Photography Canon S95, replacement for S90

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 17 2011, 05:51 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Sep 17 2011, 05:41 PM)
if u have the $$$ for s100, better u consider upgrading to a proper dslr smile.gif
The smaller S100 has more opportunity sitting in your pocket when you go out for a casual stroll whereas a DSLR has more opportunity sitting in a drawer somewhere at home.

So what do you reckon this S100's price will be?
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 19 2011, 02:27 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 18 2011, 02:01 PM)
Pre-order a unit of S100. Let's play it by the ears. There are still chances to cancel order should the coming reviews turn out to be awful. biggrin.gif
Where can you do that?

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 20 2011, 02:23 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aquos @ Sep 20 2011, 01:37 PM)
Some are here to discuss the s95 camera. Their photos are private and for personal consumption.
Replacement model coming sure there is some excitement lah. When the s100 is available
locally there will be even more talk.

Others think the s95 is just a tool so they are here to show what the camera can do and
so they post photos to solicit praise and comments.

Both groups should be equally welcome
If you said something not nice about their camera, they get upset.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 22 2011, 07:14 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(yuman @ Sep 21 2011, 11:54 PM)
s95 is great! many of my friends uses it and the quality is fab! - i'm thinking of getting one myself too...or either try a new dslr camera.

What about buying online?
IMO, you have to decide whether your new camera gonna be more of an 'everyday' camera because it's easier to carry it around with you most of the time. Or more of an "special' occasion camera with it's impractical to 'carry around everyday' size of the DSLR.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 23 2011, 12:53 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(uncontrolled @ Sep 23 2011, 12:10 PM)
quality of S95 is great. best compact i ever used.
anyway, i like the color on the LCD of S95. it's look better, more saturated.... but, when i view it on my monitor, the photo disappoint me a little. i have to pp to get a better photo.

i googled and seems like most of the ppl out there have the same problem. how you guys adjust this? pp every time?
IMO, Canon's photos tend to be more natural looking but being natural looking, they are less vivid and attention grabbing to some pepple. Others like Nikon tends to be more vivid but less natural.

I am talking about compact point & shoot camera only.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 16 2011, 09:29 AM

12,696 posts

How does the Canon SX230HS compares with the S95/S100?

I found the SX230 being advertised having similar price to the S95, hence asking.

My priorities are Image Quality and Size (portability in jeans pocket).

Things that are not important for me are the manual control options. For me, cameras are simply recording device and not an expression of artist ability.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Oct 16 2011, 09:41 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 10 2011, 04:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Dec 8 2011, 07:55 AM)
actually is it THAT important to have that GPS function ar?
Some people consider file size, date, aperture, speed etc totally useless whereas some find them important. Ditto GPS.

Added on December 10, 2011, 4:33 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:05 AM)
bragging rights i guess?
well, to me, last time i went to EU
took a lot of pix, but no idea most of the pix are taken from where
wanna catalog it also couldnt, so i guess the gps tagging helps
I think those who think GPS information are not important also said the same thing about Smartphone being useles. If you put your mind on it, there are many uses. For exmaple, Geotag photo can be used to share with friend places of interest and if their friends wanted to, they can go there themselves armed with those geotag info.

I am still holding back on getting the S100 because of the question mark on picture quality.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 10 2011, 04:56 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 18 2011, 07:20 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(rtsy2 @ Dec 18 2011, 12:17 AM)
How to take picture like got macro effect eh?  Like it's blurred on the background focused on people/object etc. What setting? Aperture shutter etc. Tq
Definitely maximum aperture AFAIK.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 3 2012, 03:23 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aquos @ Jan 3 2012, 02:07 PM)
Only flash, lcd screen and tripod hole still same so shud be >80% new and
<20% same as s95 lah.  biggrin.gif . Price still same as s95 also.  rclxms.gif
Ha ha. Chimpanzee and human DNA's difference is far far less than that and see the big difference?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 11 2012, 07:10 PM

12,696 posts

What's the average file size of a photo at maximum resolution?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2012, 01:29 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Jan 17 2012, 07:25 PM)
i used to do that... then after that go out have to carry wife's purse la, iphone la, my own wallet la, handphone la, keys la... where got enough place? so got myself a thin neck strap la! LOL doh.gif
You make it sounded like a mule. LOL. But that's true.

0.5583sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:05 AM