Official Froyo update for desire anyone?, Have you got your update?

TSbennylai83
post Aug 27 2010, 11:55 PM, updated 16y ago

58 posts

Hi guys, i have read posts from overseas forums about official froyo updates on desire, many people have got their updates easily (either by auto prompt for update or manual checking for updates) i have tried for the past couple of weeks and no luck, i bought my desire from lelong in may, (which i believe could be thailand set cos it has got thai input option) does anyone has any clue or in same situation as me?
hihihehe
post Aug 27 2010, 11:58 PM

13,791 posts

i have a clue..close this thread and read the FAQ at existing desire thread...
TSbennylai83
post Aug 28 2010, 12:28 AM

58 posts

I have read the post already, but it says AP should be able to get an update by now, but mine still not, thats y i am asking...
silentser
post Aug 28 2010, 01:13 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

im not using desire but this is just a guess

from desire FAQ

Froyo 2.2 Update = Only available for European (EU) unlocked sets via OTA update. Users with local AP sets also has this update.
Maxis (SIS) sets are unavailable at the moment.

Its only available in european meaning that it isnt officialy realease in our area (malaysia/singapore) so it means if you are trying to update your desire by OFFICIAL way, of course you arent get any, cause ther isnt any froyo officially release for us.

AP sets can get this update by updating it using unofficial way, by rooting and or cook or what ever you guys do to update it unofficial way, as for us SGS user, we use Odin,

how bout reading post regarding to froyo first or how to update by using search function, or search google the most easier way

This post has been edited by silentser: Aug 28 2010, 01:15 AM
KTCY
post Aug 28 2010, 01:29 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Ask at Desire thread.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1531638
TSbennylai83
post Aug 28 2010, 10:08 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 28 2010, 01:13 AM)

from desire FAQ

Froyo 2.2 Update = Only available for European (EU) unlocked sets via OTA update. Users with local AP sets also has this update.

Its only available in european meaning that it isnt officialy realease in our area (malaysia/singapore) so it means if you are trying to update your desire by OFFICIAL way, of course you arent get any, cause ther isnt any froyo officially release for us.

AP sets can get this update by updating it using unofficial way, by rooting and or cook or what ever you guys do to update it unofficial way, as for us SGS user, we use Odin,

how bout reading post regarding to froyo first or how to update by using search function, or search google the most easier way
Like i said i have read through all the post and forums already! Of cos i know there is many way to update ur phone, but what i am asking about is the official update! And i definately know only local sets havent got update! And AP sets should have got their update by now, that is y i am asking because my ap set phone is still yet to have any update! All this basics things i know... like u said even "Users with local AP sets also has this update" that is y i am wondering y i did not! And please let me repeat again, i have read through posts and forums and couldnt find an answer (to get an "official/auto update, not by rooting or cook or what ever your guys do to update it unofficial way!" I just hope to get an answer for what i cant find, but u guys keep asking me to read the forum, use the search function or even google it, i have done it all, thats y i hope to get someone who know more about it, or just incase i missed any info, but not being treated like a noob or something..
silentser
post Aug 28 2010, 10:44 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(bennylai83 @ Aug 28 2010, 10:08 AM)
Like i said i have read through all the post and forums already! Of cos i know there is many way to update ur phone, but what i am asking about is the official update! And i definately know only local sets havent got update! And AP sets should have got their update by now, that is y i am asking because my ap set phone is still yet to have any update! All this basics things i know... like u said even "Users with local AP sets also has this update" that is y i am wondering y i did not! And please let me repeat again, i have read through posts and forums and couldnt find an answer (to get an "official/auto update, not by rooting or cook or what ever your guys do to update it unofficial way!" I just hope to get an answer for what i cant find, but u guys keep asking me to read the forum, use the search function or even google it, i have done it all, thats y i hope to get someone who know more about it, or just incase i missed any info, but not being treated like a noob or something..
why dont you ask the thread maybe you can get more understand wink.gif

This post has been edited by silentser: Aug 28 2010, 10:47 AM
chiahau
post Aug 28 2010, 11:20 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Well, if it does not involve flashing a firmware 2 EU set 2 upgrade it, i dun see how you can do it?

How bout just wait it out?

Official FroYo ain't that nice.

NextSense v7 ish wayyyyy better with native Apps2SD which is damn good..

1gb of space 2 install apps, any1?

This post has been edited by chiahau: Aug 28 2010, 11:20 AM
hihihehe
post Aug 28 2010, 11:22 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(bennylai83 @ Aug 28 2010, 12:08 PM)
but u post like a noob that dont plan to post at existing thread where u can get better answer without getting bashed??
chiahau
post Aug 28 2010, 11:23 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 28 2010, 11:22 AM)
but u post like a noob that dont plan to post at existing thread where u can get better answer without getting bashed??
Chill bro.

If it annoys you, no need answer. If people ask nicely, we answer nicely. Otherwise, ignore saja.
hihihehe
post Aug 28 2010, 11:25 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 28 2010, 01:23 PM)
Chill bro.

If it annoys you, no need answer. If people ask nicely, we answer nicely. Otherwise, ignore saja.
if some1 trying to become ignorant then cant help it..
we already asked him to look for existing thread and he can get more better answer..
since he already search for the forum/thread then why he dont instead ask from the thread directly?
common sense right?
chiahau
post Aug 28 2010, 11:28 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 28 2010, 11:25 AM)
we already asked him to look for existing thread and he can get more better answer..
since he already search for the forum/thread then why he dont instead ask from the thread directly?
common sense right?
A bit yea.

I think its already been explained right?

Unless you have EU firmware/radio, i doubt you can get the Official FroYo right?

I rooted mine after waitin 2 damn months 4 ntg >"<
TSbennylai83
post Aug 28 2010, 12:13 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 28 2010, 10:44 AM)
why dont you ask the thread maybe you can get more understand wink.gif
I have tried earlier when i have questions on mms settings and others, but i found that posting on general thread like the htc desire thread, people tends not to response much, i might get one or 2 reply, but as long as another person have a question and post after me at the same thread, people will left our my post and question, thats y i hope i could get better answer or help by opening a post.
KayK
post Aug 28 2010, 12:14 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 28 2010, 01:13 AM)

from desire FAQ

the FAQ did answer your question...the official 2.2 update is for EU unlocked units, and users with AP sets get the update because those units are from EU...if you gotten an AP desire from SG or anywhere other than EU, you will not be prompted for the 2.2 FOTA update...

check your software built number...does it state X.XX.405.X? IINM, EU unlocked unit have X.XX.405.X built numbers...SEA built number should be X.XX.707.X, well at least Malaysia...

TSbennylai83
post Aug 28 2010, 12:17 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 28 2010, 11:20 AM)
Well, if it does not involve flashing a firmware 2 EU set 2 upgrade it, i dun see how you can do it?

How bout just wait it out?

Official FroYo ain't that nice.

NextSense v7 ish wayyyyy better with native Apps2SD which is damn good..

1gb of space 2 install apps, any1?
Ya, i understand that, but because i saw people talking about AP/unbranded sets are able to get update so just wondering y havent i, i am just confused, some say only EU set can, some say all AP sets can, and some even specify local AP set also can, thats y i am kinda confuse and would like clarification. Thanks for your info, will look into the nextsense v7 if still cant get update for another week or so... really appreaciate your polite and informative reply...

Added on August 28, 2010, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 28 2010, 11:25 AM)
common sense right?
I am not sure how impolite or ignorant am i when i first ask the question, or how noob is my question. I have tried posing on general thread like the htc desire thread before for other questions, but like i said, people would miss out when other posted new question and not everyone would read post one by one to answer "noob" question like mine ok? Thats y i tried to read as much as i can before i ask a question, and when i really couldnt get a clue so wish to ask at a place which i could gain better input of information than than the general thread. That is y i posted a new thread, but i asked nicely, people like u who know alot could really help, but instead just give me a reply "go search or post at the htc desire thread" that really doesnt help at all...

Is just like when u r a tourist, u have read all the information given to u and checked at the map, but u still confused on which way to go, then u would like some info from the information counter and then the person there tell u, "hey, y don u go and look at information or map before asking?" how would u feel? of cos it is a common sense to do that before asking, but when ppl say it like u don have the common sense, how shit u feel? I believe the forum is for people to discuss or post for help, if it is not, then what for? Everyone should have just post at the specific model thread and no new post allowed? How hard really is it to answer someone's question nicely?

Added on August 28, 2010, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(KayK @ Aug 28 2010, 12:14 PM)
the FAQ did answer your question...the official 2.2 update is for EU unlocked units, and users with AP sets get the update because those units are from EU...if you gotten an AP desire from SG or anywhere other than EU, you will not be prompted for the 2.2 FOTA update...

check your software built number...does it state X.XX.405.X? IINM, EU unlocked unit have X.XX.405.X built numbers...SEA built number should be X.XX.707.X, well at least Malaysia...
Thanks for your reply, i understand the FAQ did say about the EU and AP sets, but i have read some other posts and forum saying that local AP set also can, and some say they bring the local AP set to other country or change the to foreign sim card they can update without prob (just like the market) so i hope someone coud clarify it for me..

Mine is SEA set with 707, so i guess what people say about local AP set are just rumours... hahah.. thanks for clarifying...

This post has been edited by bennylai83: Aug 28 2010, 12:44 PM
samurai1337
post Aug 28 2010, 03:02 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Cool down dudes...

And bennylai83, don't make things overly complicated. To simplify it:

- Only European sets get the OTA now

- Even if you have AP set, but it's not European set, you won't get the OTA (although I heard there's a new chinese OTA)

- It has nothing to do with your SIM Card, simply plugging in a foreign simcard doesn't mean you'll get the OTA

- For SEA OTA... I don't know when, maybe in September (just rumor)

For all other questions, ask in the official threads.

0.0204sec    1.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:24 PM