Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V45!, The Orange Legion

zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:08 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Sep 12 2010, 11:48 PM)
zstan, nice I like this shot, but erm the black wire on the floor bottom right very distracting and illusion looks like she is holding it.... using tamron on this??? quite sharp worr
haha. thanks. can't do anything about the wire though. its fixed. =/

yeapz tamron! icon_rolleyes.gif

shot at f2.8 and iso 100 and 1/320 speed plus direct flash.
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:12 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 13 2010, 12:08 AM)
zstan: Eh! I saw a bunch of photographers at Garden, The Curve! I didn't spot any Sony neckstraps though.
aiyo u were there a? i was the guy in red. using matin black strap ma tongue.gif

all like never see sony DSLR before. doh.gif
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:18 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 12:15 AM)
goin for kampung photoshoot tmr wif my model...any advice?
do ur exam revision before shooting!

day shot? try to use flash if possible...or reflector would be better...

my today's photoshoot those photogs tot they could do wonders with just a 50mm lens alone when they are shooting a subject against a very bright background light. end up most who did not use flash had underexposed pictures.
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:22 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 13 2010, 12:17 AM)
well, u can't deny the fact that the N n C is more popular
too bad they can't do this! icon_idea.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

flash bounced pointing towards the floor. laugh.gif

90 degrees down, 70 degrees forward IINM.

zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:25 AM

15,856 posts

purposely wan create the shadow one ma..

got a bit mysterious/dramatic feel..
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:30 AM

15,856 posts

YES.

one thing i found out about my tamron is that it backfocus a loooottt! cry.gif

quite frustrating at times. even using center AF. especially when u wanna take a quick shot. it always tends to back focus or mis focus.

oh well, 1320 lens, can't expect it to perform like a Carl Zeiss.

but for the above pic i think is my problem la. i focused the hand instead. sad.gif
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:32 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Sep 13 2010, 12:30 AM)
Still can control using exposure + DRO rite xP .....maybe I'm not familiar using Flash on day shot (as I do only use flash on those in door event)
not really.

if u din use flash, u need to use a lower shutter to get a brightly lit subject.

but if u shooting at f2.8 and below, your subject confirm overexposed. so flash comes in handy in this situations. can fire high speed shutter, maintain wide open shutter and get good exposures. removes ugly shadows as well.

zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:39 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 12:32 AM)
@zstan : u see the model too leng ad isit? then u gan jiong.. and terpress the shutter full... haha...

btw, that lens more than 1k..i dun even have the money to buy a lens more than rm 800.
nola. pressed center AF.

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 13 2010, 12:33 AM)
what u mean by the sentence in bold? what can you do in this pic that other's can't?
nothing la...
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:44 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 13 2010, 12:40 AM)
no la, do tell, i wanna know what happened behind the scene of that shot..
i used cobra bounced flash from below. but the head is pointing at 70 degrees towards the model. hence creating the shadows which is 'higher' that the model.

don't think other flash guns can get the same effect with such simplicity though.

hope i am not wrong. laugh.gif

Added on September 13, 2010, 12:45 am
QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 12:42 AM)
ya lar...tell us..she dated u out? or u manage to get her number?
doh.gif shakehead.gif go study your sejarah please. for one she's older than me, and she got bf d.haha.

This post has been edited by zstan: Sep 13 2010, 12:45 AM
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 09:17 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Sep 13 2010, 02:10 AM)
sweat.... now i see it too... wait.. i what? noooo, i;m not into foot fetish... lol...
(no la.. i am not doing footwear... its a last minute call from friend to join portraiture... really long time i stop portraiture... and even longer time i last used my 50mm, training whole day use 50mm)

nice lighting! laugh.gif
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 11:31 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 11:17 AM)
just back from shooting.. damn, tidur 3 jam oni ytd...

sneak preview first

i admire ur patience to put all these effects into the picture.

all my pics straight from camera, resize, maybe adjust curves n levels,put watermark then publish.
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 11:42 AM

15,856 posts

i never shoot RAW. biggrin.gif

i would cut down on the vignetting though.
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 11:47 AM

15,856 posts

moar picsss!

but less edit la can? icon_question.gif hope to see more of her bright face. laugh.gif
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 11:53 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 11:48 AM)
hey william.. thanks smile.gif
well, dis time i had to depend more on prime ,28mm and i had to save my flash batteries cos the rechargeable ones kong ad..had to depend on alkaline batteries

so, i cant* burst shot.. slowly take my time compose the shot smile.gif

errrr.....why do u need to burst shot for portraiture? u have all the time in the world to get the best shot ma. hmm.gif

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 11:50 AM)
haha... wait lar.. i so fond of editting.. haha..gonna become PP master already lolz..
still got at least 100 photos to go.. if i were to edit everyting, sure i become a loon.. haha

Added on September 13, 2010, 11:51 am

well, i ask her to relax dulu while i find the angle.. haha... lepas i ok oni i ask her to pose..that way, it wont be so tiring for her  rclxms.gif
you really love vignetting huh? rclxub.gif

but ur model sporting la.at least she dun mind sitting down on the road/pavement
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 11:58 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Sep 13 2010, 11:56 AM)
something i can learn if i'm taking girl portraits next time. laugh.gif
shouldn't it be, the girl pose liao only u find the angle? hmm.gif

Added on September 13, 2010, 11:59 am
QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 11:58 AM)
sometimes those difficult pose, she cant tahan long..so bo pian lo, need to burst a few shots.. a300 3 fps oni larr
haha..my burst shot means ' click click ' not clickkkkkk hahaha

here's another try of PP , soft focus..

just u and her alone at a quiet road a? brows.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Sep 13 2010, 11:59 AM
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:02 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 13 2010, 12:00 PM)
friend, u try be the model and see.. then you will know why

but i agree on too much vignette though.. go light on it.. and your 'soft focus' shot, her face is quite smudged up
but how are u going to find the angle if u do not know how is your model going to pose? hmm.gif
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:05 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 12:02 PM)
@viking : Thanks for the comment.. Well, maybe I shud go easy then... haha.. I am just so in love with vignetting.. lolz.. haha ..

@ zstan :  Wait she kaki sakit lagi teruk larr... and, well... can say so lar..both of us only..
tapi, all the pak cik duduk motor pass by us keep on smile.. those kind of hamsap smile.. ish...
is this girl doing photo shooting for the first time? if yes then i can understand..... laugh.gif
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:10 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Sep 13 2010, 12:05 PM)
maybe have to use some imagination and visualization? hmm.gif

yeah... sometimes, things look good in the photo, but many challenges and hurdles have to be passed behind the scenes. It's all about the whole production as a package.
sometime swhat u imagine and visualise may not be what u get..

this is especially so if the model is new.

even for experienced ones, i ask them pose like that, they will pose another way. then need correct a few times only get it right.

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 12:07 PM)
i let her show me the pose first, then i ask her to relax, i find angle and ask her pose again.

here's one with slight editting... too bad i ter-crop some of her elbow...

Added on September 13, 2010, 12:08 pm

maybe u can give me some advice on that? it's my first time doing soft focus though...
but will the 'feel' be the same when she pose the 2nd time?
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:22 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 13 2010, 12:19 PM)
@ william : okay.. thanks. will try it out.. .

@ zstan : for good models, u still get the feelings...if not, let her pose other way but u still maintain the angle.. it's about flexibility

P/S : Am I spamming too much of pics here?

Added on September 13, 2010, 12:20 pm

haha..abit chuak la..especially at kampung..but then, if ask alot ppl follow, in the end sure no nice photos
oh well. different photographers different style.

you din take any vertical shots?
zstan
post Sep 13 2010, 12:28 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Sep 13 2010, 12:22 PM)
well, unless you want to play art director. tongue.gif

Pose not correctly, CUT!
photography really is art ma, and you are the director/painter. rolleyes.gif

18 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:19 AM