315 posts

To nerf:

Marauder

Reduce hp / Remove stimpack / Reduce range / Reduce damage / None

Vikings

Reduce damage / Reduce range / None

Scan

Reduce scan area/ Remove detection / Detection available only in a centered area / Reduce scan duration/ None

Mules

Put a limit to number of mules called down / Input a cooldown (of X seconds for each mules) / None

Seige Tanks

Reduce damage / Reduce range / Increase tier/ None

Reapers

Reduce speed / Remove jumping down/up / Reduce range / Increase cost/ Reduce damage/ None

Helions

Reduce speed / Reduce damage / None

Ghost

Reduce EMP range/ Reduce EMP effectiveness (i.e. reducing less shields and energy) / Makes EMP to decrease 1/2 of the shields and energy remaining of the units targetted (i.e. a unit with 100 shields and 100 energy on it will suffer 50 shield damage and 50 energy loss and a 2nd emp will reduce it to 25 and 25 remaining) / None

Which would be the best option in your guys opinion? Want to pick more than one option? Some other ideas that isn't on the list? Terrans should not be nerfed? Discuss.

IMO:
The units and abilities that i had listed above are those that i find giving terrans a slight edge against the other 2 races.

Marauders as most of you had stated pretty much kills every t1 units

Vikings are the best anti air...as having a bunch of them can 1 shot everything and kite them away and take out another unit...rinse and repeat...however, in ground mode, they are pretty alright...it's like just a bonus that they can attack ground since air mode is so awesome

Scanning pretty much kills all cloaking units...especially with it's huge range

Having mules mass dropping down a new expo (especially if it's a high yield) is just insane

Seige tanks are pretty much okay...but it's range/damage needs something to be done with...especially against the zerg...as they rely on their hp to survive and they come in a group...constant splash damage on those units burns a zerg players income

Early mass reaper harass is just difficult to keep up with...and is very economy crippling while you can constantly mine at your own base (as found in the latest idra replay at the IEM) and transition into something else with ease later...but who here has those insane micro skills like those two, right?

Helions...are just pretty much zergs mineral bane as they roast drones easily...not so useful during a clash...but is really good for harassment

Ghost

If EMP isn't protosses kryptonite...then...what terran still have against them? the MMM ball i suppose...which can do fairly well even without ghost in that composition...this composition is probably weakest to the HT...as collosi just gets sniped out by marauders with stim and if the collosi go high ground to do damage, the terrans have the medivac/scan to counter the high ground advantage...so, it's basically ht vs ghost...and ghost can spot ht's much easier than one can spot the ghost in the marine ball (AOE vs precision clicking too as well)

so, what's the best option which you guys could think will balance the gameplay a little/ more? Discuss.
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 11:45 AM

315 posts

If you are playing at diamond league, then you maybe be able to see and exploit the benefits of terrans at a higher level...but let's just assume that you are

Have you ever went pure MMM and find yourself winning maybe 70% of your matches against toss/ zerg...throw in some seige vs zerg and some ghost vs toss and have a slightly easier victory

As the main reason why terrans are OP at the moment is because you will need to tech to T3 to counter a T1 build (MMM) and maybe still lose with T3 units and they cost a LOT and takes ages to make...XD
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 11:48 AM

315 posts

i dun go to TL forums...XD but yea, i heard that if someone claims terran is imba at a non specified post (to discuss about it)/ or a high level pro player then it will get banned...=(

zerg now has something called the magic box for mutas...which probably will give them the slight edge against mech?

protoss is HT for MMM...but it's hard...not impossible, but it's just hard

For pros...maybe it'll be easier?XD

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Aug 25 2010, 11:50 AM
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 11:55 AM

315 posts

spoilers for the IEM round 1

idra died in the IEM after the mass reaper stage

TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 12:00 PM

315 posts

well, i think that the magic box does help somewhat...at least the muta's aren't dying to thors that easy i guess, still...there are marines to worry about
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 12:12 PM

315 posts

maybe smaller range for seige? 13 range is pretty too far i think...>.<"

you blast at their buildings when they are hiding...you blast at their units when they come out...XD...of course, you can throw down a nydus and backdoor into the base...but who win's later? Also, terran buildings can fly off it that happens...haha

Hey, not all suggestions are and will be brilliant...and, well...i'm not a game developer and even game developers do carry out imbalances in the game itself...
i didn't say that hey ppl...pick that option and it's you guys who should pick it...and maybe weed some of those bad ideas out...but oh well...thanks for the 1 line "compliment" too i guess...=)

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Aug 25 2010, 12:15 PM
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 12:18 PM

315 posts

tanks had been nerfed many times in the game...from 70 base dmg till 50...still it pretty hurts much zerg players most with that insane range and damage...protoss can still kind of counter tanks with some phoenixes...but oh well...maybe that's for the zerg players to create another plan to counter?

as for infestor to mind control BC...it's a bit risky as infestors are squishy...if there's only 1 or 2 bc, the infestors may survive...but if there is a pretty decent amount...will gg too

still, probably best bet is infestors against t3 units for zerg

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Aug 25 2010, 12:21 PM
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 02:32 PM

315 posts

The point of this thread is just to know what's on your mind when you are against a terran...and how a terran thinks of the game i guess

I do agree that Terran vs Protoss is not as bad as terran vs zerg...XD

TvT...don't know much about this matchup...rarely heard anything about this matchup too
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 25 2010, 03:03 PM

315 posts

it's void ray cheese...not warp ray...=p

anyway, a charged vr is really powerful...no doubts

also, i did also kinda wanna see how people react to such topics...asians and (majority?) westerners...as i made the same exact post in gfaqs sc2 board...

and amazingly...i found that gamefaqs people are pretty open more to discussion topics than simply ranting about such a topic was created

more elites here than over there i guess?XD

This post has been edited by LostWanderer: Aug 25 2010, 03:04 PM
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 26 2010, 10:33 AM

315 posts

banshee = orca from RA2

as for RA3 jap unit...

that one is air to ground and ground to air...

viking is air to air and ground to ground...still, one of those transformation units...haha

no units can jump ledge like reapers can though in the RA series

collosus = from tiberium wars from skrin (sp?)...forgot what unit is that called
TSLostWanderer
post Aug 26 2010, 04:41 PM

315 posts

oh...yeah, that is like so helionish...if that's a word...XD

SC2 really takes a lot from C&C...no v3 rocket? haha

i don't really like the tengu unit in RA3 though...mostly use the other version...RX i think

cheese is really knowledgeable...i didn't know that the guy from westwood is in blizz now...that designer must be having some recognition from doing those games...XD

0.0201sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:55 AM