Noob ask about oc.....

TSaristotletan
post Aug 26 2010, 06:42 PM, updated 16y ago

492 posts

I have never done any overclock before... What I know about overclock is temporarily increase processors or GPU or other's parts frequency so that it would run faster.......

can someone give me a guide regarding how to overclock my pc? My noob pc spec is below:

Intel Pentium 4 1.6Ghz
MSI Socket LGA478 Motherboard
784MB DDR RAM (256 + 512)
Nvidia Geforce MX4000
WD 500GB SATA HDD

What I want for is to slightly increasing the Ghz of the processors. My casing does not present any cooling fans except for the thermal and GC fans......

So, any pros can help me to do OC? Thanks....
daush12
post Aug 26 2010, 06:45 PM

103 posts

im no pros but can increase it at bios
TSaristotletan
post Aug 26 2010, 06:45 PM

492 posts

Just wanted to noe the path on the bios only.... Anyone???

Added on August 26, 2010, 6:49 pmJust tell me the sequence of doing this on the bios after entering bios?? Can??? Please... Thanks...

This post has been edited by aristotletan: Aug 26 2010, 06:49 PM
saturn85
post Aug 26 2010, 06:55 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

becareful when alter bios setting.
and pentium 4 quite hot,
not so good for overclock. unsure.gif
TSaristotletan
post Aug 26 2010, 07:29 PM

492 posts

Nvm. I just wnt to increase for slightly only. In addition, my processors is going to be replaced once sandy bridge products released... So, I am not afraid that the higher temperature would affected my processor lifetime. Just tell me the sequence in bios to do this please. Thanks...
saturn85
post Aug 26 2010, 07:59 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

normally just increase the base clock.
and here is a formula for you: biggrin.gif
base clock x cpu multiplier = cpu clock.

before raise base clock, reduce the fsb:dram ratio first. biggrin.gif
shinjite
post Aug 26 2010, 08:51 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

1.6Ghz, the very first P4
Expect up to 2Ghz max smile.gif
LAU Fantasy
post Aug 27 2010, 10:59 AM

--LoVe y@--
914 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 26 2010, 08:51 PM)
1.6Ghz, the very first P4
Expect up to 2Ghz max smile.gif
2ghz max meh?? hmm.gif
i rmbr my oldies P4 can boost up to 3.6ghz ++ with stock speed 3ghz brows.gif

This post has been edited by LAU Fantasy: Aug 27 2010, 10:59 AM
saturn85
post Aug 27 2010, 02:39 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

since it has very low base clock (100mhz), and either 130nm/180nm.
so didn't expect it can go that far. biggrin.gif
reX crEwz
post Sep 11 2010, 10:12 AM

i remember when i was using P4 2.8ghz sct478 im using software like setfsb and clockgen to overclock it in windows coz when i overclock using bios my pc juz kept crashing after it load windows even i juz oc at 300mhz... using software i've been able to overclock it around 600mhz boost... 2800+600=3400mhz...
DaRkSyThE
post Sep 13 2010, 08:52 AM

4,809 posts

Ok, I dont see this thread going anywhere.
Besides, there are many many many threads here in OC that can help with overclocking regardless of what dino proc you're using.

or you could also just google "how to overclock my pc"

0.0143sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:38 PM