Q&A FAKE guitars plague discussion thread, Discussion summary at post #1

Apple_DarreN
post Nov 18 2010, 09:57 PM

Tesla is Yummy.
1,756 posts

The problem is, this guy.. i wonder how he does business...

I was asking for a Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plain Top VS.. he replied me with saying " darren, how much is deadeye offering you? maybe i could do the same " wtf? who does this kind of business? not only that.. i told him i already at 1k saving up for that les paul standard and he asked me to check out some FAKE Gibson to get it from him.. Which kind off Music Enthusiants sells FAKE music intruments to other musician? We all know that he did state it FAKE/REPLICA .. but.. the way of his business is very awkard.. you should give out you're own price and not asking for another well-known seller's price..
Everdying
post Nov 18 2010, 10:30 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Nov 18 2010, 09:57 PM)
The problem is, this guy.. i wonder how he does business...

I was asking for a Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plain Top VS.. he replied me with saying " darren, how much is deadeye offering you? maybe i could do the same " wtf? who does this kind of business? not only that.. i told him i already at 1k saving up for that les paul standard and he asked me to check out some FAKE Gibson to get it from him.. Which kind off Music Enthusiants sells FAKE music intruments to other musician? We all know that he did state it FAKE/REPLICA .. but.. the way of his business is very awkard.. you should give out you're own price and not asking for another well-known seller's price..
1k epi lp standard = loss.
1k fake gibson = profit.

ZintanthraX
post Nov 18 2010, 10:46 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 18 2010, 10:30 PM)
1k epi lp standard = loss.
1k fake gibson = profit.

yeap....hahaha....dats y they encourage ppl 2 buy thier fakes...he might get rm600-rm700 for a fake cz in china,an AAA grade fake guitar r sellin 4 around rm300 ony.. smile.gif
Everdying
post Nov 18 2010, 11:03 PM

30,735 posts

how bout we start a hall of shame thread in the first post for any seller found selling fakes?
only prob is the TS has gona mia for more than a month...

This post has been edited by Everdying: Nov 18 2010, 11:03 PM
TSTheCarpenters
post Nov 19 2010, 03:06 AM

127 posts

i'm still alive lah..

btw, FAKE Hall of Shame is a pretty good idea..

i nominate 1st lah..

The best fake mastermind : Guitar Empire @ Endah Parade

PLS VOTE

(...mmm, just giv comment lah tongue.gif )
Everdying
post Nov 19 2010, 03:19 AM

30,735 posts

then there's that piano station or whatever in usj summit that also sells fakes.

junky_man
post Nov 19 2010, 05:34 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(NoobAxe @ Nov 18 2010, 08:00 PM)
pardon me..

Actual Replicas din stamp actual brands on it..
it replicates the design + quality + sound ONLY. but NOT the brand..
it came from an experienced luthiers over the world carefully custom shop/built it.. sometime they stamp their shop's name

not a massive factory cincai2 throwing cheap hardware, focuses more on make-up + cosmetics, then simply sell it (dat sometimes sold as a fake)

Replicas are not dat expensive compare to dat seller's price..
usually , they not even reach RM 1k (Korean + US made)
A good example would be Don Grosh's Strat. People say is much more better than your standard Fender's Strat
Winchester D.
post Nov 21 2010, 10:36 AM

47 posts

You certainly can get a decent FENDER stratocaster below RM2000 I think,
but the one made in Mexico, thumbup.gif
I saw MM (if I'm not mistake sell it for RM1500) but that used one,
even a new one should not more than RM2000, since FENDER Japan cost slightly over RM2000,
with better quality than a Mexican (implied that if it is RM2+ better you save a little bit and get a JAPAN FENDER from MusicMaster),
and IMHO, if someone want FENDER name in the headstock,
instead of buying fake MIA FENDER, better get yourself a MIM FENDER,
at least it is ORIGINAL, but beware of fakes,

could anyone tell me how much a new Mexican Strat cost in Malaysia?

Just my two cents smile.gif

Peace icon_rolleyes.gif

ZintanthraX
post Nov 21 2010, 11:42 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(Winchester D. @ Nov 21 2010, 10:36 AM)
You certainly can get a decent FENDER stratocaster below RM2000 I think,
but the one made in Mexico, thumbup.gif
I saw MM (if I'm not mistake sell it for RM1500) but that used one,
even a new one should not more than RM2000, since FENDER Japan cost slightly over RM2000,
with better quality than a Mexican (implied that if it is RM2+ better you save a little bit and get a JAPAN FENDER from MusicMaster),
and IMHO, if someone want FENDER name in the headstock,
instead of buying fake MIA FENDER, better get yourself a MIM FENDER,
at least it is ORIGINAL, but beware of fakes,

could anyone tell me how much a new Mexican Strat cost in Malaysia?

Just my two cents smile.gif

Peace icon_rolleyes.gif
mexican strat is around 2k+.... smile.gif
Winchester D.
post Nov 21 2010, 04:35 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Nov 21 2010, 11:42 AM)
mexican strat is around 2k+.... smile.gif
Opps, seems overpriced,
why is that so...
MM price for Japan also 2k+, better get the Japan from MM,
it is the lowest FENDER line (not counting Squire)
it always goes: American>Japan>Mexico...
ZintanthraX
post Nov 21 2010, 04:42 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(Winchester D. @ Nov 21 2010, 04:35 PM)
Opps, seems overpriced,
why is that so...
MM price for Japan also 2k+, better get the Japan from MM,
it is the lowest FENDER line (not counting Squire)
it always goes: American>Japan>Mexico...
MM always got d best price.bt generally,mexican strat is slightly above 2k.... smile.gif
Winchester D.
post Nov 21 2010, 05:05 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Nov 21 2010, 04:42 PM)
MM always got d best price.bt generally,mexican strat is slightly above 2k.... smile.gif
Yeah, MM is like a heaven for musicians,
you can get at cheaper price, and they are against fake too,
in the future I definitely go there to buy my axe,
feels lot secure smile.gif

but if MM sell Mexican strat, logically would be a little lower right brows.gif

This post has been edited by Winchester D.: Nov 21 2010, 05:06 PM
Everdying
post Nov 21 2010, 05:16 PM

30,735 posts

MM of cos 2nd hand jap strats...
if talking about brand new jap strats for 2k then those usually have basswood bodies...so in that respect MIM strats are better...afterall difference with US strats usually just in hardware and number of pieces in the body...
remember...MIM strat made by mexicans in mexico.
US strats made by mexicans in USA.
So no difference tongue.gif
Winchester D.
post Nov 21 2010, 05:35 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 21 2010, 05:16 PM)
MM of cos 2nd hand jap strats...
if talking about brand new jap strats for 2k then those usually have basswood bodies...so in that respect MIM strats are better...afterall difference with US strats usually just in hardware and number of pieces in the body...
remember...MIM strat made by mexicans in mexico.
US strats made by mexicans in USA.
So no difference tongue.gif
nope, not 2nd, the new one is RM28++,
they are having a promotion of new FENDER Japan for RM24++,
http://www.mudah.my/Fender+Standard+Strato...tar-7593088.htm

not all MIA made by Mexicans, watch the factory tour,
most of them are Americans,
and in term of craftsmanship, it is general rule that Japan factory much, much higher quality,
better electronics, and all, (Gotoh)

about the body,
it's all about tone preferences,
Leo Fender didn't think about the best tone wood when he first make the strat,
he was looking at the cheapest and abundant wood at America that time which is alder,
hell, Steve Vai, Paul Gilbert, and Satch all uses basswood, and they still got the monstrous tone smile.gif
Everdying
post Nov 21 2010, 05:44 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Winchester D. @ Nov 21 2010, 05:35 PM)
nope, not 2nd, the new one is RM28++,
they are having a promotion of new FENDER Japan for RM24++,
http://www.mudah.my/Fender+Standard+Strato...tar-7593088.htm

not all MIA made by Mexicans, watch the factory tour,
most of them are Americans,
and in term of craftsmanship, it is general rule that Japan factory much, much higher quality,
better electronics, and all, (Gotoh)

about the body,
it's all about tone preferences,
Leo Fender didn't think about the best tone wood when he first make the strat,
he was looking at the cheapest and abundant wood at America that time which is alder,
hell, Steve Vai, Paul Gilbert, and Satch all uses basswood, and they still got the monstrous tone smile.gif
paul gilbert's higher end models have mahogany bodies.
satch also has his mahogany signature model.

and japan craftmanship is definitely not above US made...its just more value for money.

Oneders
post Nov 21 2010, 05:49 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 19 2010, 03:19 AM)
then there's that piano station or whatever in usj summit that also sells fakes.
Bought my LP100 there about 3 years ago from that kedai. I was not aware of that until I do some research and read more. Now, I'm looking forward to get new guitar and definitely, the original one...!!

Winchester D.
post Nov 21 2010, 05:59 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 21 2010, 05:44 PM)
paul gilbert's higher end models have mahogany bodies.
satch also has his mahogany signature model.

and japan craftmanship is definitely not above US made...its just more value for money.
not quite true,
the craftsmanship of Japan can rival of those American,
that's why there are lot of lawsuit copies of strat in Japan during 80's,
some of these copies are even better than American Fender,
Tokai, Fernandes...

well, Fender Japan is another marketing plan from Fender for Japan to face the lawsuit copies from these companies,
it is targeted for Japanese market,
and perhaps the material used are slightly lower grade,
but that I believe because Fender wanted to differentiate between the American and Japanese,
so craftsmanship is not always the case smile.gif
gapnap
post Nov 21 2010, 06:20 PM

1,782 posts

Eh - The Fender Mexico at MM already sold ok . Let us get over that.

If we're talking about Fender Japan Std vs Fender Mexico Std ..
I remember during 05'-08' Fender Mexico Std uses poplar bodies . But now i just check the new specs they are using Alder . So i am like , quite confuse .
Did they improve on the wood ? Or their poplar bodies are suddenly qualified to be called "Alder" ?

Have to put it to a test lah , see how good the 2010 mexican Alders are . Anyone has one ?
The Fender Jap - Value for money part is the Gotoh parts ..Machine head and Tremolos ..

This post has been edited by gapnap: Nov 21 2010, 06:39 PM
Everdying
post Nov 21 2010, 07:12 PM

30,735 posts

05-08 got MIM poplar bodies?
from what i know, 01 was the last yr mexico used poplar.
02 onwards it was all alder.
Winchester D.
post Nov 21 2010, 11:41 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 21 2010, 06:20 PM)
Eh - The Fender Mexico at MM already sold ok . Let us get over that.

If we're talking about Fender Japan Std vs Fender Mexico Std ..
I remember during 05'-08' Fender Mexico Std uses poplar bodies . But now i just check the new specs they are using Alder . So i am like , quite confuse .
Did they improve on the wood ? Or their poplar bodies are suddenly qualified to be called "Alder" ?

Have to put it to a test lah , see how good the 2010 mexican Alders are . Anyone has one ?
The Fender Jap - Value for money part is the Gotoh parts ..Machine head and Tremolos ..
The Squier Classic Vibe is made from alder,
the point is, if Squier high model also uses alder, there are chances MIM also may use alder,
but the quality, the grade of the alder used is another story,
maybe the one from not good enough to be used for MIA,
or they use lesser work for it (sanding, moisture of the wood, grain and pattern)

Ibanez Prestige, JEM and RG 3XX also uses the same wood: basswood (most of them)
but do they the same grade?

just my 2 cents laugh.gif

67 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:01 PM