Maxis Samsung Galaxy S or HTC Desire, Help me decide...

pluginbaby
post Sep 4 2010, 02:45 PM

2,661 posts

Out of the box i guess the desire wins, my dads SGS lags greatly and battery dies out quickly. If u plan to root and flash customs on the SGS, things would be on the good side smile.gif
pluginbaby
post Sep 4 2010, 11:53 PM

2,661 posts

the comment saying about the batterylife is based on my dad's usage which he does not know anything at all.. lol.. he is a total zero and only use phone for office, surf, email n normal phone stuffs..

i consider u a mid to high end user, so rooting/custom is always an option for you and out of the box dosent mean much.. the SGS seems like always preferred to most new android users due to its top notch hardware.

Usually people take HTC android due to HTC Sense UI. If u prefer HTC sense and love its widgets, go for Desire. If u prefer to have better hardware between those two, the Galaxy S wins hands down. But still, the hardware on the desire is good also and not dissapointing, its not crap at all but since the question of which one is better, the Galaxy S wins
pluginbaby
post Sep 5 2010, 12:41 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 5 2010, 12:25 AM)
i agree with you.... but see ur signature see you sold your desire d.... what phone you using now? waiting for newer androids?
yup, sold to a friend.. she desperately needs a phone since shes going overseas after raya.. using an old nokia now.. haha.. my hands is itchy for the next HTC biggrin.gif

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 5 2010, 12:36 AM)
question!! : i heard new desire from maxis cant be root, or is it can be done now?
the new hboot has not been rooted... seems like a long wait since the new hboot affects asian desire OTA and the devs mostly is based on europe.. it would be such a wait i guess..
pluginbaby
post Sep 5 2010, 12:48 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 5 2010, 12:45 AM)
sold good price?
icon_rolleyes.gif
pluginbaby
post Sep 5 2010, 02:24 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 5 2010, 01:44 AM)
if i cant decide buy which phone... then hope htc come out device better than hummingbird
just get the SGS then, u wont regret the super amoled i guess
pluginbaby
post Sep 5 2010, 09:43 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Sep 5 2010, 03:16 AM)
Actually I dont see what's wrong with SLCD, it doesn't differ much from AMOLED in term of quality. ( I actually prefer the color of SLCD lol, more natural laugh.gif )
And HTC claimed that SLCD spend lesser battery power.... so why hate it? hmm.gif
indeed, i was thinking that the desire has a battery life advantage or perhaps in another word it is improved now thanks to the SLCD. It is proven by tests that SLCD does uses lower power on daily usage such as web browsing which has more white compared to blacks.

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 5 2010, 09:15 AM)
waiting you get first... right??
what do u mean by me get 1st? mind explaining?
pluginbaby
post Sep 5 2010, 04:12 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 5 2010, 10:16 AM)
hahaha... coz u asked me get it wont regret mar... u not getting it also??
i already have a galaxy S at home which belongs to my dad. If i want to play games anytime i can play it.. haha.. Thats y im not getting SGS. But i prefer HTC i guess. HTC Desire was a good daily driver to me, the best i guess. Having super duper graphics like too much on a phone like the galaxy S is not maxed out since there arent so many games which is only dedicated for a super duper power graphic processing phone. Even the desire can play what Galaxy S games can if its snapdragon/adreno optimized or capable.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 5 2010, 04:07 PM)
no second value??lol
is because ur samsung not high end so its not popular...
and if u wan more second value then get iphone...
Indeed. at first i thought that the SGS would have a low 2nd value like all other samsung products, but i guess for SGS it would be different unless the buyer and the seller is a no brainer =="
pluginbaby
post Sep 6 2010, 12:18 AM

2,661 posts

we still dunno why he has made his decision..
pluginbaby
post Sep 6 2010, 02:18 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Sep 6 2010, 08:55 AM)
u can ask at recommendation phone topics..dun need to create new topics..
obviously you have not been reading through this thread.. but i guess the case is now settled then, TS should continue talking at corresponding thread and close this one.

nod.gif
pluginbaby
post Sep 6 2010, 02:37 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(kentang_peranchis @ Sep 6 2010, 02:19 PM)
yes, weak battery life is always de reason my customers complain to me abt desire.
got screwed many times over this issue,
"how to enjoy smartphone when u must always lower down brightness, disable this n that, etc?"
"why must i always carry spare batteries/chargers arnd? fone itslf ady takes up so much space in my pocket!"

so in de end, to help preserve reputation of my shops, and even de sales guys agreed with me to discontinue selling desire.

but i hv no experience with desire firmware 2.2 or samsung androids. hopefully can be better.
thanks for your reply, i guess this topic should be closed now. There is already to much thread discussing batterylife and how to improve it etc. TS has bought a phone so such further discussion would be not helping. Lets return to other threads. End

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Sep 6 2010, 02:38 PM

0.0179sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:08 AM