VW Golf 1.4TSI,Scirocco1.4,Polo 1.2TSI, Volkswagen Cars Discussion.Das Auto!

gregy
post Nov 9 2010, 02:25 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(walle @ Nov 9 2010, 01:55 PM)
My SA offer either 1% rebate or ipad n 1 free service wor..for golf 1.4 tsi
Take the iPad and free service smile.gif That 1% rebate is only worth at the most 1.5k. An iPad costs at least 1.8k or more (depending on storage and wifi/3G). Service also at least RM100 right?
gregy
post Nov 10 2010, 03:29 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(jerrychiang @ Nov 10 2010, 12:47 PM)
ahaha , i believe that is the right cycle is it?
so my polo 15" should sell to proton saga.
brows.gif
But I doubt your VW wheels will fit a Proton. What's your PCD, and how many holes?
gregy
post Nov 15 2010, 02:09 PM

411 posts

These days manufacturers are coming out with coupes that only have two seats at the back (Merc CLS, VW Passat CC etc). Either cars are getting smaller, or ppl are getting larger lol...
gregy
post Nov 18 2010, 02:17 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 18 2010, 09:15 AM)
If they did then the prices would be higher and the waiting period will be longer because they then have to cater on which models to ship in, which colour that customers will anticipate and whether they will take the leather seats option or not. Because we are considered the 3rd market (after developed countries and high volume ones), shipment volumes will be lower hence the wait for most of us here have to bear with. At least consider ourselves lucky, the Audi A4 now has a 7 months waiting list. The sales guy doesn't even try to sell you the car, he usually just says, when we have the car, you will be the first to find out.
Should have just stuck to leather for a premium brand. I don't see any Audis or Beemers with fabric options, do you? The cost of changing to aftermarket leather seats is around RM2k+, if it's installed at the factory during assembly the cost is much lower.
gregy
post Nov 19 2010, 01:01 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 18 2010, 02:37 PM)
I got to stop you there at the 1st sentence.

VW is not a premium brand, in Germany, Volkswagen means "People's Car"

Hence its not targeted to be a premium brand. It may be perceived here as one mainly because of it's price.

Note that you can't just change to leather seats here with the Golf 1.4 TSI (not too sure about the Polo) mainly because you will void the warranty of the side airbags at the two front seats.
Ya bro I know VW is not exactly a premium brand in the global context, but in Asia it can still be considered as one since it belongs to VAG. It's Audi's little sibling smile.gif Yeah we can all talk about how the tax structure is screwing around with perceived values etc, but at the end of the day their objective is to sell more cars here; in this country a car doesn't even need to be over a hundred grand to warrant leather seats. Case in point: Peugeot 308 VTi smile.gif More importantly, most cars in that price range come with an option for leather seats, and some of them do have more than 2 airbags.

I wasn't quoting the price for changing to leather seats as an option, merely pointing out the fact that cost-wise, it isn't a lot, especially if you spec it at factory level. IMHO (and I really mean humble opinion!), VW should have just specced the TSI with leather seats, period. It's a great car, great package, just too bad about the seats.

Let's just forget that I said "premium" for a minute, and consider that leather seats have more advantages against fabric, with fire, smell and stain retardant properties being on top of my list. At more than 150k, a few extra k won't be felt, that's all I'm saying.
gregy
post Nov 19 2010, 01:03 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Nov 18 2010, 09:18 PM)
mind you bmws and mercedes (3er/C class) in the UK has optional leather, and VW is less premium than those two

Hence my point, in other markets they can do whatever they want. But you won't find a new 3-series or C-Class with fabric options here in Malaysia smile.gif
gregy
post Dec 1 2010, 04:59 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Dec 1 2010, 03:38 PM)
just found this thread from another fren...heres some pics of my new TSI Roc to poison the fence sitters  biggrin.gif

btw, for those who are interested in a RCD510, i have a few units available

Cool, looks like Toothless the dragon from How To Train Your Dragon smile.gif
gregy
post Dec 10 2010, 06:03 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Dec 10 2010, 02:49 PM)
Really....I'll check with Cergaz then...

Stage 1 ECU mod will void your warranty if VW find out....apparently if you do an APR ECU mod which has the option to switch back to stock whenever you want, VW most likely can't detect it with a normal check during servicing....anyway it's up to you...a forumner here said it best - "If afraid don't mod, if mod don't be afraid" smile.gif
Ok, here's another scenario. Let's say your ECU-modded Golf was involved in an accident that needed it to be towed to an authorized workshop. That means you won't have time to reflash the ROM to stock. Apart from running the risk of losing your warranty, will it also be a problem with the insurance coverage? Will that be affected as well?

Added on December 10, 2010, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(tiganasfx @ Dec 10 2010, 03:48 PM)
I got the black.

You may like to know...

http://paultan.org/2010/09/21/volkswagen-g...ntly-sold-here/

There has been much excitement, and speculation, since the announcement that Volkswagen has signed an MoU with DRB-Hicom to locally assemble cars at the latter’s Pekan plant. Everyone has their guesses (some incredibly sure) on the identity of the three models, but thanks to a statement from Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM), we now know that the list WILL NOT include models currently sold in Malaysia. Here’s the verbatim press statement:
Following the announcement in August on the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with DRB-HICOM Berhad to collaborate on local assembly, Volkswagen would like to reiterate the content of the MoU that both parties are still in the early stage of investigating local vehicle assembly. The joint plans envisage the production of Volkswagen models in Malaysia from 2012 onwards.

The matter is still under negotiations and as a policy, Volkswagen will not comment on ongoing discussions. Suffice it to say, the models / variants in negotiations to be locally assembled will not be the models which are currently offered in Malaysia.

VGM’s current range consists of the five-door Polo 1.2 TSI, New Beetle, Golf 1.4 TSI, Scirocco (160 PS/210 PS), Golf GTI, Passat CC, Eos, Tiguan and Touareg V6 SUV.
..... however dun blame me if they changed their minds.  biggrin.gif
IMO it's silly if they don't want to take advantage of CKD for those models that are hot selling here. Also, there aren't that many models left that aren't already selling here.

This post has been edited by gregy: Dec 10 2010, 06:09 PM
gregy
post Dec 11 2010, 04:16 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Dec 10 2010, 07:07 PM)
Its already been more or less confirmed that the CKD models will be

- Normal Passat
- Jetta
- Polo (diffrent variant from the 1.2 currently being sold)

VW malaysia is protecting the current buyers of VW in malaysia, they dont want situation like the Inspira/Lancer fiasco, where alot of ppl cancel bookings to wait for CKD
Protecting the existing market is one thing, but to do that and forgo a larger, more sustainable future market share is IMHO not very sound business sense. One can take the example of the family oriented Golf Plus as an example; you can hardly see any on the road.

Anywhere else, a Veedub is just another 'people's car', but over here it is associated with performance n speed. If u take the fun out of a Veedub it might not sell as well, even if it's priced low due to CKD.

Existing owners might feel cheated if they do decide to assemble said models here, but in the long run if the brand grows substantially in popularity, the level of service may improve due to SCs having more experience dealing with problems, not to mention the cost of parts might come down. So in the long run, assembling the Golf, Roc etc locally could end up being a blessing in disguise.

Ironically, should VW become a mainstream player here, existing owners might also enjoy better resale value.

Looking at it from the logical standpoint; it doesn't matter to VAG whether we get the cars CBU or CKD, cos they still earn the same/similar for each car sold, regardless. It's the tax that we pay that makes it expensive. So, (example) if they can currently sell 50 units a month CBU, and projections show that they can triple or quadruple that with CKD, why not?

This post has been edited by gregy: Dec 11 2010, 04:31 AM
gregy
post Dec 11 2010, 11:29 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Dec 11 2010, 09:38 AM)
The roc is only made in a single location for the entire world, GTI's are only made in 2, theres probably a reason VW wants to keep it that way, probably due to thier existing supply and logistic structure

The malaysian market, even if VW sales were to quadruple with CKD is nothing but a pin drop to overall VAG group sales

better resale vale? how much better can it get? VW GTI's already have one of the best RV in the market, I bought mine for 172k, sold it for 167k after 60k km

The whole point of CKD is to increase local content, the higher the local content, the lower the transfer price of the CKD pack from VW
I assume you bought yours pre-owned? Which one was it, the Wald edition MkV that was originally sold around 250k?
gregy
post Dec 11 2010, 05:02 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 11 2010, 04:36 PM)
Thats true but unfortunately Malaysia is still a small market for them. Their focus right now is in China where they sold more than a million cars there accounting for 38% of their total car sales globally and they have 9 factories there
If the largest carmaker in the world, Toyota, can see it fit to have an interest here, I don't see why VW Group (3rd largest) shd give us a pass. A few months ago there was some chatter on forums that VW wanted to setup a plant here to supply cars regionally. This goes to show that they do intend to do something more substantial here than just exporting CBU to us. I guess we'll just have to wait n see.
gregy
post Dec 17 2010, 12:41 AM

411 posts

Warranty claims are usually like that. Nobody wants to pay, and they will find fault any way they can.
gregy
post Dec 19 2010, 06:48 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Dec 19 2010, 05:51 PM)
How come tarak one? I got it on the delivery day together with all the other documentation. But all that is not relevant ..... since u've already bought the car.
I might be wrong, but isn't the transportation costs higher from S. Africa than from Germany? I'd think that all units would have been shipped from Germany to minimize shipping costs.
gregy
post Dec 22 2010, 02:43 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Silenced @ Dec 22 2010, 02:26 PM)

Added on December 22, 2010, 2:32 pmbtw,my polo automatically turn off the light in meter gauge when i enter dark place like carpark in shopping centre and turn back  on when i exit the carpark.Is this normal?If so,why does it do that? lol
I think it's a safety feature built-in so that drivers will turn on their lights when it gets dark. Most cars don't have this system, that's why you find so many ppl who drive in darkness without turning on their lights, cos most cars today have some form of optitron meters that light up day and night regardless whether you switch on your lights or not.

If possible, turn on your lights in a car park. It's not for you to see others, it's for others to see you smile.gif
gregy
post Jan 3 2011, 04:00 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Jan 2 2011, 02:02 AM)

175 Nm @ 1550rpm, + DSG..... bmw 320i struggled to keep up.
I did some approximate calculations and here are the results of the power bands between the Polo 1.2 TSI and Civic 1.8S:

1,550rpm = Polo (38hp), Civic (31.57hp)

3,000rpm = Polo (73.7), Civic (68hp)

4,000rpm = Polo (98hp), Civic (95hp)

5,000rpm = Polo (105hp), Civic (119hp)

6,000rpm = Polo (102hp), Civic (139hp)

Calculations were based on torque output at the given rpms (converted from Nm to pound foot) x rpm, then divided by 5252.

So, this explains the "seat of the pants" feeling of driving a turbocharged Polo TSI at anything below 4,000rpm and in that sense I can concur that driving the Polo around town can be compared to a 2.0-litre NA car; however for acceleration and top speed you can see that the Civic is no slouch here. The main difference is not because of the turbocharging, but the fact that the Polo is just slightly over 1 tonne while the Civic is heavier at 1.24 tonnes. No need to mention about transmission loss, as the Civic's 5AT only robs approximately 20% of power to the wheels, which is very close to that of a manual tranny.

If you look at this vid, you'll see that the lack of low end torque doesn't impede the Civic, as the gears are designed to upshift at around its max torque output for flat out driving:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkdUURkcZ9c&feature=related

Nonetheless, that @$$-shoving low end torque of the Polo is more fun as a daily driver. If only the seats weren't so cramped lol...

gregy
post Jan 4 2011, 01:56 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(eugene jk @ Jan 4 2011, 12:24 AM)

Added on January 4, 2011, 12:36 am

Good calculation and analysis.. Polo strong point is high torque at low RPM and high power to weight ratio.. most jap cars on the road can eat Polo's dust  cool2.gif
Better enjoy it while you can smile.gif I read somewhere that Toyota is going the forced induction route for their next gen mass production cars. Now only wake up, haih. Better late than neva lol

Added on January 4, 2011, 1:58 am
QUOTE(eugene jk @ Jan 4 2011, 12:24 AM)

Added on January 4, 2011, 12:36 am

Good calculation and analysis.. Polo strong point is high torque at low RPM and high power to weight ratio.. most jap cars on the road can eat Polo's dust  cool2.gif
Better enjoy it while you can smile.gif The next gen of Jap cars will be going the forced induction route too. Better late than never lol

This post has been edited by gregy: Jan 4 2011, 01:58 AM

0.0482sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:28 AM