What it takes.., ..to be a diamond/platinum player?

Quazacolt
post Aug 31 2010, 03:17 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 31 2010, 08:12 AM)
Hi Diamond/Platinum players..

Just wanna interview a lil bit on how u guys can become such a good player..

1) Have u guys played SC1/BW before?

2) When did u guys started to play SC2? Since the Beta release?

3) How many hours you play SC2 per day averagely?

And pls share with us all tips on becoming a good SC2 player..
1) yes

2) late phase 1 beta

3) weekdays 5ish hours weekends until exhaustion

tips: keep playing. learn from your mistakes, improve yourself (be it physical finger/hand reflexes, thinking/thought process reflexes), diversify your strategy, and improve your micro/macro. replays of your own mistakes is fine and all, but try to reach to a point where you can KNOW what went wrong without the replay. that way, you save that replay time, and can use it to play more games, get more experience etc.
Quazacolt
post Aug 31 2010, 06:41 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 31 2010, 05:51 PM)
For the ppl who didn't play sc1 and sc2 beta..
And manage to join the diamond/platinum league, u guys sure have natural talent..
some people does some things better than others naturally. while the rest have to work hard for it. kore ga jin sei da. (that is life) wwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2010, 09:36 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(xShinji @ Sep 1 2010, 03:31 AM)
its already a mth since this game is out : )

for those who think player who got into diamond without playing SC1 is talented i would say very wrong

Since this is SEA server getting into diamond is relatively 5x easier comparable to US server

It just full of knowledge that recipe the skills-
i wouldnt say 5x, however it is relatively easier compared to SEA. of course, if you want the ultimate diamond brag, theres the korean servers.
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2010, 09:51 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Sep 1 2010, 04:00 AM)
wan a screenshot of him ? LOL

btw , a talented player should be diamond +70% winning rate and above. ( at least 200 matches in total )
no need screenshot, just link his profile (need to find on bnet/in game, deodorant posted a Q on that, nows a good time to give it a shot lol).

and btw diamonds players are known to have less than/around 50-60% winrate, as we can see for everyone's SEA diamond siggy here on LYN tongue.gif tongue.gif
same goes to US too btw, lowest diamond winrate ive seen is like 51%? IINM
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2010, 11:08 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 1 2010, 10:35 AM)
not really, when i was in gold division, I used to against Diamond players =/
You're gold , there is two leagues above you.what about diamond players? He is already at the top already :/
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2010, 02:21 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Sep 1 2010, 02:15 PM)
here it is

shit like this actually makes me considering SEA server. wwwwwwwwwwwww
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2010, 03:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 1 2010, 02:26 PM)
http://www.sc2ranks.com/eu/1014235/gONzO

he is the only ppl exceed 2k ladder points but still in bronze lol.

He is currently raged at the blizzard about the system why he is still in bronze league lol

Added on September 1, 2010, 2:27 pmhttp://www.sc2ranks.com/ranks/all/all/1

highest point in the world..XD
i dont get it, hes diamond plat on 2v2, but bronze 1v1? rofl? somemore highest point in the world lol
Quazacolt
post Sep 1 2010, 04:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Sep 1 2010, 03:29 PM)
so that settles it then, Bnet league matching system is greatly flawed.
few person's problem surely doesnt equate the entire system being flawed, much less greatly flawed.
Quazacolt
post Sep 2 2010, 09:41 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ricardoizecson @ Sep 2 2010, 07:08 AM)
heres a few tips to get better in your game

1) keep making workers NEVER STOP!
2) Always make supplies NEVER GET SUPPLY BLOCKED
3) Keep your money LOW. MACROMACROMACRO
4) Always have gameplan b4 u enter the game and STICK TO YOUR PLAN. ie: i want make shitload of tanks and push when i got SHITLOAD of tanks.

4 really basic things that can easily improve ur game.
1) no point over saturating the mineral line unless you have plans to expand and transfer workers
2) sub 100 supply getting block for short periods isnt as crucial as the beginning where you can ALWAYS find ways to spend your excess resources while being block and it is most of the time useful too. eg: upgrades
3) for minerals thats the case, however for races like zerg, if ur going mutas, that wont be the case as you'll be larvae starved to go mutaling combo. that, and pre-muta you will have gas stockpile. (similar scenarios may apply to other races too)
4) what if your opponent put a wrench to your plan? still stick with it? (eg: i plan to mass reaper, opponent only got stalkers, what do now? stick to reapers and hand him the game?)

but of course, it is basic things (rather, GUIDELINES) for a reason, the point being to not follow it blindly.

Added on September 2, 2010, 9:42 am
QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 2 2010, 08:55 AM)
when all of your tanks come out.... shit load of void rays waiting for you...biggrin.gif
you either should have a decent marine pool escorting the tank, or you roll over and die lorhhh XD

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 2 2010, 09:42 AM
Quazacolt
post Sep 2 2010, 09:46 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 2 2010, 09:44 AM)
charged VRs >> stim marines lol... 1 shot 1 die..biggrin.gif
really depends on numbers, the rays takes like almost a sec to "apply" (as in, the rays may be on the marine, but he doesnt immediately vaporize)
while marine stimmed, you get the idea. cheaper, easier to mass with reactors and all.

unless the voids are having cliff abuse advantage, the overall advantage favors the marine greatly. voids typically arent good to take out massed units that anti air after all. charge or not charged. and non charged voids, might as well forget it lol
Quazacolt
post Sep 2 2010, 10:02 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 2 2010, 09:51 AM)
5 unstimmed marines > 1 charged VR...
unless u cant focus fire, then the VR seemed OP
same mineral cost minus the gas, and can build much faster than the void assuming with reactor. hell, make it 6 cuz of the 2x pairs.
Quazacolt
post Sep 29 2010, 10:06 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 29 2010, 10:02 AM)
Guys, just wanna announce that today I reached my 100th wins for 1v1 rclxms.gif  (The signature system haven't update yet the score).
Most of the wins are cheese wins. If I play macro (2 or 3 expansions) 80% i will lose the match.
grats
Quazacolt
post Sep 30 2010, 11:24 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Sep 30 2010, 11:21 AM)
hardly get a fight with a silver league
normally with bronze only
try to beef up your apm, and create a bigger disparity in the end game score.
Quazacolt
post Sep 30 2010, 12:52 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 30 2010, 12:32 PM)
Donno what went wrong to Bnet ladder system.

I played 4v4 and got bronze league, and won many games like hell.
Didn't get promoted to silver for so long.
And suddenly after a while with wins, i was promoted straight to platinum!
Skipping silver and gold.
Anyone experiencing this?
nothing surprising
Quazacolt
post Sep 30 2010, 01:35 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(incx @ Sep 30 2010, 01:33 PM)
Sometimes it's better to stay at lower leagues a while, be prepared to be demoralized once you're in the higher leagues. ph34r.gif
i hate the point gain/loss ratios at diamond LAWL
Quazacolt
post Oct 21 2010, 08:22 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 21 2010, 08:17 PM)
guys,

what's the avg APM for a diamond league player?
60-110+ avg (lowest -> highest APM terran<protoss<zerg)

peaks/spikes at highest 380+ apm or something (again, playing zerg)
Quazacolt
post Oct 22 2010, 07:55 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 22 2010, 12:47 AM)
damn, no wonder i'm still in gold league. My APM is only 50-60.. sad.gif
im only plat anyways unless you want to count my 3's/4's www
Quazacolt
post Oct 23 2010, 02:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(cupmee2nd @ Oct 23 2010, 11:24 AM)
your APM at least need to be 40 or higher to be a good player. FruitDealer has 400 APM, 80% are just spam
But it works for him and he got eighty five thousand us dollars
Quazacolt
post Oct 25 2010, 11:45 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Oct 23 2010, 07:06 PM)
what replay is that ? i wanna watch  biggrin.gif
tester aka ssks eats cheese with wine.

he was proxy 2 gated cheese, and yet he held it off and had a HERO ONE zealot and probe to kill his enemy while he defend

and hes the only GSL player AFAIK with consistant 400++ avg APM (not current and not spike, consistant average lol)

=edit=
oops type

Added on October 25, 2010, 11:58 am
QUOTE(Nandeska @ Oct 24 2010, 03:41 AM)
-,-" such a good replay..... btw , ssks vs who ? mayb i can find some source
nexfreegen IINM?

Added on October 25, 2010, 11:59 am
QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 25 2010, 11:16 AM)
Only 6% of the users are in diamond league.
less than 5% mind you. SEA lower. highest is korea which is around or just barely under 6%

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 25 2010, 11:59 AM
Quazacolt
post Oct 25 2010, 01:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Oct 25 2010, 12:24 PM)
did anyone bought the korean version of sc2?
i think ill be stuck in bronze and having constant high stress when playing korean sc2

0.0257sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:20 AM