post Sep 5 2010, 01:59 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

ello
pinjam thread

I'm looking into Triton Lite or Triton Standard
Will load up few hundred kgs of goods sometime,
mostly on road drive.

my loading is not so frequent also la. around around 10days in a month will be loaded up to that weight and space.

Shd go for Lite or Standard?

Alikato
TSwepwep
post Sep 8 2010, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(victor87 @ Aug 26 2010, 05:07 PM)
Yes, DMAX is very very very bumpy for my ass in the rear seat. Even going over bumper on 15kph, it's still very bumpy. (at least for me)

Triton is so far the best for least bumpy pickup truck.

Those are not electronic board thingy, those are commonrail tuning box. They're use to tune the common rail by over writting/control over the common rail sensors to inject more fuel accurately & sufficiently for giving better FC and power.. Doesn't did any damage to the ECU and can be revert back to original once u unplug the tuning box.

Hitting 185km/h with my stock 4x2 3.0 DMAX is no problem, but any mistakes you're gone case ! tongue.gif
can i know mistake you said is referring to what sort of mistake??and gone case meaning engine will spoil??

QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 5 2010, 01:59 PM)
ello
pinjam thread

mostly on road drive.

my loading is not so frequent also la. around around 10days in a month will be loaded up to that weight and space.

Alikato
if you are just doing some carrying stuff here and there no off road and don't seek for power, lite will do the job..
acbc
post Sep 8 2010, 05:48 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Aug 26 2010, 12:32 PM)
wow..thanks for your review on the Triton..really helpful to me..i'm looking for manual unit..so the price will be around 65k to 69k for 3 years old car..

how did you increase the power from 136hp to 160hp??you add those electronic board thingy ah??will that like kinda damage your car engine??

about the engine, you mean the build is from the 2.5 mitsubishi lorries and they have enhance here and there a bit also adding in the commonrail ah??
Increasing the power is merely a 5 mins job of installing the interceptor between the common rail sensor and ECU. And nah, it won't kill the truck for as long u service regularly. Remember, diesel engines are build tough unlike their petrol counterpart. Only think u have to worry is the turbo and electronics.

The basic 4D56 block remain the same from many generations. Only the head is different. In fact, u can take the head from a Triton and install onto a Mitsubishi lorry (can't recall which model) together with the electronics and she will fire up nicely. Now, due to the commercial nature of lorries, u can't modify it and expect Puspakom to approve it.

Added on September 8, 2010, 5:56 pm
ello
pinjam thread

mostly on road drive.

Alikato
The Standard comes with manual gearbox and less accessories only.

The Lite is a waste of time. First, it has no turbo and not even an tachometer. Plus, road tax for Lite and Standard are the same. So, what is the point?

Brand new Lite is around RM 61k but 2nd hand 2007 full-spec manual is around RM 65k (if u look harder).

The only good point for Lite is that it can use rims from Evo and Airtrek (5 lug, PCD 114.3). With no turbo, u better not add heavy canopy or boot lid otherwise the FC will increase and u end up with a slow truck.

This post has been edited by acbc: Sep 8 2010, 05:56 PM
storm88
post Sep 13 2010, 11:23 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 8 2010, 06:48 PM)
Increasing the power is merely a 5 mins job of installing the interceptor between the common rail sensor and ECU. And nah, it won't kill the truck for as long u service regularly. Remember, diesel engines are build tough unlike their petrol counterpart. Only think u have to worry is the turbo and electronics.

The basic 4D56 block remain the same from many generations. Only the head is different. In fact, u can take the head from a Triton and install onto a Mitsubishi lorry (can't recall which model) together with the electronics and she will fire up nicely. Now, due to the commercial nature of lorries, u can't modify it and expect Puspakom to approve it.

Added on September 8, 2010, 5:56 pm

The Standard comes with manual gearbox and less accessories only.

The Lite is a waste of time. First, it has no turbo and not even an tachometer. Plus, road tax for Lite and Standard are the same. So, what is the point?

Brand new Lite is around RM 61k but 2nd hand 2007 full-spec manual is around RM 65k (if u look harder).

The only good point for Lite is that it can use rims from Evo and Airtrek (5 lug, PCD 114.3). With no turbo, u better not add heavy canopy or boot lid otherwise the FC will increase and u end up with a slow truck.
i ever though of getting an second hand triton
but a friend of mine who worked in garage told me :
"japanese car owner who usually sell their car in less than 3 years are either:
"Bang-ed their car" or
"earned alot of $ and wnated to change better one"
he said the second one normally is very rare while the first one, which can be seen almost every second hand car reseller.

acbc
post Sep 13 2010, 12:45 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 13 2010, 11:23 AM)
i ever though of getting an second hand triton
but a friend of mine who worked in garage told me :
"japanese car owner who usually sell their car in less than 3 years are either:
"Bang-ed their car" or
"earned alot of $ and wnated to change better one"
he said the second one normally is very rare while the first one, which can be seen almost every second hand car reseller.
For Triton, different case as many only use on roads rather than off road. So, buying one used is OK. Remember to check the turbo for signs of leakage or tilting body. Accident on Triton is easy to spot so don't worry. Remember, a truck is using ladder chassis and everything is replaceable.
TSwepwep
post Sep 15 2010, 07:18 PM

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 13 2010, 12:45 PM)
For Triton, different case as many only use on roads rather than off road. So, buying one used is OK. Remember to check the turbo for signs of leakage or tilting body. Accident on Triton is easy to spot so don't worry. Remember, a truck is using ladder chassis and everything is replaceable.
can i ask..how to check the signs of turbo leakage??can be seen??or must drive for very long time only can notice this problem??
ahsam1212
post Sep 16 2010, 02:26 AM

178 posts

Disconnect the rubber hose at turbo intake, see if there's any oil stain there. If there's oil, it's leaking.

Turbo will leak after certain time or mileage.

Of course, since u can choose, choose the best possible.
acbc
post Sep 17 2010, 01:09 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Sep 15 2010, 07:18 PM)
can i ask..how to check the signs of turbo leakage??can be seen??or must drive for very long time only can notice this problem??
Quite simple. Look out for turbo intake hose, if it is dirty and oily, it is leaking.
TSwepwep
post Sep 21 2010, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Sep 16 2010, 02:26 AM)
Disconnect the rubber hose at turbo intake, see if there's any oil stain there. If there's oil, it's leaking.

Turbo will leak after certain time or mileage.

Of course, since u can choose, choose the best possible.
QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 17 2010, 01:09 PM)
Quite simple. Look out for turbo intake hose, if it is dirty and oily, it is leaking.
meaning the hose need to be clean and not oily inside out huh?

so what if the hose inside out is oily or dirty, but they change the new hose with that old hose..consider problem solved or not? or need to change the whole turbo thingy?

so sorry if i ask silly question..didn't encounter any turbo stuff in my life..
storm88
post Sep 26 2010, 10:07 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 13 2010, 01:45 PM)
thanks for the info

test drived the Triton Lite, and felt the power is so far acceptable
Bank loan approved one day after submited the document, and now waiting for the rest
Vervain
post Sep 27 2010, 01:58 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Oily on the hose indicates the seal for turbo is faulty and your lub oil is sipping into the intake. Another indication Which you can observe is on the exhaust.
TSwepwep
post Sep 27 2010, 02:03 PM

how to see the exhaust?? i'm seriously dumb in terms of looking at this turbo thingy
sengasdf
post Sep 27 2010, 02:23 PM

492 posts

Owned a triton 2.5A/T in my family. Had test drive both M/T and A/T, A/T feels more powerful than M/T... I have no idea why. This truck is meant for on-road purpose + makan angin, comfort is good as rear cabin has a good design, not straight like hilux or narvara. Fitted in 22'inch and still can accelerate fast tongue.gif
TSwepwep
post Sep 28 2010, 10:41 AM

blink.gif auto feels more powerful than manual?? sure or not??
GamersFamilia
post Oct 14 2010, 08:00 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,888 posts

ello
pinjam thread

mostly on road drive.

Alikato
go for triton standard , you will feel the power of the turbo + can offroad + can load things at the back...btw im a triton 2010 model ( 2.5 turbo ) owner thumbup.gif
acbc
post Oct 14 2010, 08:20 AM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Sep 28 2010, 10:41 AM)
Feels powerful after 2200 rpm yes. Below that, manual will cream the sucker.

Added on October 14, 2010, 8:22 am
QUOTE(sengasdf @ Sep 27 2010, 02:23 PM)
Owned a triton 2.5A/T in my family. Had test drive both M/T and A/T, A/T feels more powerful than M/T... I have no idea why. This truck is meant for on-road purpose + makan angin, comfort is good as rear cabin has a good design, not straight like hilux or narvara. Fitted in 22'inch and still can accelerate fast  tongue.gif
Remember to add a common rail interceptor to increase hp from 136 to 160 or more depending on budget.

I'm using one for my '07 auto. Wheel spin on L at stand still. Hehe... scare all those Wiralutions away from my truck.

This post has been edited by acbc: Oct 14 2010, 08:22 AM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 14 2010, 08:26 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,888 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Sep 28 2010, 10:41 AM)
i owned triton 2.5 turbo automatic , in terms of power fantastic ! but i dont have any chance to test the manual version yet

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0216sec    1.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:49 AM