Photography Canon S95, replacement for S90

aquos
post Oct 16 2011, 03:09 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Oct 16 2011, 09:29 AM)
How does the Canon SX230HS compares with the S95/S100?

I found the SX230 being advertised having similar price to the S95, hence asking.

My priorities are Image Quality and Size (portability in jeans pocket).

Things that are not important for me are the manual control options. For me, cameras are simply recording device and not an expression of artist ability.
wow sx230hs can zoom from 28 - 392mm. Very useful for zoo outings or shooting any
animals which want to eat you.lol
aquos
post Oct 17 2011, 07:27 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(rose6580 @ Oct 16 2011, 06:10 PM)
i am tempted to sell off my S95 for S100.

should i?? hmmm......
American buyers started getting their S100 yesterday and their feedback
on image quality have not been generally good. Enjoy your s95 and wait
for canon to sort out the bugs on their s100.
aquos
post Oct 18 2011, 08:13 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(rose6580 @ Oct 17 2011, 10:55 AM)
adam - u so good , i am a lazy user - once the camera perfromance deteriorates wth time, i get tempted to change the camera

i still got that 'bright spot' in the mid of the pic whenver i m on auto mode and profile mode - even after sunning it ! tongue.gif
hmmmmmmm. I don't get it.
aquos
post Oct 18 2011, 03:21 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(rose6580 @ Oct 18 2011, 11:18 AM)
u know , in the middle of the screen - u see it brighter than the rest of the screen? pics also turn out like that....it didnt use to be like that.
If you think the camera is at fault, You should send it to Canon for repairs under warranty
of course. Unless you are finding fault so you can upgrade to s100 LOL just joking.

Added on October 18, 2011, 5:15 pmSomebody in usa did comparison between his s95 and his new s100.
Check out the difference in noise level at iso1600 and iso800. It is
so bad he thinks his s95 is defective.

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat...thread=39618031

This post has been edited by aquos: Oct 18 2011, 05:15 PM
aquos
post Oct 26 2011, 04:39 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Oct 25 2011, 04:31 PM)
yeah... just got my S95!  battery on chargin!  btw, may i know got good recommend for the pouch for my lovely S95?  tq tongue.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 5:44 pmcharged 1hour+ and it shown, FULL..  tempering me to use it now. should it be alright?  btw...  may i know what brand for the battery better? octopus or orignal Canon?  how much would it be?
Congrats on your new s95. Pouch depend on personal taste and I have collected
5 so far. I just bought a octopus battery bcos original (although better) is too
expensive. I also bought the in-car charger. I intend to keep them as standby only.
aquos
post Nov 5 2011, 05:48 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Nov 3 2011, 11:37 AM)
nice got lightning..
got tree on the roof also
aquos
post Nov 6 2011, 12:27 PM

215 posts

Next time post picture can use spoiler ah.
aquos
post Dec 13 2011, 11:21 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Dec 12 2011, 10:04 PM)
1st time trying out texturing...

the sleepy town of Bentong by adam lee1, on Flickr
This is nice, Looks like in the sixties except for the proton wira lol.
aquos
post Dec 29 2011, 06:07 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Dec 28 2011, 04:37 PM)
I found a blue pixel on the lcd. Its always there and its annoying.
Will they warranty for that?
Bought it less than a week only
Probably a hot pixel on the sensor. Call the camera shop for advice.
It is usually easy to fix by remapping.

aquos
post Jan 3 2012, 02:07 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Dec 22 2011, 08:16 AM)
actually 80% of the "organs" in both s95 and s100 is the same la...
Only flash, lcd screen and tripod hole still same so shud be >80% new and
<20% same as s95 lah. biggrin.gif . Price still same as s95 also. rclxms.gif

aquos
post Jan 3 2012, 04:51 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Jan 3 2012, 01:19 PM)
this fella from lelong selling pretty cheap...

http://www.lelong.com.my/canon-powershot-s...7-01-Sale-I.htm
This is a grey market camera and not warrantied for 2yrs by canon msia

Added on January 3, 2012, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jan 2 2012, 10:22 PM)
Oem battery safe to use ar? Or is it better to buy nb6l
3rd party quite safe. Go for those with brand like octopus or potix and
with good packaging. I paid rm40 only for octopus. Ori rm180 i think.

By the way did you manage to sort your stuck blue pixel issue?

This post has been edited by aquos: Jan 3 2012, 04:58 PM
aquos
post Oct 26 2012, 06:09 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Oct 26 2012, 01:58 AM)
I first saw it at Mudah.my

Preview at DPReview
Most of the bigger shops already have the S110 on display. Go to sgwang
or lowyat and you can physically handle it.
I saw a new S95 on display last week and felt an urge to get it. I think the S95
is still the best in the canon S series. Reliable and good IQ smile.gif . But they wanted
rm1250 for it. I offered rm1100 smile.gif

So far can find only one 20 page full review for s110. Victim of RX100 fame i think.

http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/content/C...mera-Review.htm

0.0180sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:59 PM