IBM GBS or Accenture SAP?, which to choose

TSxiang05
post Aug 17 2010, 08:49 PM, updated 16y ago

43 posts

Hi guyz,

i need some career advice here...
I been offered for ibm GBS and trainee position for SAP ABAPer in accenture.

Just wondering...which career path will giv a better future prospect?

Izzit both GBS and accenture oso doing SAP ?

Thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by xiang05: Aug 17 2010, 09:34 PM
BabyMilo_85
post Aug 17 2010, 10:12 PM

46 posts

trainee position for SAP ABAPer in accenture better~

TSxiang05
post Aug 17 2010, 10:25 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(BabyMilo_85 @ Aug 17 2010, 10:12 PM)
trainee position for SAP ABAPer in accenture better~
Thx for reply rclxms.gif
Can i know why?
beckhowen
post Aug 18 2010, 11:01 AM

V.I.P
719 posts

SAP has a good prospect smile.gif
marvin_teow
post Aug 18 2010, 11:08 AM

210 posts

SAP lor...IBM nowadays oledi being REPLACED BY HP....i mean, in terms of performance.

Accenture (I being invited for interview, but due to under internship period, request to postpone until i finish internship and available) is better, coz u might hv chance work oversea...

IBM does not practice frequently anymore.

This post has been edited by marvin_teow: Aug 18 2010, 11:09 AM
peppermint1
post Nov 10 2010, 05:41 PM

51 posts

Does all freshie who enter into the SAP consultancy field get bonded by the company?
kelvin_tan
post Nov 10 2010, 05:47 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@peppermint1
nowadays it seems so. But there are companies that do not bond you for instants, Vantage Point, ABeam Consulting, etc
peppermint1
post Nov 10 2010, 10:30 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Nov 10 2010, 05:47 PM)
@peppermint1
nowadays it seems so. But there are companies that do not bond you for instants, Vantage Point, ABeam Consulting, etc
but why? Let's say if the candidate is already SAP certified, but just lacking in SAP working experience, will the company still want to bond the freshie? on what basis then?

kelvin_tan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:33 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

the excuse they bond u is because they provided u with SAP exposure. You will find it hard for a fresh grad to secure a job with SAP vendors unless you have your first class honours from a reputable university.

My personal experience, I tried every single SAP vendors out there (R/3 vendors) and I got offers from IBM (because i did internship with them but I declined because they gave me a crappy module), and Vantage Point only. I even had friends in ABeam that submitted the resume on my behalf but failed. I had decent results (2nd Upper class) but still rejected.
Currylaksa
post Nov 10 2010, 10:37 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(peppermint1 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:30 PM)
but why? Let's say if the candidate is already SAP certified, but just lacking in SAP working experience, will the company still want to bond the freshie? on what basis then?
Certified in which? SAP has so many modules. And is it the official certification?

In SAP world, project experience is everything, so the company would not like juniors to accumulate one lifecycle experience then ciao biggrin.gif
peppermint1
post Nov 10 2010, 10:46 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Nov 10 2010, 10:37 PM)
Certified in which? SAP has so many modules. And is it the official certification?

In SAP world, project experience is everything, so the company would not like juniors to accumulate one lifecycle experience then ciao biggrin.gif
but isnt it the same in all industries? I'm sure no companies would like to take in a freshie, only 2 have him/her leave the company aftr 1 or 2 yrs aftr having gained some experience. But those companies dont bond their freshies either. So y more so in the SAP world as compared to others?
Currylaksa
post Nov 10 2010, 10:53 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(peppermint1 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:46 PM)
but isnt it the same in all industries? I'm sure no companies would like to take in a freshie, only 2 have him/her leave the company aftr 1 or 2 yrs aftr having gained some experience. But those companies dont bond their freshies either. So y more so in the SAP world as compared to others?
You sure? My bro in chemical engineering got bonded for quite a bit hmm.gif

Anyways this is very common in IT world for highly-demanded skillsets. Certain SAP skills fall under that category, like FI and MM.
peppermint1
post Nov 10 2010, 10:53 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Nov 10 2010, 10:33 PM)
the excuse they bond u is because they provided u with SAP exposure. You will find it hard for a fresh grad to secure a job with SAP vendors unless you have your first class honours from a reputable university.

My personal experience, I tried every single SAP vendors out there (R/3 vendors) and I got offers from IBM (because i did internship with them but I declined because they gave me a crappy module), and Vantage Point only. I even had friends in ABeam that submitted the resume on my behalf but failed. I had decent results (2nd Upper class) but still rejected.
sounds like a competitive world out there...
out of curiosity, y's a 1st class so important? Does personality and capability in the working world not count?
is it bcos it impresses the Clients that their SAP consultants are all 1st class hon. holders?

Added on November 10, 2010, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Nov 10 2010, 10:53 PM)
You sure? My bro in chemical engineering got bonded for quite a bit hmm.gif

Anyways this is very common in IT world for highly-demanded skillsets. Certain SAP skills fall under that category, like FI and MM.
really? did they provide yr bro some overseas training or stg liddat? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by peppermint1: Nov 10 2010, 11:15 PM
Vinci777
post Nov 10 2010, 11:17 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(peppermint1 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:53 PM)
out of curiosity, y's a 1st class so important? Does personality and capability in the working world not count?
is it bcos it impresses the Clients that their SAP consultants are all 1st class hon. holders?

really? did they provide yr bro some overseas training or stg liddat?  hmm.gif
Candidate A - 1st class. Capability - Unknown.

Candidate B - 2nd class. Capability - Unknown.

Who will you choose? Its a sad world. Luck plays apart in everything you do.
peppermint1
post Nov 10 2010, 11:42 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Nov 10 2010, 11:17 PM)
Candidate A - 1st class. Capability - Unknown.

Candidate B - 2nd class. Capability - Unknown.

Who will you choose? Its a sad world. Luck plays apart in everything you do.
then should interview both! tongue.gif

yeah, luck plays a part.
and also, timing is everything! nod.gif

This post has been edited by peppermint1: Nov 10 2010, 11:43 PM
zalmerox
post Nov 11 2010, 12:12 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(peppermint1 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:53 PM)

really? did they provide yr bro some overseas training or stg liddat?  hmm.gif
then should interview both!

If they only have 2 candidates they would probably do that.

However a usual scenario (especially hiring SAP freshies) would be:-
70 (1st class) & 300 (2nd class) resumes fighting for 3 fresh SAP positions.
If you were the employer, would you bother to look at the 300 (2nd class) resume??
I know I wouldn't. I would spend my time and focus on the 70(1st class) resumes.

Yes, personality and etc matters.
But assuming both candidates have the same "die-hard" attitude", and their only difference is the degree.
Why, would the employer in the right mind hire the 2nd class graduate ??
peppermint1
post Nov 11 2010, 08:50 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(zalmerox @ Nov 11 2010, 12:12 AM)

70 (1st class) &  300 (2nd class) resumes fighting for 3 fresh SAP positions.
If you were the employer, would you bother to look at the 300 (2nd class) resume??
I know I wouldn't. I would spend my time and focus on the 70(1st class) resumes.

But assuming both candidates have the same "die-hard" attitude", and their only difference is the degree.
indeed... notworthy.gif

Added on November 11, 2010, 8:51 am
QUOTE(zalmerox @ Nov 11 2010, 12:12 AM)

70 (1st class) &  300 (2nd class) resumes fighting for 3 fresh SAP positions.

indeed... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by peppermint1: Nov 11 2010, 08:51 AM
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Nov 11 2010, 12:26 PM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

just my 2 cents, 1st class vs 2nd class don't make much of the differences.

Its book smart vs street smart which makes the different. many of my uni mates has ventured into the SAP market.. some 1st class, some 2nd class. to be honest, the high flying ones are the 2nd class street smart ones.

In SAP, always think of the experience 1st. Configuration exp is the most essential factor. Once you have master that, you can demand hence the money.

This post has been edited by GiNgEr^fIsH: Nov 11 2010, 12:27 PM
kelvin_tan
post Nov 11 2010, 12:37 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@gingerfish
I think our point here is referring to fresh grad entry into SAP. Experienced hires will have different filtering conditions. For fresh grads, we are filtered solely based on results (and maybe curricular?) as we have no experience to offer.
peppermint1
post Nov 11 2010, 12:43 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Nov 11 2010, 12:37 PM)
@gingerfish
I think our point here is referring to fresh grad entry into SAP. Experienced hires will have different filtering conditions. For fresh grads, we are filtered solely based on results (and maybe curricular?) as we have no experience to offer.
how about experienced as an end user, but not as a consultant? not fresh grad, but considered freshie rite?

0.0202sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:33 PM