Online Renting DVD and Blu Ray Survey, New Online Service Coming Soon.

TShackwire
post Aug 3 2010, 10:16 AM, updated 16y ago

4,256 posts

Hi guys,

I will be launching my online DVD and Blu Ray Membership Club cater for Movie Enthusiast soon and the launching date will be on the 15th August 2010.
There will be DVD and some Blu Ray titles you can borrow once you have become our member and in future we will include more Asian films as well. Right now we are expecting about 700-800 English titles in our library.
Members will be added into our future mailing list for newsletter or any online magazine .

Question:

1) Will you pay for this membership scheme Half Year @ RM 600 and Full Year @ RM 1000
2) Does it matter to you if the disc is not Blu Ray but DVD instead?
3) Do you like to watch movie in Astro HBO or prefer to watch your movie at your own sweet time?
4) Do you like your movie sent directly to you by hand or pos?
5) How many movies can you watch per week?
6) Do you watch movie more on weekday or weekend more?
7) What kind of service do you hope to see in this club in the future?
8) Do you like to watch any Foreign and Art Films?
9) Anybody interested to invest in this kind of business ?
10) Will you donate your old movies to us and get Free membership as barter trade?

thank you for taking this survey as we hope to improve our services and understand the needs

lollipopfilm

Dark NT
post Aug 3 2010, 11:36 AM

1,006 posts

Just 1 feedback - Some would prefer to have a pay per view option rather than a fixed yearly or half yearly membership fee.
cmw_kwl_6923
post Aug 3 2010, 06:05 PM

759 posts

Bro,

Don't waste your time to invest on this business doh.gif , better thing for other business would bring your more margin~~~~! sweat.gif

Now days, most of the user online download the movie~~~~! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
putih
post Aug 3 2010, 06:25 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(cmw_kwl_6923 @ Aug 3 2010, 06:05 PM)
Bro,

Don't waste your time to invest on this business  doh.gif , better thing for other business would bring your more margin~~~~! sweat.gif

Now days, most of the user online download the movie~~~~! thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
Agree with you. Rental business in malaysia failed even before the age of internet, what more do you think now? It won't work mate.

zeese
post Aug 3 2010, 06:29 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

for blueray.. i don't think many people download it.. i guess, ur target market will be home theater enthusiasm.. because these people normally stress on quality factor of the movie.. they only watch bluray .. and divx is a big NO..

and, there's also a similar bizness like this.. but they charge montly..
iamsobloodysick
post Aug 3 2010, 06:39 PM

2,006 posts

1) Will you pay for this membership scheme Half Year @ RM 600 and Full Year @ RM 1000

Pay-per-movie.

It does matter.

3) Do you like to watch movie in Astro HBO or prefer to watch your movie at your own sweet time?

My own sweet time.

I'm fine either way.

1-2.

Weekend.

Website to browse titles and make bookings.

Yes.

Nope unless we have a matured market like US or UK (netflix & lovefilm).

10) Will you donate your old movies to us and get Free membership as barter trade?

I don't own any movies.
refnulf
post Aug 3 2010, 07:54 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Depends on the packages offered (is there a limit to the number of titles that a person can rent?) I watch a lot of movies each week. I might benefit from something like that but it might not suit a person that watches 1-2 movies each week.

Of course, you don't spend huge amounts of $$ on a full hd television and a blu ray player just to watch DVDs.

Own sweet time.

Both will work out well enough.

15 or so movies a week.

Weekends are the days I have movie marathons.

A website with information of titles, and booking facilities.

Definitely.

Like iamsobloodysick said, you need a mature audience who are willing to rent original disc, etc. Right now, we as a people are still at a level that do not believe in purchasing original content. In fact, I have colleagues, friends and family giving me blank, weird looks when I say I only buy original software, and dvds, blu-rays, etc.

I don't usually get rid of my collection. Would depend on whether or not a new edition of a movie has been re released on blu-ray and if I'm willing to buy the new version. If so, then yes the older version can be donated.

tbob87
post Aug 3 2010, 08:21 PM

41 posts

Both are ok if I can get to see at least 5 blurays a month

Yes. I prefer only bluray.

Own sweet time

2 to 3

Weekday

Can buy bluray that you like at discounted rate (can be used bluray)

Yes. Ocasionally.

I am not a risk taker

I am open to the idea.

When I was in the UK years ago, I did subscribe to such facility and I was happy with it. You can check this out : http://www.lovefilm.com

rgds,

wiNd
post Aug 3 2010, 08:30 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

No no no. Too expensive.

If the movie is available on Bluray, yes, Bluray please.

Own sweet time.

Self collect at certain hotspots / Pos (if its FOC)

2-3.

Depends.

Not sure.

Yes. Prefer to have more indie/arty/rare titles instead of those typical blockbuster titles (which its easy to find)

No thank you.

Maybe, depends on T&C
Kiding
post Aug 3 2010, 10:31 PM

1,135 posts

First of all, there are few sellers are rent out their bluray movies, I usually rent for 4 disc at RM20 for two days, average a bluray disc is RM5, pretty cheap, consider I can available on my HD, even cheaper brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

NO NO NO NO, charge RM20 per year can be accepted. better pay per view

MUST be bluray

I prefer to watch at my own time

Better delivery to my door step

1-2

only watch on weekend

I want this kind of services drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif - http://www.blockbuster.com/

sometimes, but I like documentary more...

Unless pirates are gone, not really worth to invest in this kind of business

I will
TShackwire
post Aug 3 2010, 11:06 PM

4,256 posts

Thank you guys, I really appreciate your feedback and i will consider some of your option already like reducing the fees . that's my first feedback i have taken into consideration . So wait for the good news when i launch it.

I did survey other good online rental business like netflix, blockbuster and even lovefilm but it takes a lot of money to invest in such a business at this moment for me as the programming of the software of this kind cost alot of money as they are able to do tracking and accounting by itself.

My DVD is just store in a simple library call Collectorz.com so it's not something that you guys expected.
Video library storage is just everywhere in the market right now , hopefully when time is right , we can move forward.

thanks a lot.
tanhks
post Aug 5 2010, 12:05 AM

608 posts

last weekend in Singapore i saw a video rental shop provide rental service for blu-ray movie disc. (S5.5 per disc)
That shop is located in a very famous shopping mall. Many people visiting that shopping mall.
But in Malaysia i haven't seen any video rental shop that provide rental service for blu-ray nor DVD movie.

pay per view. membership like RM200 is ok but must be refundable if terminate membership

price/charge must be different, example: Blu-ray RM3/disc DVD RM2/disc than it is ok

prefer blu-ray/DVD because it has english sub-tutle

prefer to walk in to a video rental shop and rent the blu-ray/DVD disc.
that video rental outlet must has an address located either in a shopping mall or a shop/store.

4 or 5

any day

Any Movie in english language

not me

no

This post has been edited by tanhks: Aug 5 2010, 12:27 AM
kobe8byrant
post Aug 5 2010, 12:10 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

1) Half year = RM 600? Equates to RM 100 per month? Equates to over RM 3 per day? That isn't better than the current BD rental services out there already.
2) YES. Why the hell would I want to rent DVDs when I can afford to buy them?
3) Own sweet time (after work).
4) By hand. By POS is a hassle if I need to send back to the POS OFFICE.
5) On average, 7. I can watch 2 per day when I have little work.
6) Weekend.
7) Loyalty reward programs. Members after 1 year can renew membership at discount or able to have cheaper rates but it's okay as long as new releases are available on BD quickly and not one month later or more.
8) Yes, this is where you could have an upper hand.
9) No.
10) It's not a donation in that case. Clear-cut trade. In any case, NO. Chances are I'll be able to sell higher outside.

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

1) If you do indeed have 800++ BD titles available, I am willing to be your first customer to subscribe on your package if it's affordable.
2) However, you must have a dispatch sending to Cheras.
3) You can PM me whenever you are ready and have a dispatch sending to Cheras.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Aug 5 2010, 12:15 AM
opjust
post Aug 5 2010, 10:52 AM

721 posts

- too expensive, pay per view or weekly package will be more appropriate
- YES YES
- Own sweet sour time
- both will do
- 3-4
- weekdays
- BD review
- not really
-NA
- hmm... I dont hv many movies in my collection.

This post has been edited by opjust: Aug 5 2010, 10:58 AM
TShackwire
post Aug 11 2010, 11:32 PM

4,256 posts

After analyzing these details, i decided to sell off this business for good and if any one intent to buy all my DVDs please pm me .

I have at least 650 English movie titles in my library and you may view them here.
http://connect.collectorz.com/users/lollipopfilm/movies

Some were Region 1 and imported from Amazon.com.
there are many movies worth collecting , some were banned here and not even on our shore at all.

geforce1999
post Aug 12 2010, 10:16 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Aug 11 2010, 11:32 PM)
After analyzing these details, i decided to sell off this business for good and if any one intent to buy all my DVDs please pm me .

I have at least 650 English movie titles in my library and you may view them here.

there are many movies worth collecting , some were banned here and not even on our shore at all.

Personally I think it is hard to sell DVDs when BDs are flooding the market. Anyway good luck for your sales.
vincentboleh
post Aug 12 2010, 11:56 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Aug 11 2010, 11:32 PM)

Have not start so fast give up meh?
Built up your network and sell your solutions just like any insurance salesman will do.
Listen to Josh Gorban's :never Give UP".
Small is beautiful; even if you make a small sum but imagine million start form 1, you will excel.....
flex.gif

TShackwire
post Aug 12 2010, 08:01 PM

4,256 posts

thanks for the golden advise but reason i want to sell off is because i need to concentrate on my project . anyway, if no buyer i will continue with rental on part time job.

azbro
post Aug 12 2010, 10:31 PM

4,403 posts

I think if you reduce your membership fees , you should be able to get a market for that kind of business..I Most of ppl are up to their throats oledi paying monthly bills..and for those that are really interested, can't afford the price.

Try and work it out again.

And good luck
TShackwire
post Aug 13 2010, 10:41 AM

4,256 posts

i think i rather pass this biz to some one else as i also realized that i don't have enough of time at the moment to run the daily operation. If anyone think they want to start this as a part time or full time thing, pm me and i will try to give a special price for you. Please visit the USED DVD Clearance SAles under my signature. thank.

0.0247sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:29 PM