79 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 >Bottom

Smolderthorn - The [SycK] Guild - Horde, Community/Goals-Driven Guild

Tentris
post Dec 5 2007, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(Tentris @ Nov 9 2007, 03:44 PM)
LoTH made it to Phase 3 comfortably a few times last night.

Phase 2 sucks ballz, but its a real good test and training ground for the raid. Banging our head on her massive boobs for 2 weeks already, 8-10 hours a week. zomg. wtb more vashj runs.

We put range on elemental duty, melee on nagas, mages and 1-2 locks on striders. Seems to work ok for us.

The key is not to miss the tainteds. Even if you miss 1 or 2 tainteds, its gg.
Downed Vashj for the 3rd time in 3 weeks monday night.

The key to this fight is ranged dps. Abundance of hunters and locks will make it easier, but any range class is fine imo.

For P2, we use 6 ppl, preferable all ranged, to control elementals + hunt tainteds. Save your best range dps to take up the 3 spots on east side where traffic is generally heavier. South side (as in S and SW) are usually quiet-er than the other 4 sides.

Place 4 healers, 1 on each side, N, S, E, W. Each healer should be looking after the dps'ers in their sector AND occasionally running close to the middle to get some quick heals off (the side dps'ers will only really need sporadic healing since the only dmg they are taking is forked lightning and the occasional poison bolt).

Kiter, LoTH uses a warlock (me). We experimented with everything. Shammy, Mage, Hunter, Lock, and found that lock searing pain spam with CoEx is the best bet. Very fast agro build up, and CoEx to slow. Besides the kiter, having at least 5 range dps on the strider is REQUIRED. Any less than 5 range dps on strider... and the kill is going to be too slow (do not forget there is a theoretical glass ceiling to the amount of dps possible on the strider = the amount of agro the kiter can realistically build while moving). Even if 1 of the range dps on strider dies early, you may as well call the wipe coz strider dps will just be not enough.

All other melee dps and tanks on nagas. In the last kill we used 1 feral, 1 ret pally, 1 rogue -- more than enough to kill a naga with help from the strider dps once strider goes down (we normally bring the strider down with 10 sec buffer before the next strider pops).

2 tanks play an important role. We have 1 holy pally RF healing in middle. This draws the striders/nagas away from side healers towards the middle. If tanks are not quick enough to pick off the naga from the RF pally, then RF pally will die. If warlock not fast enough to searing pain the strider away from RF pally, then RF pally will die.

We also have at least 2 pallies in the middle to get stun rotations on the striders when they come. This gives ample time for the kiter to build solid agro. All range dps stay on the nagas until the kiter calls for dps on the strider. Having 2 spriests on the strider is also very handy for slow and blackouts; one try we had, the strider was chain stunned with Blackout, and with a combination of HoJs, and nets, didn't move at all before it died. rofles.

During P3, most guides tell you to try to control the sporebats. LoTH generally doesn't bother. Just clean up the rest of the adds first (this gives time for the tanks to grab solid agro on Vashj). Elementals > Nagas > Strider > Vashj.

Then all out dps on Vashj, ignore the bats. Keep Vashj mobile. Tanks should NEVER stand still. Keep moving in a circular motion around the platform outer circle. BoF rotations up, Free Action pots for when BoF CDs. Healers remember to heal those with static charge.

Generally, at the 15%, she'll enrage. Then the poison starts getting really nuts. Once she enrages, we have about 90 secs left before too much poison is on the ground, and there is absolutely no where left to go. Therefore, we have 90 sec to burn 15% of HP. As long as the tanks and dps'ers stay mobile that's more than enough time to finish her. We normally do it with 5-7 deaths by the time she drops.

Misc tips:

1. All locks should be aff for this fight. CoEx is important for P2, 4 dots on elemental = 100% guaranteed dead in P2, dots during P3 is pwnage due to the movement issues.
2. Pallies take the imp BoJ talent.
3. More than 3 melee dps is... not very good.
4. Healers on side duty must help with tainted elem dps.

Hopefully this will help Syck out... haven't noticed you making many tries on Vashj lately... sad.gif
lung
post Dec 5 2007, 12:10 PM

Film & Computer Gaming Freak
1,187 posts

lol thanks for the tips... It's basically what we're trying to do (http://www.we-are-syck.com/wiki/Lady_Vashj) but dps seems lacking. Elemental shaman works fine for us, DPS can start straight away, but we still barely down him in time (around 1-2 secs before next one spawns), and we had like 7 dpsers on him already. This leaves no extra dps on naga, they're not downed on time but still managable... However this leads to leakages not being killed off promptly.

We only had like 1 attempt on her (last Monday) in 3 weeks time laugh.gif That's how bad our attendance is.

This post has been edited by lung: Dec 5 2007, 12:11 PM
Tentris
post Dec 5 2007, 12:21 PM

7 dps'ers on strider and still no buffer before next spawn??

then something wrong with dps'ers... gear issue? lag? not taking enough pots? flasked or not?

we had 3 mages (2 frost, 1 arc), 1 ele shammy, 1 destro lock on strider duty + 1 kiter (me) during our last kill. Still managed 10 sec before next strider spawn...
joeboto
post Dec 5 2007, 04:30 PM

insert title
913 posts

and, set the spell detail level to AT LEAST center, because u cant see the poison area clearly during phase 3.

the cool thing is, all the way phase 3, 1-5 FPS. T_T
tammylci
post Jan 8 2008, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(buffa @ Nov 24 2007, 09:42 AM)
hehe, as long as carol get to raid, she is happy liao~~

OMG keeta is holy/dis!! PVP! with me!!

<-ikuba, the nubest lock in syck.
i am specced for healing lah!!

NO PVP.. make heals no kills!!
buffa
post Feb 26 2008, 08:20 AM

459 posts

Bump for Vashj
flushafteruse
post Jun 18 2008, 05:10 PM

Syck is recruiting one (1) prot pally to join our ranks, one (1) holy pally, and one (1) holy priest.
We are at 5/5 SSC, 4/4 TK, 5/5 Hyjal and 5/9 BT.

Atm working on RoS, our last first kill was bloodboil as seen on the killpix.

Requirement : T5 equivalent badge/heroic gears, consistent attendance and knows how to play their class.
Raid time : 8pm MYT/SGT.
More info : Syck website

Apply here
Tunn
post Oct 26 2008, 12:07 AM

The SadPanda
651 posts

QUOTE(flushafteruse @ Jun 18 2008, 05:10 PM)
Syck is recruiting one (1) prot pally to join our ranks, one (1) holy pally, and one (1) holy priest.
We are at 5/5 SSC, 4/4 TK, 5/5 Hyjal and 5/9 BT.

Atm working on RoS, our last first kill was bloodboil as seen on the killpix.

Requirement : T5 equivalent badge/heroic gears, consistent attendance and knows how to play their class.
Raid time : 8pm MYT/SGT.
More info : Syck website

Apply here
where are syck now?
raydenex
post Oct 28 2008, 05:49 AM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

I saw the guild SycK on Thaurissan.. same people?
dragna
post Oct 28 2008, 10:05 AM

5,252 posts

Yeah there's a Syck on Thaurissan.
lung
post Oct 28 2008, 10:52 AM

1,187 posts

Yes, same people.
Tunn
post Oct 31 2008, 02:30 PM

The SadPanda
651 posts

QUOTE(lung @ Oct 28 2008, 10:52 AM)
Yes, same people.
when u say same people is it the same as pre -bc? Lora still GM?
tammylci
post Nov 21 2008, 09:12 AM

they migrated to thaurissan

not all, but i would say most
Reix
post Nov 21 2008, 10:24 AM

468 posts

Do you know any of them who stay in smolderthorn still actively playing?
Aggroboy
post Nov 21 2008, 11:28 AM

637 posts

As far as i know, most of the main players moved to Thaurissan.

While they were waiting for WOTLK, they were playing Warhammer.
lung
post Nov 24 2008, 10:25 AM

1,187 posts

Armory is your friend. smile.gif
http://www.wowarmory.com/guild-info.xml?r=...horn&n=Syck&p=1

Basically, officially the guild has migrated to Thaurissan
http://www.wowarmory.com/guild-info.xml?r=...ssan&n=Syck&p=1

But as usual there are those stubborn/kiamsiap ones that won't leave tongue.gif so from the first armory link I posted you can basically tell that those above level 70 are those who remained behind.

Of those that migrated to Thaurissan, not all remained in the guild too. Some have splintered off into other guilds on the server.

As far as I know, Syck on Thaurissan is still committed to 25-men raiding and is currently rebuilding its playerbase.
tammylci
post Nov 24 2008, 07:22 PM

i feel insulted lung.

I'm not kiamsiap or stubborn. I am just on a very long break that might lead to no turning back LOL!!!

Though if a wotlk expansion magically appeared/dropped from heaven on my desktop.. i might not control myself and lost 2 years of my life again.

ish sad....
lung
post Nov 25 2008, 09:43 AM

1,187 posts

Meh you can play casually, I'm trying to play casually now lol.

Altho peer pressure (damn those friends who level damn fast) gets to me almost every time...

But now I'm 79 and only 2 bubbles from 80, I'm "trying" to go casual again. Succeeded last nite, didn't log wow at all! tongue.gif

You know one of those things I missed most from Syck forums (aside from the usual drama)? Your 'free movie passes' threads LOL.
tammylci
post Nov 25 2008, 11:22 AM

haha, casually? yeah sounds good yeah! smile.gif

wahlaueh.. already gona lvl80? gratz first, i guess by the time i start i will get ganked all over by high level allies.

free movie passes threads... T_T brings backs memory..

maybe when i return, i'll start it again. It was becoming too "boring" for sycks already!!!

lung
post Nov 25 2008, 02:11 PM

1,187 posts

You still on Smolder or xfer liao? Thaurissan is basically 99% PvE server for us Hordies. laugh.gif

<-- Will never be bored of free movie passes k k... Of course I'm quite picky on movies to watch... No time to watch everything mah, so have to be picky a bit... TIME IS MONEY FRIEND!

79 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 >Top

0.0218sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:10 AM