Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V45!, The Orange Legion

Seng_Kiat
post Aug 20 2010, 08:38 PM

5,580 posts

guys,

is there any of u using sigma 30mm f1.4? how is the color and sharpness compare to cz1680? ... thinking of letting go my cz1680 and looking for wide angle prime .. any recommendation? please dont say 35mm f1.4 CZ .. tongue.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 20 2010, 10:51 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Aug 20 2010, 10:25 PM)
Sigma 30mm and Sony 35mm F1.4 doesn't seems to have good feedback on their sharpness but it still good for portrait and all-round use for the expensive options
hurmm ... any other recommendation for wide angle prime lens?

Added on August 20, 2010, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(mastering89 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:30 PM)
30mm is not that wide (probably ur using FF then it is  laugh.gif ).
get the 20mm f/2.8 or wait for the CZ24mm f/2  whistling.gif <---- this one even tapaw the great cz2470  laugh.gif
I would categorize 16-30mm is wide range. below than it will be ultra wide lens .. wink.gif .. I am not using FF, just an a700 ..

CZ24mm f2 will leave a deep whole in my pocket.. not a good choice then at least for me .. haha .. tongue.gif ...

This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Aug 20 2010, 10:54 PM
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 20 2010, 11:05 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 20 2010, 10:56 PM)
what do u want? if wide angle the carl zeiss or tammy is the best lor.

if UWA maybe u can get tokina ?
I want to let go my cz1680 and opt for wide angle prime lens .. maybe sigma 30mm f1.4 would be the choice but I wonder how does it perform compare to cz1680 ..

i am not looking for UWA .. just wide angle around 20-30mm will do .. wink.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 20 2010, 11:31 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Aug 20 2010, 11:12 PM)
sell of your baby zeiss <= RM1.8-2k
buy the 16mm f/2.8 pancake lens get free NEX3  whistling.gif

joking  laugh.gif
got not so good review on  kenrockwell (http://www.kenrockwell.com/sigma/30mm-f14.htm)
quote from kenrockwell

wah .. good idea .. i never thought of that .. haha .. tongue.gif .. btw, can 16mm f2.8 pancake lens from nex3 fits alpha mount? .. or I need a converter for that purpose??
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 20 2010, 11:46 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 20 2010, 11:41 PM)
Seng_Kiat: Long time no see! Yes the Sigma 30mm F1.4 is good. No, E-mount lenses cannot be fitted on A-mount dSLRs.
hi albnok .. Yes, a lil bit busy this few months .. no time for myself ... sad.gif .. sigma 30mm 1.4, how good is it if compare to 1680cz especially in terms of color and sharpness?
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 21 2010, 12:38 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 20 2010, 11:51 PM)
Seng_Kiat: I would just tell you to go to the shop and try it. The Sigma 30mm F1.4, like the Sigma 50mm F1.4 HSM, has a very different look.

Don't expect the pictures to look like your Zeiss. It is not a bad thing... but it looks different. If you stopped both down to F5.6 you could probably tell the difference by just looking at the color.

They are still nice and sharp especially in the center, but there is a certain... plasticky look about the colors. It is well saturated though.

I have not owned either lens, though.
Ooo I see ... Alright master ... I will give it a try first before decide .. wink.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 24 2010, 12:07 AM

5,580 posts

guys,

how do I know my monitor needs calibration? I dont know for some reasons, I am not feeling happy with my monitor which I just bought today, Dell U2711, a 27" monitor ... I was expecting it performs at least closes to Apple monitor but it just looks like normal monitor only .. sad.gif ..

anyone here using it? ..
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 24 2010, 12:12 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 24 2010, 12:09 AM)
dude, u cant compare normal monitors with Apple's ranges of monitors...
the price is almost similar to Apple .. RM2899 from Dell website .. that is why I am expecting something at least close to apple .. biggrin.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 24 2010, 12:37 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 24 2010, 12:13 AM)
then why not might as well you go get the Apple?
because I got a better deal if buying dell ..

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 24 2010, 12:33 AM)
Seng_Kiat: Go get a Spyder then. I don't remember which but there is one budget model. Even Apple monitors are not perfectly calibrated as my studio photographer friend notes. Monitors need to be recalibrated every month for optimum color work (though, it won't run much if you don't... but if your work is a critical science of color then you'd do so.)
Thanks albnok.

0.0484sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:12 PM