Credit Card v11

hye
post Oct 8 2010, 10:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(thinakarant @ Oct 8 2010, 10:23 PM)
The rate is provided by mastercard / visa and not by the bank. Therefore, I believe your comment is not valid. Unless you mean they charge this as an additional charge to your expenditure?
You need to follow the thread more. Yes ... rate is provided by MC/VISA Intl but in the end the bank uses it's own interbank charges. Several posts back a forummer use several card to swipe at the same place, at the same time and with the same amount and the end result ? Not the same ... there's a difference in the rate use. (Both charges the same admin fee on top)

Bear in mind different bank will apply additional admin charges on top ... all of them do but EON and AMEX are among the highest. Perhaps you would like to review your comment again ? (Check all your cc statement for the additional info at the back) I believe bro MilesAndMore knows what he is saying.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 8 2010, 10:39 PM
hye
post Oct 9 2010, 05:37 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Oct 9 2010, 05:06 PM)
Walao, that means i have to pay for it ?
Bro ... they will ask you did you provide (intentionally or not) the CVV information. I'm a regular online purchaser and I know you will need the CVV information in most cases.
You have to be truthful when making the police report and this will uncover the information that you provide the back side of the card. Bank may fault you ... that's why we say good luck.
hye
post Oct 9 2010, 09:50 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 9 2010, 09:29 PM)
Too bad. Majority of Malaysians are still strictly cash people. Besides, i think CIMB Bank has not promoted the Paypass feature well. Something they can definitely learn from Commonwealth Bank on how to create public awareness on such feature that can cut down on the queue. After all there are many CIMB Bank card holders yet there is literally nobody knows how to use it. Sometimes not even the cashier knows how to operate it. What a shame !
IMHO, one the major reason for the failure of the system is that the KFC desktop/cashier is not designed to accommodate cc payment. Next would be the cashier inadequate training to handle the terminals. They are so hard pressed to clear the customer that they will rush you to pay cash.

If they display the 10% discount at the KFC visibly then I think everyone will pressure the cashier to use cc.
hye
post Oct 9 2010, 11:05 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Guys let's avoid making speculations about the GST before the actual budget announcement next week. Lots of readers here are not too good about digesting info on GST.

Even now they think without activating card can get away with GST. And people even believe rumors of GST cancellation are to be real.

Whatever it is ... wait till the real announcement. It's just another 6 days.
hye
post Oct 9 2010, 11:24 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Oct 9 2010, 11:22 PM)
Maybe can suggest posting useful and accurate information on GST at the first page? The current thumbnail image cannot be enlarged and not much information. So people will not need to ask over and over again?
May help but more helpful not to talk about GST for now.
NOBODY bothers to read the 1st post thus you always see lots of guys asking repeat boring questions. They will get the answer if they read the 1st post. Often their excuse is "Too lazy to read".

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 9 2010, 11:25 PM
hye
post Oct 10 2010, 01:50 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@EdwinTan

Next year info on government tax is still heresay. Appreciate if you remove anything that is not confirmed as a lot of readers use this thread as reference or your post will be reported.

P/S Appreciate if the threads are kept clean of all these government tax heresay until the official budget info in announced next week.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 10 2010, 01:53 PM
hye
post Oct 10 2010, 05:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(EdwinTan @ Oct 10 2010, 03:14 PM)
Sorry, this thread not allow ppl to ask questions? I said that because on friday nite while having dinner at ming tian taman megah, a citibank gal approach me selling citibank platinium to me and she told me this. I just asking as I not really sure about this too.
You are free to ask questions but the problem is that the way you stated the government tax info can lead to a misunderstanding to the readers here. Here we talk about personal finance and we want to be responsible for the info.

Just think ... what if the next 10 readers who come in here believe your heresay to be true ? And this spreading pattern continues ... see we have a situation now. What bro @MilesAndMore said is true ... card agents will say anything to make you sign up and we have seen problems related to this as well.

Added on October 10, 2010, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(rayfoo @ Oct 10 2010, 05:23 PM)
how many days it takes during 'processing your application' for ocbc titanium did u guys wait till get result?
Mine took about 3 weeks and I think generally the approval time would be 3-4 weeks. Guess the popularity of the card is high right now.
BTW, I submitted my application directly @ the main branch in KL.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 10 2010, 05:45 PM
hye
post Oct 10 2010, 09:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(LangBuanas @ Oct 10 2010, 08:34 PM)
hai...got some problem...i got my statement but had 1 transaction which i strongly believe not made by me (transaction at kota damansara, i'm at JB). hmm.gif
i contacted the bank and they send me a copy of merchant's sale receipt with my signature... rclxub.gif
They will send the transaction receipt and ask you to check whether it is your signature or not. (And they will cross check with the signature on record)
This is not free ... some charges apply. If you are not in the wrong then it will not be charged to you, if it is yours then you are liable for the charges.

Better if you got proof to say you are not there.
Note : the EMV cc that you are holding require the physical presence of the card for the transaction to occur. (Except it is internet transaction)
hye
post Oct 11 2010, 10:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(rockdaman @ Oct 11 2010, 10:32 AM)
after 2 weeks there is no respond from ocbc yet.

what is the credit limit for titanium? would it be possible to more than 20k credit limit?

i just got citibank platinum cashback by using my hsbc premier card and they gave me 36k credit limit.
A forummer got it within 10 days and myself around 3 weeks. Generally waiting time is between 1-4 weeks.
OCBC is known to be tight on it's risk management policy so don't expect them to be too generous with CL. Don't forget you need to factor in your total credit exposure. Based on what you mentioned ... you have a total unsecured credit of RM72K based on your 2 cards.

Whether you will get RM20K, it depends.

Added on October 11, 2010, 10:56 am
QUOTE(CyberianHusky @ Oct 11 2010, 10:51 AM)
But already came statement ask me to pay RM50.

Do I need to pay it if I do not want to pick up or just cancel the card ?
We have repeatedly answered such questions .... government tax is immediately payable the moment the card is approved. If you cancel the card immediately, you are still liable to pay for the tax. Non-waiverable.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 11 2010, 10:56 AM
hye
post Oct 11 2010, 02:18 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Oct 11 2010, 01:02 PM)
Well, its not maybe they will just blackmark you in CRIS .....  its a definite as all unpaid transactions will be flagged  sad.gif

But on the bright side, its not forever, as after 6 months, they will probably write off the debt, which means, its just a total of 2.5 years before your CRIS is clean once again  thumbup.gif
Bro ... please give a re-thought to your statement. CCRIS is not the only system used as reference. (Or are you using negative psychology)
I kenna before and it isn't even my fault as my friend is the defaulter. (Personal loan) Myself too got banned from getting any loan, etc from any banks. It was an unpleasant period to deal with. I had to pay off the loan to clean my own name.
hye
post Oct 11 2010, 04:54 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Oct 11 2010, 04:21 PM)
today i report to CTB rgd my card unauthorizes transaction, their only ask me to fill up distupe form, their office will investigate, but my action faster then them, ard check the transaction with their HQ where transaction make with Apple store shipping to KL and rcv by one person name Rakmal. And just few day ago. Their can take immediate action, why waste time to check this check that. I'm the victim stand in front of them. ShXT !!  But so curious, why the scamer can use my name to registry apple ID? But he use differ email. BTW, shall i rpt to police?
Yes ... please make a police report. If it is a confirmed fraud then it's a criminal act already but as long as you don't make a police report then your claim does not have any legal basis. (You can't even start a legal procedure) The longer you wait, the lower your own chances will be.

I don't understand why you are even contemplating making a police report or not.
hye
post Oct 12 2010, 09:51 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Oct 12 2010, 09:48 AM)
the OCBC titanium mentioned that your yearly total salary have to be at least rm 36000. if lesser than that or i just got increment above that amount, can apply?
If lesser ... your chances of approval is extremely low. If you got increment, can try.
OCBC is not one of the easy bank which will let you get away if you don't meet the income requirement. Good luck!
hye
post Oct 12 2010, 10:35 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Oct 12 2010, 10:04 AM)
haha.. if i just got increment this month, then can still apply?
They will ask for 3 month salary slip. Like I said, you may try and approval is up to their discretion.
Salary/income eligibility is not the only angle they will look at. Your financial history/risk levels play a role too.
hye
post Oct 12 2010, 02:03 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(kohvivian @ Oct 12 2010, 01:58 PM)
is StanChard giving the new square small ipod shuffle or the old model that is in rectangular shape in the previous contest? How much does it worth now?
Old model. Does it matter how much it cost ? It is free anyway, no complaints.
If you want to check price don't be lazy, check Apple store ... this is a cc thread not iPod Shuffle price check thread.
hye
post Oct 12 2010, 03:56 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(TeRr3nCe @ Oct 12 2010, 03:36 PM)
Hey guys. do you all ever heard BASISNET before? It is doing credit reporting agency and I found the website at www.basisnet.com.my .
It does credit reporting on Companies/Corporates. Nothing to do with individual credit evaluation or reporting.
So ... what are you trying to convey ?
hye
post Oct 12 2010, 06:19 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Oct 12 2010, 05:56 PM)
As I mentioned in my previous posts, old models should be out of stock. I received the latest iPod shuffle for July contest but those guys who got it earlier, are the old models.
Old models should be more expensive because of the special earphone with integrated volume and playback control. However, new models are more convenient and you can easily replace 3rd party earphone if it is broken.
I think everyone will get the latest iPod shuffle for Aug contest.
I take my statement back. Anyway ... I haven't received my letter to collect the iPod.
I'm still happy to receive the freebie although I has questions on how they ran the contest.
hye
post Oct 13 2010, 02:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Oct 13 2010, 01:12 PM)
Can I know which telco network you are on? I am with Maxis and I have never received any such calls although I get tons of spam from clubs regarding their special promos on drinks. Maybe one or more of the telcos had a breach in security and leaked out their customer's numbers.
Leak does not necessarily come from the telcos.
It is basically someone sold the contact information to a 3rd party. Sometimes the contact are also being passed around between these people and that explains why sometimes their "information" about your credit card is rather outdated.

Malaysia does not have a law to prohibit selling of your private information to a 3rd party. If this happens somewhere else then sure kenna one.
hye
post Oct 13 2010, 04:14 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Oct 13 2010, 04:05 PM)
one master and one visa ? u only can cancel the card after 6 months
If SCB really practice this policy then it is very strange.
You can cancel the card anytime ... the reason why people say it is 6 months it is because to allow the agent to earn the commission.

hye
post Oct 13 2010, 05:38 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 13 2010, 05:12 PM)
my friend applied for maybank world mastercard yesterday at 2pm and today at 3 pm they couriered his card to his office! talk about being super efficient! he just submit copy of his ic and cimb world mastercard.
Yeah ... they better be! This is the premium card in their entire cc offerings. And not to mention the RM1K (at least) AF they stand to collect per every customer on this card.
hye
post Oct 13 2010, 08:35 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Guys ... we went past the required posts for a new thread right ?

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 13 2010, 09:53 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0456sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:04 AM