9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Dell M101z 11.6" AMD Nile thread! Updated 19/12/10, AMD AII X2 1.4Ghz with AMD Radeon HD4225

James_yka
post Dec 25 2010, 12:08 AM

kNight
1,372 posts

It seems that m101z cant be set with dual-core already... too bad...
ic3rock
post Dec 27 2010, 01:14 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Cool lappy, got red colour drool.gif

But this lappy will overhear? Able to play some light games like Dota? hmm.gif
dattebayo
post Jan 9 2011, 11:13 PM

5,366 posts

how is the battery life when boot in Ubuntu Lite?
TSpikacu
post Jan 19 2011, 07:19 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

ati mobility radeon 10.12 for HD4225 : http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/wind...ob_win7-64.aspx

This update is necessary to enable GPU acceleration at VLC player biggrin.gif
daron
post Jan 20 2011, 09:26 AM

375 posts

has anyone tried that driver on this m101z?

last time i tried installing the lastest driver on my bro dell laptop, the drivers can't install properly and screw up the graphics controller.

so i'd rather not try updates from AMD directly unless someone is brave enough to do it before me..
eugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 09:31 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

I have a feeling M101z would refresh with the AMD Fusion APU's in 1-2 months..
TSpikacu
post Jan 20 2011, 12:21 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(daron @ Jan 20 2011, 09:26 AM)
has anyone tried that driver on this m101z?

last time i tried installing the lastest driver on my bro dell laptop, the drivers can't install properly and screw up the graphics controller.

so i'd rather not try updates from AMD directly unless someone is brave enough to do it before me..
im using m101 and this driver right now nod.gif

vlc GPU acceleration work smoothly with BRip 720p
TSpikacu
post Jan 20 2011, 12:22 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 20 2011, 09:31 AM)
I have a feeling M101z would refresh with the AMD Fusion APU's in 1-2 months..
I have the same feeling too. Im jelly
daron
post Jan 21 2011, 07:19 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Jan 20 2011, 12:22 PM)
im using m101 and this driver right now nod.gif

vlc GPU acceleration work smoothly with BRip 720p

I have the same feeling too. Im jelly
i'll give it a try later.
where do i set it and how do i know it's use the hardware acceleration?
as it is, this laptop is pretty speedy already.

and it's inevitable technology will be phased out quickly.
it's not only with this laptop, it applies to all pc/laptop stuff.
TSpikacu
post Jan 22 2011, 12:44 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(daron @ Jan 21 2011, 07:19 AM)
i'll give it a try later.
where do i set it and how do i know it's use the hardware acceleration?
as it is, this laptop is pretty speedy already.

and it's inevitable technology will be phased out quickly.
it's not only with this laptop, it applies to all pc/laptop stuff.
here is the setting :

To test it? simple...run vlc with GPU acc with dell's initial driver (10.7) and u will get heavy artifact. With new driver (10.12) it run as smooth as butter at BRrip 720p on 1080p reso.

Yeah I know...but the massive 3 hours improved battery life shocked me, it might go longer with undervolt!
jelly jelly jelly laugh.gif
daron
post Jan 22 2011, 11:02 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Jan 22 2011, 12:44 PM)
here is the setting :

To test it? simple...run vlc with GPU acc with dell's initial driver (10.7) and u will get heavy artifact. With new driver (10.12) it run as smooth as butter at BRrip 720p on 1080p reso.
Yeah I know...but the massive 3 hours improved battery life shocked me, it might go longer with undervolt!
jelly jelly jelly laugh.gif
well, i tried. seems like no difference for my files.. haha..
i never encountered any heavy artifacts b4 except for 1 rmvb file.
but even after this GPU acceleration, it's still the same.

i guess if you can afford it, why not?
dattebayo
post Jan 23 2011, 12:17 AM

5,366 posts

I not understand, how you guys managed to sqeeze more than 4 hour of battery life

mine still bested at 3:30 hr before seeing the 10% warning, undervolt to 0.7625V~0.875V, power saver mode (but with transparency windows enabled)

forgot to mention mine one is K345 dual core

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jan 23 2011, 12:21 AM
daron
post Jan 23 2011, 09:07 AM

375 posts

depends on what you do..
if it's cpu or gpu intensive, then obviously the battery won't last that long.
if it's just surfing the net or simple, i think can last more than 4 hours.
TSpikacu
post Jan 23 2011, 10:27 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(daron @ Jan 22 2011, 11:02 PM)
well, i tried. seems like no difference for my files.. haha..
i never encountered any heavy artifacts b4 except for 1 rmvb file.
but even after this GPU acceleration, it's still the same.

i guess if you can afford it, why not?
Try BRrip 720p files nod.gif

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jan 23 2011, 12:17 AM)
I not understand, how you guys managed to sqeeze more than 4 hour of battery life

mine still bested at 3:30 hr before seeing the 10% warning, undervolt to 0.7625V~0.875V, power saver mode (but with transparency windows enabled)

forgot to mention mine one is K345 dual core
do you uninstall lagafee?
I remove as many as startup application as possible, and set the brightness to the lowest possible

This post has been edited by pikacu: Jan 23 2011, 10:27 AM
andreas
post Jan 23 2011, 02:12 PM

154 posts

any news saying new 11.6 incher coming this year from Dell??
dattebayo
post Jan 23 2011, 05:45 PM

5,366 posts

remove lagafee ah.. I extended the license validity to 24 months, if uninstalled it then wasted the rm30+ sweat.gif

did you guys disable transparency effect? or totally using windows classic style
TSpikacu
post Jan 23 2011, 10:03 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(andreas @ Jan 23 2011, 02:12 PM)
any news saying new 11.6 incher coming this year from Dell??
no news yet.

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jan 23 2011, 05:45 PM)
remove lagafee ah.. I extended the license validity to 24 months, if uninstalled it then wasted the rm30+  sweat.gif

did you guys disable transparency effect? or totally using windows classic style
Owh, I uninstall lagafee at the first moment i saw it laugh.gif

umm nope, i didn't.
dattebayo
post Jan 24 2011, 09:19 PM

5,366 posts

i dun think lagafee is the main cause

oh ya i normally open 10+ tabs in FF

pikacu u use single core version?

TSpikacu
post Jan 24 2011, 11:48 PM

male tag rosak