Credit Card v11

Shinichi
post Aug 19 2010, 12:58 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, for OCBC Titanium if we auto debit insurance bill, we get 5% or 1%? The MCC thingy is not consumer friendly...

Added on August 19, 2010, 1:01 am
QUOTE(jonuslee @ Aug 19 2010, 12:21 AM)
The OCBC titanium from 2011 onwards, the maximum capped at only RM50. Meaning that the only maximum rebate per month is only RM50?
Yes, 1 month RM50 is enough to off set RM50 tax... tongue.gif

OCBC consider as international bank?

Added on August 19, 2010, 1:08 amFrom here:
http://www.ocbccards.com.my/AnnualUsageBon...aqCoreCard.aspx

12x swipe per year for annual fee waiver do not include auto debit like phone bill payment or insurance? And how do we define "Any swipe transactions"?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Aug 19 2010, 01:08 AM
Shinichi
post Aug 19 2010, 11:49 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Thanks all for feedback... going to submit my form tomorrow... I asked the CS, minimum credit limit for existing card at least need 6k to qualify for OCBC Titanium...

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 19 2010, 01:25 AM)
Probably only those over the counter transactions which require you to sign on the receipt will be taken into account.
QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Aug 19 2010, 08:51 AM)
Insurance doesn't entitle for 5% rebate, because it is a premium, not utility, so it falls under 1% rebate.
1% is still better than no rebate... at least I can use it to pay my insurance which my Amex Gold CC could not do...

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 19 2010, 01:36 AM)
Easy.
It means transaction that needs to have your card swiped at the merchant's card terminal.
Seems like petrol transactions are not counted... but at least dining and grocery are eligible for 5% and counted as 1 swipe...
Shinichi
post Aug 20 2010, 12:20 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 20 2010, 12:17 AM)
Don't worry too much.
As long the annual fee waiver is on the condition of swipe counts, not spending amount, it's not too hard to get.
Thanks smile.gif

We can pay OCBC credit card via M2U or CIMB IBG right?
Shinichi
post Aug 25 2010, 12:15 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

For those who applied OCBC Titanium online, may I know which number did the agent ask you to fax your documents?
Shinichi
post Aug 26 2010, 02:13 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 25 2010, 09:29 AM)
You should fax all documents to 20727411.
To check OCBC Titanium application status, you can call 1-300-88-5000.
Hmmm, but the agent that called me to fax my application to 03-27111098... I wonder if this number belong to OCBC...
Gonna call 1300 tomorrow to verify my application...
Shinichi
post Aug 26 2010, 02:15 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 25 2010, 04:11 AM)
Previously I scanned and e-mail to someone from OCBC, Johnson. You can PM me for his e-mail if you want to send by e-mail.
I'm now starting to worry I might be conned for my application form...
Shinichi
post Sep 1 2010, 10:56 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

I got sms from OCBC asking me to submit my 3 months payslip or credit card, but not Amex... anyone got this too?
I applied using my Amex Gold CC but don't think they accept Amex?
Shinichi
post Sep 1 2010, 11:04 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 1 2010, 10:57 PM)
Why not? AMEX Gold CC is also a credit card.
But I'm curious why they state in their sms saying "please submit document 1. latest 3 mths payslips or copy of credit card (not american express)"?
I called their helpline to check my status is "pending document"...

Shinichi
post Sep 1 2010, 11:37 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 1 2010, 11:25 PM)
OCBC seem to be too 'stringent' to give out their CC....
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 1 2010, 11:33 PM)
I'll ask them, "Take it or leave it". It refers to AMEX CC statement. tongue.gif
Seems like I don't have choice... should I just ignore this or call them and ask them to accept my Amex CC copy...
Shinichi
post Sep 2 2010, 11:09 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 1 2010, 11:58 PM)
Is the AMEX CC less than a year old?
Just reached 1 year now... not sure if this is the reason.
But they only tell me submit CC copy but not Amex...

QUOTE(underpressure @ Sep 2 2010, 12:26 AM)
I could be wrong, but could it be that AMEX is a charge card and not a credit card? So they take it that you do not have any existing limit therefore they treat it as a new credit application?
Mine is Amex Gold CC. Not sure if they treat all Amex as charge card...

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 2 2010, 10:16 AM)
It seem that OCBC cannot check the Credit Limit of existing AMEX CC...
I hope this is not true... cause my Amex Gold CC is the only way I can apply for OCBC Titanium... else I'm out of luck sad.gif
Shinichi
post Sep 4 2010, 08:53 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 2 2010, 11:19 PM)
Can always apply with standard documents....
OCBC Titanium requirements is either minimum 36k p.a. income or minimum 6k credit limit for existing card.

I only have the latter. sad.gif

Shinichi
post Sep 4 2010, 09:11 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 4 2010, 08:55 PM)
Still confusing why my titanium application failed...
Perhaps you may give them a call?

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 4 2010, 09:06 PM)
As long as you did not reveal your real annual income (by attaching payslip/tax form), you can always bluff one.
The main concern is your existing card's credit limit and credit record.
since they do not accept my amex gold cc, I do not have other credit card can be used.
I only left with 2 options, give them a call or submit my payslip for application.

For 36k annual income requirement, do they only look at basic salary without OT and bonuses?
Shinichi
post Sep 9 2010, 01:38 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

My story for OCBC Titanium application:

Wed 25/8 - Submitted my application and docs via fax
Thu 26/8 - received call from agent telling me my doc not clear so need resend
Fri 27/8 - resubmitted my application form
Wed 1/9 - received sms from OCBC saying my amex cc cannot be processed bcoz they thought its a charge card, checked status is pending document
Mon 6/9 - called OCBC telling them my amex is credit card with credit limit, asked them to recheck
Wed 8/9 - waited 1 day and not receive any call from OCBC, called helpline in the morning to check status again, status is under processing. then later around 8pm i called helpline again to check status and its approved...

not sure how long i need to wait to get the card...

but luckily they able to accept my amex gold cc after i called them...
Shinichi
post Sep 19 2010, 01:14 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

I received first statement for my OCBC Titanium with RM50 GST charged. But funny thing is I still haven't receive the card... sweat.gif
Shinichi
post Sep 19 2010, 01:24 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 19 2010, 01:18 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Call the CS, haha....
why not the bank use post laju, dhl,fedex....
Will call tomorrow then...

Anyway, has anyone registered online account for OCBC Titanium? We need to call CS to get the pin or from OCBC ATM/Branch?
Shinichi
post Sep 19 2010, 01:33 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 19 2010, 01:28 PM)
was told pin via mail will take time. i got my pin @ the branch when i collected my card.
Probably will need to call CS and ask about the pin, which option to get it faster.
Shinichi
post Sep 19 2010, 11:12 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

My yet to receive OCBC titanium card has CL of 5k only... lower than my Amex Gold... lol
Shinichi
post Sep 19 2010, 11:23 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 19 2010, 11:16 PM)
What ? Very low indeed. But at least you get the card lah  thumbup.gif
Yeah, its low, but enough for me since I'm not a big spender. I use CC for convenience and cash back. smile.gif

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 19 2010, 11:19 PM)
enough la. max cashback is for rm5k only. if 5% only rm1k, after 0% interest I also want to reduce my credit limit
Agree with you, since starting next year the max rebate per card is RM50 per month... I don't think i able to spend that much per month too...
Shinichi
post Sep 19 2010, 11:55 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 19 2010, 11:52 PM)
You get to create your own PIN at any OCBC branch.. it's the fastest method instead of waiting for snail mail.

I received a letter stating my OCBC card has been approved....so much later than the arrival of the actual card itself.
That means I'll need to head over to OCBC branch to create my pin after I get the card right?

Shinichi
post Sep 20 2010, 11:03 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Finally received my OCBC Titanium card and card approval mail today.
Gonna go to their branch to request for pin...

0.0616sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:09 PM