126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread v15, Celebrating 30 Years of Plastic Goodness

TSParody
post Aug 10 2010, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 10 2010, 03:59 AM)
Colours are perfect... but seriously, no mega beam launcher, no money from me Bandai.

What the hell's wrong with the colors? doh.gif

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 10 2010, 03:59 AM)
thumbup.gif
Come on badass Gouf... and time for HGUC Ez8 liao...

Where's my MG Gouf Custom 2.0, Bandai? whistling.gif

QUOTE(zieraq @ Aug 10 2010, 09:54 AM)

Seriously Bandai why cant u learn from Apple on doing marketing. Look how people line up when new product release.

That's because you can't market model kits the same way you do with electronics. doh.gif

zieraq
post Aug 10 2010, 08:17 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Aug 10 2010, 07:32 PM)
That's because you can't market model kits the same way you do with electronics.  doh.gif
I stated there 'learn', not copy. Its about how Apple feed the craze of their fan on the product they sell. The strategy of Bandai product release can be adjusted so that we craze for more. Like I mention before they should release DS & Rezel both variation in 1 box instead of seperate release becoz they r too little difference to justify a separate release i.e the Tallgese 1/100 have the version 1,2 & 3. That way is more pleasing to the fan, me at least.

Added on August 10, 2010, 8:29 pmuser posted image

new accessory for Quanta.

This post has been edited by zieraq: Aug 10 2010, 08:29 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 10 2010, 08:32 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Aug 10 2010, 07:32 PM)

What the hell's wrong with the colors?  doh.gif

Nothing wrong.... it's just the flash of the camera that makes it look weird. The Delta Plus is greyish in colour with a navy chest piece...
The rifle, however, is just wrong. Still don't understand why they nerfed it.

QUOTE(zieraq @ Aug 10 2010, 08:17 PM)
I stated there 'learn', not copy. Its about how Apple feed the craze of their fan on the product they sell. The strategy of Bandai product release can be adjusted so that we craze for more. Like I mention before they should release DS & Rezel both variation in 1 box instead of seperate release becoz they r too little difference to justify a separate release i.e the Tallgese 1/100 have the version 1,2 & 3. That way is more pleasing to the fan, me at least.
Apple does the same shit as Bandai... release a crappy iphone first, then quickly release improved versions some time down the road...
Same with Bandai... release basic model first then later come out with all sorts of variants with additional goodies.

Why include all those conversion kits when they know hardcore fans will be impatient and buy the normal Rezel, and few months down the track, voila! commander version.

I personally would prefer they release TG1 on its own... I'll buy that one, but not a TG3 with conversion parts like the 1/100 coz I have no use for the additional parts... I only want the roman warrior TG1.
TSParody
post Aug 10 2010, 09:10 PM

I stated there 'learn', not copy.

Unfortunately, humans actually learn by copying or imitating...

Its about how Apple feed the craze of their fan on the product they sell.

Nope, not really. I sense an Apple fanboy in you. laugh.gif

Like I mention before they should release DS & Rezel both variation in 1 box instead of seperate release becoz they r too little difference to justify a separate release i.e the Tallgese 1/100 have the version 1,2 & 3. That way is more pleasing to the fan, me at least.

If this is true, Apple should've packaged iPhone v1, with the conversion parts of v2, v3, and v4 together. sweat.gif

Apple aside, taking the example of MG Exia Ignition Mode, not many buyers are happy of having to convert Exia into repair mode. Why?

Consumer perspective:
1) Could only display ONE at a time. Exia or R1. You like both but can only choose one. Unless you buy another box (Bandai will be happy).
2) The risk of snapping or loosening up the joints with all the assembling and disassembling. Your tiny extra parts might go missing in time.
3) Forced to buy Exia parts when you only like the R1 version. No choice.

Producer perspective:
1) Extra value for consumer. Can swap back and forth between Exia and R1.
2) To cover all kinds of consumers. Do you like Exia only or R1 bundle? Bling on my weapons or not? GN Drive that lights up or not?
3) Making extra revenue from the bundle. Those who want R1 will have no choice but to get Ignition Mode, which is more expensive. Or they could be like StarGhazzer and me, ending up not buying any.

sweat.gif

You see, from a producer's perspective, if they were to bundle them together, they are selling less as compared to two SEPARATE releases.

Looking back at Apple's example, everyone knows there'll be an iPhone v5 or v6 in the future. So why get v4 now? The cool factor! Electronics are a fad and to be seen with the latest one is deemed cool. Hence the "craze" that you mentioned. Model kits on the other hand, don't carry such an appealing image.

I wouldn't say their marketing strategy is bad. It is actually quite good as they're trying to achieve the maximum profit they can from each consumer (would you like some milk?). I'm a consumer as well, so i understand your feelings. I don't have limitless money also.

sad.gif

This post has been edited by Parody: Aug 10 2010, 09:14 PM
afsarudy
post Aug 10 2010, 09:52 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Aug 10 2010, 09:10 PM)
I'm a consumer as well, so i understand your feelings. I don't have limitless money also.

sad.gif

Fortunately, nobody have limitless money.
laugh.gif laugh.gificon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
MyKy44
post Aug 10 2010, 09:58 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

bestest is to sell extra part separately, like the super pack for VF-25s and V-Dash booster tongue.gif
nazrul90
post Aug 10 2010, 10:05 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(afsarudy @ Aug 10 2010, 09:52 PM)
Fortunately, nobody have infinite money.
laugh.gif laugh.gificon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
let me fixed it for you tongue.gif

---------------
prototype of HG Brave Commander type in 00 movie...

im feeling the poison already... biggrin.gif

---------------

btw now what should Bandai name this non GN-Drive 00Raiser? i imagine the name would be "00Raiser without GN-Drive" on the box lol doh.gif

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Aug 10 2010, 10:07 PM
afsarudy
post Aug 10 2010, 10:19 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 10 2010, 10:05 PM)
let me fixed it for you tongue.gif

laugh.gif I just copying Parody's line la...hehehehe thanks anyway icon_rolleyes.gif
Hellscream
post Aug 10 2010, 10:20 PM

---------------

btw now what should Bandai name this non GN-Drive 00Raiser? i imagine the name would be "00Raiser without GN-Drive" on the box lol doh.gif
Why don't them put a GN Tau drive, instead the GN condesend... smile.gif
MyKy44
post Aug 10 2010, 10:23 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

quite obvious the hip joint can't support the weight at its back eh?
TSParody
post Aug 10 2010, 10:23 PM

new accessory for Quanta.

Few months down the road, HG Quanta will be repackaged with it. doh.gif

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Aug 10 2010, 09:58 PM)
bestest is to sell extra part separately, like the super pack for VF-25s and V-Dash booster tongue.gif

I agree. nod.gif

im feeling the poison already...  biggrin.gif

Not really fond of those Masurao/Susanowo feet. sad.gif

00 Raiser Dash or 00 Raiser Kai or probably just Raiser Gundam because the "00" represents the dual GN drives.

-----------

Box for HG 1/144 Harute revealed!!! rclxms.gif

afsarudy
post Aug 10 2010, 10:25 PM

20 posts

About this matter, how does this Gundam 00 will run meh? All 00 series using GN particles what....
OR is this Gundam 00 go back to old school using nuclear system? Hehehehe~~~
Exiled_Gundam
post Aug 10 2010, 10:43 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Hellscream @ Aug 10 2010, 10:20 PM)
Why don't them put a GN Tau drive, instead the GN condesend... smile.gif
Guess CB MS can only work with genuine GN Particles.

Added on August 10, 2010, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(afsarudy @ Aug 10 2010, 10:25 PM)
About this matter, how does this Gundam 00 will run meh? All 00 series using GN particles what....
OR is this Gundam 00 go back to old school using nuclear system? Hehehehe~~~
The other half use GN Condenser la, tho the operation time will be reduced by alot, and I think its Trans Am, if able to, is not as powerful as with Twin Drive system

This post has been edited by Exiled_Gundam: Aug 10 2010, 10:45 PM
zieraq
post Aug 10 2010, 10:59 PM

58 posts

Perhaps I should've used the word 'inspire' instead of learn or copy.

My perspective of idea is since these plastic model is fictional, they can always have limitless design. what I dont like is they spawn the same design, put little tweak & make a separate release. The big O got 4 arms with high price tag but only 2 beam saber effect parts? shakehead.gif really, it's just simply silly & not entertaining. I want back the days of the Sinanju craze rclxm9.gif Imagine if every release is crazy as Sinanju release. Bandai still make money too. If want more of my money, spawn more design or at least make the design more distinctive like exia/astrea or strike/strike E(therefore can save RnD for moulding). they'r still so many gundam series which still got no love, & later got manga for gundam wing which will spawn more release. the road for their product release is endless. Silly tactics like this is just...shit, man wink.gif

capitalism suck rclxs0.gif

Added on August 10, 2010, 11:03 pmnow got GN drive-less 00 raiser. Ahahahahahahahaha another pwnage.

Bandai even bother to go to that length to extend/maintain the production number of 00 raiser, or should I say, extra stock. anybody buying raiser up ur hand hihihihihihihi.....

This post has been edited by zieraq: Aug 10 2010, 11:03 PM
gaiachronicler
post Aug 10 2010, 11:10 PM

58 posts

im feeling the poison already...  biggrin.gif
later out better packaged brows.gif then ur poison doubled
like quanta. now suddenly out dunno what accessory doh.gif
MyKy44
post Aug 10 2010, 11:11 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

lol gundam tered become economic/marketing tered laugh.gif

watever the case, Sinanju is always made of WIN!! see both the HGUC and Robot Damashi versions are awsm also
Hellscream
post Aug 11 2010, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Aug 10 2010, 10:43 PM)
Guess CB MS can only work with genuine GN Particles.
I don't think so because reborn got many second generation CB MS is work on Tau drive......
only reason I can is good guy have green yellow praticle for show... tongue.gif
takara
post Aug 11 2010, 12:34 AM

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Aug 10 2010, 11:11 PM)
watever the case, Sinanju is always made of WIN!! see both the HGUC and Robot Damashi versions are awsm also
Agreed on Sinanju. Just POed the RD version already. As for RD RX-78-2, need to wait for more images, let's see whether it can overdo my SCM version or not.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 11 2010, 04:00 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(zieraq @ Aug 10 2010, 10:59 PM)
Perhaps I should've used the word 'inspire' instead of learn or copy.

My perspective of idea is since these plastic model is fictional, they can always have limitless design. what I dont like is they spawn the same design, put little tweak & make a separate release. The big O got 4 arms with high price tag but only 2 beam saber effect parts? shakehead.gif really, it's just simply silly & not entertaining. I want back the days of the Sinanju craze rclxm9.gif Imagine if every release is crazy as Sinanju release. Bandai still make money too. If want more of my money, spawn more design or at least make the design more distinctive like exia/astrea or strike/strike E(therefore can save RnD for moulding). they'r still so many gundam series which still got no love, & later got manga for gundam wing which will spawn more release. the road for their product release is endless. Silly tactics like this is just...shit, man wink.gif

Despite the high price, chances are the hardcore fans in Japan will still buy The O like mad... The endless rehashes of RX78s and Zakus have been going on for decades now but it still manages to chalk up sales. I'm not going to buy The O, not because of its poor articulation (it's expected for something so bulky), but more because of the price... I simply cannot afford 120K yen on any gunpla.

There are still many designs that fans want - DHC, V2, DX, Turn X to name a few; they will be released eventually... it's more a matter of time. Most of the time Bandai releases stuff whenever there's an anime/manga/video game to be released but occasionally they do come up with unexpected things like MG Victory, HGUC God/ZZ/X.

The 00 series are easy to predict as new models will be released with every new movie/OVA; while most if not all of Unicorn's suits will come out around the same time as the OVA episodes. Next wave of HGUC is confirmed to be Angelo's Zulu, Delta Plus, Sinanju... and most likely the Royal Guard Zulu will be released too. When ep3 comes, you'll see Banshee and Jesta too.

The most ridiculous strategy would still be the Sangoku series. The recent "Shin" version is virtually identical to the first generation releases, but in between them they already rolled out quite a couple of variations. Whoever bought the original Sousou would be really pissed off as the second gen comes with a additional sword while the latest has new armour and a horse. Then there's Ryobi which the original one comes with 3 swords yet the later anime versions leave out the red sword but has a larger golden dragon blade. Plus the recently released Kan-u and ChouHi with larger armours and scythes... The examples are endless.

Love or hate Bandai, you can't deny that they really know how to do their business.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 11 2010, 04:05 AM
JuniorTan
post Aug 11 2010, 05:19 AM

21 posts

To me, if you wanna collect everything then you definitely gonna hate bandai. As me, I would think this is far better than buying a 2 exactly same kits but just to hold different weapon or maybe a little bit different. Example, buying two O gundam and one for GN drive mode & normal back pack mode. The conclusion is buying a different boxes is better(at least for me......because I only buy what I like.) although it seems like BANDAI is sucking up our money. On the other hand, guys~ just buy lar no need so stress up 1....><"

This post has been edited by JuniorTan: Aug 11 2010, 05:22 AM

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:29 AM