Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

RAMChYLD
post Jun 5 2012, 11:59 AM

1,715 posts

Just wondering lah, assuming I am crazy. Can I have both Maxis FTTH and UniFi at the same time? Do they use the same fiber box from outside?

Because Maxis say my area has coverage, but I don't see any Maxis Fiber box, only TM.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 5 2012, 12:02 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 5 2012, 06:09 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(supar_depor @ Jun 5 2012, 01:00 PM)
bro, its normal if you ping to server 8000 miles away...and getting 200ms ping is considered ok..correct me if im wrong....

Unless you the ping to server located in SEA, and you got 200++, then its bad

IMHO..lah.. maybe im; wrong
I think it actually depends on number of hops + route. The signal doesn't go straight to US, instead it goes through various backbones first before going into US and reaching the server. I may be wrong, but I think each time it switch backbones, it's considered a hop. It takes quite a few hops to get from Malaysia to the US. The more hop you need to take + distance of fiber between hops = higher ping.

QUOTE(kurogane @ Jun 5 2012, 01:03 PM)
Yes can, you will just have two fiber cables coming in to your home only.
Ah, okay.

*Grins at evil thought of also signing up for Maxis and then dropping a load balancing router linking UniFi, Maxis, and private network*

Nah, not really going to do it. At least, not this year.
RAMChYLD
post Jun 5 2012, 06:33 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Jun 5 2012, 06:27 PM)
i feel u bro, im currently having the exact same problem, im from jalan 3/141, just opposite ur taman naga emas..hahahah
The idiotic thing about this is that for high rise building, they insist on using VDSL instead of laying fiber on the building. The coverage map is for fiber only.
RAMChYLD
post Jun 6 2012, 01:03 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jun 5 2012, 10:13 PM)
i never even install tm iptv box.......in my store since day 1, quality and variety sucks compare to Astro.
Well, Maxis FTTH IPTV coming soon. I think their programming will be shared with TM UniFi.

As for TM IPTV variety... blame SKMM for allowing Assteruk to make content provider sign clauses that prevent them from selling their programming to others as well (I've said this before: in Hong Kong, Australia and New Zealand, assteruk's move is illegal and can get assteruk sued by fair trade commission).

To be fair tho, TM does have some good channels. For example, SyFy.

Quality, well, no rain fade unless it's a monsoon at TM's dish farm. Your call.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 6 2012, 01:03 AM

0.0456sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:03 AM