Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...

hazairi
post Mar 8 2009, 12:44 AM

2,694 posts

Need some advice guys..
I'm using E7400 (default speed is at 2.8Ghz) with Kingston cheap RAM DDR2 667Mhz.

Tried to overclock it to 3.15Ghz using the default multiplier, 10.5.
300x10.5
The memory speed I set to 'auto' and after the overclock, the memory speed goes up to 750Mhz.

The question I wanna ask, in order for me to go way higher:

1) Should I stay with the default multiplier? 10.5
2) Should I let the system auto overclock my memory speed?
3) When should I adjust the vCore?

And give me some tips to make my OC more stable..
thanks!
hazairi
post Mar 8 2009, 09:08 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(efilah @ Mar 8 2009, 08:54 AM)
dear bro.it is better to OC one component at a time.  nod.gif

1)yup,just stay there. unless u wanna wanna find your FSB wall,then set to lowest mulitplier.

2)since now u wanna OC ur proc,i suggest u set the memory speed to clock speed by changing the ram multiplier (for your case,its 667MHz).

3)try OC a little with stock voltage.when fail at stock voltage,increase vcore just a little and test again.keep increasing little by little only until u get a stable system.
Thanks for the advice!
Should I set the memory speed to default 667Mhz or should I higher the speed?
hazairi
post Mar 8 2009, 09:53 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Mar 8 2009, 09:39 AM)
actually, if ur processor can hit high fsb, better u set ur ram speed to run at 533, this way, it'll make ur dram: fsb ratio to be 1:1 and avoid ur ram from bottlenecking the oc. U need to try various settings on different type of mobo to set the ratio to 1:1. Boards like gigabyte allows u to select it directly others would have its own way of selecting it. Do note that, the 1:1 is only applicable to Intel chipset and on high-end Nvidia boards like 680i, 780i, selecting 1:1 is wrong, coz the nvidia architecture is a little different.
waah.. lower the RAM speed? But why when I set it to auto, my system will set the speed higher if I OC my cpu?
Does overclocking CPU actually needs RAM to have higher clockspeed too?
hazairi
post Mar 9 2009, 08:57 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Mar 8 2009, 10:31 AM)
Actually u don't lower ur ram speed, just the ratio. If u keep it at auto, it'll be default at 667.

Think of it this way:
in a marathon scenario

Ur processor, if its fsb is 1066, it starts running from 266mhz bus speed all the way to 400mhz, in which ur processor has run 134mhz ahead. And with the multiplier, u get the speed of ur processor and when u (400mhz x 4) u get ur rated fsb speed.

Ur rams will run together with ur processor speed. If you keep to auto or the default fsb, which means a ddr2 667 stick of ram starts to run from 333mhz to 467mhz, equivalent to 934mhz on ddr2 speed. If ur ram can't oc high, this would b the highest u can go and ur oc will not able to go any further. But if u know ur ram potential, for example if u own a DDR2 1066mhz ram, it means ur ram can run at the speed of 533mhz of the bus speed.

Then u should lower ur ratio of the dram: fsb to 1:1, and let ur ram start to run from 266mhz on wards b4 it reaches it's max potential of 533.

Imagine a ddr2 1066 ram with a E8400 processor:

by default its a 1333fsb processor, which means its starts to run from 333mhz on the bus speed/cpu clock speed. in order for it to reach 4ghz, it needs to have 500mhz x 8 = 4ghz. Therefore, the proc needs to run from 333mhz to 500mhz = 167mhz increase. If you set ur dram: fsb ratio to 1:1, it means that ur ram will start running from 667mhz (333mhz x 2). It'll run alongside ur processor speed and when the processor reaches 500mhz on the fsb, ur ram reaches 1000mhz too. This means ur ram has sufficient length(533mhz) to run along with ur processor b4 it holds ur processor back from going further. So, if u can have a good batch of E8400 E0 which can hit higher fsb, ur DDR2 1066 ram can still go along with it b4 reaching its maximum potentials.

Rams with chipsets like Micron D9gmh and D9gkz on 1gb per sticks all has the potential of reaching 1200mhz, which is equivalent to 600mhz on the bus speed, so u can imagine the headroom that these rams provides to allow u to oc further. Do take note on the timing of the rams is also important.
Gee, thanks for the explanation..
Now I understand much of it.. nod.gif

Added on March 9, 2009, 9:11 pm
QUOTE(dro @ Mar 9 2009, 07:44 PM)
@hazairi

1. the least u can do is state the hardwares u running smile.gif
2. u absolutely MUST read the oc guideline cuz what u're doin is dangerous
-set auto>mobo set v @ crazy high v> u dun monitor/dunno wats the safe range -----------> DIEEEEEE
I'm using E7400, stock speed is at 2.8Ghz. My RAM is a cheap Kingston RAM 1GBx2 stock speed of 667Mhz. Using mobo of P5Q-PRO.
I managed to OC till 3.46Ghz (330x10.5). My RAM clock runs at 395x2.
I'm still testing the stability at this speed before I proceed to OC it higher..

This post has been edited by hazairi: Mar 9 2009, 09:11 PM
hazairi
post Mar 11 2009, 06:03 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(dro @ Mar 10 2009, 01:08 AM)
*i hope this is the rite bios template for your mobo*

why dun u post it in this way smile.gif
maybe others can help
though im not really familiar with your bios
but it shud look sumting lik the above since it is under AMI
Hehe.. For RAM speed, i just set it to auto settings. I only set the RAM total clock speed and the rest of calculations is being done automatically.

Currently trying to OC till 3.46Ghz (330x10.5) and my memory I set to 661Mhz (330.5x2). The Vcore is default which is ranging from 1.19-1.22v.

Still on the stress testing process since few days. Anyway, when I ran Prime95, it can actually reach till more than 90 celcius!! sweat.gif
Idle temperature is at 38-42 celcius.

Is that normal? Reaching till more than 90 celcius in Prime95 test.

Another question, if I set the memory speed higher than the cpu bus speed, will there be any side effect?

hazairi
post Jul 17 2009, 03:36 PM

2,694 posts

Here's my E7400@3.675Ghz@1.29v

Maximum temperature is quite high when running prime95 cry.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/713146/+300
hazairi
post Jul 18 2009, 11:06 AM

2,694 posts

Here is my result for E7400@3.72Ghz@1.3v

Passed the 1 hour Prime95 test with maximum temp of 73C!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/713146/+300
hazairi
post Jul 20 2009, 01:19 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jul 20 2009, 12:31 PM)
Was an AMD oc-er before and this is the first time oc-ing Intel. Seems like 4ghz mission is completed today morning and finished stressing just now  smile.gif

Intel C2D E8400 E0 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3R Rev 1.1 | OCZ Reaper 1066 DDRII

For now will be running at this settings before attempting higher clockspeed.
wow! it only needed 1.2V to reach 4Ghz? Impressive! rclxms.gif
hazairi
post Jul 20 2009, 02:08 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jul 20 2009, 02:02 PM)
To be exact its 1.225 in BIOS. Thinking of going undervolt but I think that's fine for me for now. Just passed 1 hour of Orthos blend priority 4 but no SS pulak. Maybe going higher after this.
I think yours can go til 5Ghz..

Try it slowly, and post it here! notworthy.gif
hazairi
post Jul 29 2009, 09:56 PM

2,694 posts

I forgot to ask this question,

well my OC seems to be fine in terms of Prime95 test, temperature and many more.

But i noticed that when I OC, when I wanna switch ON the PC, it took about 3 seconds to power up.
Any idea guys?
hazairi
post Jul 31 2009, 09:37 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jul 30 2009, 11:45 AM)
I've used quite a number of LGA775 boards and I don't think there's an issue because it would always have a few seconds delay during power up.
Well, but when I'm not overclocking, and let everything in stock settings (mostly auto), the power up don't have any delays.. hmm.gif
hazairi
post Oct 21 2009, 03:13 PM

2,694 posts

Just a test using the pc of my office:

E6550@2.33Ghz (no overclocking)
2 Gig RAM
Stock heatsink..

I can see that with a stock heat sink, it can reach until 72 celcius maximum.. With no overclocking..

While my home PC, E7400, OC from 2.8 till 3.74Ghz, can reach until 72 celcius with a CM TX2 heat sink..

hazairi
post Dec 14 2009, 03:14 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Dec 13 2009, 10:52 PM)
A quick question guys!  biggrin.gif

Which is technically faster to run E7400 @ 4Ghz:
1) FSB 400 x 10
2) FSB 380 x 10.5

FYI, '1)' stable at 1.41v and '2)' stable at 1.39v because obviously lower fsb, but which one edged the other one?
I'm just confuse because both has same rating of 4ghz but I researched that higher FSB yield better performance, but still...  hmm.gif
no. 1 is better.
Coz simple.. the performance should be better.. wink.gif

0.0248sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:50 PM