juz nothing from Asus only... i ve a feeling it's becuz of the new U series...
Asus A | U | N series combined thread V2, New model coming in.....
Nov 7 2010, 01:33 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
22,158 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Singapore |
well, there's Acer Aspire TimelineX 4820TG...
juz nothing from Asus only... i ve a feeling it's becuz of the new U series... |
Nov 7 2010, 01:37 PM
259 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
any user of a42ja here...? any comment...? uhuh...
does a42ja comes with built in stove...? n what is EOLed...? is it the LED backlight bla3...? This post has been edited by erszebeth: Nov 7 2010, 01:40 PM |
Nov 7 2010, 01:37 PM
5,531 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Kajang, Selangor |
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 7 2010, 01:33 PM) well, there's Acer Aspire TimelineX 4820TG... If only the A42JA drops down to that price point. juz nothing from Asus only... i ve a feeling it's becuz of the new U series... But I feel a replacement may be imminent. Like how the A42Jr finally got its true successor in the form of the A42Je after a good 5+ months after it EOLed. |
Nov 7 2010, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 7 2010, 01:37 PM) any user of a42ja here...? any comment...? uhuh... EOL = End of Life = the maker stop shipping...does a42ja comes with built in stove...? n what is EOLed...? is it the LED backlight bla3...? expect A42Ja to be slightly hotter, it has a 45W CPU after all, but overall it's manageable... imho Dell SXPS 16 with HD5730 is worth taking a look as well... |
Nov 7 2010, 02:23 PM
i heard about that sxps 16 as well... but, the size would become troublesome to me since i always travel here and there...
at 1st, i was considered in buying acer 3820tg, but u know, MY acer didnt release the model here... so, im shifting to 14" and the best notebook with the best gpu within my budget (around 4k) that i manage to find is a42ja... do u think there will be any new model that will be release near future...? |
Nov 7 2010, 02:28 PM
well, there's also Asus N43Jq... 740QM + GT 425M, rm3999...
however since u mention u were looking for 3820TG, i assume u re looking for portability and battery life as well??? in that case u may want to take a look at Acer Aspire TimelineX 4820TG also, 460M + HD5650 + up to 8hrs battery life, rm2599... |
Nov 7 2010, 03:22 PM
before i consider the a42ja, i was about to pick 4820tg as my choice...
but then, a42ja comes with 5730... ok, let say i was considering these 2... will the performance differ a lot btween these 2...? i cant say that im a heavy gamer, but i do play games like, 7 8 hours a day... be it online games or not... atm, im playing sid meier's civilization V which wouldnt require higher end gpu... now, im waiting for CoD:Black Ops... uhuh... now, back to the qtion, i know 5730 outrun 5650 just by a lil bit, but as an overall performance of notebook (4820tg n a42ja), is it differ so much...? as for the i7 in asus, nvr use intel 'i' tech b4... still using c2d atm, how does the i7 open it's other core...? auto or we ctrl it manually...? or depends on certain program...? |
Nov 7 2010, 03:26 PM
14,813 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Shouldn't be much, most likely couple fps more on A42Ja..
The i7 will do it stuff automatically... |
Nov 7 2010, 03:28 PM
well, i would choose 4820TG over A42Ja if i were u...
main reason is that: 1) dual core is favoured over quad core in games due to higher clock speed... in normal use u'll hardly notice any differences... 2) performance difference between HD5650 and HD5730 is minimal 3) 4820TG has heaps more battery life and lighter to carry around as for ur last question, i assume u mean Turbo Boost? the CPU itself will determine when and how many cores will be shut down... u can't control at all... as for in game performance, i am using HD4650 (which has 320SP as opposed to 400SP on HD5650/HD5730), and i can play Medal of Honor 2010 @ max settings, 1280x720, smoothly with not significant lag... |
Nov 7 2010, 03:32 PM
826 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 7 2010, 03:22 PM) now, back to the qtion, i know 5730 outrun 5650 just by a lil bit, but as an overall performance of notebook (4820tg n a42ja), is it differ so much...? Based on overall performance, A42JA will have better performance compared to 4820TG. But since A42JA have i7 quad core processor, you should know the idle temp will be 5+ celcius. Are you OK with that?as for the i7 in asus, nvr use intel 'i' tech b4... still using c2d atm, how does the i7 open it's other core...? auto or we ctrl it manually...? or depends on certain program...? It will be auto. Can't control it manually. It will depend on processor temperature & TDP (thermal design power) (I only remember two). Added on November 7, 2010, 3:43 pm QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 7 2010, 03:22 PM) i cant say that im a heavy gamer, but i do play games like, 7 8 hours a day... be it online games or not... Since you did mention this, I want to recommend you to get Alienware M11x notebook instead. It still under your price range, under 4k.EDIT: Sorry, URL linking doesn't work. You can visit Dell website for more information. This post has been edited by kizwan: Nov 7 2010, 03:47 PM |
Nov 7 2010, 04:29 PM
thx a lot for all the feedback my sifu2.. ^^
kizwan, i would really consider the alienware if it is 13"... huhu... i dont think 11" would fit a strategy game well... besides, the cpu it uses im afraid will cause a bottleneck for the overall performance.. uhuh... seems like a42ja is not a best choice afterall... when did the 4820tg released btw...? is it still new in the market or it's almost reach it's end product cycle... any rumors for new asus/acer notebook in the future...? if no, the best notebook in 13" and 14" atm is 4820tg i assume...? (excluding asus a42ja)... uhuh This post has been edited by erszebeth: Nov 7 2010, 04:31 PM |
Nov 7 2010, 04:31 PM
The 4820TG with HD5470 has been released almost half of year...
But only recently got the new upgraded spec with HD5650.... 13'' is Acer 3820TG and Vaio Z... This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 7 2010, 04:32 PM |
Nov 7 2010, 04:32 PM
it's been released for quite some time already...
started off as 450m + HD5470, then updated to 460M + HD5650... so it's more of like a tried and tested laptop... |
Nov 7 2010, 04:34 PM
430M + ATi HD5470 -> 450M + ATi HD5470 -> 460M + ATi HD5650...
Nov 7 2010, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Nov 7 2010, 04:29 PM) kizwan, i would really consider the alienware...the cpu it uses im afraid will cause a bottleneck for the overall performance.. uhuh... Yeah, the screen will be too small but CPU won't cause bottleneck.Last time (2 month ago) I tried to find 4820TG with 5650 but only found 5470. Anyway, I didn't look hard enough. |
Nov 7 2010, 05:32 PM
go SG and buy urself???
Nov 7 2010, 05:36 PM
owh... yea... nice idea... why didnt i think of that....
This post has been edited by erszebeth: Nov 7 2010, 05:37 PM |
Nov 7 2010, 05:43 PM
How about Acer Aspire 5942G? It have 5650 - RM3999.
Nov 7 2010, 05:46 PM
He want 13''/14''.... ?