VW Golf 1.4TSI,Scirocco1.4,Polo 1.2TSI, Volkswagen Cars Discussion.Das Auto!

zackloy
post Sep 27 2010, 11:37 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:49 AM)
anyone find the lag in the throttle response during stop start movement weird?

Was test driving it in pj and was at a round about during pre-peak hour time.. saw a gap/chance in the car flow and wanted to go for it. Press down the accelerator and nothing happens for like a second or so... den it suddenly surges forward. Thing is.. in the time it takes for the car to move from standstill, the gap already closed up and the car's too near... had to jam the brakes or else would've knocked into someone.. I was like wtf..

is that the characteristics of the DSG or due to engine response?
That's the mechatronics deciding on your drive style. My friend in a MkV Gti told me about it, something like if the previous driver was driving at a leisurely pace, the mechatronic predicts that you're going for a leisurely drive in advance, so when you floor the throttle it takes a while to get used to the new driving style.

Added on September 27, 2010, 11:44 amAnyone know if we can choose different rims as an option? I like the ori rims but they seem too small. If all goes well will place booking later this month.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Sep 27 2010, 11:44 AM
zackloy
post Oct 29 2010, 10:22 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(hanifw @ Oct 28 2010, 06:32 PM)
if space is not that important... which one? lancer or inspira?
Lancer and Inspira are the same car, so space should be equal. Did you mean vs Polo or Golf? IMHO go for Golf if choosing between Lancer and Golf - Golf overall driveability wins this. If against the Polo, for the money go for the Lancer or Inspira.
zackloy
post Dec 6 2010, 09:36 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Dec 6 2010, 09:32 AM)
So many mixed advices.... I also dunno who to listen to. My Japanese car owner frens all recommend me to change at 1k...... some driving mx5 and other high revving cars like that. But the sales rep and technician at the VW service centre INSISTED that there is no such need. So I should listen to him. But there always this fear that I might regret not changing earlier.
There are many opinions on the net for this. 1 school of thought is that to change the oil as soon as possible to get rid of the metal shavings etc that are supposedly common for all new engines, then only follow the schedule. Some advocate following the scheduled service intervals as per manaufacturer. IMHO if worried, just change the oil...this can be done outside of VW as long as you use back the original oil filter etc. VW won't know and it won't cost as much.
zackloy
post Dec 6 2010, 10:59 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Dec 6 2010, 10:10 AM)
phaser,

im ryou in VGM.

With regards to changing oil...if u are worried, just do it lor, theres no difinitive right or wrong, if it makes u feel better and sleep at night, i would suggest u do it

VW's need more care then japs..just get into habit of checking your fluid levels, eg my roc is only one month old, noticed last nite that coolant is down to min level, need to go back and refill at VW

For hills, i now drive old school way, pull hand brake, rev till theres resistance and let go
Say bro, thinking real hard on Golf Tsi or Gti, what's your opinion? Tsi good enough? I know you have tried most VWs so your opinion please.
zackloy
post Dec 6 2010, 04:36 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Dec 6 2010, 03:21 PM)
TSI vs GTI

diffrent cars for diffrent ppl/needs.

If you can afford the extra 1k-1.5k per month to get the GTI, by all means go for it...its still better value then a 320i  tongue.gif

with the GTI u get
- slightly more street cred
- ability to mod till 300bhp if u desire max power
- nicer interior and ACC

with the TSI u
- save 55k....which to me..is a huge amount of money...can buy a  extra Myvi for pasar duties, or used as downpayment in a few years for a Golf R
- As much power as the stock GTi with a simple remap

I got the TSI roc cos i just didnt feel that spending 245k on a 2.0 roc was worth it, couldn't bring myself to spend so much money
Ya thanks bro, I think I'll just get the Tsi, same conclusion like you extra 50K is a lot. Will cari you for remap and RNS510!
zackloy
post Dec 6 2010, 08:24 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(bluescreamer @ Dec 6 2010, 08:17 PM)
I got rm3000 discount each, (bought 2 cw golf tsi's) at Veemer, Old Klang Road. SA is Jeffrey.

Don't say u heard from ppl. Just try to nego more, he'll start at rm2000 discount each, if u buy 2. Not sure how much discount if buy one only smile.gif
Hmm 222 offering only 1% discount...
zackloy
post Dec 10 2010, 02:49 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(tiganasfx @ Dec 10 2010, 02:28 PM)
Cergaz gave me 2% discount for my Golf. Just received my car today.

Has anyone tried the Stage 1 ECU reflash yet? Will it void the 5-year warranty?
Really....I'll check with Cergaz then...

Stage 1 ECU mod will void your warranty if VW find out....apparently if you do an APR ECU mod which has the option to switch back to stock whenever you want, VW most likely can't detect it with a normal check during servicing....anyway it's up to you...a forumner here said it best - "If afraid don't mod, if mod don't be afraid" smile.gif
zackloy
post Dec 10 2010, 03:41 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(tiganasfx @ Dec 10 2010, 02:55 PM)
Haha he is so right....

Anyway the SC i went to , his name is Sam Masonn. Its either Ipad + 1% , Free 1 or 2 service + 1% or 2%
Thanks for the info, went to Wearnes Bangsar, they give 1% + iPad + 1 free service if buy the car now and register by 1st week of Jan 2011. Problem is am waiting for my funds to come in before I get the car (dun want to touch savings), and now a friend who has some insider info on VW told me to hold till Jan 2011 - seems that there is going to be a major announcement by VW on the CKD models in Dec which involves our PM too...so rclxub.gif Heart says just get the car, brain says wait and see. BTW what colour did you get?

This post has been edited by zackloy: Dec 10 2010, 03:42 PM
zackloy
post Dec 23 2010, 10:06 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(tiganasfx @ Dec 23 2010, 09:41 AM)
Another question. I read that the seven-speed DSG is used in smaller front-wheel drive cars with smaller displacement engines with lower torque outputs, such as the latest Volkswagen Golf, due to it having a maximum torque handling capacity of 250 N·m (180 lb·ft).

Has anyone experience any detrimental effect after remapping?
VW never did say that the 7-speed DSG can handle maximum of 250N-m of toque - what they actually claimed was that the 7-speed would be used with engines with a max torque of 250N-m. I've trawled forums on this myself and so far those that remap to S1 have not encountered significant issues with the DSG. I could be wrong though.
zackloy
post Jan 3 2011, 04:27 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Jan 3 2011, 04:13 PM)
Yeah, I did ask when I ordered mine last time. Seems like that option together with the flip reverse camera is just too expensive to add into the package. But if u ask me, I prefer them to add in the RNS510 instead of the parking thing. I mean...... parking....... aiyah... slowly do ourselves lor. nod.gif
Agreed. Parking can do ourselves. RNS510 is a good option to have and also choice of rims. Did they say if the RNS510 could be factory added? Last time I asked is a no.
zackloy
post Jan 4 2011, 10:21 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jan 4 2011, 09:56 AM)
there have been many updates and firmware updates for the RNS, the issue is that you can never know what version you are getting until u open the parcel. Also, the RNS hardrive is susceptible to damage during the long journey to msia (most units come from europe). firmware updates doesnt matter to the RCD..cos its essentially just a CDplayer, but it affects the navi function for RNS

Anyway...ppl who belum cuba, belum tau, so will always want "the best' for thier car, based on internet research. im just speaking from xp, and the fact that i have brought in quite a few RNS, my 2 sen is to get a RCD and a garmin OR find someone with a actual RNS and play around with it to see if its what u really need/want

if u must have a GPS integrated HU, then u can look at the kenwood DNX which will fit VW cars
http://www.kenwood.eu/products/car/multime...ivers/DNX520VBT
How much would the Kenwood be? And can their Garmin maps be updated using MFM or MSM maps?
zackloy
post Jan 7 2011, 01:04 PM

557 posts

Anyone got info on deals for 2010 Golf Tsi and/or Gti, just called Jln 222 and they say for Tsi only 1% discount + 2 free service and Gti 5K disc. Or should I wait for 2011 cars?
*update* Cergaz giving 8k + 1 free service for Gti, 2% + no. of service negotiable for Tsi

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 7 2011, 01:38 PM
zackloy
post Jan 10 2011, 08:52 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Jan 10 2011, 06:07 PM)
This car... quite high mileage lor. Only 3 months already nearing 9k. First of all, we'll need to see why he's selling after just 3 short months. Something wrong with the car? hmm.gif Then again, for just 20k difference, I prefer to get a new car with no mileage, the colour of my choice, no wear n tear, number plate of my choice, new car smell.... and the 'virgin' feel thumbup.gif . Somemore if u get a new 2010 car, the dealer might give u a good deal too.

Added on January 10, 2011, 6:10 pm

That's why.... it depends on how much 'more' u can afford and willing to spend.  brows.gif  But the Polo is indeed a little bit small in the inside. It felt a little cramped when a fei chai like myself sat in it. sweat.gif
Bro how is your ownership experience so far with the Gti? Thinking of getting one myself.
zackloy
post Jan 21 2011, 01:15 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(crocky @ Jan 21 2011, 01:06 PM)
hi guys,

I'm interested to take VW Polo 1.2 TSI..is there any promotion going on say if i took 2010 stock?

Only promo allowed now is better HP rates starting from 1.8%. No other $$$ discounts allowed by VGM. Try to get things like extra free service, tinting etc.
zackloy
post Jan 25 2011, 03:40 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 25 2011, 02:54 PM)
You can ask your dealer for the MDI cable for the iPod which is pricey or you can nego to get it for free. Otherwise look up eBay. I got mine from there. 18" rims means expensive tyres but the Golf definitely looks sexy with 18" on.

Golf Mk7 in a couple of years time tongue.gif

Looks like a Hyundai i30 hmm.gif
zackloy
post Feb 18 2011, 10:37 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(shchoy @ Feb 18 2011, 10:28 AM)
Yes, but VGM have a Choice not to remove it since
the 2011 Car is imported-in with DRL intact.
It kinda leave a Sour Taste that they choose this path.

It gives the impression that 2011 buyers are being "short-change"
just because their Marketing team can't keep up with 2011 model.

Not to mention, the delivery of the car to customers
is now delay due to this decision.

I would definitely make "noise" if I knew they want to
"CKD" the DRL lights off my CBU car…

Sure, VGM may have rights to do that…
but doesn't mean it's right.
I agree with you 110%. I'm waiting for my 2011 Gti and if I knew it came with the DRL and VGM had it removed I would not be happy. The least they could do is offer the buyer the choice to leave the DRL on but for a price. At least that way I as a buyer will then have the power of choice.

0.0560sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:13 PM