8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V3, Please read FAQ!!

TShihihehe
post Aug 31 2010, 06:54 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Aug 31 2010, 08:10 PM)
i read this last night but not willing to try because it stated "Android 2.1 not supported".
thanks for the info will try setup it today. U setup everything through the Email app right?

Added on August 31, 2010, 6:12 pm

maybe advantage is when u trransfer file from PC to your SD it will be faster.
yup,all by Email..at first i don't bother but some SGS users reported it works so i try it and it did works...

QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Aug 31 2010, 08:23 PM)
erm.. planning to get a microsdhc, so looking for info on it..... anyhow where to get the best buy/deal for it?

ANd someone, please teach me how to use mobile AP
enable the mobile ap then connect other wireless devices and input the password..is like connect to the modem..
is it hard?
TShihihehe
post Aug 31 2010, 08:02 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Aug 31 2010, 09:32 PM)
Do not try this first...Samfirmware is releasing one soon...

http://twitter.com/SamFirmware
i nvr try..btw there was many ppl tried it and get it working...

QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Aug 31 2010, 09:49 PM)
that's the thing.... all my devices can't "see" it
- not my laptop
- not my ps3
- not even my modem

so what gives???
untick "Hide my device" in mobile ap settings..
TShihihehe
post Aug 31 2010, 08:31 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Aug 31 2010, 10:06 PM)
Yeah, many tried but I also read that it "permanently deleted" the internal storage or something like that...
that because they choose to re-partition their internal storage..but well,it's a beta firmware and if there is a problem, u still can't complain it..

QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Aug 31 2010, 10:21 PM)
it is unchecked.... hmm.gif
not sure then..
Just again make sure you enable the Mobile AP and in the settings, Mobile AP and Tethering are ticked and Hide My Device is unticked
TShihihehe
post Aug 31 2010, 10:05 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Aug 31 2010, 10:55 PM)
so do u received hotmail instantly/pushed or you have to open the Email app?
it will pushed instantly(but of course WLM is faster) and works like Gmail...
but u can manually update the email if you want to...
TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 12:58 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(alpayedo @ Sep 1 2010, 02:56 AM)
Noon question...how to enable 5.1surround sound for music player.I can't disable the sound effect in order to enable the surround sound.help
u need to wear earphone/headset only can enable 5.1 surround...

TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 11:19 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(alpayedo @ Sep 1 2010, 03:03 AM)
I already plug in earphone.now there's no way to disable the sound effect
really,i dont understand what u mean by no way to disable it..

and u need to disable 5.1 surround only can enable sound effect or the other way round..is trade off
TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 01:51 PM

13,790 posts

just read that there was a new lag fix called voodoo..
currently in beta version and they reported it is faster than 1 click lag fix,etc..
it completely change the filesystem and there is no lag AT ALL...
for example, you still can play around when u installing app without any lag..

quoted from 1 of the user
THIS IS STILL CURRENTLY IN BETA TESTING SO BE FULLY AWAR OF ALL RISKS AND BE SURE YOU KNOW WHAT YOU DOING BEFORE HAND

- completely non official, not supported by samsung.
- beta version
- could brick your phone and leave you without warranty
- don't do this if you don't know what "odin" is

OK, thought this deserves it's own thread, so it doesn't get lost in the other threads, as this changes everything for the Galaxy S

THIS LAG FIX IS ONLY FOR THE GALAXY S VERSION SO FAR, AS FAR AS I KNOW.

Not Vibrants, and or other variants as far as I know.

Visit IRC

heres the irc link url for those who use irc programs // Proper link thanks to smellysocks

irc://irc.freenode.net/voodoo-project

Freenode #voodoo-project

and XDA

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=748880&page=15

The LAG is completey gone.

From my uneducated understanding, they have replaced the filesystem of the Galaxy S, which was causing the problems.

This is in Beta, phase, but from my own experience, this has fixed it completely

edit:

A couple of important things to note, you will need to remove any lag fixes already installed.

A simple way would be to Flash new firmware I guess, but anybody using RyanZA's onclick APK, will be able to do it from the App itself.

Revision:

For those that are familar, with flashing via ODIN, some simple instructions on the process.

You download the file as a tar.

Select this as your PDA

BE SURE TO UNTICK RE-PARTITION.

If you haven't got the 3 button, download, and recovery mode, I proably wouldn't try this just yet.

Also, I am not sure what happens if you want to flash your device again, with another firmware, best to check with the people who know, before flashing.

TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 04:17 PM

13,790 posts

just got my casing from ebay
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...e=STRK:MEWNX:IT

for those who looking for voodoo lag fix,u can dl it from here
http://github.com/voodoo-project/lagfix/downloads
TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 05:29 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 1 2010, 06:26 PM)
just rooted my phone and edit the KOR product code of JPC rom. erm will test the gps without wifi/mobile data aid on my way back from office later..
@hihihehe: which color u bought? and how long does the postage takes?
i bought white colour..shipped from last monday and i think it arrives yesterday or today(today i only check my mailbox)
white colour so easy to get dirty

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Sep 1 2010, 06:38 PM)
wow good find!
but how to install that lag fix? use ODIN right? can u give step-by-step instruction?
i havent try yet..since it using odin so i think it will wipe all the data/app?im not sure

QUOTE(silentser @ Sep 1 2010, 07:21 PM)
does it cover the chrome part too/
just the side chrome but not top and bottom...

but i still prefer hard casing(this is hard but not hard enough tongue.gif )..buy it because its cheap
will post picture soon
TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 06:29 PM

13,790 posts

so this voodoo fix will wipe out the data/app right?
TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 08:27 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Sep 1 2010, 10:00 PM)
not sure. as i said in my previous post, my apps order were changed. and some of them were lost (have to reinstall, luckily i've backed up all my apps before doing all that) my quadrant score is 1814 as opposed to 21xx (RyanZa). but it was a bit responsive, i think so lah.
as to how to remove this lagfix, i think its best if we do a firmware flash using ODIN method, but before that wipe/clean all data in internal SD. am i right?

EDIT: wrong quote. didn't notice. i was trying to respond to hihihehe post, actually.
a bit responsive?guess i will skip it until next firmware(or froyo)

btw here is the casing
TShihihehe
post Sep 1 2010, 08:47 PM

13,790 posts

the case is rubberized which means it is nice to hold and grip..
but the colour just doesnt match my phone(should get black)
and a bit hard to reach the on/off button...
but the cheap price makes me buy it tongue.gif

will get SGP sp later
TShihihehe
post Sep 2 2010, 11:08 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Sep 2 2010, 07:56 AM)
How is the hardness of the cover? Some very hard plastic case seems to scratch the chrome when you put it on
no matter what the chrome still will get scratched..
but ya,the casing al DO scratch the chrome bezel like my iphone..

if not then get a pocuh...
TShihihehe
post Sep 2 2010, 12:49 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Sep 2 2010, 02:47 PM)
May i know does any app able to backup  calendar events (ie. birthday) ?
mybackup pro?
TShihihehe
post Sep 2 2010, 03:31 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Sep 2 2010, 05:22 PM)
Hello all SGS users,

Do you guys try use WhatsApp?
I installed, but cannot start the app. It show the error message :-

"WhatApp Messenger and your task manager are incompatible. Please remove your task manager and try again."

Please help... sad.gif
works great for me..
i just tried send msg to iphone user
TShihihehe
post Sep 2 2010, 09:39 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(skuzzlebutt @ Sep 2 2010, 11:30 PM)
Anyone know where to get whatapp?
check the existing thread outside here..u can get it there
TShihihehe
post Sep 3 2010, 02:10 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(bennylai83 @ Sep 3 2010, 03:47 PM)
My wife has recently bought a second hand samasung galaxy s with latest leaked jpc froyo rom as the guy said, is it possible to flash the phone back to original 2.1? Cos it is under maxis warranty and just in case anyting bad happen and we have to claim it. Thanks alot!
when u flashed to JPC rom then ur warranty already void...but of course u can flash back to original/stock ROM..
and yes u can flash back to 2.1 rom

QUOTE(ijat91 @ Sep 3 2010, 03:52 PM)
Hi GS users, how the scrolling & pinch to zoom in browser compare to iphone?? i don't talk about the time of page loading, but the feel of smooth like butter when zoom & scroll. Anybody try the new lag fix?? does it improve it already?? i now consider to get galaxy s, hope to hear some reply  icon_rolleyes.gif
u better watch more youtube for browsing section..there were tons of it.
zoom & scroll definitely smooth and on par with iphone

btw now we can have backlight notification for unread sms,etc(not for the calls yet?)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=772672

but i jsut wait for the pulse notification update...
TShihihehe
post Sep 3 2010, 02:13 PM

13,790 posts

ya,i tot the thread was requesting for the notification but then it's already there..
go try it and report back to us tongue.gif

this is the power of Open Source yo...
TShihihehe
post Sep 3 2010, 03:03 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Sep 3 2010, 04:52 PM)
I am considering adding a 32Gb micro-SD to my SGS. Does anyone knows whether is supported yet with my current firmware JG4?
why not?
SGS supports up to 32GB of memory
TShihihehe
post Sep 3 2010, 03:15 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(bennylai83 @ Sep 3 2010, 05:09 PM)
Hi Silentser and hihihehe, can you teach me how to roll it back to original 2.1? also where can i down those necessary things? greatly appreciated!
FAQ will be ur first stop

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0343sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:47 AM