6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

numbertwo
post May 17 2012, 09:08 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ May 17 2012, 07:34 PM)
How dou get it loyalty?
we pay a price for being 'loyalty'... my area is dominated by M only...so I have been using their adsl donkey years ago.. switching to M's ftth give everyone, including M itself, the impression that we are 'loyal' to M hahah..
numbertwo
post May 21 2012, 02:12 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ May 21 2012, 09:41 AM)
tempted to the RM118 promo, can I use my own DD-WRT router instead of the router provided by Maxis?
M seems like pushing some config/settings into the Thomson router on and off... SoM has much control over the Thomson router...I doubt you are able to replace it with another personal router of yours.
numbertwo
post May 22 2012, 08:37 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ May 22 2012, 08:25 PM)
no lah just that if user got question they can just simply ask there those like router changing improvement etc... BUT maxis thread very few active not many people
that probably becoz there is nothing much you can do abt the M's thompson router hehe!
numbertwo
post May 23 2012, 11:03 AM

1,787 posts

the password of the wifi setup in the Thompson is entirely up to you to define... I just don't understand why the need to worry about this nonsense thing of sharing ur wifi with ur neighbours..

This post has been edited by numbertwo: May 23 2012, 11:03 AM
numbertwo
post May 24 2012, 12:52 PM

1,787 posts

This is what Maxis FTTH CS told me :

1. i have fulfilled the min 12 mths contract on my current package, so I'm surely eligible to upgrade to the 10Mbps/$118 package without any penalty..

2. I get to keep my public IP setup

3. I need to walk in to Maxis Centre to signup! (this is crap..can't they just do it online? Ain't we in the digital age now??)

4. No quota as of now.

Well, I don't mean to be nuts, for those who wonders when will the cap be implemented, and what will be the outcome if you hit the cap later etc. etc.... I doubt even TM can tell u and give you the confirmation! So, just relax and signup if you think M gives u what you want...

At least I'm gonna enjoy the 10Mbps next week or sooner!
numbertwo
post May 26 2012, 03:01 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 26 2012, 01:06 PM)
Maxis wired – looks promising with 6Mbs? Apparently the hype was short-lived.
Less than 24 hours, I was already feeling the worst nightmare that continue to haunt me since the notorious TM days. Having snail speed like 4kbs? I run several speedtest at different intervals, the speeds are anything but encouraging…Maxis customer service? Lagi best…
Calling 123…
Me: I just subscribe FTTH…blah blah blah
Cs1: (after getting the details)…sir,you should call 1800 82 2000…
Attempting to call few times, manage to get thru after 3rd times…
(after waited like 5 minutes)…
Me: I have my FTTH installed…the story all over again…
Cs2: (suddenly) Can I have the SIM card no?..
Me: SIM card no? Aren’t you listening? SIM for FTTH? You understand FTTH???
Cs2: Yes, sir…let me check (wasting my time again)
After getting more details like account no, mobile and etc
Cs2: Sir, can I have your SIM no? (WTF!!!!!)
Apparently, Cs1 provide me the wrong number, I was supposed to call elsewhere but it took me more than 10 minutes just to clarify that!!!
Does Maxis provide simple training to them?
I thought the conversion from P1 is final, apparently all broadband services here suck!!!! Sigh!
sorry to hear that.. maxis FTTH dedicated hotline is 1800 824 663
numbertwo
post May 28 2012, 12:11 PM

1,787 posts

I don't think there is any installation required at our home, they just need to reconfigure their server to take effect the new change.. Nope, I'm still on my 6Mbps.. With the overwhelming response I think it will take a while to see our line gets upgraded...
numbertwo
post May 28 2012, 02:29 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(ckh83 @ May 28 2012, 02:18 PM)
I ask the same question at the counter, but he told me need wo.
I will call them and ask if after few days also no one call me, or still 6mbps.

You go maxis centre aldy?
yes, form submitted last Thurs. Let's see how long it takes them to upgrade my line...
numbertwo
post May 29 2012, 06:28 PM

1,787 posts

I hope with the sudden influx of subscribers, the ftth will not get choked up!
numbertwo
post Jun 6 2012, 04:12 PM

1,787 posts

u can port forward in the maxis router, provided if you are getting a public IP.
numbertwo
post Jun 10 2012, 11:51 AM

1,787 posts

If you guys differentiate it by MegaBytes(MBps) and Megabits (Mbps) you will be doing fine.. What M offers is Mbps, not MBps...
numbertwo
post Jun 17 2012, 01:40 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 17 2012, 01:02 PM)
already finished the quota now 128kbps
mind to share how much have you downloaded/uploaded before your speed gets throttled into 128kbps?
numbertwo
post Jun 21 2012, 01:17 AM

1,787 posts

oh dear..i don't know why you guys are mumbling & grumbling about the Thomson router..I've been using it 24x7 for the past 15 months running fullspeed at 6Mbps...seriously, i don't recall when was the last time I turned it off! And it wasn't placed in an openair desk or something, it sits inside a cabinet (w/o a door though)...
numbertwo
post Jun 21 2012, 05:30 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jun 21 2012, 01:51 AM)
You can check the maxis forum... not one but many having problems with it... it's as bad as having problem every hour or so... maybe you got a different model... is yours thomson 784n?

how frequent do you use it? more than one hour per session(the wireless i mean, not the one directly connected to your pc)

if the router is having problem, the phone cannot be used as well because it's connected to the router.... unlike unifi, it's connected to the vdsl modem
hi, Yes mine is the 784n:

Product Name: TG784n
Software Release: 8.4.H.8

I must be one of those first batch subscribers who installed M's FTTH when they first launched it back in near end of 2010. To be honest, I had have wifi problem when I realised more n more neighbours did the installation... As I suspected the channel conflicts, changing the wifi channel to one that hasn't been allocated helped eradicate the disconnection issue.. And I have no issue until now. The only issue that I have with this 784n is that it doesn't save my devices' configuration in the 784n, and this is due to Mshits keep on pushing a 'refresh' back to the router I believe..

cheers

p.s : that was wifi connection problem that I have had.. It has never overheated, not as bad as you mentioned...every equipment will generate heat, and somehow 784n last 18 mths of almost running 24*7 inside my open-cabinet.. so cheer up!

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Jun 21 2012, 05:34 AM
numbertwo
post Jun 21 2012, 03:28 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jun 21 2012, 02:59 PM)
wahlau eh.... now someone saying the thomson router has weak signal... then it beats my upgrading from streamyx purpose

i am changing to maxis because i want to use the wireless with ipad

is everyone getting the weak signal from the thomson router?

mine will be in high rise buidling... how is the thomson router signal in high rise building setup?

Added on June 21, 2012, 3:02 pm
someone here mentioned weak wifi singal with the thomson router... how about yours?

you're in landed property or high rise building?
I'm puzzled rclxub.gif , why has high-rise or landed got to do with the router wifi signal... You are not expecting the Thomson to GET SIGNAL from a mobile 3G station right... OMG.

Added on June 21, 2012, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(danieltay @ Jun 21 2012, 07:20 AM)
sounds good and positive to me...

but the guy in maxis forum said he changed the channel many times but it's still the same situation...  another guy has his thomson router changed 3 times but no help... sound horrible

anyway, how do you change the wifi channel? will the maxis support guy help you on changing the channel?

another worrying problem is the direct download speed(no torrent or any similar site)... some of them download software from adobe and microsoft, the download speed is worst than streamyx 1Mbps, even though the test speed connection shows 10Mbps... have you encountered such issue?

btw, do you upload files often? i've to upload files daily to update my site, so it's critical...  i've heard there is frequent upload file issues with unifi... since maxis is using unifi, the same problems could be replicated

is your maxis connection on high rise building or landed property? and may i know which area are you in?

I live in landed property... Just google 'How to change Wifi Channel' , Google is our best friend these days..much better than any CS from M.

See my upload/download data :
Connection Information
Uptime: 1 day, 15:18:11
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 65.56 / 20.68

Mind you guys again, M will frequently push something back into the PON or the Thomson router to refresh IP address...so, the uptime will be reset/updated automatically.

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Jun 21 2012, 03:33 PM
numbertwo
post Jun 23 2012, 03:30 AM

1,787 posts

for those who complaint abt ping time... have you guys tried using google dns yet?

numbertwo
post Jun 26 2012, 09:35 AM

1,787 posts

Package : 6MB
1st test to YES 4G : 10ms
2nd PacketOne : 11ms
3rd test UMobile : 15ms
4th test maxis : 12ms
5th test UK Lon Vodafone : 366ms
6th test US San Fran Unwired: 208ms
numbertwo
post Jun 26 2012, 10:55 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Jun 26 2012, 10:14 AM)
brother, it looks your latency is good within local, is it maxis fiber? dunno you still get that lower ping if upgrade to 10MB fiber?
yes it is home landed fiber to home...i have signed a form to upgrade on 24/May..so let's see when are they gonna complete this , i have no urgency actually..as long as I hold the form they can deny my upgrade...

Added on June 26, 2012, 10:57 am
QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Jun 26 2012, 10:17 AM)
how about singapore?

mine local same as urs but singapore 300ms doh.gif
well surprisingly ping to Singtel is less than 30ms(tested twice), but other server I m getting like 250-300..

anyway...is know that maxis ping to overseas will exceed 200ms minimum!

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Jun 26 2012, 10:57 AM
numbertwo
post Jun 27 2012, 12:26 AM

1,787 posts

after a long wait they finally diam diam upgrade my 6Mb to 10Mb...so far so good...
numbertwo
post Jun 27 2012, 11:24 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jun 27 2012, 11:20 AM)
When are they going to implement the quota? Is the 100GB quota for download+upload combined? I'm a heavy HD movies downloader, I don't want to regret myself by upgrading to this package since I'm enjoying my current 1MB streamyx with unlimited quota (I downloaded > 100GB of movies per month)
answer is 'god-knows-when'.. blink.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0580sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:33 AM