4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Problem With My New RM7900 Computer, Problem With My New RM7900 Computer

EricCYL
post Aug 11 2010, 02:57 PM

*My Cubicle*
1,133 posts

GTX480 play games on 1280 x 768 shocking.gif and what's more, kick a$$ spec' but 40GB IDE doh.gif . Seriously, go upgrade your HDD like everybody said and a good quality LCD. rclxub.gif
supernothing
post Aug 11 2010, 02:58 PM

super ☆
1,343 posts

with rm7900 can get a high end pc with custom water cooling setup tongue.gif
shinjite
post Aug 11 2010, 03:06 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Problem now is the IDE HDD~~
The rest are working nicely....but 1 thing caught my eyes, GTX480 with 320bit GDDR5? GTX480 supposed to be 384bit, 320bit is for the GTX470
astria
post Aug 11 2010, 03:08 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

u want 100fps???

most, if not all, RTS games limit the framerate to 30fps...

so u think 100fps is useful???

So if a graphics card barely manages less than 30 FPS, then the game is not very playable, we want to avoid that at all cost.

With 30 FPS up-to roughly 40 FPS you'll be very able to play the game with perhaps a tiny stutter at certain graphically intensive parts. Overall a very enjoyable experience. Match the best possible resolution to this result and you'll have the best possible rendering quality versus resolution, hey you want both of them to be as high as possible.

When a graphics card is doing 60 FPS on average or higher then you can rest assured that the game will likely play extremely smoothly at every point in the game, turn on every possible in-game IQ setting.

Over 100 FPS? You either have a MONSTER graphics card or a very old game.

quote from: Guru3D.com
selfdz87
post Aug 11 2010, 03:36 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

QUOTE(supernothing @ Aug 11 2010, 02:58 PM)
with rm7900 can get a high end pc with custom water cooling setup tongue.gif
yeah bro...
8k budget is a heaven for custom watercooling loop.... laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSbabyrabies
post Aug 11 2010, 03:42 PM

281 posts

for an 8k system, it's crap. Sorry, had to say it.
paradis3lost
post Aug 11 2010, 03:48 PM

Too leet for avatars
1,007 posts

Change your HDD to a newer one like a Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB or Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB. Your HDD transfer speed is bottlenecking your com.
look416
post Aug 11 2010, 03:55 PM

167 posts

just a SSD
since you can get a 8k rig
sure you can spend another 300-500 to get a SSD
zonan4
post Aug 11 2010, 04:05 PM

561 posts

hahhahahahaha really he bought it? please proof it with a picture.... kind a hard to believe his story....
SUSwongth7
post Aug 11 2010, 04:12 PM

440 posts

lol...rm7900 flush down to longkang..not well planned at all
Momotaro Kun
post Aug 11 2010, 04:13 PM

52 posts

I bought a new rig, cost at about 1.5k with a graphic card at a price half of your "cheap graphic card".

Able max out all settings (ultra) and on 1900 x 1024 without problem.

If you actually follow on Starcraft II news, there is a known problem by Blizzard, which cause the graphic card to overheat, or even damage cards that are insufficiently cooled.

A quick fix would be adding these two entries in variables.txt:
frameratecapglue=30
frameratecap=60

Yeap, cap at 60fps.

About CPU and RAM, I'm only running an I3 with 1x2GB ram and it didn't fully utilize both of them either.

I'm not sure about this but maybe it has to do with V-Sync? Maybe your monitor is not able to keep up with the refresh rate.

You spent your money all in the wrong places without much research I guess.
rubrubrub
post Aug 11 2010, 04:21 PM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Aug 11 2010, 02:14 PM)
Your posts are horribly hard to read but I'll do my best trying to understand them...

1) New hard disk. A WD Caviar black or faster would be a good fit. Your IDE drive is probably horribly fragmented due to the lack of space.
2) Are you using the latest nvidia drivers? Or whatever was in the asus cd?
3) If SC2 made near full use of 6GB of RAM, you'd hear nonstop whining from players over it being a memory hog. Most gaming rigs barely use 4GB at most.
4) The GTX 480 is known to be both very powerful AND very hot.
5) SC2 is designed for dual core CPUs and thus wouldn't use the i7 975 to its fullest.
6) The Rampage 2 extreme supports SLI too, but I don't think you should add another GTX 480, the power supply will be really strained with that inside.

IMO, that's 7900 bucks poorly spent, you should've gotten a GTX 480 with a better cooler (hell, you could even buy another card for SLI) rather than spend on the i7 extreme that you don't even know how to make use of to its fullest.

My suggestion:
-Sell the i7 975 and replace it with an i7 930. You'd probably pocket almost RM2000 for that.
-Use the extra money to get a quality 1080p monitor (such as those Dell Ultrasharps) and a real hard drive.
-No need to upgrade your graphics performance, it's not like you can see 90fps on a 60fps monitor anyway.
yeah he's right. it's a well said advice and u shall take it. next time, google and then ask 1st not google and buy and ask. lol make it a lesson.
genjo
post Aug 11 2010, 04:22 PM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

Wow ur system for that resolution.... Ur eyes cant detect any different...

My system already more than enough for my use even i am heavy gamer.

and i am using 1360 x 768
ericpires
post Aug 11 2010, 04:25 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(male_012 @ Aug 11 2010, 12:44 PM)

Together With My Old Devices (I know is abit funny but I really run our of money.)
*IDE 40GB Hardisk
*And Those Old Devices(mouse, keyboard, monitor & etc)

*I Personally Don't Think The IDE Hardisk Affect Much To The Performance (Yes, but not much).
U r like running a BMW machine with a kancil engine... just change your hdd bro... u will see a major difference
Peterbigeyes
post Aug 11 2010, 04:28 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(paradis3lost @ Aug 11 2010, 03:48 PM)
Change your HDD to a newer one like a Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB or Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB. Your HDD transfer speed is bottlenecking your com.
Change HDD to Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB.
/Profit
SUSwongth7
post Aug 11 2010, 04:30 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Aug 11 2010, 04:25 PM)
U r like running a BMW machine with a kancil engine...  just change your hdd bro... u will see a major difference
hmm.gif

i think u meant BMW body with a kancil engine
Jason_ppk
post Aug 11 2010, 04:37 PM

86 posts

its more like a porsche with a kancil engine.... RM 7900 gone poooffff just like that.... wasted
BBXiong
post Aug 11 2010, 04:39 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

TS, i think u can try what majority people suggested here, sell off the i7 extreme, get a decent i5(yes, i5 is already enough in most cases), and change ur HDD, keyboard mouse, and maybe even LCD monitor..and also a aftermarket cooler for the GTX 480 so that it can run at lower temperature
Christopher7
post Aug 11 2010, 04:44 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

Its hard to believe that.
Pic pls.

TiF
post Aug 11 2010, 04:46 PM

1,192 posts

lol, idiot spotted.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top