"Quiet" air conditioning (for home theater), any recommendations?

TSyonggoh
post Aug 17 2010, 05:58 PM, updated 16y ago

1,314 posts

hi guys..am in the final steps of completing the home theater... now its time to slap in the air conditioning

The area size is roughly 2800 sq/ft and i'm thinking of about a 14/16,000 BTUh rated unit, to be installed in a top corner of the room...

Are their any brands or specific things i should be looking for in purchasing an aircon for a home theater?

Am especially wondering if anyone knows of quieter types?

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Aug 17 2010, 05:58 PM
Learjet35
post Aug 17 2010, 06:00 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

can please post your new HT room pic,and maybe from there all the sifus can guide u ? thumbup.gif
echoesian
post Aug 17 2010, 06:28 PM

3,294 posts

Mitsubishi Heavy Industry is one of the quietest air-con around and it's also energy efficient.. Look for the spec name,.. I can't remember the name something to do with the energy saving rating...
camrycilver
post Aug 17 2010, 06:53 PM

'Sheet' Happens. Just Take It Easy. Relax la.. (`_´)v
1,234 posts

YORK brand is quit gd... been using it at my hall nw... quiet n coooolllllddddddddd.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by camrycilver: Aug 17 2010, 06:53 PM
Eng_Tat
post Aug 17 2010, 07:21 PM

2,216 posts

2800sqf, that is like 53*53feet or 40*70feet???
WildChai
post Aug 17 2010, 07:45 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 17 2010, 07:21 PM)
2800sqf, that is like 53*53feet or 40*70feet???
ai...u beat me to it. i was shocked too. think it's typo kua...should be 280? but if it true it's 2800...wow! cinema!
TSyonggoh
post Aug 17 2010, 08:15 PM

1,314 posts

actual floor area is about ~250 sq-ft...main "viewing area is 14x11feet and the remainder is a walk way to my bedroom...will draw up floor plans with pics once its all done smile.gif

ceiling is about 10ft high...

no pictures at the moment because its a mess (i have no floor till next couple weeks!)

anyways thanks for all the suggestions guys...will investigate all options...

I am using a York now in my bedroom but that one tends to leak water sad.gif
pierreye
post Aug 17 2010, 08:47 PM

1,308 posts

Ceiling mount cassette type air con is very quiet.
paskal
post Aug 17 2010, 09:17 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Aug 17 2010, 08:15 PM)
actual floor area is about ~250 sq-ft...main "viewing area is 14x11feet and the remainder is a walk way to my bedroom...will draw up floor plans with pics once its all done smile.gif

no pictures at the moment because its a mess (i have no floor till next couple weeks!)

leaking water are usually because of improper water piping. have to make sure the water flow is smooth and it won't spit water
htkaki
post Aug 17 2010, 10:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am using Daikin air-cond for my HT room. Very quiet. For my home HT room, it is Panasonic that was installed few years ago. Quiet enough for me.
mikapoh
post Aug 17 2010, 11:15 PM

1,263 posts

Yeah, I have heard ppl say Daikin air-con is pretty dead silence. I am planning to install Panasonic too for my soon-to-be HT room but not the inverter type. My HT room is also in a mess now with kitchen renovation too.

Yonggoh, for that room size, 9000BTU is more than sufficient.

Another thing to note is have you also installed a single independent power cable from your main-switch? I have asked my electrician to pull a new thick 4mm power cable from the main switch box to my HT room. Therefore this power will not be shared by other home electrical appliance other than my audio equipments. The electrician is in a culture shock that I use 4mm cable for my equipments.....haha. (he keeps arguing that 1.5 to 2.5mm is enuf) But for audio crazy like us, the thicker the better...

anchovies93
post Aug 17 2010, 11:36 PM

902 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 17 2010, 09:17 PM)
leaking water are usually because of improper water piping. have to make sure the water flow is smooth and it won't spit water
i agree.make sure the outflow is smooth then no leakage probs. spent some money fixing then only i spot the problem. ouchhhhh......i think the new gen a/cond not noisy at all.

Just dont put window unit LOL
jchong
post Aug 18 2010, 08:10 AM

5,989 posts

I think you meant 2800 cu ft, not sq ft smile.gif

Anyway, congrats on the upcoming HT room. For me I'm using Daikin air-con, which is quiet.
azbro
post Aug 18 2010, 08:41 AM

4,403 posts

I'm using Daikin for my Bedroom, when select the blower at max...err..not so quite..
MyDevil
post Aug 18 2010, 10:29 AM

7,480 posts

I have York a/c in my bedroom before and another in my father's house. Both also frequently leak water. shakehead.gif Bad design I guess.
jchong
post Aug 18 2010, 11:00 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 18 2010, 08:41 AM)
I'm using Daikin for my Bedroom, when select the blower at max...err..not so quite..
I think any air-con if you set the blower to max it won't be that quiet.
azbro
post Aug 18 2010, 12:00 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 18 2010, 11:00 AM)
I think any air-con if you set the blower to max it won't be that quiet.
Ohh..I see...hehe
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 18 2010, 12:32 PM

1,442 posts

chief, i doubt any difference in db levels from any a/c brands will make much difference lor. this is not bedroom, and knowing your HT 'requirements', i would be more concerned about your plaster ceiling falling off from the LFEs biggrin.gif

One thing though, get the correct HP. Maybe 1.5 - 2 HP for your room size so that you dun need to crank up the a/c blower.
sonerin
post Aug 18 2010, 02:20 PM

8,740 posts

Totally agree that HP is more important.
cyanide
post Aug 18 2010, 02:56 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(camrycilver @ Aug 17 2010, 06:53 PM)
YORK brand is quit gd... been using it at my hall nw... quiet n coooolllllddddddddd.... thumbup.gif
first time i heard that YORK is QUIET smile.gif

BTW, i never had a YORK aircond myself

0.0227sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:09 AM