post Oct 13 2010, 01:45 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

i do anything to make your car perform better :>
x3dn16
post Oct 13 2010, 10:17 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Oct 13 2010, 01:45 AM)
i do anything to make your car perform better :>
i like tis sentence,should make it ur shop slogan.
freestyler_jg
post Oct 13 2010, 10:36 AM

37 posts

Wow!! I like the speaker baffle, izit aluminium..?
TShowiechoo
post Oct 13 2010, 04:02 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(x3dn16 @ Oct 13 2010, 10:17 AM)
i like tis sentence,should make it ur shop slogan.
lolz, will consider it, but it's too long

Added on October 13, 2010, 4:02 pm
QUOTE(freestyler_jg @ Oct 13 2010, 10:36 AM)
Wow!! I like the speaker baffle, izit aluminium..?
yup, alu

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Oct 13 2010, 04:02 PM
x3dn16
post Oct 13 2010, 11:06 PM

60 posts

it will be fully apply for the door inner n on the metal right??
TShowiechoo
post Oct 14 2010, 12:26 PM

1,919 posts

u mean deadening? yes, this will give best result
x3dn16
post Oct 14 2010, 03:57 PM

60 posts

actually,wats the different for deadening n soundproofing?
krayden
post Oct 14 2010, 04:29 PM

578 posts

deadening is to stop your car from rattling or panel vibrations.
soundproofing is to block noise (engine/road noise from entering your cabin).

more or less.
udin901
post Oct 14 2010, 07:05 PM

743 posts

my exhaust beat my sound system sounds! using this method can solve it?
TShowiechoo
post Oct 14 2010, 09:59 PM

1,919 posts

deadening is the prevention steps....which you prevent the generation of noise...

soundproofing is the curing steps..which you blocking noise...

vaccine and medicine.

udin901, if u wan quieter ride, why not change the exhaust first? there's no point to generate noise then block noise....waste gas
ftfong700
post Oct 17 2010, 10:48 PM

20 posts

pm me for sound proof for my lavina 2 door only 2 layer
coolkwc
post Oct 23 2010, 08:08 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

Bro, today i DIY dampening on my BLM front door, use 4 hours only for 1 door doh.gif tmr have to continue on another one.

Until this stage, my car adi done deadening and soundproof for floor, front and rear wheel arch (inside the cabin), fender and mudguard, now is door, after that is rear boot (DIY as well)

The material used are STP Vibroplast M1.

I want to play SQ, so i plan to apply 3 layers soundproof.

I have few questions, hope u can help me.

1. Today i only bought 2 boxes (8 sheets/box), only 1 door adi used 1 box, no waste at all, but not enuf for me to cover up the door frame 'hole' (the 3 big hole), is it necessary to cover the hole using dampening sheet? can use others alternative?

2. The plastic door trim is it need to apply the dampening sheet as well? (i thought is enuf, but end up wif no)

3. STP splen suitable to apply on the outer door frame (outside towards the car) or not?

Thank you. smile.gif
MyWifeCar
post Oct 25 2010, 12:07 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 23 2010, 08:08 PM)
Bro, today i DIY dampening on my BLM front door, use 4 hours only for 1 door doh.gif tmr have to continue on another one.

Until this stage, my car adi done deadening and soundproof for floor, front and rear wheel arch (inside the cabin), fender and mudguard, now is door, after that is rear boot (DIY as well)

1. Today i only bought 2 boxes (8 sheets/box), only 1 door adi used 1 box, no waste at all, but not enuf for me to cover up the door frame 'hole' (the 3 big hole), is it necessary to cover the hole using dampening sheet? can use others alternative?

2. The plastic door trim is it need to apply the dampening sheet as well? (i thought is enuf, but end up wif no)

3. STP splen suitable to apply on the outer door frame (outside towards the car) or not?

Thank you. smile.gif
3. Would suggest you to dampen with M1 first then only apply the splen. At least you dampen the vibration then only do sound insulation.
JLean
post Oct 25 2010, 08:48 PM

74 posts

Hey Bro Howie, Where's ur exact location.. Nearby ? Any Landmark..
coolkwc
post Oct 25 2010, 09:45 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(sa10 @ Oct 25 2010, 04:09 PM)
hello bro, may i know how u disassemble the fender part?
I don have any pic to show you, just observe by urself, they are few nuts embedded in the plastic clip, just open the screw then u can open the clip, after that just pull out the fender, as easy as that.

Added on October 25, 2010, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Oct 25 2010, 12:07 AM)
3. Would suggest you to dampen with M1 first then only apply the splen. At least you dampen the vibration then only do sound insulation.
Sure, i adi deadening all the metal frame by using M1. My concern is for SQ setup, is it suitable to apply splen inside the door? i got the answer is no, so how u guys think?

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Oct 25 2010, 09:47 PM
MyWifeCar
post Oct 25 2010, 10:20 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 25 2010, 09:45 PM)
I don have any pic to show you, just observe by urself, they are few nuts embedded in the plastic clip, just open the screw then u can open the clip, after that just pull out the fender, as easy as that.

Added on October 25, 2010, 9:47 pm

Sure, i adi deadening all the metal frame by using M1. My concern is for SQ setup, is it suitable to apply splen inside the door? i got the answer is no, so how u guys think?
Actually SQ has anything to do with how you soundproof your car meh?

If you already dampen then no need already, or you can add splen on the door that do not have speakers running.

Since you have access to STP, why not apply STP Crystal?
MyWifeCar
post Oct 25 2010, 10:20 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(sa10 @ Oct 25 2010, 10:01 PM)
got a nut under the cabin i have no idea to uncrew it. it is sealed by the welding. i wonder why it is welded or just my car has it sad.gif
Actually what you want to do? Take out the whole fender ah?
coolkwc
post Oct 26 2010, 11:56 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Oct 25 2010, 10:20 PM)
Actually SQ has anything to do with how you soundproof your car meh?
If you already dampen then no need already, or you can add splen on the door that do not have speakers running.

Since you have access to STP, why not apply STP Crystal?
The answer is DEFINITELY. nod.gif

Like example the insulflex soundproof is a killer to SQ setup.
MyWifeCar
post Oct 26 2010, 02:50 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 26 2010, 11:56 AM)
The answer is DEFINITELY. nod.gif

Like example the insulflex soundproof is a killer to SQ setup.
Yes, agree if you bring in insulflex.

But as long as you don't apply behind the speakers, then I guess it is still ok. smile.gif

TShowiechoo
post Oct 26 2010, 04:30 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 23 2010, 08:08 PM)

Thank you. smile.gif
for 1, u can get stp alum to cover the door frame "holes". it treat as a layer of additional frame to your door. for pricing pls pm me. guarantee satisfy.

for 2, yes if you got the budget, but deadening can only reduce the vibration by 50% at most. i got better solution which cost almost same but higher damping effect.

for 3, splen are good to use on floor, side panel and roof. Do not use inside door panel with speaker installed.

hope these help

Added on October 26, 2010, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 25 2010, 08:48 PM)
Hey Bro Howie, Where's ur exact location.. Nearby ? Any Landmark..
i am in bukit jalil. near taman bukit jalil and IMU

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Oct 26 2010, 04:30 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0249sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:02 PM