4WD - Ranger vs Frontier vs D-Max (add in Triton), Budget RM60k++ max

TSwepwep
post Aug 18 2010, 12:41 PM, updated 16y ago

hi guys,

i'm planning to get a 2nd hand 4wd. mainly for city driving sometimes will be on harsh road driving too. so far i survey so many 4wd, i think hilux and triton will be out from my list due to the price is above 60k.

so i need to know all about the 3 models pro's and con's

so i need to know what are the stuff that i need to keep an eye for a 4WD cause i'm 1st timer for 4WD vehicles. is their maintenance high?

some very basic stuff i know is:

ford ranger (new model)
comes with commonrail, which have better f.c
if i not mistaken, the power of this car is kinda amazing.

frontier
not very sure anything about this model. but read some reviews over here saying that this car is good. but i want to know what sort of tech. they are using for their engine. cause if i not mistaken. commonrail is kinda basic tech. in hilux and triton..even D-Max 3.0

D-Max 2.5
only the look is 4WD, but actually is 2WD. good FC, power not sure got or not. using timing chain.

Triton 4WD(please don't ask me get the Lite)
i need more feedback on this car..read some of the feedback over here..some claim to have big interior space, some said suspension kinda lousy..need more feedback

hope you guys will be able to provide as much info.

thanks in advance.

edited..adding triton into my list since i've glans through at mudah.my, 2nd triton around 3 years old cost around 65k above..i might consider to put triton in my buying list as well..

This post has been edited by wepwep: Aug 24 2010, 12:52 PM
bingozero
post Aug 18 2010, 12:45 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Aug 18 2010, 12:41 PM)
hi guys,

i'm planning to get a 2nd hand 4wd. mainly for city driving sometimes will be on harsh road driving too. so far i survey so many 4wd, i think hilux and triton will be out from my list due to the price is above 60k.

so i need to know all about the 3 models pro's and con's

so i need to know what are the stuff that i need to keep an eye for a 4WD cause i'm 1st timer for 4WD vehicles. is their maintenance high?

some very basic stuff i know is:

ford ranger (new model)
comes with commonrail, which have better f.c
if i not mistaken, the power of this car is kinda amazing.

frontier
not very sure anything about this model. but read some reviews over here saying that this car is good. but i want to know what sort of tech. they are using for their engine. cause if i not mistaken. commonrail is kinda basic tech. in hilux and triton..even D-Max 3.0

D-Max 2.5
only the look is 4WD, but actually is 2WD. good FC, power not sure got or not. using timing chain.

hope you guys will be able to provide as much info.
thanks in advance.
Trition lite is about RM60K
http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/showro...lite-prices.php
TSwepwep
post Aug 18 2010, 12:50 PM

forget to mention that triton lite is totally out from my list..if i would get triton lite, i rather go for D-Max
hkh_88
post Aug 18 2010, 12:59 PM

315 posts

New Ford ranger : Kinda good power, but the rear seat is cramp. The ride is abit bumpy for me. FC not sure. But sure above 60k for the new model.

Nissan Frontier : Very powerful, Not commonrail, Interior plastic not so good quality. FC 6xx+- per full tank. Price 4xk to 5xk for 2nd hand.

Isuzu D-max 2.5 : Timing Gear engine which will last u forever. Very good FC, Mine city drive full tank can reach 870kms. Underpower and no 4WD.

Been test out all the ride above as my friend own both and i own an Isuzu D-max 2.5.

Added on August 18, 2010, 1:00 pm
QUOTE(wepwep @ Aug 18 2010, 12:50 PM)
forget to mention that triton lite is totally out from my list..if i would get triton lite, i rather go for D-Max
i have the same thinking before i bought my d-max. At first i tot to take the triton lite. But end up with d-max 2.5L.

This post has been edited by hkh_88: Aug 18 2010, 01:00 PM
alpha0201
post Aug 18 2010, 01:01 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

i hate Frontier's back seat.
SUSahshuy
post Aug 18 2010, 01:06 PM

232 posts

D-max: as stated from above seriously underpowered, not suitable for heavy load/jungle trekking. Good FC , RM100 can last 900km++ depending ur driving style (possible achieve 1k km if u drive smoothly). Sparepart is... alittle bit of expensive, car itself is bumpy but still comfortable (rear passengers definitely suffer d most due to bumpy suspension)

if u opt for all rounded then better go for triton bro smile.gif
hkh_88
post Aug 18 2010, 01:08 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Aug 18 2010, 01:01 PM)
all model of Ts mention is same. biggrin.gif
TSwepwep
post Aug 18 2010, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Aug 18 2010, 12:59 PM)
New Ford ranger : Kinda good power, but the rear seat is cramp. The ride is abit bumpy for me. FC not sure. But sure above 60k for the new model.

Nissan Frontier : Very powerful, Not commonrail, Interior plastic not so good quality. FC 6xx+- per full tank. Price 4xk to 5xk for 2nd hand.

Isuzu D-max 2.5 : Timing Gear engine which will last u forever. Very good FC, Mine city drive full tank can reach 870kms. Underpower and no 4WD.

Been test out all the ride above as my friend own both and i own an Isuzu D-max 2.5.

Added on August 18, 2010, 1:00 pm

i have the same thinking before i bought my d-max. At first i tot to take the triton lite. But end up with d-max 2.5L.
well, i have spot this lonely ranger at mudah for 1 month+. 07 made, with the canopy. best part is manual, which is what i'm totally looking for. but base on the 07 model, i think this might be the 1st batch of this new model ranger. what i'm afraid is if there is screw ups, this is the 1st batch which the screw ups will be damn serious case. if not this 1st batch is kinda better quality compare with the 2nd batch. which i have no idea.

here check this out
http://www.mudah.my/Ford+Ranger+TDCI+Commo...+07-6870541.htm

some photo

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Aug 18 2010, 01:01 PM)
any reason why? i visited and kinda look see look see ford ranger, the back seat is kinda cramp, but again i'm getting this car for my usage. not to make other comfortable. all i need is that the car serve me well.

in terms of parts, accessories, maintenance & etc

QUOTE(ahshuy @ Aug 18 2010, 01:06 PM)
D-max: as stated from above seriously underpowered, not suitable for heavy load/jungle trekking. Good FC , RM100 can last 900km++ depending ur driving style (possible achieve 1k km if u drive smoothly). Sparepart is...  alittle bit of expensive, car itself is bumpy but still comfortable (rear passengers definitely suffer d most due to bumpy suspension)

if u opt for all rounded then better go for triton bro  smile.gif
if you are saying D-Max is under power, meaning no pick up at all or the car totally no power even if there is a long up hill journey?
alpha0201
post Aug 18 2010, 01:30 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Aug 18 2010, 01:08 PM)
all model of Ts mention is same.  biggrin.gif
All Toyota's backseat are fine.

QUOTE(wepwep @ Aug 18 2010, 01:17 PM)
any reason why? i visited and kinda look see look see ford ranger, the back seat is kinda cramp, but again i'm getting this car for my usage. not to make other comfortable. all i need is that the car serve me well.
The legroom is fine in the Frontier but the floor is too high up when you seat in it its like squatting down like the old Isuzu Invader (Rodeo). Not good for after eating heavy meals & people with bad back.
siksa
post Aug 18 2010, 02:52 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

loan or cash???
TSwepwep
post Aug 18 2010, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Aug 18 2010, 01:08 PM)
all model of Ts mention is same.  biggrin.gif
well..i personally think that most of the 4wd back seat is kinda uncomfortable compare with a normal car.

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Aug 18 2010, 01:30 PM)
All Toyota's backseat are fine.
The legroom is fine in the Frontier but the floor is too high up when you seat in it its like squatting down like the old Isuzu Invader (Rodeo). Not good for after eating heavy meals & people with bad back.
i have no idea on Hilux seat cause i haven't get to look see look see that car yet.

also there is no point for me looking at Hilux cause the price is totally out of my budget. i'm looking at maximum 3 years old car with the price range around 60k++

Added on August 18, 2010, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(siksa @ Aug 18 2010, 02:52 PM)
loan or cash???
loan..any recommendation??

This post has been edited by wepwep: Aug 18 2010, 02:59 PM
alpha0201
post Aug 18 2010, 03:04 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Aug 18 2010, 02:54 PM)
well..i personally think that most of the 4wd back seat is kinda uncomfortable compare with a normal car.
i have no idea on Hilux seat cause i haven't get to look see look see that car yet.

also there is no point for me looking at Hilux cause the price is totally out of my budget. i'm looking at maximum 3 years old car with the price range around 60k++

Added on August 18, 2010, 2:59 pm
loan..any recommendation??
I'm not endorsing Toyota, I'm saying Frontier's back seat sucks.

Try sit in back seat of it then you'll understand the problem. Fortunately for Navara, they fix it.

Triton is the most comfortable of them all.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Aug 18 2010, 03:06 PM
TSwepwep
post Aug 18 2010, 03:08 PM

but all the one you mention price is super expensive leh..
alpha0201
post Aug 18 2010, 03:13 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Aug 18 2010, 03:08 PM)
but all the one you mention price is super expensive leh..
D-Max is not that bad.
SUSahshuy
post Aug 18 2010, 03:14 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(wepwep @ Aug 18 2010, 01:17 PM)
if you are saying D-Max is under power, meaning no pick up at all or the car totally no power even if there is a long up hill journey?
lack of power and pick up. could u tell me ur purpose of getting pick-up truck?
siksa
post Aug 18 2010, 03:14 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

just a remainder 2nd hand loan interest is higher compare to a new car loan.
alpha0201
post Aug 18 2010, 03:20 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(ahshuy @ Aug 18 2010, 03:14 PM)
well you can't have both good fc & powerful truck is it?
TSwepwep
post Aug 18 2010, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Aug 18 2010, 03:13 PM)
D-Max is not that bad.
D-Max will be my 2nd choice. i still looking up high at ford ranger the new model. price is fair enough for the look and performance itself..frontier will be the last choice because i don't really like their inside

QUOTE(ahshuy @ Aug 18 2010, 03:14 PM)
i'm getting it for a daily harsh driving purpose. the trunk behind is totally useless, i'm getting 4wd is also because i love to get some off road activities if i have the time..

QUOTE(siksa @ Aug 18 2010, 03:14 PM)
just a remainder 2nd hand loan interest is higher compare to a new car loan.
any idea how much is the interest rates now ah??4.X%??
hkh_88
post Aug 18 2010, 03:57 PM

315 posts

then u should not get the d-max 2.5 if u love to get some off road activities lol.
TSwepwep
post Aug 18 2010, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Aug 18 2010, 03:57 PM)
then u should not get the d-max 2.5 if u love to get some off road activities lol.
well, thinking of that too..but not sure a 2WD can do some off road stuff or not, since i'm not a regular person that look for off road stuff..

D-Max is going to be my 2nd in my list..

0.0199sec    1.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:59 AM