HTC Desire Official Thread V5, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

kokifung
post Aug 22 2010, 10:21 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

hi there,
i just wanna ask u fine ppl which plan or service provider u ppl using ?
i just recently get the phone, but still planing to get which line..

maxis value plan + data plan, right?
digi smart plan 68++

from the website digi seem more worth it..
but u guys have any feedback?
thanks a lot..
kokifung
post Aug 23 2010, 07:16 AM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 22 2010, 10:47 PM)
maxis value plan + data plan = RM 98. If you already get the phone, no point getting this. If you haven't have the phone, you can opt for the plan which you can get the phone for 1499 only.

Smart plan RM 68 but bear in mind, this is for data usage only. Call, SMS, MMS and etc will be add on top of RM 68.

I use idigi plan wink.gif
icic.. thanks for ur feedback..

yes i aware of that, but mms not including in the smart plan? sweat.gif

basically i get the plan for data usage more then normal usage..
and they have 25% for calling.. smile.gif
kokifung
post Aug 23 2010, 09:28 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

guys,
wanna ask how many ppl using 8gb/ 16gb micro sd

planing to get one for my desire, but cant decided which wan to get.
help pls.. thanks alot.
kokifung
post Aug 23 2010, 09:37 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 23 2010, 09:35 PM)
i think quite a few of us got/getting Kingmax 8GB Class 10.  Mine is on the way in coming days.  smile.gif  Not much choices at the moment and Kingmax is the cheapest now.
thanks for ur input..
thinking of getting the 16 class 10, but not worth it..
so will get the 8g class 10... smile.gif

so took me some time to view this thread.. so many to learn from here... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
kokifung
post Aug 23 2010, 09:44 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 23 2010, 09:42 PM)
I ditch my 16gb class 4 for 8gb class 10. So what you think ? tongue.gif
16gb is too big seriously.
icic, i currently using 8gb also, had a rough time to fill things in also. but is touch pro la.. sweat.gif

so i was thinking that android can push more things into it.. thus more memory needed..
don't to wasted money to buy another card.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
kokifung
post Aug 30 2010, 11:19 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

hello guys,
i understand this following question is quite annoying for some of u ppl here,
but here goes..

- what shud u get 1st from the net once u get the desire 1st. ( i read few pages from the site i am totally lost)
- do u fine ppl straight away root ur desire?
- self root or seek for professional help? icon_question.gif
- i am soo lost.. dunno how to do with my desire now.. rclxub.gif
kokifung
post Sep 2 2010, 10:05 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

hi guys,

as previous post i stated i get my desire and waiting my free time.. as well my 8gb micro sd..

i finally get both, going to froyo now.. still way long to go, 7% as i post here..
my friend get positive response from froyo..

i still noob now.. getting more info from 1st page is taking lots of my time... LOL
kokifung
post Sep 2 2010, 10:44 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 2 2010, 10:17 PM)
Modaco r8 with launcher.
glossy white.
Got it straight from US case mate.
Be reminded you will lost root on FOTA FroYo
which means what lost root?

unsure.gif
kokifung
post Sep 3 2010, 10:23 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

hmm..
since my desire is empty.. (new)
can i just start doing this : http://smarty-money.blogspot.com/2010/07/g...-phone-new.html

just follow the step right?

then only start download the software i want right?
will it auto install the application into SC card or i have to setting..
kokifung
post Sep 3 2010, 10:50 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Sep 3 2010, 10:32 PM)
The link above is the rooting steps, which gives you super user access. You need to install custom ROM with A2SD+ feature only then you able to save apps into SD card.

Have you decided which custom ROM to use? If yes, go and download the zip file.
ya.. i understand..
1st i need root my desire
2nd put a rom.. but i still have not decide my rom doh.gif

what is radio in desire.. sweat.gif
kokifung
post Sep 4 2010, 07:24 AM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Sep 3 2010, 11:00 PM)
take steps slowly, trust me it would be fun and enjoying rooting and flashing custom rom until u can get addicted to it.. the radio flashing refers to the system config/driver of radio based hardware (wifi, gsm signal etc).. radio also affects batterylife shortly as getting a good signal would be more battery efficient compared to having a bad signal where your phone will try to boost up the reception thus increases power consumption. Take extra note on radio flashing as it is very vital and could brick your device if u flashed a corrupted radio.

My advice is that you try to flash a rom 1st and when you are comfortable and getting along well, then try to flash the radio afterward so things wont go wrong.. and always DO A NANDROID backup.. nandroid can be done via custom recovery. Open up the the big book of android by reading as many as u can and searching for knowledge to become an android power user  icon_rolleyes.gif
icic..
well.. frankly speaking
i still afraid to do so many thing to my phone since i have not touch any rooting, flashing, radio anything be4..
normal reaction towards a new owner to the phone or newbie about it?? laugh.gif
hopefully i will be one android power user

about the biggg book.. where can get 1? smile.gif

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Sep 3 2010, 11:06 PM)
err..you have the SLCD version?
if yes then then steps will be bit different
no.. i got a amoled version brows.gif brows.gif drool.gif
kokifung
post Sep 4 2010, 09:30 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

hmm..
i think i just rooted my phone.. LOL
then next step is to select a rom right?

be4 that, i think i mess up with my keyboard..
now very small.. where to download back?
kokifung
post Sep 5 2010, 07:02 AM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(pianrasa @ Sep 5 2010, 06:15 AM)
hi...

a noob over here.. have a question to ask regarding 3G connection to all u sifus.. maybe u can help me out..

i have been using my Desire (Maxis set, unrooted, running froyo) for almost two weeks without a hitch... yesterday however i couldn't connect to Maxis 3G any longer in places where there's coverage. it will try to connect a few times but in the end a 'connection failed' was shown.

these are the methods i've tried to rectify the situation..
1. keyed in the APN setting manually (taken from this thread)
2. rebooting the Desire
3. switching Airplane mode on and off

* network mode in set to GSM/WCDMA auto

maybe there's already a solution that had been discuss but i couldn't find it or missed it in this thread and the threads before.

will really appreciate it if anyone can help me out.. thanks..
have u done the setting at wireless and network? unsure.gif
check the mobile internet?

guys.. any chances of my keyboard here? icon_question.gif
kokifung
post Sep 5 2010, 09:59 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

as my previous question, after rooted my desire, my keyboard turn into small mini keyboard.. pls help me.. stuck here..

then which recommended rom similar to 2.2 and have sense UI
kokifung
post Sep 5 2010, 10:50 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Sep 5 2010, 10:05 PM)
the first question i dunno the answer but I recommend AuraxTSense for custom rom.  It may solve your first problem too.  icon_idea.gif

Link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=742371
wah, my download super slow.. zzz..

btw, newbie here..cant really understand the following..

Installation:

-Enter to recovery, do a Wipe Factory reset, Wipe Cache, Wipe Dalvik, format/wipe partition Ext2, 3 or 4.
-Flash my ROM (If you have already last Radio you only have to install the rom Without Radio, and if not, install With Radio or separately).
-Flash new radio
-Run rom (First time takes some time to run)

what is the BOLD item?? wub.gif wub.gif
kokifung
post Sep 5 2010, 11:33 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Sep 5 2010, 11:27 PM)
I posted this some pages back.  smile.gif  Turn off your phone.  Then press Vol Down and Power button together, then it will boot into Recovery mode.
icic.. now start to understand..
thanks alot..

internet really slow la.. tomoro will continue.. LOL sweat.gif

kokifung
post Sep 6 2010, 01:17 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

i am so speechless as i just download the 7.4 version..
zzz
so fast.. or i just too late?
LOL
kokifung
post Sep 7 2010, 12:12 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Sep 7 2010, 07:15 AM)
AuraxTSense 7.6.1:

* Undervolting 998mhz-1000mV.....245-1000mV (thanks to iscaela) modded by me
    * Zipaligned
    * Updated Wpa_Suplicant
    * Changed Facebook (thanks to MasDroid)
    * Disabled all sounds Camera
    * Revised GPS
    * Revised Wifi Hotspot
    * Improve sysctl value
    * Modded media profiles for recording 720p.
    * Reboot option added to power menu (thanks to snq-)

damn fast la this dude.. ==" His updates seems like never slowing down
maybe he means stock app as in the forex application/widget i guess, not the stock which refers to default/original
zzz.. yesterday only finish download the rom..
sweat.gif

btw, in recovery mode, i shud perform a nandroid backup, then wipe cache,
but i cant find the partition SD

where shud i look for it?

i cant create ext 2,3,4..

pls help.. super newbie... cry.gif
kokifung
post Sep 7 2010, 12:18 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Sep 7 2010, 12:14 PM)
did you do the Unrevoked with Amon_RA?
i not sure, i send my desire to my friend shop do,
have superpermision and rom manager.
kokifung
post Sep 7 2010, 05:30 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Sep 7 2010, 01:51 PM)
i too wanna learn circular battery mod thingy ~ anyone can share the experience of it ?? 
What radio version u're using now ? i'm using radio 32.47.00.32U_5.10.05.23
it works fine with accessing the market..
[ps: i'm using auraxtsense 7.4 thou]
If you want to know whether yours one got Amon_ra or not..
boot into the recovery.. then see if there's partition SD or not.. if doesn't have that option.. i think yours one is not in Amon_ra
if thats the case, you can do partition using Rom Manager.. just download from market..

well.. rom manager i have, but how to use it?
partition SD card
then 512mb, ok.. shud swap ? how much?

or shud i root again with amon_ra ? unsure.gif

0.0402sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:27 AM