Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...

iBenQ
post Mar 23 2009, 01:55 AM

1,550 posts

tried stock vcore... 3.8ghz max sad.gif

iBenQ
post Mar 23 2009, 05:03 AM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 23 2009, 04:53 AM)
template missing after the rollback doh.gif
ok what 3.8ghz, stable  ?  hmm.gif
yerp stable... look at the linx biggrin.gif
iBenQ
post Mar 29 2009, 11:29 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 27 2009, 10:13 AM)
For Intel, better still IBT or LinX.
QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 29 2009, 10:14 PM)
it was not same, in intel quadcore, i have tried before..
let say at 4ghz clock, if u use 1600mb of memory, a quadcore will finish 1 loop of ibt test at around 3x sec, while a dualcore will need 7x sec.
as u all know when using ibt, the processor will go back to idle before start to calculate another loop, so the quadcore might not fail in the 1st 3x sec and back to idle again.
i have tried a quad can easily pass ibt test at lower voltage easily, but failed in prime95 within 1 hour smile.gif
prime95 cant give as much heat as LinX in my case... dats y i ditched prime95 and use linx to test stability and load temp... if stable in linx, im damn sure p95 wil be stable, and if linx give xx temp, im damn sure p95 will give lower temp results biggrin.gif
iBenQ
post Mar 31 2009, 03:03 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 02:38 PM)
heat is not the main problem to cause the failure in OC, my processor reached more than 100c but still running in linx (due to poor thermal paste applied).
i do agreed linx is better in stability testing but only for dualcore after i tried it with quadcore..
maybe u all with quadcore can try it out and share the outcome, the lowest vcore to pass linx 10 loops and prime it for few hours  smile.gif
i did it a few days ago, but i didnt even bother to take ss of it... for ur sake, i'll redo it and post it after a few hours smile.gif

fyi, my friend used linx on dual core as well, but it turned out that prime95 gives out more heat compared to linx @ 1024mb... but as soon he crank it up to 1536mb, linx won biggrin.gif
iBenQ
post Mar 31 2009, 04:01 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 03:39 PM)
hmm, what are u trying to say about the heat? i never said that prime given more heat than linx.
just that prime able to test the stability for continuously, while linx are not able due to quadcore finished 1 loop in a short time period.
eg, at linx 1600mb testing
a quadcore at 4ghz finish 1 loop at 35sec, 1st loop(35sec) -> idle -> 2nd loop(35sec) -> idle
while a dualcore 4ghz finish 1 loop at 70sec, 1st loop(70sec) -> idle -> 2nd loop(70sec) -> idle
so the linx are continuous stress dualcore at 70 per loop, while quad at half of the time.
wwww... y they produce that much heat? cos the program is making the cpu work like mad, although its just a short time, its constantly being pushed to its limit.... have u tried running applications when linx is stressing the proc to its limit? rite now im running prime95, and waddya say, i can play any sort of games without feeling a single lag, where as i couldnt play dota smoothly when running linx... and u cant blame my ram, i have more than enough ram for wat im doing smile.gif

nevermind... picture tells a thousand words... and i have 2 pics to show u

if p95 is more stressing than linx, i wonder y my superpi is faster than linx?

p95 is not even a stress test to me compared to linx... i can turn on p95 while doing other things that uses processing power, but if i turn on linx, ill get frustrated of the lagging caused by it

edit: i've added the normal super pi result without any sort of cpu stress

This post has been edited by iBenQ: Mar 31 2009, 04:08 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
iBenQ
post Mar 31 2009, 04:52 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 04:40 PM)
omg.. since like u have misunderstanding.. rclxub.gif
i never say prime is more stress than linx, no doubt that linx is most stress program available..
instead i am telling that the nature of the software is not so optimize for quadcore compared to dualcore.
ahhhhh, maybe we both got misunderstood... im trying to say, its very effective for quad as well.... i did say my friend tried dual core linx 1024mb, and he got same temp/stress level with p95... in fact, i feel linx is more demanding on quad than dual core, since on same settings, my p95 and linx 1024mb give totally different results compared to my friend's result which is same heat, same stress level since he dont feel lag... only when he put 1536mb, then he can feel it biggrin.gif

btw, my friends dual core is e5200... could be c2d different due to larger cache perhaps? cause my q6600 took longer time to complete 1 loop compared to q9650 biggrin.gif
iBenQ
post Apr 3 2009, 08:15 AM

1,550 posts

memang e4xxx hard abit to oc fsb... i remember when i had e4600, couldn't even get it to boot up at 333mhz... highest i got oso was 300mhz T_T, so i'd say, nice fsb man!
iBenQ
post Apr 21 2009, 08:22 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(his @ Apr 21 2009, 06:15 PM)
Didnt manage to stabilize at 4ghz....keeps on  crashing out. Whats the recommended for GTL Ref and VTT...I inserted GTL both at 0.68 and VTT at 1.57 and it turn out crash.... lolx

Btw, wats VNB ?
omg... 1.57v on vtt is quite high... for me, its possible to put 480fsb with just 1.4v, heck i can even get it till 500fsb... wat vcore did u used for 4ghz? i nvr used occt b4, but is occt stating proc too hot a failure in oc? or just the temp is too high according to the settings?
iBenQ
post May 20 2009, 12:26 AM

1,550 posts

wa punya quaddie memerlukan 1.3125v untuk 4ghz... lu punya e8400 patut dalam itu punya range... try turunkan itu vcore tengok biggrin.gif.... btw u looking for blue ccfl??

@efilah,, pity u need high vcore for it @@ mine jz 1.175 to run 3.6ghz biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by iBenQ: May 20 2009, 12:27 AM

0.0192sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:24 AM