Online Renting DVD and Blu Ray Survey, New Online Service Coming Soon.

TShackwire
post Aug 3 2010, 10:16 AM, updated 16y ago

4,256 posts

Hi guys,

I will be launching my online DVD and Blu Ray Membership Club cater for Movie Enthusiast soon and the launching date will be on the 15th August 2010.
There will be DVD and some Blu Ray titles you can borrow once you have become our member and in future we will include more Asian films as well. Right now we are expecting about 700-800 English titles in our library.
Members will be added into our future mailing list for newsletter or any online magazine .

Question:

1) Will you pay for this membership scheme Half Year @ RM 600 and Full Year @ RM 1000
2) Does it matter to you if the disc is not Blu Ray but DVD instead?
3) Do you like to watch movie in Astro HBO or prefer to watch your movie at your own sweet time?
4) Do you like your movie sent directly to you by hand or pos?
5) How many movies can you watch per week?
6) Do you watch movie more on weekday or weekend more?
7) What kind of service do you hope to see in this club in the future?
8) Do you like to watch any Foreign and Art Films?
9) Anybody interested to invest in this kind of business ?
10) Will you donate your old movies to us and get Free membership as barter trade?

thank you for taking this survey as we hope to improve our services and understand the needs

lollipopfilm

TShackwire
post Aug 3 2010, 11:06 PM

4,256 posts

Thank you guys, I really appreciate your feedback and i will consider some of your option already like reducing the fees . that's my first feedback i have taken into consideration . So wait for the good news when i launch it.

I did survey other good online rental business like netflix, blockbuster and even lovefilm but it takes a lot of money to invest in such a business at this moment for me as the programming of the software of this kind cost alot of money as they are able to do tracking and accounting by itself.

My DVD is just store in a simple library call Collectorz.com so it's not something that you guys expected.
Video library storage is just everywhere in the market right now , hopefully when time is right , we can move forward.

thanks a lot.
TShackwire
post Aug 11 2010, 11:32 PM

4,256 posts

After analyzing these details, i decided to sell off this business for good and if any one intent to buy all my DVDs please pm me .

I have at least 650 English movie titles in my library and you may view them here.
http://connect.collectorz.com/users/lollipopfilm/movies

Some were Region 1 and imported from Amazon.com.
there are many movies worth collecting , some were banned here and not even on our shore at all.

TShackwire
post Aug 12 2010, 08:01 PM

4,256 posts

thanks for the golden advise but reason i want to sell off is because i need to concentrate on my project . anyway, if no buyer i will continue with rental on part time job.

TShackwire
post Aug 13 2010, 10:41 AM

4,256 posts

i think i rather pass this biz to some one else as i also realized that i don't have enough of time at the moment to run the daily operation. If anyone think they want to start this as a part time or full time thing, pm me and i will try to give a special price for you. Please visit the USED DVD Clearance SAles under my signature. thank.
TShackwire
post Aug 14 2010, 12:26 AM

4,256 posts

thanks a lot. their business modal is good and it is something i wanted to do but lack the financial fund to expand .
TShackwire
post Aug 26 2010, 10:15 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(Bleacher @ Aug 15 2010, 12:08 AM)
I just read your posts and forgive me for being so frank but you should never have started if you couldn't develop a product that fulfills a market need and there is no need for DVD rentals here considering that original DVDs are affordable and pirated DVDs are sinfully cheap. Blu-rays are a different story though.

You should have started small, then worked big not spend a lump sum and then find out 'Oh crap, this isn't working.' Also, your membership fees are more expensive than other similar providers. Either you are inefficient with your resources or you just aren't very good at business.

Last but not least, your second hand DVD sales is still VERY unattractive.  I took the liberty of going through the catalog and browsed through it, most of the titles are so old and obsolete that even IF they can be found in Speedy, I wouldn't be surprised if they are similarly priced or priced at a ringgit or two more which would be far more attractive than RM 9k for hundreds of titles for titles that I may not necessarily like but am forced to take if I accept your offer.

At least you are doing the right thing by aiming to cut your losses.
Thank you for putting in a right frame. first of all, some of our collection have similar title with speedy but we have Box set imported copies from US Region 1 , some of Speedy are local duplication . The opinion you provided me is very crucial to move my compass to a smaller niche marketing where i am now targeting some clubs and condominium . Actually, I don't mind if my DVDs don't sell out as I am also a hobbyist in movie collection. So if it's not sell out, i will open a membership club for it. I do have some Blu Rays but not in the rat race as I occasionally order through my relatives in USA, members will get to loan from us too later. The reason i put up for sales is to pass it to someone who "values" movie quantity and not hi-def enthusiast.

Do check out our Merdeka Sales for Limited Time Period.
wink.gif biggrin.gif Thanks

This post has been edited by hackwire: Aug 26 2010, 10:34 AM

0.0136sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:06 PM