4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

soonwai
post Dec 18 2010, 01:41 PM

11,456 posts

Have you tried pressing it, if you don't a have DVD drive then I don't think it'll do anything. Maybe you can change it to do something useful using Keyboard in System Prefs.
soonwai
post Dec 18 2010, 05:29 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 18 2010, 11:52 AM)
Hey guys...
I've installed my momentus XT for about 1 week now..
I din't install a fresh copy and I have bootcamp in it...
The boot time is 1 minute from boot to dock.... Is this normal?
Or should I install a fresh copy?
Fresh install of 10.6.4 on a MBP 15" i7, 8GB with Momentus XT, no bootcamp. Don't remember exactly but boot time was about 20-25 secs (after 3 or 4 boots). I timed from pressing power button to appearance of loginwindow.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 18 2010, 05:59 PM
soonwai
post Dec 19 2010, 01:59 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 19 2010, 10:24 AM)
The senior sales guy in Mac City told me no1 has the 128gb, 11" MacBook Air in stock. Is it true? I was too deeply in love with it oredi after trying it out yesterday n had to take it home even though it's only 64gb.

Also couldn't find any of the accessories like soft case, palm rest, Speck casing n all. Any1 seen them around?
I bought an 11" 128GB MBA on Nov 18 from Machines, Midvalley. That's a month ago. Didn't you check with shops other than MacCity? For obvious reasons, I'm sure they would tell you that no-one else has stocks if they didn't.

Added on December 19, 2010, 2:03 pm
QUOTE(anexus @ Dec 19 2010, 10:54 AM)
Hey guys! I found an unused 2006 Macbook Pro at my house and thought that I should try and switch to a Mac to see what it's all about.

That's nice. The last time I found something Apple in the house it was a PowerBook 145. :-(

Hope you get your prob solved.

Added on December 19, 2010, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Dec 19 2010, 12:55 PM)
Have you guys did any protection on your Mac?
Like case, skin and blah
I was thinking  putting case or skin on it would makes it getting hot or not.
It'll definitely make it hotter. A case or a skin acts as an insulator.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 19 2010, 02:10 PM
soonwai
post Dec 19 2010, 11:08 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(anexus @ Dec 19 2010, 06:55 PM)
Any idea where I can get those for cheap?
Low Yat should have them. The USB audio thingies are about RM15-35 each. The ones I've tried so far all work with OS X. I think most USB headphones should work. I use the Logitech one, no probs.
soonwai
post Dec 19 2010, 11:15 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Dec 19 2010, 03:11 PM)
So it is better not to get it?
Not really, it gets hotter but I don't think it will be detrimental to the MacBook. A casing will do just fine against scratches and bumps but don't expect casings of any type to protect your MacBook from a drop.

Personally I don't use a casing. Not because of the heat but because a MacBook looks much nicer without one.

Added on December 19, 2010, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 19 2010, 07:20 PM)
i just bought my very first MacBook Pro 13" last night, spent close to 8 hours just fiddling with it.

coming from windows,it's a huge departure,IMO blush.gif

i'm unsure if it's been mentioned(searched,but no results appeared) but do check out
CODE
www.hiddenapp.com
it's a web based security app that helps you track a stolen Mac. it costs 20 USD,but until the 1st of January 2011,it's absolutely FOC.

so get it now before they start charging for the app again tongue.gif

i tried it last night,worked great.

im a little taken aback at the lack of software recommendations on the first post.
im not criticising or anything, but it would help mac noobs like myself if there was a list of recommended apps in the first post biggrin.gif

right now i've just installed the core basics sweat.gif vlc media player being one of them.
im still looking for a good downloader.
love IDM on windows,but unfortunately there's no mac alternative that i can find. sad.gif any recommendations? smile.gif
Thanks for the hiddenapp.com tip. Looks good.

As for media players, VLC is good. Also look for Plex or Boxee.

Download managers, I mostly use jDownloader and iGetter. Don't really like Speed Download.

uTorrent for torrents.

If you're using Safari as your main browser, ClicktoPlugin and AdBlock are indispensable extensions. The former disables Flash and the latter blocks ads.

Also check out Fluid.

Other things I use, Dropbox, Evernote, 1Password, Growl, Mailplane, gfxCardstatus, Menumeters, Sizeup, LittleSnitch, Things, Facetime, etc...

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 19 2010, 11:28 PM
soonwai
post Dec 20 2010, 02:10 PM

11,456 posts

I have all 3, Safari, Firefox and Chrome, on my Macs but Safari is used 99% of the time. One of my favourite features of Safari is the synchronisation of Bookmarks using MobileMe to all my other devices, including my Mac, MacBooks, iPhones and iPad.
soonwai
post Dec 20 2010, 11:26 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(ahmadcivices01 @ Dec 20 2010, 02:48 PM)
What is the best application for mac os for editing picture,can someone help on this.
Photoshop first comes to mind, next is Pixelmator.

Added on December 20, 2010, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 20 2010, 11:16 PM)
anyone here ever have any problem updating steam?
everytime i install it, i double click on the icon and it says it has to update.
it checks for a 33mb update then tells me im not connected to the internet.wtf?

i've reinstalled it countless times but still the same result.

anyone have a solution?

i tried googling it but only came up with one solution that says to delete the valve folder in the user folder.
but problem is there's NO valve folder here doh.gif
Couldn't find a Valve folder but there's a Steam folder on my Mac. It's at /Users/soonwai/Library/Application Support/Steam

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 20 2010, 11:29 PM
soonwai
post Dec 22 2010, 11:44 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(ahmadcivices01 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:06 PM)
@benny888 thank u so much u always ASSIST!!! rclxms.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 10:52 pmNewBie here,just wanna ask about new MacAir 3rd generation(latest) can this MacAir using 3 party usb external Hardisk drive,please help me on this.
Can but not 3 at a time because only got 2 USB ports.
soonwai
post Dec 23 2010, 09:11 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(ahmadcivices01 @ Dec 23 2010, 05:53 PM)
Thanks for ur INFO,NEW BIE here, today when i on my MacAir freeze during startup,already follow d instruction on HELLO manual book at chapter 3, problem, meet solution but still can't do anything,finally i make decision to reinstall my mac OS X, for info my MacAir 3rd generation just brought 2 week ago,any sifu here experience this before,can explain what happen exactly, start to love my MacAir suddenly this happen make me scare. cry.gif
You can always call Applecare. You get 3 months free support with your Mac. I'm sure they can help you. A reinstall seems a bit drastic. I've only reinstalled OS X on my iMac once and it wasn't even really a reinstall. I was upgrading Leopard to Snow Leopard.

It'll be difficult for someone here to help you since we don't have much info to go on. There's about 103,000 things that can cause a MacBook Air to freeze.

Did you install any new software that might have caused it?

Can you startup in single-user mode?

It's important that you make sure it's not a hardware problem. If it is, get the Mac changed for a new one asap.

soonwai
post Dec 23 2010, 11:01 PM

11,456 posts

You'll have to boot-up from the USB stick and run Disk Utility from there, otherwise it cannot repair your boot drive. But since you reinstall already, no need lah.
soonwai
post Dec 23 2010, 11:42 PM

11,456 posts

Sure, that just clears all the progress report stuff you see in the Disk Utility window.
soonwai
post Dec 25 2010, 01:44 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Dec 25 2010, 01:18 AM)
Oh ic no discount on MacBooks? Hopefully there is a year end sell on MacBook so can start 2011 with a mac thumbup.gif
Malaysia Apple resellers where got discount one. Unless it's stock clearance when new model come out. Freebies also hard to get.
soonwai
post Dec 25 2010, 03:25 PM

11,456 posts

I'm still on WinXP. Isn't it the same, right click in Windows and share the folder.
soonwai
post Dec 26 2010, 01:13 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Dec 26 2010, 12:54 AM)
yeah, but i still love unplugging them and bring it around the house. If i dun unplugged them and just leave it at the desk, might as well i get myself a desktop  sweat.gif
I charge my MBP every night because I need a full battery the next day. So it doesn't matter if it's all gone or 25% or 50% or 75%, I still have to charge it. Probably not too good for the battery but no choice otherwise it might not get me thru the day.
soonwai
post Dec 27 2010, 04:16 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 27 2010, 12:27 AM)
Guys... I need help...
My MBP just hanged and I have no choice but to force it to shut down...
Now when I switch it on... It'll only show a blank white screen...
HELP!!
Looks like the MBP isn't detecting the HD. Might be a bad HD.

Do you get a flashing folder with question mark if you wait long enough?
Do you get the Apple logo?
Can you boot in Verbose mode to see what's wrong?
As benny888 suggested, try booting from the DVD and running disk utility.

But if you have important data, better take out the HD and recover it on another computer before doing anything else.

soonwai
post Dec 27 2010, 07:16 AM

11,456 posts

Can you boot from the DVD if you remove the HD? If not, could be motherboard problem.

Don't think it'll help but can also try to reset the PRAM.
soonwai
post Dec 27 2010, 08:15 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 27 2010, 08:07 AM)
I'll give it a try later when I get back from class...
Just to double confirm... I bought my MBP from Aus, I can still claim warranty from apple resellers here right?
No problem. Can.
soonwai
post Dec 27 2010, 08:12 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Dec 27 2010, 04:24 PM)
Like benny told you, ur HD must be NTFS. Just reformat to FAT32, prob solved.
Can also use ExFat, Snow Leopard can read/write ExFat. ExFat doesn't have the same filesize and disksize limitations as FAT32.

Unlike NTFS, you don't need to install additional software.

Added on December 27, 2010, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 27 2010, 07:34 PM)
I bought the Hard Disk from her.... Might have to go to a Seagate center to get it fixed...
I just swap one of my old HDD from my old macbook... Aikz, stupid momentus XT spoiled for no reason....
I was using Momentus XT also but sold it off and got SSD. Perfect time for you to upgrade. :-)

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 27 2010, 08:17 PM
soonwai
post Dec 27 2010, 09:26 PM

11,456 posts

True, true, still expensive. Hope you get your probs sorted out soon. Fortunately it was HD and not motherboard. Hope you didn't lose any important data.

How long have you had the Momentus XT before it failed? I used mine for about 2 months before I sold it off. A few of my customers are also on the XT. Oldest one about 6 months. So far no probs yet, luckily, but in here already I see you and dvlzplayground have probs with it. It's got me a bit concerned.
soonwai
post Dec 27 2010, 11:17 PM

11,456 posts

Yep, very easy. Some larger apps such as Office or Adobe stuff still require installation but most you just drag and drop it into your Applications folder. Frequently used apps, you can put into the dock. For others you can use Spotlight (the magnifying glass icon in the menu bar) to launch them.

The uninstalling part is a bit more involved.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0553sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:08 AM