Pesto anyone?

LameCouple
post Aug 17 2010, 02:40 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(SoulReaver @ Aug 15 2010, 07:35 PM)
RM1 for one whole Bunch.. i think thats Daun Selasih.. not the Basil for the original pesto recipe.
Yup,i bought it at morning market for RM1 for a bunch, is not a very big bunch but enough for 2-3 person portion of pesto pasta. I am not sure whether is it call Daun Selasih as i dunno how it smell like or taste like.. tongue.gif
The one i bought in morning market is called 'Jiu Cheng Tart' in Mandarin to make my pesto, it do taste like the pesto i ate in Delicious biggrin.gif
TStechmostwanted
post Aug 17 2010, 03:32 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(LameCouple @ Aug 17 2010, 02:40 PM)
Yup,i bought it at morning market for RM1 for a bunch, is not a very big bunch but enough for 2-3 person portion of pesto pasta. I am not sure whether is it call Daun Selasih as i dunno how it smell like or taste like.. tongue.gif
The one i bought in morning market is called 'Jiu Cheng Tart' in Mandarin to make my pesto, it do taste like the pesto i ate in Delicious  biggrin.gif
'Jiu Cheng Tart' sleep.gif....... this is definitely Daun selasih, very common in Malaysia, u come to my home u can get all u want i also dun mind LOL biggrin.gif

Btw, Delicious' pasta at midvalley, is very shakehead.gif ; taste is very bland, i suspect they boiled the spaghetti without enough salt. the mushroom pasta i have there, doesn't even have much mushroom taste at all, just a few slice of mushroom here and there, what i see was the total mushroom on my plate is not even more than 1 whole mushroom, and the sauce...is very obvious they just put some cream thats it. I have to add the salt and pepper myself to make it edible. And worst, the most important ingredient in pasta - cheese. just 1-2 slice the size of the quarter of ur thumb put on top of the pasta is lagi shakehead.gif . i was very unsatisfied, and therefore ask the waiter to grind more cheese on top of the pasta before serving me.

and at that price shocking.gif , i rather buy my own ingredient and cook. But dunno why a lot of youngsters like there possibly most malaysian dunno how to taste western food biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Aug 17 2010, 03:45 PM
LameCouple
post Aug 17 2010, 04:58 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Aug 17 2010, 03:32 PM)
'Jiu Cheng Tart' sleep.gif....... this is definitely Daun selasih, very common in Malaysia, u come to my home u can get all u want i also dun mind LOL biggrin.gif
Haha..where do you stay ar? If nearby, i dont mind..haha
M@Y
post Aug 20 2010, 01:35 AM

150 posts

Yes, Malaysian's basil is the Daun Selasih. Used for M'sian food. But for the pesto, is Sweet Basil. Usually can find at the fresh herb sections at Jusco, Cold Storage, Isetan and so on.

Still, there were ready made pesto for sale at some supermarkets. Great for pasta if you lazy to cook. Just cook the pasta and toss around with spaghetti along with Parmesan cheese. If you have ripe avocados, add in. Yumm drool.gif
LameCouple
post Aug 20 2010, 04:44 PM

31 posts

But i used Daun Selasih to make the pesto, it really do taste simliar to the pesto that i ate in the restaurant....maybe they used daun selasih as well tongue.gif
Bricekor P
post May 31 2019, 08:10 PM

Probation

Here is my favourite recipe of pesto sauce Very tasty and easy to make
babybobby
post Jun 2 2019, 12:02 AM

90 posts

Italian basil is different from the thai holy basil, or daun selasih as we called it, it is the same as jiu cheng ta used in Taiwanese "three cups chicken" dish.

If you wanna make "asian version" pesto using thai basil or selasih, be sure to add some mint leaves to compensate the taste.

Italian pesto can be flexible and add any herbs as you like, but beware that authentic genovese pesto calls for italian basil and parmigiano reggiano or parmesan cheese. If you wanna taste the original then get the real things.

Or else, any jarred pesto will do, however i strongly recommend De Cecco pesto sauce, it tastes the closest to the real one.

0.0175sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:39 PM