL.. but terms & conditions apply...

if your baby is in danger, handicapped, dangering the life of mother etc then abortion is legal...

Doc won abort the baby due to personal matters... eg... i`m too young,
lin00b
post Sep 7 2010, 10:35 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 7 2010, 10:32 PM)
Oh yes.... it is LEGAL.. but terms & conditions apply...

if your baby is in danger, handicapped, dangering the life of mother etc then abortion is legal...

Doc won abort the baby due to personal matters... eg... i`m too young,
how handicapped? if my baby is due to be born without 2 fingers = abortion possible?
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 7 2010, 10:50 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Sep 7 2010, 11:35 PM)
how handicapped? if my baby is due to be born without 2 fingers = abortion possible?
handicapped as in no leg, siamese twins etc

I am not a Doc....

these are from my research..........

why I research? cos my then Gf`s period was due 2 month.. and I was in College... doh.gif

luckily it was due to mental stress that caused the delay
lin00b
post Sep 7 2010, 10:55 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

condom, a rm5 insurance that can save you millions
happy4ever
post Sep 7 2010, 11:24 PM

7,194 posts

Bottom line, we never know how the child will end up if he/she wasn't aborted. We assume he/she will end up bad. But thats not really the case. Not all will end up bad. And not all children born into good homes end up good either. We won't know. Its a gamble.

Those who wish to abort because they made "mistakes" would bear the burden and guilt themselves. And those who carried on raising the kid even through hardship, you have my deepest utmost respect.

Life is hard, and life is never fair
TSalanjaii
post Sep 7 2010, 11:29 PM

20 posts

Consider bad as in endangering the lives of others
robertngo
post Sep 7 2010, 11:31 PM

4,027 posts

what ever your believe on abortion is it right to force your opinion on the women, denying the women the choice over her own life?
lin00b
post Sep 8 2010, 12:02 AM

nobody
3,592 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Sep 7 2010, 11:24 PM)
Bottom line, we never know how the child will end up if he/she wasn't aborted. We assume he/she will end up bad. But thats not really the case. Not all will end up bad. And not all children born into good homes end up good either. We won't know. Its a gamble.

Those who wish to abort because they made "mistakes" would bear the burden and guilt themselves. And those who carried on raising the kid even through hardship, you have my deepest utmost respect.

Life is hard, and life is never fair
true, why bother legalizing circumstantial abortion then? i mean, a handicapped child may grow up to become someone great. beathoven was deaf. similarly for products of rape, childbirth than endanger the mother (one has lived for several decades and has more or less see the limits of her potential, while the other theoretically has unlimited potential) etc etc
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 8 2010, 12:04 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Sep 7 2010, 11:55 PM)
condom, a rm5 insurance that can save you millions
yes.. I used that for 6 years before I marry her.. which is pregnant now after elgal marraige and planning

I only skipped once.....
happy4ever
post Sep 8 2010, 01:44 AM

7,194 posts

stephen hawking should have been aborted long ago. that idiot now claims aliens are dangerous to us. how dumb!!! aliens come and help us build home, be our maids, so good!
Zozi
post Sep 8 2010, 01:56 AM

658 posts

Well there are many pros and cons to this question.

If you legalize it, you can be sure that morality of the public will take a great turn, from conservative to liberal. Although you will have lesser rate in:

Baby dumping cases
Young couple divorce cases
forced marriage cases
etc

You will risk more of :

STD epidemic
HIV Spreading faster and at a higher rate
Morale of the society dropping
Teen being more irresponsible
and ofc, more innocent lives being taken away.

So, if you ask me. No it shouldnt be legalized. If one is thinking about having physical intimate intercourse then one should be mature enough to understand the consequences . There is no reason to say that you did it and didnt thought about what will happen next. Even the best reason is not the best reason at all to take an innocent life away, what more it is an excuse?
lin00b
post Sep 8 2010, 03:39 AM

nobody
3,592 posts

people will want to have sex regardless of whether abortion is legal or not.

the number of people who practice abstinence because they fear to have child is minimal. even then, there's various contraceptive methods to help.

claim you are against abortion because all life is sacred. claiming you do it to stop people from humping one another is a weak reason
happy4ever
post Sep 8 2010, 08:11 AM

7,194 posts

So throwing babies into bins should be legalized.

like how recycling bins are put out, there should be one more beside thosre bins that are specifically for babies so unwed moms can dump it there without social reprisal.
TSalanjaii
post Sep 8 2010, 09:57 AM

20 posts

thank you
SUSfifi85
post Sep 8 2010, 11:20 AM

751 posts

Is abortion illegal? Theres illegal and legal abortion right. For those who have health problems, its not illegal anywhere. But for those sex b4 marriage and abortion unresponsibly is illegal anywhere in the world. Nothing much to discuss really
SUSslimey
post Sep 8 2010, 12:28 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(fifi85 @ Sep 8 2010, 11:20 AM)
Is abortion illegal? Theres illegal and legal abortion right. For those who have health problems, its not illegal anywhere. But for those sex b4 marriage and abortion unresponsibly is illegal anywhere in the world. Nothing much to discuss really
ignorant. scroll back and you will see the wiki link i posted.
SUSfifi85
post Sep 8 2010, 12:37 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Sep 8 2010, 12:28 PM)
ignorant. scroll back and you will see the wiki link i posted.
k sorry i miss the link. will check it out wink.gif
anti-informatic
post Sep 13 2010, 01:59 AM

902 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Sep 7 2010, 08:19 PM)
Why do people again and again fail to understand that by being against abortion, they are not making more responsible adults?

How can you punish the father that can very easily just walk away? How can you punish the mother when she will resent and hate her child for ruining her life?

You can harp all you want about wanting people to be responsible for their acts. People won't.

In the end, these kids will grow up being uncared, and like what the authors of Freakonomics wrote, they are most susceptible to becoming criminals and societal nuisances.

The parents? Are you damned sure they'll learn to be responsible? Wake up from your disney land.

Don't have too much sex when you're married as well. Have it too frequent and the statistical chance your contraceptive will fail will become real. Have a good time caring for your football team.
Dude, ur entire statement is generalizing.
How do u ensure those who got the 'abortion' word pass through their mind is being irresponsible?
How do u ensure the father will walk away? How do u ensure the mother will resent and hate the child for that?
Even if u never heard or seen one, u should understand that,
this doesn't mean everyone who thought about abortion is simply throwing away their responsibility with or without the intetion of killing the innoccent life.

Lastly, not all child from such parent is so potential to be criminal.
U can say there are cases like this out thr, but parent with or without marriage still have to learn to take care of their child so that they can grow up to be someone better.
Therefore, the future of the child is depends on how the parent bring them, not according to what situation the child's life was there at the first place.

dkk
post Sep 14 2010, 10:19 AM

11,400 posts

The argument is not as per subject. TS in his original post is suggesting that abortion should be legalized AND should be used as a method of birth control.

Let me suggest another way. Set up a charity to accept unwanted children.
robertngo
post Sep 14 2010, 12:06 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(anti-informatic @ Sep 13 2010, 01:59 AM)
Dude, ur entire statement is generalizing.
How do u ensure those who got the 'abortion' word pass through their mind is being irresponsible?
How do u ensure the father will walk away? How do u ensure the mother will resent and hate the child for that?
Even if u never heard or seen one, u should understand that,
this doesn't mean everyone who thought about abortion is simply throwing away their responsibility with or without the intetion of killing the innoccent life.

Lastly, not all child from such parent is so potential to be criminal.
U can say there are cases like this out thr, but parent with or without marriage still have to learn to take care of their child so that they can grow up to be someone better.
Therefore, the future of the child is depends on how the parent bring them, not according to what situation the child's life was there at the first place.
why the women need to be force to give birth to child she dont want or no able to care for just for the religious believe of some other people?

Added on September 14, 2010, 12:07 pm
QUOTE(Zozi @ Sep 8 2010, 01:56 AM)
Well there are many pros and cons to this question.

If you legalize it, you can be sure that morality of the public will take a great turn, from conservative to liberal. Although you will have lesser rate in:

Baby dumping cases
Young couple divorce cases
forced marriage cases
etc

You will risk more of :

STD epidemic
HIV Spreading faster and at a higher rate
Morale of the society dropping
Teen being more irresponsible
and ofc, more innocent lives being taken away.

So, if you ask me. No it shouldnt be legalized. If one is thinking about having physical intimate intercourse then one should be mature enough to understand the consequences . There is no reason to say that you did it and didnt thought about what will happen next. Even the best reason is not the best reason at all to take an innocent life away, what more it is an excuse?
why would there be more STD and HIV when abortion is legalized?

This post has been edited by robertngo: Sep 14 2010, 12:07 PM
segaraga
post Sep 24 2010, 05:03 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(alanjaii @ Sep 6 2010, 10:56 PM)

Think about it.
if we legalize abortion, remember, humanity are more worse than animal
robertngo
post Sep 25 2010, 07:25 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(segaraga @ Sep 24 2010, 05:03 PM)
if we legalize abortion, remember, humanity are more worse than animal
many country have legalize abortion, they entire country did not become worse than animal, instead they have some of the best living standard, highest income and lowest crime rate in the world.
SpikeMarlene
post Sep 26 2010, 01:55 AM

6,237 posts

So babies thrown into trash bins are less worse than legalize abortion? Is that the argument? So the question inevitably boils down to why we cannot prevent teenagers from having sex or couple from unwanted pregnancy, is the same question people would ask how to prevent people from criminal acts, since they are all about commiting "sins" or immoral acts. Is it possible to have a crime free completely moral country? Maybe, but the price to pay will be very high.
robertngo
post Sep 26 2010, 01:02 PM

4,027 posts

one important point to consider is the massive danger of illegal abortion which is unsafe result in 70,000 deaths and 5 million disabilities per year.
nagobonar
post Sep 27 2010, 01:22 PM

is educate is the hardest part instead of legalize abortion
dugging_holes
post Jan 23 2011, 05:34 PM

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 6 2010, 10:01 PM)

FYI, Abortion is illegal in Malaysia. I guess now ur the one who live under the coconut shell. If u still want to argue, please read Section 312 of Penal Code. flex.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif

chiiupe
post Jan 27 2011, 11:34 PM

138 posts

You can't just legalize abortion and expect the whole issue of unwanted children to go away. You will also need to provide very extensive sex education coupled with free contraception. Prevention is better cure, but not having a back-up plan(abortion) is equally short-sighted.

The main group of women who will benefit from having access to (free or subsidized) abortion are the ones who are poor and/or have no family support. This is the same group who would find contraceptives expensive/inaccessible and find themselves lacking in sex-ed.

Also, make other birth-control methods for women more accessible(IUD, depo shots etc), gives women more control over their own bodies and not be at the mercy of the man.

Long story short, legalize abortion, make sure its accessible to the poor too, but first and foremost improve sex-ed and access to contraceptives.
Angela Lee
post May 4 2011, 04:50 AM

Professional Human
1,059 posts

To me, legalising abortion is like legalising murder.
No question asked.
marasista
post Feb 11 2012, 05:43 PM

255 posts

advantage : decrease dumping of babies
decrease the risk of woman or gal who goes for abortion
disadvantage : as time goes by ppl dont really take the life of baby as life

abortion are legal with doc letters only .
SUSgtasaboss
post Feb 12 2012, 06:11 PM

Requiem
601 posts

i thought its already legal. my works in a public hospital and she said doctors do abortion all the time
spyduh
post May 21 2012, 09:05 AM

124 posts

they should legalize prostitution
Blofeld
post May 21 2012, 10:56 AM

4,700 posts

I believe abortion should be legalised.

Why?

1. To reduce crime. The reasons have been discussed in many postings above.

2. To control population. An over-populated earth is never a good thing. A new thread could even be opened just to discuss this.

3. For public health reason. Extended from the second point, an over-populated earth helps spread communicable diseases more easily. TB, AIDS, and Malaria, which are the major worries of WHO are still spreading like wildfire today.
lazydancer
post May 23 2012, 03:16 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(chiiupe @ Jan 27 2011, 11:34 PM)
You can't just legalize abortion and expect the whole issue of unwanted children to go away. You will also need to provide very extensive sex education coupled with free contraception. Prevention is better cure, but not having a back-up plan(abortion) is equally short-sighted.

The main group of women who will benefit from having access to (free or subsidized) abortion are the ones who are poor and/or have no family support. This is the same group who would find contraceptives expensive/inaccessible and find themselves lacking in sex-ed.

Also, make other birth-control methods for women more accessible(IUD, depo shots etc), gives women more control over their own bodies and not be at the mercy of the man.

Long story short, legalize abortion, make sure its accessible to the poor too, but first and foremost improve sex-ed and access to contraceptives.
Well said.

I believe abortion should be legalised. There are instances of illegal and unsafe abortion around the world, causing many maternal deaths. And these usually happen in developing countries where the people are less uneducated on safe sex.

People think that by legalising abortion, we are actually promoting abortion. But that is not the case. With the legalisation of abortion, we can at least be sure that procedures are standardised and safe. Women must also receive professional advice or counselling prior to abortion. Women who seek illegal abortion are most probably desperate and lost. They should be given help instead of being condemned. Professionals can inform them better on abortion and the possible complications/consequences.

That being said, I agree that abortion shouldn't be used as a form of contraception (better sex education!). But it should be available legally for women. Still, it is hard to decide which case of abortion is justifiable.

I think we as outsiders should stop the generalising about women who seeks abortion. We don't know the realities of their lives.

chiiupe
post Jun 10 2012, 09:54 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(marasista @ Feb 11 2012, 05:43 PM)
disadvantage : as time goes by ppl dont really take the life of baby as life
Exactly man, whenever people yell 'Abortion = murder', the first thing that comes to mind is how much of a hypocrite they are. They'll save a fetus to soothe their conscience, but what about afterwards when baby is born? You fellas want to chip in your time, money and emotions to adopt the baby you just saved? What about education/food/shelter/love for the next 18 years?
macho_siot
post Jun 27 2012, 07:30 AM

Ba da la la la
572 posts

1st of all, we need to ask.
why we need abortion?
most of people did because they are desperate.
`mostly` are young and not married yet.
so, kawen la...apa susah2..

lord_anju
post Jul 24 2012, 10:04 AM

145 posts

abortion in the event that the pregnancy endangers the mother's life is legal, recomended by doctors.

but abortion as a measurement to ERASE THE MISTAKE is totally inhumane. who are these people to decide to end a life? thinking logically, the person that needs to be "erased" are those irresponsible ones (no matter they are married or not). they should have used their brains in the first place.
SUSgtasaboss
post Aug 2 2012, 12:14 PM

Requiem
601 posts

is ts dumb or what? if you want to about then just abort la. its legal in my ever since 1990
il0ve51
post Aug 2 2012, 12:17 PM

1,054 posts

should be legalize long time ago, only uncivilized thinking reject this idea
SUScute_miao
post Jan 24 2013, 11:34 AM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

It is not important to legalize or not bcz ppl are still doing it. Guess the main diff is the amount of money the doctor charges upon legalize.

0.0424sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:19 AM