4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V5 (More than 130 owners), Where Tablets Meets Mobile Phone

hengguowei
post Sep 2 2010, 10:57 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

Hey...Aspire...dunno should I ask in this thread lar...but which phone should I buy?...
N900, Samsung Wave or Iphone 4? Thanks smile.gif

Added on September 2, 2010, 10:57 pmoh wait...or N8?...

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 2 2010, 10:57 PM
hengguowei
post Sep 2 2010, 11:15 PM

4,475 posts

hahahah...I wanna sleep ady...tomorrow got exam...just asking in general lor...I think I don't want Iphone 4 ady cause Ipod Touch 4th gen is so cheap.

http://store.apple.com/my/browse/home/shop...mco=MTAyNTQzMjQ

Then, in general you think I should get N8, N900 or Samsung Wave?...
Camera : I don't care which ones better among these 3 phones smile.gif I know obviously N8 but I don't give a damn biggrin.gif
I want phone operation to be smooth...that's important...I don't want it to lag or worst hang like all my freaking S60 and Symbian^1 devices cry.gif
And also which phone offer me better games? laugh.gif
Aiya, N900 no multitouch...only the Swril zoom thing only...hmph...don't care about this one first biggrin.gif
And I wanna put movies in to watch...(I know you'll kick Samsung Wave for this point bcoz of screen size)

Give me your personal opinion smile.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 2 2010, 11:19 PM

4,475 posts

urm...let's just say don't compare Iphone 4 games cause I think I'm going to get Ipod Touch 4th gen biggrin.gif
Compare N900 and Samsung Wave, which one gaming better? biggrin.gif

Added on September 2, 2010, 11:23 pmReply me...reply me...

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 2 2010, 11:23 PM
hengguowei
post Sep 2 2010, 11:47 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 2 2010, 11:25 PM)
Samsung Wave for the processing power and ram+ Super AMOLED if for games
But I thought RAM on N900 superb? smile.gif

Added on September 2, 2010, 11:48 pmhow about audio and video as in playback? smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 2 2010, 11:48 PM
hengguowei
post Sep 3 2010, 12:01 AM

4,475 posts

N900 or Samsung Wave...there's one user selling Used Ori at 1350...is it worth it...faster tell me...I'm not sure which phone to buy argh...
hengguowei
post Sep 3 2010, 12:06 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Sep 3 2010, 12:04 AM)
what a demanding member,
read the frontpage..then decide
we can't tell u what to buy best, why don't see for yourself what u wanna buy.
Hahah...cause not sure if it's a good deal mah...scared lost the deal if it's good deal then haih...so ask like this lo tongue.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 3 2010, 06:05 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 3 2010, 12:23 AM)
LOL...

I thought you would convince him to buy N900? No?

Anyway, I dont know that you have so much faith with Samsung BadaOS and its ability to attract game developers. You can buy a Ipod Touch 4th Generation which has the same spec as Iphone4 for gaming. I think it would fit just nicely and then buy the ever cheap N900 for internet and phone function.
Wave even cheaper lur...N900 won't lag during phone operation right? smile.gif hmph...Wave's relatively low price for its hardware is quite tempting though and knowing the camera is doing great in video recording...
You know what?...I think I'll buy N900...the only problem now is woohoo...get permission from my dad biggrin.gif see if he allows me to buy N900 and give X6 to my brother biggrin.gif

Added on September 3, 2010, 6:09 am
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 3 2010, 04:27 AM)
I practically agree with this, seeing how the N900 handles (or in my case, HANDLED) almost 100% of the websites I throw at it.
But...

In conclusion, if you NEED the best internet and multitasking experience the gadget world has to offer, have both hands free most of the time and don't mind the half-assed phone parts (the phone lags with an incoming call sometimes), glitched push email (you need to MANUALLY CONNECT to get your "push" email. Gee thanks Nokia) and sad battery life on 3G; then look no further then the N900.

@hengguowei: If you REALLY want a real SMOOTH OS, then get the IPhone 4. I'll get blasted for this, but IMHO that's the ONLY thing the fruitphone does better then everyone else. Smooth operations with no hangs.

Trust me, even Android lags and crashes.

But you'll have to live with the things the IPhone cannot do, like bluetooth sharing (ugh, Apple) or real multitasking.

And Bada? With a grand total of 2 phones now running it, it has even less of a future then WebOS (Palm Pre) does, at least in terms of apps. Don't even bother.

And Symbian's not THAT bad,,,

So if Iphone is not 1 of my choices anymore, then I should get N900? smile.gif and newer Nokia got enough phone memory smile.gif my X6 got 300mb C drive smile.gif but I think N8 will rip a hole in my pocket such that I can't buy Ipod Touch 4th gen tongue.gif
I think I'm going for N900...now besides warranty is there other issues to be noted if I buy AP set? smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 3 2010, 06:09 AM
hengguowei
post Sep 3 2010, 05:12 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 3 2010, 02:21 PM)
Technically speaking, iOS is does not have homescreen/desktop process, no widgets, everything keep plain and simple. There's no doubt it will be a lot smoother than any smartphones out there.
But it doesn't mean it wont lag or hang at all, higher possibilities if you have jb it or depends on the apps; but as Apple has strict QC on the apps, the apps are surely more stable.

Simply put, the more freedom, the more flexibility, the more risk and problems. It'll then depends on how the user use and manage it.

As for Symbian, the devices offered always have lack of memory issue. Take for example, the N81; the free internal memory (ram?) is like what? Around 25MB? After install Nokia Maps 2.0 and N-Gage Arena, you're left with around 5MB++? Surfing few websites you'll ended up with "not enough memory" error, and you'll have to clear the cache. And overtime, something seems to be taking up the internal memory and you'll notice it gets lesser and lesser.
Plus, when you have low memory, when you blast SMS to Contact Groups, you will get phone lagging issue or worst case scenario, the whole SMS system goes crazy.
N95 have more than 100MB free as I checked with my friend, thus it's one of the least problem Nokia Symbian devices.
N97 also suffered the very same issue with internal memory, despite being a flagship device. After the later firmware update, it improves a little; I think like around 50MB++ free internal memory, which is still not much or very little.
I think you're confused with what's RAM and what's phone memory...judging from your reply...I know more tongue.gif

hengguowei
post Sep 3 2010, 05:18 PM

4,475 posts

let me tell you guys one way I found to surf the internet for only 5 bucks and for generally unlimited time biggrin.gif I tried this year until chinese new year time then didn't use anymore...
Go and buy a digi prepaid number...reload at least 5 ringgit...when I say at least 5, I mean it...but don't reach 10ringgit...then you link to internet...and keep using don't disconnect your connection...this is possible by minimising your browser...Digi prepaid internet is 5ringgit a day...for some reason their system no sense of time...so long as you don't disconnect, they won't disconnect your internet and they don't charge extra...woots...practically free internet...my longest record for 5 ringgit is 2 weeks biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 3 2010, 06:04 PM

4,475 posts

let me tell you guys one way I found to surf the internet for only 5 bucks and for generally unlimited time biggrin.gif I tried this year until chinese new year time then didn't use anymore...
Go and buy a digi prepaid number...reload at least 5 ringgit...when I say at least 5, I mean it...but don't reach 10ringgit...then you link to internet...and keep using don't disconnect your connection...this is possible by minimising your browser...Digi prepaid internet is 5ringgit a day...for some reason their system no sense of time...so long as you don't disconnect, they won't disconnect your internet and they don't charge extra...woots...practically free internet...my longest record for 5 ringgit is 2 weeks biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 4 2010, 12:46 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 3 2010, 06:23 PM)
Does your phone capable to stay connected for 2 weeks? sure spoil la the battery
won't lar...when you keep it connected and don't have transfer of data,won't heat up also...somemore...last time I used on my E65 biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 4 2010, 03:18 PM

4,475 posts

yeap...same here..hope to get an Ipod Touch 4th gen and a Nokia N900 biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 4 2010, 10:58 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Sep 4 2010, 09:36 PM)
mayb we can do a bulk for the higher capacity batt? wonder anyone will be interested o.o
but somebody said it's not exactly high-capacity...they checked and it's actually almost the same caoacity as the original battery biggrin.gif

Added on September 4, 2010, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(firstknight @ Sep 4 2010, 10:57 PM)
dont trust those capacity... usually its not...
Yeap...cheat people's money only one biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 4 2010, 10:58 PM
hengguowei
post Sep 4 2010, 11:42 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 4 2010, 11:14 PM)
They said there is no way to expand the capacity without increasing the battery size for current techology
yeap...current technology, but future obviously can lor biggrin.gif

Added on September 4, 2010, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 4 2010, 11:19 PM)
There is; I read some sacrifice on the safety parts/components or whatever it is; which is which some non-ori battery is  dangerous where it can leak or explodes? No idea; But so far, my ori battery, those that are extremely old (don't know how many years already, but still can use), the battery already bloated. My original PSP battery, bought since 2006, also bloated already; just changed new one this year.
All my Nokias battery still good wor...and PSP also still good...but Sony battery bloat...

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 4 2010, 11:43 PM
hengguowei
post Sep 5 2010, 01:18 AM

4,475 posts

my X6 also like this unless you don't press half-shutter then no lights will come out biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 6 2010, 04:28 PM

4,475 posts

online through network consume alot off electricity smile.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 11 2010, 03:36 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 11 2010, 12:54 PM)
guys tis seller so super cheap for N900 = RM850 for today AP set

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1557658
Should I buy AP or Ori for N900? smile.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 11 2010, 03:37 PM

4,475 posts

aiya..sold ady sad.gif

Added on September 11, 2010, 3:38 pmI'm nt willing...so any good seller for ori N900?smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Sep 11 2010, 03:38 PM
hengguowei
post Sep 11 2010, 04:15 PM

4,475 posts

ask already...now wait for his reply smile.gif
hengguowei
post Sep 11 2010, 04:19 PM

4,475 posts

everyone sleeping during raya???

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top