QUOTE(milky @ Dec 27 2010, 11:36 PM)
The former is at the top and the latter top right.Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)
Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)
Dec 27 2010, 11:49 PM
11,456 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: KL |
Dec 29 2010, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Dec 28 2010, 11:44 PM) wana ask all d macbook sifu... Can, no problem. The "Mac version" is just pre-formatted to HFS+. The other versions are usually NTFS.does apple pc... can read all d thumbdrive + external hdd dat bought outside...? coz i see wd hav one is mac edition... confuse... sorry for d noob question... Some of the more expensive "Mac versions" also have Firewire 800 in addition to USB. The new USB 3.0 ones will also work with the Mac. This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 29 2010, 01:06 AM |
Dec 29 2010, 10:16 PM
So fast? What's the cycle count? Have you tried to recondition it? Sometimes that's all it needs.
Dec 29 2010, 11:45 PM
That's a pretty high cycle count. Try this:
http://www.google.com.my/search?client=saf...c866cd411dda43a |
Dec 30 2010, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Dec 30 2010, 01:07 AM) i have a little problem here. i am using mozilla firefox in my mbp. when i load a certain site with like...ten or more images, the site stopped loading(it loads until halfway then stop loading already and the pictures did not come out). Then, when I try to download something that ends with a .dmg and .zip and .rar(all direct links), the same thing happened. It loads halfway then the download dialogue didn't come out at all. What's the problem and how can I fix this? Does the problem occur in other browsers? |
Dec 30 2010, 09:03 PM
Dec 31 2010, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Dec 31 2010, 10:12 AM) I think I have sorta' figured out what's the problem. It seems like it's the firewall. I turned off my Belkin's firewall then everything's back to normal. The pictures start loading smoothly. But, I don't want to leave my firewall off as well. Is there a config/ setting I should set? I don't use a Belkin but a firewall shouldn't have this effect. Is this a new problem? Did you just get the Belkin? Was it working before?One option is to keep the Belkin's firewall off and turn on the OSX firewall on your individual Macs. Honestly we don't even know what protection the Belkin's firewall actually affords you. Added on December 31, 2010, 9:30 pm QUOTE(zgmf-x20a @ Dec 31 2010, 11:44 AM) does any 1 have magic disconnect issue? i have update the OS to latest and as well i change the new battery for the mouse. but it will disconnect after couple minutes. any solution except i bring back to MAC service center? What Mac is this? I've been using my Magic Mouse with a MBP for about 2 months now. So far no disconnection problems.Have you tried to re-do the bluetooth pairing? This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 1 2011, 12:12 AM |
Jan 1 2011, 12:34 AM
Assuming it's not a hardware prob, the only thing I can think of is interference from something at the same freq. Are you on SL? All updates installed?
Jan 3 2011, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 3 2011, 11:47 PM) You either reformat the Mac and reinstall OSX with the OSX DVDs that came with it orjust create a new user for you sis and remove your previous user. Just remember to specify that you want the files to be deleted when you remove the user. Added on January 4, 2011, 12:06 am QUOTE(noor22710 @ Jan 3 2011, 09:14 AM) Hi guys... MacBook Air. Much cooler than the plain old MacBook. Cool factor will be especially important since you're studying. I assume somebody other than yourself will be funding the Mac. If possible, get the 2.13GHz one and at least 128GB SSD because 64GB will probably not be enough. You might want the 13", doing serious work on the 11" is really frustrating and tiring.I do not know either this is rite place to ask or there is another thread for new fans of Macbook like me... I just want to know what is different between Macbook and Macbook Air? If I still study, what should I get? The lighter weight also helps. You'd probably be carrying books and other stuff right? Anyway you don't want to leave it in the dorm if you're staying on-campus. It'll probly be stolen in the blink of an eye. If it's light, you can carry it with you all the time. This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 4 2011, 12:06 AM |
Jan 7 2011, 10:30 PM
You can use an Airport Express to extend the range of your wireless network if your router supports WDS. For cheaper options, try the TP-Link Wireless repeaters, less than RM 90 each. Whatever you do, don't buy the DLink DAP-1360, that one just does not work.
In my house, I'm using the TPLink to boost the signal strength to upstairs. My router is downstairs. Works fine with my MBP, iPad, iPhone, PCs, etc... The DLink that I mentioned above does not work at all. Wierd. |
Jan 8 2011, 09:05 PM
Jan 15 2011, 05:33 AM
Feb 11 2011, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 10 2011, 11:28 PM) Still no retina display but glad they decided to put in the retinal webcam. I heard it's autofocus, has great low light performance and self cleaning too. Definitely something I've been eyeing for a while. |
Feb 11 2011, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(macduck @ Feb 9 2011, 03:54 PM) hi, If you can wait, I think probably better idea to wait but who knows how long it will be before the new MBP is released. Mar seems unlikely. April? Maybe even as late as June given the Cougar Point problems. Certainly the update is imminent, even the local Apple dealers aren't stocking any more MBPs.new here and would need advice from all seniors here. am keen on buying a custom mbp 2.8Ghz 8GB rams for serious PS. but worried bout rumours of new mbp 2011 coming out in Mar-Apr '11. will be disappointed that the mbp bought will be outdated in like 2-3 months time. any opinions guys?? However, having said that, I did order a CTO MBP with 2.8Ghz & HR screen on 5/2. In fact it just shipped yesterday 10/2 and according to the tracking info, it's now sitting in Pu Dong Intl, Shanghai waiting for its ride to Subang. But my situation is a bit different. I've actually had a MBP 2.66 since last year. I sold it off to a friend who needed one urgently when he couldn't find any shops with the MBP in stock. This was a week before CNY which gave me some time to decide whether to wait for the new MBP. Initially I was prepared to wait until March or even April but ultimately decided not to as my work depends too much on it. My reasons: 1. Cougar Point problems may delay launch of MBP. I can't wait. No choice for me here. 2. Dual Core i7 only available 20/2. MBP release 1/2 mths after that? 3. Sandy Bridge i7 2.7Ghz is only slightly faster or slower than Arrandale 2.8Ghz (but might be cheaper) 4. TDP is the same, I think, so no battery savings. 5. Skip Sandy Bridge and wait for quad-core Ivy Bridge. 6. No Light Peak yet Of course, I'm going to kick myself if they come out with a new MBP with a spanking new design next Wednesday. Does anyone know about the return policies when buying from the MY online Apple Store? Update: Seems according to this: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html The 640M Arrandale i7 2.8Ghz is slightly faster than the 2620M Sandy Bridge i7 2.7Ghz. Of course not taking into account SB's support for 1333 Ram. Experts, please comment. This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 11 2011, 02:48 AM |
Feb 11 2011, 02:38 AM
QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 11 2011, 02:25 AM) bro, i have some noob questions. Cougar Point is Intel's chipset for the new Sandy Bridge i7 CPUs. The problem I was referring to is where its last 4 SATA ports would destroy itself over time and stop working.what is cougar point? what is TDP? oh, also, i was thinking of upgarding the RAM on my 2010 13" MBP to 8GB but i dunno which brand to choose, but its supposed to the DDR3 1066 type isnt it? TDP is Thermal Design Power which specifies how much heat a design of a notebook needs to dissipate. Any DDR3 1066 will work, check your Mac manual for the exact specs required by Apple. Do you need 8GB? You have 4GB currently? Get an SSD, the perceived performance increase from that upgrade will be about a 100 times more than an 8GB ram upg. This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 11 2011, 02:52 AM |
Feb 11 2011, 03:30 AM
QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 11 2011, 02:52 AM) oh ok, thanx bro! Dunno whether 8GB will help with games. I don't game much at all. Only got Angry Birds and Chopper 2 on my MBP. You're right about the price of the SSD, still expensive. 2 x 4GB DDR3 now is really cheap. Just check the LYN price lists. Btw I'm using Kingston ValueRam, the cheapest i could find. No probs so far.Added on February 11, 2011, 3:00 amyeah, my MBP come with 4GB RAM from factory. i wanna upgrade to 8GB since i saw SSD price is super expensive. well.... to be honest im not so sure if i need 8GB... but i do play games like modern warfare 2 and bioshock(both buy from Mac App Store) and Call of duty:black ops(run on bootcamp window 7)... when i play Black Ops on my MBP, it lags a bit sumtimes, so i think adding RAM will help? how much is 8GB DDR3 1066 RAM nowadays? |
Feb 12 2011, 04:45 AM
QUOTE(macduck @ Feb 11 2011, 05:43 PM) is the new mbp's design going to be similar to the macbook? I think only Apple knows about the new MBP design, if any. I personally think the design will stay the same until next year.btw, what return policies are you refering to? do they actually cater such service? how to look at the charts for the processor comparisons? look at which numbers? dhrystone and whetstone? like what you guys mentioned earlier, will upgrading to SSD really boost the performance of our mbp? if so, can we upgrade by our own instead of purchasing from apple store? In the US, you can if you're not satisfied with the product, here dunno. Clicking on the Returns link in the MY Apple Store Help section results in a 404. SSD = huge performance increase because the HD is the greatest bottleneck in any computer. You can buy your own, I'm using a Corsair 240GB. Added on February 12, 2011, 4:50 am QUOTE(mememe12 @ Feb 11 2011, 06:44 PM) what do u mean by in the KB range eh? i planning to upgrade ram too.. bcoz recently do quite a lot of video rendering.. Can try to sell to PC users whose notebooks came with 2x1GB. All current Macs are now 4GB min aren't they? Won't be worth much though, 2GB sticks are only RM70 new.but i wonder if i upgrade to 2x 4GB.. the 2 x 2GB in my current MBP can sell or not? or keep until it rots d? So happy, I'm going to be new MBP owner for the 2nd time in 8 months. :-) Feb 12, 2011 03:26 Hhp - HHP Clearance processing complete - Hhp - HHP Feb 11, 2011 17:37 Pvg - PVG Clearance processing complete - Pvg - PVG Feb 11, 2011 00:42 Pvg - PVG Clearance delay - Pvg - PVG Feb 11, 2011 00:41 Pvg - PVG Shipment on hold - Pvg - PVG Feb 10, 2011 18:35 Sha - SHA Departed from facility - Sha - SHA Feb 10, 2011 18:34 Sha - SHA Processed - Sha - SHA Feb 10, 2011 18:02 Sha - SHA Shipment picked up - Sha - SHA Does DHL deliver on a Saturday? For those who might be interested in the online Apple Store process, here's a timeline of my order. Apple is quite efficient. Feb 5: I ordered on the 5th. It's a CTO so Apple's website says "Ships in 3 business days". I expected delays since it's only 3rd day of CNY. Probably everyone in SG and CN still on holidays or in holiday mood. Feb 7: Received order acknowledgement. I guessed no one worked over the weekend. So now they're preparing the MBP and, possibly, frantically searching for the last non-Sandy Bridge CPU to put into my order. Forgot to add it's an edu order, later in the afternoon, someone, probably from SG called to asked for Student ID, Uni, etc. At this point I'd like to thank my cousin in USM, PG. Feb 9: Status changed to "Prepared for shipment". Feb 10: Status to "Shipped". Exactly 3 business days. Now DHL takes over and we'll see if DHL really stands for "Dua Hari Lambat" :-) This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 12 2011, 05:41 AM |
Feb 12 2011, 06:56 AM
QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 12 2011, 05:53 AM) bro, how much is your Corsair 240GB SSD? i was looking for an SSD(u recommended to me remember bro) and saw a trader selling OCZ Vertex 2 SSD. he offered rm13++ for a 240GB SSD, is it ok the price? I bought mine Sep last year for RM1890. 13++ is damn good price. Which trader is this? Might want to get one more. |
Feb 12 2011, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(macduck @ Feb 12 2011, 12:43 PM) You might need to get external HD if you do a lot of video. 240GB is quite a lot. When I got my SSD, I decided 240GB was the least that I can work confortably with so I waited till the price drop and got it. My previous MacBook was 500gb which just really means that I have 260GB more rubbish on it. :-)Added on February 12, 2011, 3:39 pm QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 12 2011, 03:28 PM) From my previous experience with Apple/DHL, the acronym DHL still stands as Dua Hari Lambat..! LOL. Thought so. As long as it's not DuaBelas Hari Lambat. :-) Unless during that twelve days, Apple releases the new MBP then I can blame DHL and get a new one.This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 12 2011, 03:39 PM |
Feb 14 2011, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(chewlf @ Feb 13 2011, 09:29 AM) I got mine from Viewnet at LYP, it was a Corsair F240. Actually I went looking for OCZ Vertex 2 at Cycom and CZone but no stock. Any Sandforce based SSD should be OK and comparable in speed.Added on February 14, 2011, 1:02 am QUOTE(macduck @ Feb 13 2011, 11:45 AM) There's also 480GB but blardy expensive. More than double last time I check.Added on February 14, 2011, 1:07 am QUOTE(Redcross @ Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM) Bring to shop and install on the spot and try out. Ask the shop to see if you can return it if got problem. Most shops in LYN should be OK with that. I was using el-cheapo Kingston KVR 1066 DDR3 4GB x 2 for the past 7 months, no probs at all. For the new MBP, I'm getting soon, I will try out 1333 DDR3 and see if there're any problems.Added on February 14, 2011, 1:12 am QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Feb 13 2011, 11:34 PM) planning to get 1 mpb 13" as i am going to start my online business soon, having a laptop rather than an iphone is much more easier i guess... Oh dear, I knew this would happen. I ordered a new MBP last week and should be getting it from DHL tomorrow. It's been sitting in Sepang whole day Sunday.however, after reading http://www.macrumors.com/2011/02/12/march-...w-macbook-pros/ i feel like wait for the next upgrade as i will busy during the 3rd and 4th week of feb (exam)... so most likely get 1 after it release Feb 12, 2011 22:54 Kul - KUL Clearance processing complete - Kul - KUL This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 14 2011, 01:25 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0446sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:20 AM |