Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

Mackiddo
post Aug 12 2010, 05:02 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 12 2010, 04:10 PM)
I still cant figure out a way to get an IPAD after failing to grab one during my trip to singapore last week sad.gif Just when only Malaysia will launch
no friend/relative in Sg that can order for you ? Malaysia you have to wait long long biggrin.gif . very tempted to order another one just to make a quick bucks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 12 2010, 05:07 PM
Mackiddo
post Aug 14 2010, 09:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Anyone bought their iPad together with APP ? Are we suppose to get the APP box? Same like when we buy MacBook with APP?
Mackiddo
post Aug 15 2010, 10:51 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(-YS- @ Aug 15 2010, 02:55 AM)
Don't take the risk of getting some generated illegal ACPP code, your warranty might be revoked anytime if Apple find out, i suggest you buy the box one, preferably sealed and brand new, better be safe than sorry bro ! I got myself Macbook Pro, iphone 3gs, iphone 4 and going to get another one for my ipad soon, for the money you are paying, it's worth every single penny you spent on ACPP smile.gif
mine is legitimate biggrin.gif . i bought from apple online store but they didn't send me the box.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 15 2010, 10:51 AM
Mackiddo
post Aug 15 2010, 04:36 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

thanks.. just bought it smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Aug 15 2010, 10:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Aug 15 2010, 10:01 PM)
Finally, got my iPad from Singapore! Thiis MSG is type from it.

Anyway, who has tried numbers? Need to use spreadsheet. Thanks
cool, limited edition ? ...the on-screen keyboard got double 'i' ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 15 2010, 10:24 PM
Mackiddo
post Aug 15 2010, 10:26 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Aug 15 2010, 10:24 PM)
I am gonna use it in UK.. So should be OK right?

Need someone else to verify this...

Cause I rmb iPhone is not international
phone is a different story all together. most, if not all phone, doesn't offer international warranty but most laptops does.
Mackiddo
post Aug 16 2010, 06:16 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Aug 16 2010, 03:09 PM)
I'm using DiGi 3G unlimited on my iPhone. So far coverage within big town still ok, I think at BP, I could get edge only.
Unlimited ? Is there such a thing or just gimmick ? . Unlimited but with a cap ? give you slow speed 256kbps + unlimited data also no use tongue.gif
Mackiddo
post Aug 16 2010, 07:12 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(fonda82 @ Aug 16 2010, 07:07 PM)
newbie here... can someone actually tell me if ipad is good for business use? like doing presentation...... and any designing software can be install into it? feels good if can do that than carrying big heavy backpack..
No, it's just a toy for occasionally playing games, surfing the web, email, chatting on MSN ..etc ... just to kill time at Starbucks rclxms.gif ... not really meant for business. You should consider Macbook Air if you want a light laptop.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 16 2010, 07:13 PM
Mackiddo
post Aug 16 2010, 09:24 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 16 2010, 08:38 PM)
It's just some folks have different comfort zones when it comes to what they define as a "norm" in their daily routines. I suggest those who thinks the iPad as a toy to reacquaint with power users and what they do with their iPads. I have DJs, doctors, pilots, lecturers, teachers and professionals using it more than just mere "playing games, surfing the web, email and chatting on MSN". rolleyes.gif
but how many actually are doing that ? you ? me ? I think something which i could throw around, pass it to my kids occasionally and probably dump it within a year is a toy. Other serious stuff, i'll stick to my Macbook thanks. smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Aug 16 2010, 09:33 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wahkiz @ Aug 16 2010, 07:56 PM)
I don't agree, it can be used for presentation with Keynote, plug to projector with VGA connector. Word processor can use Pages. If you don't like touch screen keyboard can pair with Bluetooth keyboard. How is the iPad a toy?
are you even using Keynote to begin with ? and have you seen the review on apple site ?
Mackiddo
post Aug 17 2010, 04:44 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 16 2010, 09:36 PM)
Like I said, comfort zones. You are accustomed to things you're doing and routines association with their respective devices. As for how many, those I've listed represent how many. Diverse too. The company I'm working is looking into the possibility of using the iPad as the electronic flight bag and content delivery system for our operation. Also for customer interface unit, as well as the staff's allocation for flight operation purposes. I've had tons of requests to get folks their VGA kit, and guess what they're using it for? Presentation on the iWorks suite. Others use VPN and VNC service to access files remotely from where they are to assist them in their work while they're away from head office. Doctors using iPads for remote display. DJs using the Korg Electribe for music mixing. Their sales numbers are not indicative of "casual usage", especially when it comes to professional-level apps like Foreflight for pilots, iWorks, the Anatomy app, LogMein Ignition or the Korg Electribe, because these apps are not priced casually, they are priced targeted at working professionals.

Just because you treat it as a toy, doesn't mean that you represent the total demographics. The iPad is flexible enough to function based on what the end user wants it to be. Just like how some folks buy their iPhones to "just make phone calls , text messages, and occasional Sudoku games", others actually use their iPhones towards more serious productive ways.

So please, before you conveniently label this as a "toy", try broadening your horizon and meet more folks and ask them what their iPad usage are like. wink.gif Just a friendly advice.

Added on August 16, 2010, 9:38 pmThe only weak part I see on the iPad is content creation. As a content delivery or consuming device, it's processing power , size advantage and screen estate is godsend.
it's still consider as toy to the majority. iWorks suite ? look pretty limiting from the review on apple site itself. Most with Macbook would not even wanna use that.
Mackiddo
post Aug 22 2010, 09:54 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Aug 22 2010, 07:12 PM)
now it seems like my iPad wifi feels like a bigger iPod touch. opting to change it to a 3g one. anyone thinks this will make a major difference in my usage of the iPad? now im kinda losing interest in the iPad. sad.gif
no need to change. just get a Huawei mifi. the E585 is a good one.
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 12:14 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Jerm_vii @ Aug 22 2010, 11:55 PM)
i guess they probably are planning 4G for iPad 2...

mifi + iPad is wonderful,...only shortfall is the mifi device shamefully consumes lots of battery power...
a battery could last around 3-4 hours. I'm thinking about getting another battery for the E585.

Added on August 23, 2010, 12:16 am
QUOTE(-YS- @ Aug 22 2010, 11:48 PM)
E585 of course is better than E5830, since it's an improved version of E583, but for the price wise, i don't see its price justify smile.gif
well heard E5830 is harder to configure and the price difference is not that great. so E585 would be a better buy

Added on August 23, 2010, 12:19 am
QUOTE(rocket_jet @ Aug 22 2010, 09:57 PM)
Wonders why they don't produce 4G yet since 3Gs already out on the Iphone
even there is a 4G equipment it'll take donkey years before Msia telcos launch it and another donkey years to get it right.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 23 2010, 12:19 AM
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 01:23 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

mifi is a travel 3G router which is different from your home 3G router
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 07:51 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(AfiqLikesFender @ Aug 23 2010, 02:49 AM)
It's not a 'home' router  since I can use it anywhere with my Maxis mobile USB. It's the Aztech 553M, which is fairly small and turns my 3G into a wifi hotspot, which is what a 'mifi 3G travel router' does.  whistling.gif

Upside: cheaper than the e585, ( bought it for RM140), easy set-up, does almost everything a mifi unit would
Downside: requires a separate power source, substantial speed decrease when sharing more than 3 devices
requires a separate power source = home router smile.gif
E585 runs on rechargeable battery, just like the mobile phone

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 23 2010, 07:57 AM
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 11:55 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Aug 23 2010, 03:23 AM)
New iPad user here smile.gif Just got my 64GB Wi-Fi iPad from Singapore on the 20th August biggrin.gif Am loving it so far (It's the only Apple product so far I'm crazy about and like), I get to read and surf when I'm away from my laptop, and it's more portable than a laptop and more functional than my phone for taking notes when I go to Uni tongue.gif

I use my phone as a Wi-Fi tether when I'm on the go and need internet, since I have a data plan on my phone.

Now I have a Windows (Laptop), an Android (Phone), and an Apple (iPad) XD
if you use it for serious business then better get all Mac + MobileMe. quite useful for sync of all equipments..
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 06:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Aug 23 2010, 02:31 PM)
Hey Guys,

Any1 knows how to activate Maxis Hotlink 3G daily pass on the iPad? Went into the sim application under setting and select the wap portal, however came to an error msg.

any1 can help?

jonest, u in JB? maybe can do iPad JB gathering.
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2010, 09:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Aug 23 2010, 09:32 PM)
Yes, I'm in JB..... that would be great.... we can always go Starbucks at Setia Tropika, they have wifi but sometimes crowded over the weekend.... wonder what's the iPad JB population would be?
yeah, i luv that place, 1st Starbucks drive-thru in Msia, parking also free !!! I think JB iPad population is quite low sad.gif .... anyone else wanna go JB iPad get-together session ?

Added on August 23, 2010, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(ben16 @ Aug 23 2010, 09:54 PM)
May be interested - from Kulai.
so we got 3, me + you + jonest ...hehe ...anymore in Johor ? think 4 more from the records ...

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 23 2010, 10:03 PM

Mackiddo
post Aug 24 2010, 01:30 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Aug 24 2010, 12:40 AM)
can anyone recommend me a good apps that can help me to track things up? for my work actually, so i'll be tracking projects/assignment or documents i need from someone, meeting, things i need to do and follow up...history of the project/assignment...

if possible i would like to sync it to my pc at the office for easier reference/sharing wif my supervisor....

for the sync part, nothing beats MobileMe smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Aug 24 2010, 03:43 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 24 2010, 02:28 PM)
@Xirality,
Next gen iPad? Er.. that wouldn't be released till next year; plus.... Y go to Paris to buy an iPad; U go to Paris to buy LV, Prada, Channel, etc and not iPads tongue.gif

@Mr Kong,
MiFi is Wireless Broadband biggrin.gif
Mifi = 3G wireless travel router

Added on August 24, 2010, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 24 2010, 02:13 PM)
eh.. mackkido, wen u in jaybee one? i tot u kl ppl?

wow, never knew they got starbucks there
I'm KL boy, stay in Sg but always go JB drink coffee smile.gif ... hehe, dun look down on JB man ...we got Machines here as well tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 24 2010, 03:50 PM

0.0337sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:47 AM