Nerf for terrans?, Pick the options

evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 11:49 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 25 2010, 11:48 AM)
terran imba isnt so much their MMM.
its their mech vs zerg thats imba.

toss HAVE answers for MMM AND mech. zerg doesnt (not solid ones at least. unless ur TLO and lol mass ultra with like 6 bases). just that.
true the terran imba-ness is mostly due to their flexibility vs zerg...
imagine a terran with more map control over a zerg doh.gif

toss is pretty decent vs terran but the early marauder opening would just kill any non-high lvl toss
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 11:52 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Aug 25 2010, 11:51 AM)
Terran is stupidly imba against Zerg.

Even Morrow admitted that.
Idra whines about it on every game he plays against Terran.

Mass reapers -> MMM -> Thor iz hya -> dead Zerg
unless u are idra, u would probably die after the mass reaper stage
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 11:56 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Aug 25 2010, 11:48 AM)
i dun go to TL forums...XD but yea, i heard that if someone claims terran is imba at a non specified post (to discuss about it)/ or a high level pro player then it will get banned...=(

zerg now has something called the magic box for mutas...which probably will give them the slight edge against mech?

protoss is HT for MMM...but it's hard...not impossible, but it's just hard

For pros...maybe it'll be easier?XD
magic box does nothing actually...
it looks amazing when idra does it on tarson but it was tarson's mistake as a whole for clumping his thors together and not having support for his thors...
korean terrans (ogsSTC etc) usually support with marines using the marine/thor compo with some medivecs...
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 11:58 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Aug 25 2010, 11:55 AM)
spoilers for the IEM round 1
idra died in the IEM after the mass reaper stage
hardly spoilers since i think most of us here stream it live >.<

Added on August 25, 2010, 11:59 am
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 25 2010, 11:56 AM)
spoiler tag it then. lol

but yeah, lol idra

Added on August 25, 2010, 11:57 am

combo, medivacs. what kinda dictionary/autocomplete ur on anyways >.>
compo = short form for composition
u play wow arena u should know this rite doh.gif

as for medivacs, sincere typo from me as i am a toss lol (changed back to toss for 2s after my partner bug me that my terran macro sucks T.T)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 25 2010, 11:59 AM
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 12:15 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Aug 25 2010, 12:00 PM)
well, i think that the magic box does help somewhat...at least the muta's aren't dying to thors that easy i guess, still...there are marines to worry about
hmmm when the terran have marines, going to the magic box (flying hover then pressing s) would kill around 5-6 mutas from the marine balls...
i would suggest going dimaga's build (dimaga vs tarson 3rd place game for IEM2010)

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 25 2010, 12:04 PM)
we use setup more any anything. lol. or LOLCLEAVE LOLWIZARDS
server thing i guess...

Added on August 25, 2010, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(eugoreez @ Aug 25 2010, 12:09 PM)
the only thing that i think to be nerf is battlecruisers... they pretty much own the ground units, even the air units cant do much except corruptor for zerg, dont know about toss.. so hard to counter it if using zerg against mass battlecruisers =_=..

but then i think this only happens in practice league where i cant harrass them.. giving them chance to mass battlecruisers..
infestors mind control!

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 25 2010, 12:15 PM
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 03:54 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Aug 25 2010, 12:18 PM)
tanks had been nerfed many times in the game...from 70 base dmg till 50...still it pretty hurts much zerg players most with that insane range and damage...protoss can still kind of counter tanks with some phoenixes...but oh well...maybe that's for the zerg players to create another plan to counter?

as for infestor to mind control BC...it's a bit risky as infestors are squishy...if there's only 1 or 2 bc, the infestors may survive...but if there is a pretty decent amount...will gg too

still, probably best bet is infestors against t3 units for zerg
BCs are really really slow...
if u watched some videos of pro zerg players, they punish terrans going BCs with infestors to mindcontrol them shooting other BCs...
then move in with hydras...

Added on August 25, 2010, 3:56 pm
QUOTE(rockets @ Aug 25 2010, 02:34 PM)
you aren't supposed to build only mutas. on top of magic box, for mutas to work against terrans you have to add ling/blings. you just need 2 or 3 blings to reach their marines and they'll be all dead.
surprisingly idra went pure mutas vs tarson in iem semis and did pretty well...
as i said, better for zerg to go with the dimaga build against terran icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 25, 2010, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(HaVoC @ Aug 25 2010, 03:50 PM)
Funniest balance thread ever, and I thought people in TL were blabbering idiots.  rclxms.gif
I don't know in which universe dropping MULEs in high yield give insane incomes, MMM becoming imba, BCs OP, Cloak banshees are too early tech (I LOL'ed hard for this); and how counters like proper scouting, low HP and tech requirements can be excuses for other races but not for Terran units.
But the best is

Is it just me? Or doesn't this statement obviously go two ways?
the problems with mules as stated by even the progamers is that the 0 cooldown for them...
in other words u can just spam mule when u have high energy especially at ur new expansion vs the periodic need to spawn larvae (zerg) and chrono (toss) as those does not stack...
jz put a 2 sec CD on mules would solve mules...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 25 2010, 04:01 PM
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 06:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2010, 06:42 PM)
put it simple.

if Terran pwnz both Protoss and Zerg, then Terran needs to be nerfed.

if Terran vs Protoss can stand pretty well but Zerg having problem, then Zerg needs to be buffed.

That said, perhaps Reapers would require a specialty key for them to jump the ledge? Something like Protoss' Blink function. Takes energy to jump and has a cooldown time. biggrin.gif
more like their speed and their ability to be massed vs zerg with easy transition =p
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2010, 07:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Aug 25 2010, 07:08 PM)
That would be the case if high templars didnt require so much tech and research. MMM balls are formed really fast. My suggestion would be to nerf the concussive shells upgrade..  i think that would pretty much be enough. The kiting capability is pretty insane, especially with stimpack...
its more like a terran player having it can out micro any other players =p
evofantasy
post Aug 26 2010, 12:59 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

actually isntead of nerfing why not buff?

what we know: -

- PvZ is by far the most balanced matchup as agreed by pro gamers
- PvT is in the terran's favor if the terran turtle up
- TvZ is screwed up

- ZvZ is boring zergling/ baneling based
- PvP is highly dependent on the gate timings and ways around it (from day9 himself)
- TvT is pretty decent such as drops
evofantasy
post Aug 26 2010, 02:46 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 26 2010, 01:12 AM)
in the end, the tweaking will involve every race in the game.
that's the point...
i could whine all days bout MMM with stim raping my 4gate army but its 3 race and it affects the balance...
evofantasy
post Aug 26 2010, 03:54 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Kinci @ Aug 26 2010, 03:51 AM)
No idea lol. Used to playing with SC1 still consider new with SC2. I hate terran w/o medics. But zerg is still my best race comes from SC1. Prwn a few terrans with zergling rush but still, mid~late game, total owned by both terran n protoss. Heck, new hydra hard to get. Worse is those pesky reapers coming from nowhere to ur base. Only way I find to counter it is mass burrow zerglings everywhere. Still, get owned most of the time. Oh well, still new to it. Maybe if I find some way to crazy play zerg I can share something. Love zerg anyway, too bad they change the soundtrack into somewhat cuter voice compare to SC1 tho.
dun worry, u will get used to it...
people who thought sc2 is the nicer graphics version of SC1/BW is usually surprised at how different the mechanic is...

btw, the terrans heal with medicvacs now which also serve as a dropship...
evofantasy
post Aug 26 2010, 12:03 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 26 2010, 12:01 PM)
haha goldfries multitasking posting in Starcraft and photography forum that's why 'tripod' come out haha.

My personal feel also is that Zerg needs a buff more than Terran needs nerf.
buffing zerg mess up the PvZ balance which is the most balanced matchup at the moment...
evofantasy
post Aug 26 2010, 03:55 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

way to derail the thread...
from nerf to balance to copying units lol
evofantasy
post Sep 1 2010, 03:44 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

jz got omgbbqpwned by mass reapers in 2s...
they 1 shotted my nexus =(
evofantasy
post Sep 1 2010, 03:57 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 1 2010, 03:54 PM)
huh? 30++ reapers mass into ur base =.=?
well i was pushing out wit a fren, they managed to get passed my army and boom my nexus fall!!!!
less than 30 cause reapers do 20dmg to buildings...
evofantasy
post Sep 1 2010, 05:41 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(raylee914 @ Sep 1 2010, 04:00 PM)
nexus has 900 life = =?

so, 900/20 = 45 =.=
by the time i notice already dead lol

Added on September 1, 2010, 5:43 pm
QUOTE(aLertz @ Sep 1 2010, 05:39 PM)
nexus snipe wif reaper...now tats gay o.O
and thus the reaper nerfs LOL